Opinion Chappys book

Too late now but I picked my copy at the local library.
I have it on my Kindle. You can get it from Amazon.

Scarlo is not exactly William Shakespeare, but it's actually a good read. He's one of those fellers who speaks and thinks exactly as you'd imagine him to. A bloke who started out as a bit of a numbnuts (useless at school, no father around, skinny, couldn't stick at anything, a real prick to women) and then learned iron discipline and loyalty just when he needed to.

Several passages stood out for me. Here's Scarlo describing how it felt to face the rest of the group during the "Leading Teams" period:

"It's not much fun sitting in front of 40 guys and basically being told what a w***er you are. As expected, most of the feedback focused on my off-field attitude, in particular my perceived gruffness and dismissive nature. The younger players in particular thought I was some sort of angry ogre, and they would try to avoid me in the corridors." I like this: it's not poetry, but it's straight up and shows good self-awareness.

Then there's this closing insight into his character by Steven King:

"He is a simple man. He once said to me, "Kingy, I don't care what happens after footy, as long as I have got my family I don't care. I'll live in a shed and, as long as it has got air-conditioning and Foxtel, I'm happy.

He's not a man of great extravagance. So, if he can watch his NFL, get the internet, do his Fantasy League and there's air conditioning, he's rapt. He's a pretty simple man in terms of what excites him, that's for sure.

But Scarlo's greatest strength is that he couldn't give a **** what people think."

Again, pretty basic, but it's nice to hear football players being talked about as ordinary characters who see themselves very plainly. No weird self-justifications, strange religious or philosophical beliefs, or the all too common narcissism. A good country boy who had a solid character, looked after his friends and family, and writes (or had someone write) about his amazing career in a plain and interesting way. I've actually read the book several times which astonishes me.

Has anyone got this yet? The other autobiography I'm hoping to get is the Phil Collens one. (No, not Phil Collins). Does anybody have that one either?
Thought PC , the real one not the Def Leppard one, was doing a book too….

Go Catters

Thought PC , the real one not the Def Leppard one, was doing a book too….

Go Catters
Sorry Daz. Not a fan of Phil Collins. Can appreciate Genesis, but actually quite like Peter Gabriel. It's interesting enough for me to not get board with and it's not heavy so the mrs. doesn't mind. Like his album So and the one that came out after it. (Sorry for derailing the thread). (Edit) quite a bit after it. The other album I like is called up. The production is great and it's quite dark.

I am a big fan of Phil Collins, and loved many of his songs, both solo and when fronting Genesis.

However, I did like a lot of Peter Gabriel's solo songs as well.

I wonder if the book includes a chapter where Chapman admits that he was wrong to go to Essendon, and should have pulled the pin when the club let him go instead, and retired a one-club player, or even played on a reduced contract, and have been able to help fast-track players such as Lang, Thurlow, Blicavs and Gregson via the VFL by him playing alongside them, and giving back to the club, the same way Tim McGrath did in 2002 (and McGrath was guaranteed of NO senior games that year, and still played on to help Ablett, Stevie J, Bartel, Kelly and even Chappy to become the superstars they became, and taste success in the 2002 VFL Grand Final. McGrath didn't sook about a maximum ten games, which I don't buy the club told Chapman either).

Does he also mention how he held the club to ransom in 2012 and 2013 for two-year contracts, when most players across the league over thirty get one year max, year after year (Brent Harvey is on his eighth or ninth one-year contract), how he said that he could have gone to other clubs over the years, while at the same time preaching about the team staying together for success, and acted like he regretted in hindsight not taking up one of the offers, since he accused Geelong of lowballing him, in both money and years of contract? Does he mention he accepted a one-year contract at Essendon, and less money than Geelong's initial offer, after turning it down at Geelong? Or how about how he hit Justin Westoff of Port in the 2013 S.F., getting rubbed out, and possibly his absence played a part in us missing the 2013 GF (even though Varcoe was made the scapegoat instead)?

I wonder if I can read these things in his book. Or maybe I should try to get hold of the old newspapers instead, where he blabbed to the media and aired our dirty laundry about the club's contract negotiations with him, and went to the media first to push his case, instead of the club.

I am a big fan of Phil Collins, and loved many of his songs, both solo and when fronting Genesis.

However, I did like a lot of Peter Gabriel's solo songs as well.
Each to there own. That's the beauty of art. I saw Chappy's book at a shop in highpoint, looked like there was no pictures. I don't think there where pictures in Scarlo's or Harley's either though? But a pic of Paul taking the hanger in '07 grand final would have been nice, hell, that should have been the cover!

No pictures??
Looks like it's not fit for kiddies, then, is it?

I wonder if the book includes a chapter where Chapman admits that he was wrong to go to Essendon, and should have pulled the pin when the club let him go instead, and retired a one-club player, or even played on a reduced contract, and have been able to help fast-track players such as Lang, Thurlow, Blicavs and Gregson via the VFL by him playing alongside them, and giving back to the club, the same way Tim McGrath did in 2002 (and McGrath was guaranteed of NO senior games that year, and still played on to help Ablett, Stevie J, Bartel, Kelly and even Chappy to become the superstars they became, and taste success in the 2002 VFL Grand Final. McGrath didn't sook about a maximum ten games, which I don't buy the club told Chapman either).

Does he also mention how he held the club to ransom in 2012 and 2013 for two-year contracts, when most players across the league over thirty get one year max, year after year (Brent Harvey is on his eighth or ninth one-year contract), how he said that he could have gone to other clubs over the years, while at the same time preaching about the team staying together for success, and acted like he regretted in hindsight not taking up one of the offers, since he accused Geelong of lowballing him, in both money and years of contract? Does he mention he accepted a one-year contract at Essendon, and less money than Geelong's initial offer, after turning it down at Geelong? Or how about how he hit Justin Westoff of Port in the 2013 S.F., getting rubbed out, and possibly his absence played a part in us missing the 2013 GF (even though Varcoe was made the scapegoat instead)?

I wonder if I can read these things in his book. Or maybe I should try to get hold of the old newspapers instead, where he blabbed to the media and aired our dirty laundry about the club's contract negotiations with him, and went to the media first to push his case, instead of the club.
He wasn't wrong though. Got a good wage for two years. even if he did play well in the first year geelong wouldn't of extended his contract. He has seen how they screwed SJ and will be very comfortable with his decision to play with the bombers.

When I flipped through Chappy's book, it looked like there were a few pages dedicated to colour photos.

Why was he wrong to go to Essendon? He played pretty good footy for them the first year. He's entitled to get the deal he wanted.

Does he also mention how he held the club to ransom in 2012 and 2013 for two-year contracts, when most players across the league over thirty get one year max, year after year (Brent Harvey is on his eighth or ninth one-year contract), how he said that he could have gone to other clubs over the years, while at the same time preaching about the team staying together for success, and acted like he regretted in hindsight not taking up one of the offers, since he accused Geelong of lowballing him, in both money and years of contract?

How did he hold them to ransom? He wanted a certain deal, like all players do. Pretty sure the list management team are adults. If they don't want to offer a certain deal they don't have to. Which is what happened.

Would have loved for him to stay, but it wasn't to be.

Dick........ Head

Why was he wrong to go to Essendon? He played pretty good footy for them the first year. He's entitled to get the deal he wanted.

How did he hold them to ransom? He wanted a certain deal, like all players do. Pretty sure the list management team are adults. If they don't want to offer a certain deal they don't have to. Which is what happened.

So, then, do you want Bartel, Enright, Lonergan and others to have signed for another two or three years? Should we have signed Kelly, Johnson and Stokes to another two or three year contract if they demanded it too?

If so, then who do we sacrifice? Do we offload some of our youngsters, like Gregson, Thurlow, Lang and Kolojadsnij to keep all these veterans on the list? Or do we cut our losses with Menzel, Vardy and Cowan, even though they showed good form when they came back? Or do we not go after Dangerfield, Henderson, Smith and S. Selwood?

If you keep one, you must sacrifice someone else. Chapman wasn't the future. Based on form, if he had got his two year contract at Geelong, he still would have retired this year, along with Johnson, Stokes and Kelly.

Few players willingly retire. Most need to be tapped on the shoulder. AFL clubs don't have a list of 50 anymore, where they can carry lots of players.

So, when would be the right time to retire Chapman? What if he wanted another two years, even though he was barely a shadow this year?

The club is bigger than any player, and Chapman put himself before his teammates.

How come there isn't the same fury for retiring Kelly, Stokes, or Johnson. Will you be upset if the club taps Bartel, Lonergan or Enright on the shoulder?

Why should Chapman get preferential treatment over other veterans, who did just as much in those Grand Finals as Chapman did?

Here's a question: If Chapman played at Geelong in 2015, but played to the form he did this year, would you have accepted CS tapping him on the shoulder? He was past it in 2015. So, therefore, he only deserved a one-year contract, so Geelong were vindicated.

Besides, Chapman changed his conditions when he went to Essendon. He wanted two years at Geelong and more money, but at Essendon only demanded one year and less money than Geelong's initial offer. So he changed the conditions for Essendon, but wouldn't bend for Geelong, which told me that he wanted out of the Cats, and played the victim to get sympathy from the Geelong fans. He played you like a fiddle. He only wanted to leave Geelong once he heard that Bomber was coaching Essendon in 2015.

I think that Chapman was close to Bomber, but not as close to Chris Scott, so Chapman used the contract negotiation to reunite with Bomber and play under him again. If so, Chapman should come clean and be honest.

Why be upset that Chapman was "retired" by Geelong, but not be as upset for our other premiership heroes being pushed out the door?

So, you are happy to see Chapman in another jumper?

Wouldn't you prefer if Chapman had retired, got a farewell game honoring him and the other retirees, and was driven around Symons Stadium the first game of the next year in a motorcade, where the Geelong fans can honor him again?

He threw that away for one or two more years? He deserved a rest, to put his feet up, and pass the torch to the next generation of premiership heroes. He could have got a coaching job at the Cats, or mentored some of the youngsters (something he didn't seem prepared to do in the VFL).

Besides, I don't buy the "10 games maximum" for a minute. Are you telling me that if Chapman ripped it up in the VFL, he wouldn't get games? I think the club wanted to manage him, rest him for six-day breaks and interstate games, and play him in the big games at the 'G. Chapman is a great finals player, so maybe the Cats wanted him fresh, to use him as a trump card in the finals, fully fit and ready to go. Ottens got offered a similar deal in 2012, but retired instead, and didn't go and sulk up and join another club.

So, then, do you want Bartel, Enright, Lonergan and others to have signed for another two or three years? Should we have signed Kelly, Johnson and Stokes to another two or three year contract if they demanded it too?

Every player's case is different. Were they playing as well as Chapman was at the end of 2013?

If so, then who do we sacrifice? Do we offload some of our youngsters, like Gregson, Thurlow, Lang and Kolojadsnij to keep all these veterans on the list? Or do we cut our losses with Menzel, Vardy and Cowan, even though they showed good form when they came back? Or do we not go after Dangerfield, Henderson, Smith and S. Selwood?

I definitely would have cut Cowan, possibly Menzel, and Vardy would be very lucky. In reality they all are. I certainly would not have extended McCarthy's contract (and hasn't he vindicated that). As for the final quartet, Dangerfield was obviously a rare opportunity (much like Ottens in 2004), Smith may fill a huge hole, and I would not have gone after the other two.

If you keep one, you must sacrifice someone else. Chapman wasn't the future. Based on form, if he had got his two year contract at Geelong, he still would have retired this year, along with Johnson, Stokes and Kelly.

So he was finished in his final year? Ok, so that would be like Scarlett, McIntosh, Kelly and Stokes for starters.

So, when would be the right time to retire Chapman? What if he wanted another two years, even though he was barely a shadow this year?

Then the club says no. It's quite complex.

The club is bigger than any player, and Chapman put himself before his teammates.

How come there isn't the same fury for retiring Kelly, Stokes, or Johnson. Will you be upset if the club taps Bartel, Lonergan or Enright on the shoulder?

You've picked the wrong poster for that argument. I don't have sympathy for veterans just because of past accomplishments, and to me once you're cooked you should be moved on. No matter who.

No, I won't be upset if those players are tapped on the shoulder. My best 22 right now doesn't have Bartel.

Why should Chapman get preferential treatment over other veterans, who did just as much in those Grand Finals as Chapman did?

No one said it was preferential treatment, and see a previous answer. Who else of our veterans was playing as well in late 2013?

Here's a question: If Chapman played at Geelong in 2015, but played to the form he did this year, would you have accepted CS tapping him on the shoulder? He was past it in 2015. So, therefore, he only deserved a one-year contract, so Geelong were vindicated.

Let me think about it. Yes. The same as Kelly and Stokes should have been told much earlier this season.

Why be upset that Chapman was "retired" by Geelong, but not be as upset for our other premiership heroes being pushed out the door?

I never said I was upset. I said I would have loved for him to stay.

Few players willingly retire. Most need to be tapped on the shoulder. AFL clubs don't have a list of 50 anymore, where they can carry lots of players.

Besides, Chapman changed his conditions when he went to Essendon. He wanted two years at Geelong and more money, but at Essendon only demanded one year and less money than Geelong's initial offer. So he changed the conditions for Essendon, but wouldn't bend for Geelong, which told me that he wanted out of the Cats, and played the victim to get sympathy from the Geelong fans. He played you like a fiddle. He only wanted to leave Geelong once he heard that Bomber was coaching Essendon in 2015.

I think that Chapman was close to Bomber, but not as close to Chris Scott, so Chapman used the contract negotiation to reunite with Bomber and play under him again. If so, Chapman should come clean and be honest.

Stay off the PCP mate,it obviously doesn't agree with you.

So, you are happy to see Chapman in another jumper?

Wouldn't you prefer if Chapman had retired, got a farewell game honoring him and the other retirees, and was driven around Symons Stadium the first game of the next year in a motorcade, where the Geelong fans can honor him again?

I'm indifferent. It doesn't bother me.

A farewell game at Geelong? Not fussed. Some like it, which is fine. What I honour Chapman for is a great career and a key part in three premierships.

Every player's case is different. Were they playing as well as Chapman was at the end of 2013?

I definitely would have cut Cowan, possibly Menzel, and Vardy would be very lucky. In reality they all are. I certainly would not have extended McCarthy's contract (and hasn't he vindicated that). As for the final quartet, Dangerfield was obviously a rare opportunity (much like Ottens in 2004), Smith may fill a huge hole, and I would not have gone after the other two.

So he was finished in his final year? Ok, so that would be like Scarlett, McIntosh, Kelly and Stokes for starters.

Then the club says no. It's quite complex.

You've picked the wrong poster for that argument. I don't have sympathy for veterans just because of past accomplishments, and to me once you're cooked you should be moved on. No matter who.

No, I won't be upset if those players are tapped on the shoulder. My best 22 right now doesn't have Bartel.

No one said it was preferential treatment, and see a previous answer. Who else of our veterans was playing as well in late 2013?

Let me think about it. Yes. The same as Kelly and Stokes should have been told much earlier this season.

I never said I was upset. I said I would have loved for him to stay.

How was Chapman playing as well in 2013? He was out for eight weeks with a hamstring injury, and I didn't see his return VFL game, but I doubt he would have had a 3-vote game in that either (most don't hit the ground running back from long injury) so at least half the season, he wasn't playing well, because he wasn't even playing. Plus he got rubbed out.

So he missed 12 games in 2013, and that qualifies as a good season, does it? Well, he could have played 10-12 games in 2014 as well, but wasn't going to stay unless he played EVERY game.

I bet if other players played there last season half-injured, you would want them gone. You just like Chappy because he stuck it to Chris Scott, who many here loathe. You people see it as another reason to sack a hated coach.