Wiljoy

I think Chris McDermott must be on the verge of a nervous breakdown,in todays Sunday Mail,he suggests Steven Williams & Garry mcIntosh should be brought on to the Crows coaching panel,just look at Maccas credentials,Norwood sitting firmly on the bottom of the SANFL,so he is clearly a " never wasser ",and Steven Williams is definately a " Has been". I cannot think of ANY ex Port player who has done well for any other club but Port,either as a player or as a coach,Geoff Motley Stuffed North Adelaide up when he coached them,including ruining the bestfull forward in SA ( Dennis Sachse ) and doing NOTHING with a bunch of top player,who DID something after he left.Mark Williams had a spell at Glenelg,and they were glad to see the back end of him.the Crows have had several Port players,and not one of them has been much good,Greg Anderson did zilch with South Adelaide, I think that not one ex Port person would, or could, commit himself to lift the CROWS above Port power,and,just imagineSteve Williams hearing all Crows tactical details,and then passing them on to brother Mark, it makes the mind boggle doesn't it???
Back to Macca,Ithink he was a dirty player,and I would not like to think he was going to install his type of play on the Crows.

KEEP ALL COACHING POSITIONS FOR THE CROWS TO EX CROWS PLAYERS,OR FROM ANYWHERE, BUT PORT POWER OR MAGPIES.

As much as l HATE the PAPS. , You can not question Steven Williams football or professional integrity like that, if he accepted a position on the AFL board there would be no way in living hell he would go and tell his brother any tactical moves the AFC are discussing. If he did leak any information

NO CLUB WILL EVER TOUCH HIM AGAIN,

The only person who would hire him would be his brother, so why would he do it. Gary Macintosh has no AFL experience so there is no way he should be considered as a coach, in his own words “he wants nothing to do with the AFL” 1991 isn’t that what he said about joining the crows list; Craig needs some AFL knowledge around him, especially if he is going to go after some specialty coaches out side the football circles

Maybe you should stick to supporting the Hawks, draw a line in the sand and contemplate crossing it before you come back onto this page again, thanks

Ford Fairlane said:
Yeah that Andrew McLeod guy was a real dud wasn't he ... :rolleyes:

He is one of two things

1) A troll from Melbourne who has no bloody idea and a complete moron

2) A troll from Port Adelaide who just wants to make some trouble.

Oh yeah, Andy hasn’t been a good player, can we get Chris Groom back. :eek: :D

McLeod is Number 2 all time behine the roo at the AFC

Gotta say that I disagree with most things Chris McD says - especially since he emerged from the AFC 8 years ago with a chip on his shoulder to make most Pap supporters jealous.
His support of Craig for the coaching job before it was announced was nausiating - and now his call for Noble and McIntosh is equally as "80's" - he even managed to throw in Kerna's name while he was reminising.
I will say that I'd have Stephen Williams there tommorrow, but Craig's blinkered path he is leading us down won't allow for it unfortunately.
Craig's philosophy will be as anti paps and pams as they are anti us.....which is fine as long as it doesn't go to our detriment.
Hopefully McD's little column writing stint wont drift into the offseason - or god knows what he'll come up with

Stiffy_18 said:
From Bone's suggestions this morning only Jonas, Williams and Noble have some merit. Everything else he said he is blowing out of his backside;)
Was thinking along the same lines Stiffy. Funny how he is trying to get his good mate Fred a job with AFC.

There is absolutely nothing AFC can learn from Port Adelaide....if we are going to gain anything...coaches, tactics, rehabilitation,injury prevention weight programming, player conditioning...you name it.... LETS AIM TO BE THE NEXT BRISBANE LIONS....recruit there ex players [eg Ashcroft Hart etc..including attempting to poach there recruitment guys!!!]

But Port Adelaide don't represent "state of the art" so why the mad attraction to employ the Williams's of the world ???? especially one who's record at SANFL level is crap?

Kane McGoodwin said:
Was thinking along the same lines Stiffy. Funny how he is trying to get his good mate Fred a job with AFC.
Not only Fred but Rowey as well.

Some of his suggestions were pretty laughable to be honest. Jonas is a no brainer and my gut feel tells me he will be with us next year and personally I would be absolutely stoked with that appointment. We also need someone who is a good match day tactician and someone who is exceptional at analysing the opposition because Craig can't do it all alone.

With all due respects to actually suggest Rowey as the development coach over Jonas is pretty laughable really.

However, I do agree with his view on Rehn.

Wiljoy, I agree with you that McIntosh shouldn't belong at the Crows, but I disagree with your "dirty" label you hang on him...

What was so dirty about the way he played? He was an in and under player that went hard at the ball first, and the player second... The fact that the bump was one of his best assets doesn't solely class him as "dirty", surely?

blighty said:
especially one who's record at SANFL level is crap?

Some general thoughts in response to the comment above:

1) You're seemingly writing off/ignoring Choco's AFL record - which is nigh on outstanding over the past 3 or 4 seasons (minus the ultimate prize of course) - yet you're placing high importance on his mediocre SANFL record with Glenelg?

2) How good was Malcolm Blight's SANFL coaching record? Were you ignoring his record with Geelong and saying the same thing - 'why would we want someone with such a crap record at SANFL level?' - before we hired him before the 1997 season?

3) Didn't Mick Nunan and Peter Rohde win Premierships at that level? With such fantastic SANFL records would you not say they'd be terrific candidates for the AFC position?

4) Graham Cornes and John Cahill had great records at SANFL level, yet couldn't translate that success into the AFL arena despite highly encouraging starts in the face of great adversity - and were both sacked.

All this seems to suggest that SANFL coaching records mean very little in the greater scheme of things.

If Port do go on to win their next two matches and Choco lifts the cup with Tredrea, I doubt anyone will worry too much about how a certain M. Williams fared while in charge of Glenelg a decade ago.

The comment was in response to those making the case for Stephen Williams... a highly over rated commodity whose record & football smarts suggests he's nothing out of the ordinary....

Would bring absolutely jack********e to AFC

blighty said:

The comment was in response to those making the case for Stephen Williams... a highly over rated commodity whose record & football smarts suggests he's nothing out of the ordinary....

Would bring absolutely jack********e to AFC

Ah fair enough, I took your original comments about Port Adelaide (AFL) and paired them up with your statement about Williams's plural, to mean both Mark and Stephen.

Just on Stephen, he has a pair of Premierships under his belt doesn't he? Not a bad CV for someone wishing to be an assistant at an AFL club.

dyertribe said:
Ah fair enough, I took your original comments about Port Adelaide (AFL) and paired them up with your statement about Williams's plural, to mean both Mark and Stephen.

Just on Stephen, he has a pair of Premierships under his belt doesn't he? Not a bad CV for someone wishing to be an assistant at an AFL club.
We could do far worse than Stephen Williams.

dyertribe said:
All this seems to suggest that SANFL coaching records mean very little in the greater scheme of things.

Alistair Clarksons record at SANFL level was good enough for Hawthorn..or was it his hidden role at Poor Power? Bob Hammond ,Mick Nunan,Graham Cornes, Jack Cahill and Peter Rohde all won SANFL flags and went on to coach at VFL/AFL level.

Most coaches will come form the Victorian structure but thats to do more with the numbers of Victorian teams not any bias towards Victorians as a whole.

Kane McGoodwin said:
We could do far worse than Stephen Williams.
And far better too !!!

Rehn, Bickley, McGuiness,Hart,McDermott,Ashcroft,Scotty Burns,Mathew Knights,Shaun Hart all have more to offer potentially than Williams & would bring the very latest views on oppostion tactics & methods,without the massive COI that Williams has.

blighty said:
And far better too !!!

Rehn, Bickley, McGuiness,Hart,McDermott,Ashcroft,Scotty Burns,Mathew Knights,Shaun Hart all have more to offer potentially than Williams & would bring the very latest views on oppostion tactics & methods,without the massive COI that Williams has.
Hart? McDermott? McGuinness? Abject failures? What are you smoking? Why do they have more to offer, and why would they bring the latest views when most of them aren't even coaching...you're crazy...

blighty said:
And far better too !!!

Would be intersested to know why you believe all the above are better prospects than Stephen Williams. Certainly of those who have coached SANFL, none have better credentials (though Rehn has done well with the talent he has) - but Mcx2, Knights are nowehere near him. The rest are unproven. IMO you are letting your anti-Port mentality get in the way of analysing the prospective candidates.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Would be intersested to know why you believe all the above are better prospects than Stephen Williams. Certainly of those who have coached SANFL, none have better credentials (though Rehn has done well with the talent he has) - but Mcx2, Knights are nowehere near him. The rest are unproven. IMO you are letting your anti-Port mentality get in the way of analysing the prospective candidates.
Agree with you, but not sure why the debate about S.Williams because he won't be there. I strongly believe as do some others I know close to the club, that Craig will feather the Crows nest with sporting glitterati from the world of science. I'd start with Mike Flynn add a dash of Nunan with a splash of Darrel Hart. Then there will be a token appointment of someone outside Craigy's world,which could possibly be Williams, but I doubt it.

I hope I'm wrong on this as I don't think this is the way to go, but if he is allowed to exclusively pick his own men, there is no doubt it will go this way. There is also some talk that one of the reasons Craig was a favoured candidate was because he didn't represent a great challenge to the current hierarchy and it would be easier for them to have an influence on Craig's decision making ie: a greater input into the football dept. Food for thought.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Agree 100%.

Blighty went off half cocked when someone mentioned Stephen Williams stating that his SANFL record is crap, yet he comes up with the names like McDermott, McGuiness and Knights.

Stephen Williams has 2 premierships to show for his time in SANFL which is more than other have to show.

And Hart?????? No freaking way. Most of those that Blighty has mentioned have ruined their SANFL clubs yet we want them at the AFC?????? Go figure :confused:

afc9798 said:
Agree with you, but not sure why the debate about S.Williams because he won't be there. I strongly believe as do some others I know close to the club, that Craig will feather the Crows nest with sporting glitterati from the world of science. I'd start with Mike Flynn add a dash of Nunan with a splash of Darrel Hart. Then there will be a token appointment of someone outside Craigy's world,which could possibly be Williams, but I doubt it.

I hope I'm wrong on this as I don't think this is the way to go, but if he is allowed to exclusively pick his own men, there is no doubt it will go this way. There is also some talk that one of the reasons Craig was a favoured candidate was because he didn't represent a great challenge to the current hierarchy and it would be easier for them to have an influence on Craig's decision making ie: a greater input into the football dept. Food for thought.
If thats the case then why is Peter Jonas Craig's #1 target?????? Craig wants to surround himself with a good mix and to him Jonas is a must.

All mentioned had long & outstanding AFL playing careers, with the exception of Hart....
Rehn everyone acknowledges will coach an AFL club!
Ashcroft was interviewed for an assistants role at one of the Melb based clubs after he announced his retirement & is respected for his knowledge.
Bickley was sought by Geelong last year as an assistant.
McDermott in his last year in the AFL was offered a job with Carlton which most people now say he should have accepted.
Knights has a good football brain & eventually will return to Melb in either a senior or assistants role.
Burns apart from a long & distinguished career is the type that will make a very successful assistant coach & bring recent knowledge to it...in the same way Cresswell & Ratten have made fantastic contributions at Geelong & Melbourne.
Freddy McGuiness as most people know is a deep thinker about football & brings to it one overriding factor ...he is a passionate supporter of the Adelaide Football Club.....[that alone puts him & Bickley, Rehn,& McDermott miles ahead of Williams who has a history of personal antaganism to the club] & and is completely aware of what's required to improve the onfield performance of the club.
To dismiss him because he failed while coaching the basket case called Glenelg is to expect houdini exploits from coaches...
Williams played at SANFL level & coached the one club..and played a few seasons with Brisbane without ever making a name for himself!
He's simply not rated by the football workplace...tell me which club of all the clubs desperately looking for coaches in the past couple of years that have had him on the shortlist?
Richmond, the Western Bulldogs & Hawthorn were looking at everyone & from the reports he wasn't asked to apply!
Let's face it...he's a limited football commodity with a thin coaching record bereft of vision & imagination who has been overlooked by his own club.
What could he possibly bring to our club apart from an obvious conflict of interest?
I'm very confident Craig will appoint the best people for the job...

Jonas for number one. But for next in line, forget Williams and those others. I reckon Robert Pyman is better qualified than them all. Has coached at senior level in the SANFL for a season. Has had recent experience in an AFL assistant role. Has had experience at a Victorian AFL club. Is an outsider from the Crows persepective and has never been involved with us so comes in with no internal influences. Has played at AFL level.

I have written here before that I have a fundamental problem with explayers returning to a club to coach while there are still players at the club that they've played with. Regardless of their credentials that excludes most former AFC players for now.
If S Williams wants to do it - sign him up.

Technically Stephen Williams has 3 premierships, he took over the Magpies during 1996 while Jack worked on the Power. So he won flags in 96,98,99 and was runner up in 97.

As a Port supporter, I'm not convinced of his tactical prowess tho. FWIW I think you'd be better served getting someone fresh out of the system ... as we will have to as well.

However a major reason why he hasn't reappeared as an assistant AFL coach, is he hasn't been prepared to give up his job with SAMFS for a very time limited part time coaching role. That's a lot of super to give up!