Toast Chris Masten

Football is 40% about talent and 40% about opportunity. Now the difference between the last two weeks and most of Mastens games between now and late 2009? The large minutes in the middle.

Woosha playing him forward of the ball will pay off, just like it has with Ebert who tonight showed he's still got what it takes in the centre square.
As I said in another thread, he played most of last night off a HFF, a high HFF yes, and it's the license to roam that is working for him.

Suffers from past indiscretions and his association with Palmer but is actually a pretty decent guy, has mellowed out heaps since meeting his missus, most of the muppets on this board wouldn't know that though so they just make ASSsumptions.
Girlfriend + Growing Up are big factors. Lots of guys who are knobs at 18-19 turn into pretty decent blokes by their mid 20's

Yeah and 5 goal assists I think?

I was impressed with this also. It was around 3 quarter time when he had 5 assists, not sure if he picked up anymore.

Another good performance. Almost most impressive was the fact that he played HF most of the game. Shows theres a spot in the team for him even with Kerr coming back.

Whew, I was worried that Masten would be put to the sword for not having another 31 possie 3 goal game.:p I suppose 27 possies and 2 goals is pretty good, but I was more impressed with the 7 clearances and 6 tackles stats. :thumbsu:

Yep, i was very impressed by this as well. Some real genuine quality tackles too, not just ones that hold the guy up.

With the tank Masten has got I reckon he might turn into a dane swan or matthew boyd type player. While they may not have the best disposal efficiency, they know how to find the ball and can gut run all day and beat a tag.

Having said this, Masten didn't miss a target all night last night and he has very quick hands and makes the right decisions. That tap down to shuey for the goal was Delicious!!

Was awesome, no reflex gives, always looked up, saw him changing his mind halfway through handballs and then loading up again in a split second going with a better option. It's one of swifts strengths and it looked to me as if masten has calmed down and got the composure.

Only thing is that when kerr's back, will he be in his (clearly) best role?
Perhaps lecras will not be able to rotate through the middle as much.

The penny has dropped for Masten now he has been made to work for his spot in the team and meeting the players going to Melb at the airport while he was flying to Geraldton ,would have pricked his pride ,He has responded very professionally and now the rewards are coming .. :thumbsu:

Suffers from past indiscretions and his association with Palmer but is actually a pretty decent guy, has mellowed out heaps since meeting his missus, most of the muppets on this board wouldn't know that though so they just make ASSsumptions.

I don't think there is any doubt Masten lacked maturity when he was drafted and it has taken 4 seasons for him to start maturing as a person and as a player.

His antics a couple of years ago with that fight, the way he carried on on the field and several comments about how he used to act painted a consistant picture that he lacked maturity. Which should be expected in many 18 year old it should be said.

In yesterdays game I'll give an example. He kicked a goal and straight after a Crows player said something, Masten looked like he was going to give it back to him and get in his face and carry on and in an instant something clicked and he just ignored the guy, ran back to the middle and high fived a couple of team mates. A couple of years ago he would have carried on like a pork chop, grabbed a jumper and wasted his energy remonstrating with his opponent.

Kudos to him, he himself stated he needed a "kick up the backside" earlier this year and has started to impress with his actions with and without the ball. He is maturing as a player and a person which is great for him and the club.

Keep it up bloke.:thumbsu:

With the tank Masten has got I reckon he might turn into a dane swan or matthew boyd type player. While they may not have the best disposal efficiency, they know how to find the ball and can gut run all day and beat a tag.

Having said this, Masten didn't miss a target all night last night and he has very quick hands and makes the right decisions. That tap down to shuey for the goal was Delicious!!

He has better disposal efficiency than Boyd and Swan.

Sorry to jump on your board guys.
I was at the game last night and couldn't get over the amount of supporters giving Chris $hit, calling out "tradebait", "Fletcher Two" when he picked up the ball or groaning if he came out with the pill instead of the all damaging Priddis.
I really don't get it, the kid came to you in 08 with OP and clearly had no depth in his kick or pace in his run.
He could barely walk at the end of the season before surgery.
He showed plenty in the 10 odd games he strung together in 09, that Adelaide game with 38 touches before doing his knee/hip?? in the North Melbourne game and I felt he was BOG during the Derby McPhee took out his knee before half time in 10 and I'm a dockers supporter!
I watched him in the 06/07 U18's and I'd have swapped him for Palmer the day after Rhys won the rising star, I just don't understand the hate you guys have for him? Is it because he didn't have an immediate impact? doubled by the couple of bad years?
And I can't work out how as supporters you'd stoop to name calling at the game and on this board for one of your players?
You know this 'spud', 'knob', 'tradebait' has as many carear goals as Priddis! and that's coming off as a sub, injured, bad years and with a handful of games compared to Matt!!!
I know Matt's not Chris Judd, but I really don't get, after an amazing year from you guys and 3 out of 4 stellar games by Chris (I'm counting his sub performances) why your supporters would feel compelled to put $hit on the guy.
I've met Chris on a several occasions and as an opposition supporter can state, he's a really genuine, down to earth guy, actually got to say so is Shuey and Scott Selwood, you guys really scored....
Hey but if your still not sure, we can offer Johnson as a straight swap!

At one point last night I saw the resemblance to Swan. The way he waddles to contests and runs all day reminds me a little of a smaller Swan. He still needs to bulk up but has definitely put in a couple of very good performances.

Next week will be a true test to see if the penny has finally dropped.

I was at the game last night and couldn't get over the amount of supporters giving Chris $hit, calling out "tradebait", "Fletcher Two" when he picked up the ball or groaning if he came out with the pill instead of the all damaging Priddis.
I really don't get it, the kid came to you in 08 with OP and clearly had no depth in his kick or pace in his run.
He showed plenty in the 10 odd games he strung together in 09, that Adelaide game with 38 touches before doing his knee/hip?? in the North Melbourne game and I felt he was BOG during the Derby McPhee took out his knee before half time in 10 and I'm a dockers supporter!
I watched him in the 06/07 U18's and I'd have swapped him for Palmer the day after Rhys won the rising star, I just don't understand the hate you guys have for him? Is it because he didn't have an immediate impact? doubled by the couple of bad years?
And I can't work out how as supporters you'd stoop to name calling at the game and on this board for one of your players?
You know this 'spud', 'knob', 'tradebait' has as many carear goals as Priddis! and that's coming off as a sub, injured, bad years and with a handful of games compared to Matt!!!
I know Matt's not Chris Judd, but I really don't get, after an amazing year from you guys and 3 out of 4 stellar games by Chris (I'm counting his sub performances) why your supporters would feel compelled to put $hit on the guy.
I've met Chris on a several occasions and as an opposition supporter can state, he's a really genuine, down to earth guy, actually got to say so is Shuey and Scott Selwood, you guys really scored....

Every club has supporters with the mind of a neanderthal unfortunately.

I don't really get the Masten hate either. He's had some great games, some poor, and unfortunately has had a pretty bad run with injury during his short career.

When he has had continuity in his footy, his confidence is increased and he racks up 20+ possies. He's unselfish, is getting better at finishing infront of goal, has a big tank and is still growing and developing into his body. He's only young, just need to give him more time and patience.

One thing is for sure, a midfield of Kerr/Priddis/Shuey/Gaff/Masten is a pretty bloody good mix right now.

Nice to have Masto super fresh near the end of the season. He's coming into form at the right time.

Gonna be tough next week, lotta boys with their first finals being played - here's hoping they adapt quickly. I think our game style should be pretty conducive to finals footy.

Victim of his high draft placing. Sure not his fault he was picked there but as part of the Judd trade he has had high expectations, albeit unfair ones, placed on him.

I have been critical of Masto but have been very pleased with what he has shown this past fortnight.

Massive test v the Pies next week, lets hope he doesn't turn to water.

nah bro Chad v2 is Rhys Palmer, get it right....only Chad was part a premiership side

I don't get it either. You would think people would understand that players often take 4-5 years to bring it all together. He's been showing signs in his 50 odd games so far. Next year or the year after, he will string it all together regularly and make people on here be embarrassed about what they have been saying.

As for the supporters at the ground, well, we all know we have a lot of shit supporters that regularly attend games. Too many old grannies and others who have either never played the game or don't have the intelligence to look a bit deeper. I swear some of these people don't even watch the away games. They certainly don't watch any other teams play.

Good onya masto.

I just wish more of you supporters can have confidence in players and give them time. If i ever went to a game at Pattersons i think i would lose my shit by all the negative crap eagle supporters would have to say about guys like chris and swift.
It's disgusting.

lol @ "Fletcher Two"

But definitely a victim of being in the Judd trade. Logic goes: Judd was pick three, we got a pick 3 in exchange, pick 3=pick 3 thus Judd=Masten (or something resembling that, early draft pick and midfeilder should have an impact straight away, apparently...)

No Masto hate in my block last night. (A lot of EEEAAAAAAGLESSSS chants and mexican waves tho ;))

To be honest there was quite a bit of positive chat about how he has played the last couple of weeks and whether he is our new wet weather specialist :D Looked the goods in the flesh - lots of good off the ball footy smarts that the camera doesn't catch. :thumbsu:

No Masto hate in my block last night. (A lot of EEEAAAAAAGLESSSS chants and mexican waves tho ;))

To be honest there was quite a bit of positive chat about how he has played the last couple of weeks and whether he is our new wet weather specialist :D Looked the goods in the flesh - lots of good off the ball footy smarts that the camera doesn't catch. :thumbsu:

His mudda was a mudder

Toast Chris Masten