pavsbootlace

South Fremantle
I sit in block 105 slightly closer to our cheer squad's end of the ground. Yet, almost every home game this year, I've noticed the opposition cheer squad make significantly more noise than our mob. It could be argued that when we score, the whole crowd is cheering, which could drown our cheer squad out, whereas when the away team scores most of the noise is coming from the city end. But after noticing this effect in the Essendon game (round 3) I've made a point of paying close attention to it all year and I've come to the conclusion that our cheer squad needs to pull their collective finger out and take a leaf out of seppo's mob's book.

Lift your game cheer squad, we can't hear you!

I don't really understand the point of the cheer squad if they go quiet along with the rest of the crowd when we're down a few goals, as you say they're vocal when we score/are winning but so is everybody else.

I can kind of understand why opposition fans/cheer squads are louder though (this includes our Melbourne based fans) because generally speaking they see their seem play much less frequently than home fans.

The MCG Freo cheer squad made heaps of noise, when mostly losing on Sunday at the game. Was surprised as it has been some time since the cheer squad at Subi even got involved. It's becoming almost bandwagon-like.. there for the experience.

shibz_1989 I am sure will comment on this.

I sat with the cheersquad during the away Eagles game and it was pretty loud, certainly away supporters have only one game a year to get vocal.

Also - saw your 'You are my Son Son' sign Shibz - nice work :thumbsu:

Longtime lurker, dipping my toe in the water...

Having sat at the Subiaco end for the last 11 years, there has definitely been a huge dropoff in the quality of the home cheer squad over that time. Certainly in earlier years they were very loud, passionate and proactive in organising the chants.

For me, the Patersons fun police ripped the guts out of them when they forced the removal of the bass drum in 2007/08. Although some hardy souls tried to keep things going for a time, ever since they have got quieter and quieter. Possibly the absolute nadir came in 2011 during our game against St Kilda, where the crowd were prompted to chant by the scoreboard!

Certainly they seem to gasp in horror just like many in the crowd when the opposition score well, which is not really their job description.

And I'd also like to know why the much loved "Pavlich, he's BEW-tiful!" cry started in Block 311 and not the actual cheer squad...

I want to be hearing a trumpet and drum play while im watching the game

Waste of money, as you don't get a very good view compared to other seating at Subi. I also think the chants are poxy and they don't add much atmosphere to the game.

Think the 'Freo' chant is bone-chilling. This may be because it normally comes out at the point in the 4th quarter when we know we're going to win. For example take a look at the first derby and Collingwood game this year, once we got a few goals in front the chant was unloaded.

Yep, my eagles loving brother confided in me Dockers games had loads more atmosphere and where better games, but that was at least 8 years ago, he would be sadly disappointed these days, maybe the cheersquad should go to Melbourne for some seppo schooling.
Ffffrrrrrreeeeeeoooooooooohhhhhhhhh

Our cheer squad is pathetic....would it kill em to make some noise ? IDIOTS YOUR A CHEER SQUAD MAKE A BIT OF NOISE AND CHEER HE TEAM ON

Think the 'Freo' chant is bone-chilling. This may be because it normally comes out at the point in the 4th quarter when we know we're going to win. For example take a look at the first derby and Collingwood game this year, once we got a few goals in front the chant was unloaded.

I have noticed that the rest of the crowd don't really join in on the cheer squad chants. People woild rather just shout a quick cheer with a bit of a fist pump and then keep watching the game.

I love to be apart of the crowd when we all go about the 'Freo' chant as you say it can be bone-chilling.

Longtime lurker, dipping my toe in the water...

Having sat at the Subiaco end for the last 11 years, there has definitely been a huge dropoff in the quality of the home cheer squad over that time. Certainly in earlier years they were very loud, passionate and proactive in organising the chants.

For me, the Patersons fun police ripped the guts out of them when they forced the removal of the bass drum in 2007/08. Although some hardy souls tried to keep things going for a time, ever since they have got quieter and quieter. Possibly the absolute nadir came in 2011 during our game against St Kilda, where the crowd were prompted to chant by the scoreboard!

Certainly they seem to gasp in horror just like many in the crowd when the opposition score well, which is not really their job description.

And I'd also like to know why the much loved "Pavlich, he's BEW-tiful!" cry started in Block 311 and not the actual cheer squad...

Funny you say that "Pavlich" chant. It originated from a young couple who used to sit near me in Block 312 and spread around that area. They no longer sit there but the chant has continued. Was great to hear it again for the first time in a long time when Pav kicked a couple against the Saints.

I sit the block behind them and there are people that try to start chants but no one joins in. A few of my mates are in the cheer squad and they reckon the Freo Sirens have taken over the cheer squad and has progressively gotten worse over the years the more of a hold they have taken.

A few people need to come over here to an East Coast game, see how Seppo, Miss D, teh FreoQueen, the ladies and the gents of the Vic cheer squad get a chant going, and then take that back to the home games. Someone needs to be proud to be the second O in Go Freo, and someone else needs to be the one to lead the home fans in chants and songs when we are 40 points down 3 minutes from the end of the game. We used to be very loud at Subi, now we are waaaaay too genteel except at home derbys.

All of you in Perth need to lift your voice, style and passion, not just the cheer squad members. You can all be the 23rd player for us, please just get into it in the next few home games or else we will be just as blandly pathetic a home crowd as the egirls or the Deeduds.

WOW. Step up and cheer. I don't live in WA and can hear the dramatic drop off of total crowd volume at games especially if we are not up. Don't be too quick to point the finger at the cheer squad, if your looking at them you're not cheering. Got a problem with the cheer squad, step up, pay $30 extra, support your club and join the cheer squad and make it better. Otherwise if you're not solving the problem, then your part of it,

My Eagle loving son always tells me that the Freo games are more 'vibrant' and have a great atmosphere compared to the eagles games.

Having said that, I am firmly in the belief that rather than sit back and criticize, why not join the cheer squad and make a difference? Very easy to sit back and have a whinge.

Edit: Snap more_of_bito

My Eagle loving son always tells me that the Freo games are more 'vibrant' and have a great atmosphere compared to the eagles games.

Having said that, I am firmly in the belief that rather than sit back and criticize, why not join the cheer squad and make a difference? Very easy to sit back and have a whinge.

I cheer loud and am very vocal, I don't see why I should join the 'cheer squad' because I don't think they do a great job. BTW this has nothing to do with the Melbourne Based Squad.

You're a failure as a father :(

I cheer loud and am very vocal, I don't see why I should join the 'cheer squad' because I don't think they do a great job. BTW this has nothing to do with the Melbourne Based Squad.

Personally, the cheer squad isn't my thing (even if I lived in Perth) but to criticize them, considering they are basically volunteers, is just poor form in my opinion. Reminds me of my kids junior footy teams, all the parents quick to point out the things they do wrong, but disappear the moment their turn to help out comes around.

Although I can see what you are saying it takes a much bigger effort to join the cheer squad than to help out at your child’s footy game. It's not exactly the same and is a completely different scenario.

You don't have to pay $30 extra (a game or season) and have to move from seats where you have been sitting for years with your mates or family to seats around people you don't know. There isn't anyone here dictating how they could do it better just giving an opinion on an open forum.