Review Chaplin

• Thread starter Thread starter Coxy_

Funny in the 2 seasons he's been with us we've made finals. Perhaps you can blame the worse period in the clubs history on Primus that piss poor excuse for a coach you had in charge.
Ok, no worries, you asked I answered, you clearly don't like the answer but it is what it is.

Thanks for giving us an eye opener. Hopefully smart decisions by us coming up.

If we had of snuck through and been belted at the next turn, lets face it, it would be worse for us. Good luck in the finals!
What was Chaplin like as a club leader at Port?

That was one of the most infuriating things about Chaplin he was a member of our leadership group for several years and was always telling others how to play yet not doing enough himself. There was one classic occasion when Port got belted and Troy had an absolute shocker, but on Monday morning he was all over the local papers telling his team mates they had to 'toughen up'. Those departing e mails to former team mates are yet another example of Troy not knowing when to stfu. Why would you bucket your former team mates , wouldn't a smart person simply say 'thanks for the memories' and focus on his new club ? The texts of those e mails were on the big screen in the White Marquee area just before the game and I am pretty sure that every Port Adelaide player would have been given a copy as part of the preparation for this game.

Troy is a serviceable enough player but I would not describe him as a leader of men and for a 195cm and 100kg player we always felt that Troy got too many soft possessions. Maybe under a new coach he has changed his playing style?

What did we make of his game today?
Pretty ordinary, he has 14 mates and it all started with our midfield being smashed . Our mids are too small for finals football, look at freo swans and haw , no room for three players the size of Edwards miles and foley starting in the engine room

He was a disgrace today and didn't show an ounce of leadership. Could count probably three or four misses tackles that led to Port scoring opportunities which they took and other bits of play where he lacked the courage to run off his man and take ownership of the situation, most notably the Wines goal where the little Shulz nudge sent him to the ground.

A lot of the other under performing players today still tried and it was skill errors that affected the team but with Chaplin it was simply not standing up to the moment.

That moment he jogged toward a loose ball, went to ground and gifted them a goal says a lot about him if you ask me.
Was that when Schultz pushed him in the back in the 1st? Was a clear push I thought

Chaplin is in our best 22, no doubt. Until astbury stays fit and passes him, he will continue to be in our 22. Only way that changes if we trade or use free agency to upgrade - which is unlikely, we have bigger problems

Was that when Schultz pushed him in the back in the 1st? Was a clear push I thought

Chaplin is in our best 22, no doubt. Until astbury stays fit and passes him, he will continue to be in our 22. Only way that changes if we trade or use free agency to upgrade - which is unlikely, we have bigger problems

Nudge in the back. Went down like he'd been shot, highly disappointing. Was running after it like a turtle anyway

Had a bad day like many others. It does make me laugh that Chaplin is arrogant but boak or wingard ain't. And Carlisle of the port variety is a shit player

Ya reckon? Carlile goes well.

That was one of the most infuriating things about Chaplin he was a member of our leadership group for several years and was always telling others how to play yet not doing enough himself. There was one classic occasion when Port got belted and Troy had an absolute shocker, but on Monday morning he was all over the local papers telling his team mates they had to 'toughen up'. Those departing e mails to former team mates are yet another example of Troy not knowing when to stfu. Why would you bucket your former team mates , wouldn't a smart person simply say 'thanks for the memories' and focus on his new club ? The texts of those e mails were on the big screen in the White Marquee area just before the game and I am pretty sure that every Port Adelaide player would have been given a copy as part of the preparation for this game.

Troy is a serviceable enough player but I would not describe him as a leader of men and for a 195cm and 100kg player we always felt that Troy got too many soft possessions. Maybe under a new coach he has changed his playing style?

Interesting, I have not seen a change

Ok, no worries, you asked I answered, you clearly don't like the answer but it is what it is.
That's right it is what it is and that is Primus being moved on had more impact on your back to back finals than the departure of Chaplin did.

You asked about his leadership, he was in the leadership team his last two seasons. That GF summed up all that had gone wrong with Port, we had moved from our hard roots. Chaplin was a symptom as was Pearce.
Dead set right there , Pearce a bloody squib and they didn't call Chapy kink of the klangers for bugger all , and its not just because he left , heaps of us were pissed with him long time before that , except the then coach , gee , golly , where's he now ?

It wasn't a push mate I can promise you that. At best his ankles were clipped. Even if that's the case he had a couple of metres on him and tried to stroll to the ball. I don't doubt he'll be embarrassed when he watches the replay, I just don't trust him in those clutch moments anymore

Nudge in the back. Went down like he'd been shot, highly disappointing. Was running after it like a turtle anyway

Carlisle used to be just as shit as Troy imho , bet since Chapy left it seems Bobby has started to play some really good , gutsy football . Not following Troy's leadership example anymore.

It wasn't a push mate I can promise you that. At best his ankles were clipped. Even if that's the case he had a couple of metres on him and tried to stroll to the ball. I don't doubt he'll be embarrassed when he watches the replay, I just don't trust him in those clutch moments anymore
I personally would like to see it again, I thought it was a push both times I saw it. Doesn't have to be a hard push when you are running and it's from behind, even if it was a clip of the ankle, hence why soccer is so strict with tackles from behind. Could be wrong, but it seemed like Schultz trying to take him out to capitalize on a 3 on 1

No he doesn't. He'd be doing poorly if he was at RFC too, worse than Chappy I expect (maybe not worse than today but in general)....

Chappy did go down really easily though with that gentle nudge.... symptomatic of a few though today.

Where are the mods at? Ban these ******* Port supporters talking shit.

Some of our supporters are honestly ****** in the head. The whole team struggled and we want to pick out Chaplin?

The last 9 weeks I've been hearing how good he was, **** we are quick to eat our own.

TigerImposter **** you are a flog mate. Tiger Imposter, your name suits you to a tee.

TheFlea wanted to know why I didn't rate the Chaplin get:rolleyes:

Still love RFC though!:):thumbsu:

No he doesn't. He'd be doing poorly if he was at RFC too, worse than Chappy I expect (maybe not worse than today but in general)....

Chappy did go down really easily though with that gentle nudge.... symptomatic of a few though today.

Strongly disagree. Think Carlile has become a good full back in the last couple of years.

I personally would like to see it again, I thought it was a push both times I saw it. Doesn't have to be a hard push when you are running and it's from behind, even if it was a clip of the ankle, hence why soccer is so strict with tackles from behind. Could be wrong, but it seemed like Schultz trying to take him out to capitalize on a 3 on 1

Yeah possibly, will have to see it again. Definitely looked to me like he wasn't going full tilt at the footy to begin with.
Anyway, yeah there numerous poor players today, none poorer imo. Maybe it's unfair to single him out. Am yet to see him stand up and be counted for mine. IF he goes, he shouldn't be alone

Strongly disagree. Think Carlile has become a good full back in the last couple of years.

Agree to disagree, I think he's crap. Good defensively at times, poor with the ball.... turnover merchant. The type of player who is good in a good team and crap in an average to poor team....

You obviously don't watch Port games or have no idea about football, probably both

Timmy, time to jump back on your mother's tit mate, it's feeding time. Try to be a gracious winner and piss off back to the backwater, you call a state....

Oh and I probably watch more Port games than you do flog....

Dead set right there , Pearce a bloody squib ?
Disagree, Pearce had a crack and was the only player breaking lines back when we were shit- he's been good for Freo.

I don't understand why Richmond play Chaplin- they have two very promising key defenders in Rance and Astbury, anyone can see that. What's the point of playing a 28yo 195cm loose man who wilts at the first sign of physical pressure? He was a cancer at our club with all his pointing and blaming and he's no different at Richmond.

You guys deserve better.