quam

would it be worth us chasing Graham Polak from freo to fill a key defensive post for us, it seems he is out of favours at freo.
what about Dean Solomon, someone told me he was out of contract and he did cop alot of flack from kevin sheeedy last season, thoughts.......
Anyone else look alright that could help us out for the future??

Polak would be worth it, despite being over-rated.

He is capable of playing both ends of the ground but certainly should help out more than often in defence, to fill the void of when Presti and Wakelin get nearer to the end of their respective careers.

The $$$ is the main problem. I am assuming he would want plenty of cash in his pocket after each year. :rolleyes:

Dean Solomon can stay at Essendon. We don't want any players un-disciplined at Collingwood. Not needed either.

quam said:
would it be worth us chasing Graham Polak from freo to fill a key defensive post for us, it seems he is out of favours at freo.
what about Dean Solomon, someone told me he was out of contract and he did cop alot of flack from kevin sheeedy last season, thoughts.......
Anyone else look alright that could help us out for the future??
Yes to Polak, no to Solomon.

Polak is simply too talented not to take a look at. Then again, if the recruiting and coaching departments are still in love with the "good character" players, then Polak may not get a look.

Then again, I don't know that we'd have the right sort of thing to offer for a guy like him, and he's contracted for next year, so a deal isn't urgent.

As for Solomon, we have enough mid-sized defenders in Clement, Maxwell, C1 and O'Brien. Doesn't really fit a need.

No interest in Solomon. Typical washed up hack that Sheedt trades when their careers are over. Avoid.

Polak is a maybe but with huge doubts over him I woudlnt bust a gut to get him. Will be expensive compared to his perfomances to date. Wouldnt trade him for a pick, but if they accept a Cole or a Davis, maybe.

Yeah you guys could use Polak, but your defense aint to bad on paper. Soloman is ********, useless piece of junk.

dont worry soloman wont be coming to the pies as malthouse would never pick up an undisciplined player! the only reason why williams is still on our list is because he works hard and is an angel! to bad angels cant play footy! soloman is a talented footballer with guts we coudl use him but only for the right price! is a tad injury prone anyhow!

polak-hmmmmm i say yes yes yes! just what we need. picking up kpp's for the back half now will ensure we dont have a transition period like carlton is having now! dont know why we should wait for our backline to fall apart. We shoudl start preparing now! we dont need to jump the gun and offer to much because we have teh second pick in the preseason draft!

Hey guys, just noted the Graham Polak reference. I thought pretty highly of him till I went to a coaching clinic with David Parkin. Parkin said without hiding too much that it was about time Polak got dropped for his off ground misdemenours because he gets on the pi$$ a lot. He was referring to Freo's coaching technique which was soft and unable to adhere to team rules.

So at Collingwood or Carlton with a bit sterner disciplinarians in charge he might be ok - or it might break him.

I wouldnt be giving up to much for him. Is he out of contract? Assuming no deals can be made the following players could go pre-season:
* Polak
* Salopek
* Matthew Lappin

It would be nice to get a decent player with our pre-season pick. Caracella was a good one last year but been slim pickings since.......

gadj1976 said:
Hey guys, just noted the Graham Polak reference. I thought pretty highly of him till I went to a coaching clinic with David Parkin. Parkin said without hiding too much that it was about time Polak got dropped for his off ground misdemenours because he gets on the pi$$ a lot. He was referring to Freo's coaching technique which was soft and unable to adhere to team rules.

So at Collingwood or Carlton with a bit sterner disciplinarians in charge he might be ok - or it might break him.

Yep, I'd say that the idea would be to wait until the end of the 2006 season -I'm pretty sure Polak is out of contract then, and hope he is still out of favour. If he is he'll come a lot cheaper in a years time and if you got him out of Perth, away from his mates, he'd have a better cahnce of coming good.

im not a big fan of Polak....i wouldnt want the club to chase him

Eddie said something last week i think, why recruit an 18 year old at pick 60 who will only eat the bread rolls at the club for 2 years then get flicked? i wasnt sure if he was referring to keeping dud players on the list as deptrh, or recruiting recycled players, but i took it as inference to recruiting recycled players, so i throw some names up of young players who struggle to get a game at their club, or who may want to come home, as possible targets:

Salopek
Ryley Dunn
Jason Winderlich
Jason Gram
Michael Rischitelli
Shane Birss
Troy Chaplin
Jacob Schuback
Fergus Watts

they are just some names i could think off....i threw Watts and Chaplin in there but they arent the number 1 type of player we require

grayza said:

Eddie said something last week i think, why recruit an 18 year old at pick 60 who will only eat the bread rolls at the club for 2 years then get flicked? i wasnt sure if he was referring to keeping dud players on the list as deptrh, or recruiting recycled players, but i took it as inference to recruiting recycled players, so i throw some names up of young players who struggle to get a game at their club, or who may want to come home, as possible targets:

Salopek
Ryley Dunn
Jason Winderlich
Jason Gram
Michael Rischitelli
Shane Birss
Troy Chaplin
Jacob Schuback
Fergus Watts

they are just some names i could think off....i threw Watts and Chaplin in there but they arent the number 1 type of player we require

I like the first two on your list and the last one.

If Sampi the fat arsed wombat fails to perform (yet again) tonight, you can have him. We all know how much Mick loves Eagles rejects! ;) :p

grayza said:

Salopek
Ryley Dunn
Jason Winderlich
Jason Gram
Michael Rischitelli
Shane Birss
Troy Chaplin
Jacob Schuback
Fergus Watts

St.Kilda want to keep Gram, and Birss and the Doggies have just agreed upon a new 2 year contract for $80,000 a season (he knocked back a more lucrative offer from the Blues - roumored to be around $120, 000)

grayza said:

Salopek
Ryley Dunn
Jason Winderlich
Jason Gram
Michael Rischitelli
Shane Birss
Troy Chaplin
Jacob Schuback
Fergus Watts

yeah eddies comment is good, but how do you know you wont pick up a hird or a yakka or ben johnson witha late pick! not to mention teh numbe rof rookie lsited players that have come good!

jabso said:
What about young(ish) Gilmour from Freo? Worth a punt?

he looks alright, doesnt seem to get much of a game at freo, always mainly picked as an emergency, and if he does get a game he gets minimal game time. I reckon he would be worth a punt. He is a very good size at 188cm and built at 84kgs. Definatley worth a punt