Pets chickens

• Thread starter Thread starter nicky

Not even one or two?
Is that a council restriction, JB? Or your personal rule- ie not enough space for them to run?
If it's the second, what about a couple of bantams?

600m square is the rule. He we only have just over 500m square. It's one of those blocks that was subdivided long ago to put in battleaxe blocks around the back.

My old place was actually about the same size but because it was the back of Nerang (in the hinterland) and a couple of blocks from being fully rural it wasn't really an issue. I could hear other chickens making noise in the mornings across the street. Here if I got a complaint the council would be well within their rights to order me to get rid of the chickens.

I'm happy for now though as looking after a pet is a bit of responsibility and it's good to have a break. Some days I do wish I could just pop out the back and feed the chook some scraps. I don't really miss the eggs, just having a pet. I would have chickens before I have a cat or a dog.

600m square is the rule. He we only have just over 500m square. It's one of those blocks that was subdivided long ago to put in battleaxe blocks around the back.

My old place was actually about the same size but because it was the back of Nerang (in the hinterland) and a couple of blocks from being fully rural it wasn't really an issue. I could hear other chickens making noise in the mornings across the street. Here if I got a complaint the council would be well within their rights to order me to get rid of the chickens.

I'm happy for now though as looking after a pet is a bit of responsibility and it's good to have a break. Some days I do wish I could just pop out the back and feed the chook some scraps. I don't really miss the eggs, just having a pet. I would have chickens before I have a cat or a dog.
My hubby gets a bit annoyed at how I divide the scraps. There're dog scraps, chicken scraps, worm scraps, compost scraps and magpie scraps. :)

Has anyone here tried using food-grade diatomaceous earth (DE) to worm their pets- obviously chickens, in this case?
http://www.vetinfo.com/using-diatomaceous-earth-to-worm-pets.html#b

I threw some into the chicken food but all I've ended up doing is making the DE fly around everywhere as a dust. Am now thinking I should mix it into a paste with something palatable (like crushed wheat or another powdered grain) and feed it to them wet.

Any tips or thoughts?

Has anyone here tried using food-grade diatomaceous earth (DE) to worm their pets- obviously chickens, in this case?
http://www.vetinfo.com/using-diatomaceous-earth-to-worm-pets.html#b

I threw some into the chicken food but all I've ended up doing is making the DE fly around everywhere as a dust. Am now thinking I should mix it into a paste with something palatable (like crushed wheat or another powdered grain) and feed it to them wet.

Any tips or thoughts?

The stuff can be dangerous if inhaled by you or the chickens. Isn't even proven to kills parasites. I would avoid myself.

Ergh!!!!!
If i suddenly get asthma, I'll blame working underground for it- won't mention the DE. Just don't tell anyone I said anything, ok?

I guess it'd be like having silicosis. Which, in a way, it is :)

(The chemical formula for DE being SiO2*nH2O)

Haven't seen anymore bugs at night, hopefully they are finally gone.

Teriyakicat I gave away one of my young ones that I'd always assumed was a rooster but apparently he showed it to a farmer that breeds them also interested in getting another rooster and he actually reckons it's probably a hen, supposed to bring it back if it is hope he does. I'll see if I can dig up a picture for any opinions, I'd always thought it was a rooster because it had a rooster like gait and no early tail feathers like the hens.

Haven't seen anymore bugs at night, hopefully they are finally gone.

Teriyakicat I gave away one of my young ones that I'd always assumed was a rooster but apparently he showed it to a farmer that breeds them also interested in getting another rooster and he actually reckons it's probably a hen, supposed to bring it back if it is hope he does. I'll see if I can dig up a picture for any opinions, I'd always thought it was a rooster because it had a rooster like gait and no early tail feathers like the hens.
I don't know anything about the type of chickens you have, Kram. I usually wait for them to crow before I'm convinced of their sex, anyway- though I have heard that hens can learn to crow, too :confused:
Sometimes you can tell from hackle and saddle feathers. I will show any pics you post to my daughter for her opinion. She knows a lot more than I do :)

could be a mixed breed? Imperfect?

I was worried when my rooster's feet got reddish coloured- turns out it's a sign of his maturity :rolleyes: ;)
Just a flaw I guess because all he breeds is light sussex and buff pekin. (well and the 1 black pekin I seen)

Teriyakicat can't find a picture of the yellow legged one I gave away but this is the other similarly built young one that I had also assumed was a rooster. This one also seems to have a bit of a flaw in that it's black marks are rather more 'grey' than black. These 2 used to also 'spar' occasionally which also made me assume they were roosters. Although it is getting quite old now and its comb is still light coloured and not really developed much yet.
IMGP2327.jpg

Also notice a devil like creature observing in the background ;)
IMGP2317.jpg

IMGP2329.jpg

Teriyakicat can't find a picture of the yellow legged one I gave away but this is the other similarly built young one that I had also assumed was a rooster. This one also seems to have a bit of a flaw in that it's black marks are rather more 'grey' than black. These 2 used to also 'spar' occasionally which also made me assume they were roosters. Although it is getting quite old now and its comb is still light coloured and not really developed much yet.
IMGP2327.jpg

Also notice a devil like creature observing in the background ;)
IMGP2317.jpg

IMGP2329.jpg
haha- lolling at the black devil :D They pop up everywhere, don't they? Cats, I mean- when you don't even notice they're around, they just are sitting quietly in a big plant pot or under a bush or something and you realise later when you check your pics. :)

That looks like a Henny Penny to me (comparing it to the roo in the bottom pic- assuming they're the same age), but I won't sign any paperwork on it :D
I haven't had big chooks for a while but a few things I looked for- and you've got the females to compare against, which is great- are the relative size of the legs, the difference in comb size (not forgetting there are always variations- some of my red hens have huge rooster-sized combs), the way the hackle feathers look- those on males are more elongated- and the saddle feathers.

Have your boys started their wattle development yet? All I can see in that lower pic is one boy, by the looks.

That looks like a Henny Penny to me (comparing it to the roo in the bottom pic- assuming they're the same age), but I won't sign any paperwork on it :D
I haven't had big chooks for a while but a few things I looked for- and you've got the females to compare against, which is great- are the relative size of the legs, the difference in comb size (not forgetting there are always variations- some of my red hens have huge rooster-sized combs), the way the hackle feathers look- those on males are more elongated- and the saddle feathers.

Have your boys started their wattle development yet? All I can see in that lower pic is one boy, by the looks.
In the in bottom pic in the middle is yeah the older big rooster that was the only fox survivor with the scalped one from the first lot. The 2 left and right of him are the 2 younger hens, probably can't see that well in the picture but they have always looked totally different (like scalped hen as well) compared to the top one and the one I gave away (and big roo). Maybe it's a hen but just a different build or something..

All that clear as mud :D

In the in bottom pic in the middle is yeah the older big rooster that was the only fox survivor with the scalped one from the first lot. The 2 left and right of him are the 2 younger hens, probably can't see that well in the picture but they have always looked totally different (like scalped hen as well) compared to the top one and the one I gave away (and big roo). Maybe it's a hen but just a different build or something..

All that clear as mud :D
No- got it perfectly. The roo is older, hence easily distinguishable. The others look much the same as each other, at first glance. You're right- the comb is quite small and doesn't look any different from the others.
I had a friend visit when my chooks were 2-3 (?) months old- I had bantams, big ones, all different breeds, and she looked at my wyandotte and picked him as a roo straight up, because of his big legs. I had 2 australorps (one must've been a cross breed because she was a little different) and the others were mostly bantams, so there was nothing to compare with that was a similar age, but she must've remembered what her big white roo looked like when he was little.

I guess you just have to wait to see if it lays an egg or if it crows :D

Any particular type, cats2rise? Egg-layers, chickens that look nice or are interesting breeds, chickens that lay coloured eggs?
No fancy chickens - probably just a couple that will lay eggs. They will be treated like gods and have an awesome set up.

That's the plan anyway.

No fancy chickens - probably just a couple that will lay eggs. They will be treated like gods and have an awesome set up.

That's the plan anyway.
lol
You can get the ordinary red hens, which are great layers (but not as cute as some breeds) or you can do some research and find some other hens that you like the look of and which produce almost as well. The red hens are probably easier to source- and should be guaranteed to be female- but you can get all types of hen if you look around.

Here's a site with several recommendations:
http://www.thebackyardchickenfarmer.com/backyard-chickens-the-5-best-breeds-for-egg-layers/
Australorps are great, too. Your local chicken store will probably sell Hy-line brown hens. Good layers and they don't go clucky because they've been bred to lay. The Ameraucana and the Araucana lay greenish coloured eggs- which might be interesting ;)
Screen Shot 2015-05-11 at 6.03.03 pm.png

and here's a site that lists different types for different conditions:
http://www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/which-breed-of-chicken-is-best-for-you/

There are heaps of chicken forums (like Backyard Poultry) where you can join up and ask questions.
Sounds like you've got an exciting project ahead :) Good luck!

Yeah you can certainly get nice or interesting looking different breeds of chook that are still productive egg layers, just do a bit of reading and see what's around for sale in your area.
Do you find the Isa Browns or Hy-lines cuddly, Kram?
I reckon Silkies and Pekins make great pets but they wouldn't lay enough unless you got a few of them. And they go clucky a lot ... But they're very cuddly ;)!

Do you find the Isa Browns or Hy-lines cuddly, Kram?
I've only ever owned one, the hen I kidnapped from the school farm ;) Was a scruffy looking thing but probably close to the friendliest chicken I've ever owned. Fox :(

Hey that was a rescue and never tell yourself different. Kids can be nasty to chooks.