Chris Pelican (Pelchen) on SEN 2

• Thread starter Thread starter OZBomb

cypher said:
We're talking to Port but your crap side is talking out their arse with their offers in trade week. Just look at the offers you've knocked back and demanded for Everitt.

Cocky and we're not going to fold for Pelchen.

yeah we shold have taken pick 33 and ran, agree...I guess we put a pice on him at the beginning of trade week, ie an early 2nd rd, or the PSD. I've mentioned why we haven't budged but perhaps the asking price was too much to begin with.

At least we spoke to sydney.

Hawk0373 said:
yeah but pagan isn't being a smart operator...

Swans offered you their second round pick and you knocked it back... he's 32... Pelchen's not getting into MENSA on that math

Edit: You clarified this in the previous post.

cypher said:
We're talking to Port but your crap side is talking out their arse with their offers in trade week. Just look at the offers you've knocked back and demanded for Everitt.

Cocky and we're not going to fold for Pelchen.
It's called holding out for a better deal. If we get a better deal then great and if not we probably accept one that has already been laid out.

You don't always accept the first offer made to you that would be stupid.

cypher said:
Why?

Because he isn't doing a Dean Laidley?

Pagan is being smart in driving a hard bargain for Thornton and Russell to send a message that players won't be allowed to walk cheaply. The Hawks wouldn't do anything different if they were in our situation.

Russell and Thornton aren't the be all end all and if we lose them for free it isn't the end of the Carlton Football Club as we know it. :rolleyes:

what bargain? a bargain requires currency ad deals to be put on the table. The reason you are upset with us is because your coach won't talk to us.

if Pagan had opened discussions and wasn't happy with our offer then you may have a point.

Hawk0373 said:
what bargain? a bargain requires currency ad deals to be put on the table. The reason you are upset with us is because your coach won't talk to us.

if Pagan had opened discussions and wasn't happy with our offer then you may have a point.
You're pretty naive like alot of the Hawthorn fans on here who have put ridiculous offer on the table for Thornton.

There's still one day to go.

And who would show their hand early in the week and appear desperate to trade?

We've done the right thing.

OZBomb said:
Swans offered you their second round pick and you knocked it back... he's 32... Pelchen's not getting into MENSA on that math

Edit: You clarified this in the previous post.

swans said pick 33 is on the table for us to take.

pelchen will either refuse it or take it.

personally I think we should just take it, but I'll understand why we haven't.

SA HAWK said:
It's called holding out for a better deal. If we get a better deal then great and if not we probably accept one that has already been laid out.

You don't always accept the first offer made to you that would be stupid.
And what do you think Carlton are doing with Thornton?

Trying to drive up the price and pressure the other clubs.

Your reported demands for Everitt are ridiculous and you knocked back a second round pick for him.

cypher said:
Finishing bottom six

Actually making headway in the last 5 years :thumbsu:

selling your fans out to play interstate

Thanks for the 11 game MCG membership Jeff, oh and the 15,000,000 is always nice :thumbsu:

Alastair Clarkson or Jeff Kennett as President?

Pagan or Smorgan?

At least we have the guts to sack a coach, we've done it 5 times in 15 years - before anyone answers I'm not sure if that is a good or bad thing ;)

Grant Williams knows as much as Pelchen and he may have been involved in the process that got us Stevens for free.

Carlton are scared of Pelchen, hence why they won't return calls, its classic heads in the sand stuff.

How is the Everitt trade going? :rolleyes:

ditto Thornton, but at least we have put an offer forward.

Pelchen IMO is definitely on a self promoting mission and will lose good picks in a great PSD! He sounds like a munchkin and will be treated by (and Hawthorn too now) by other clubs as absolute amateurs!

Professional teams should treat their players and other clubs in a professional manner and look for solutions rather than wasting people's time and upsetting people from all corners of the AFL! :confused:

cypher said:
You're pretty naive like alot of the Hawthorn fans on here who have put ridiculous offer on the table for Thornton.

Really, the only potential trades I've seen are either pick 15 or picks 24 and 33. Both are about right for a player on the verge of leaving and who only intends to go to one club.

There's still one day to go.

All is not yet lost for all 3 players.

And who would show their hand early in the week and appear desperate to trade?

I agree with this.

We've done the right thing.

If you do want to engage in a trade, you don't want to leave talks too late.

SA HAWK said:
I find it funny that blues and hawks supporters have been going hammer and tongs at each other all week about trade week and none of us really know whats going on there. Can't wait until tomorrow and all this b.s. will be over with and both clubs can move on to next year.
:thumbsu:

Two teams that have been at the bottom of the ladder for a while are in no position to argue. When we are both back at the top then let's get it on!

SA Blue said:
:thumbsu:

Two teams that have been at the bottom of the ladder for a while are in no position to argue. When we are both back at the top then let's get it on!
Damn straight. The rivalry isn't the same whan both teams are down the bottom.

Lets hope we can play each other in the finals sooner rather than later.

SA HAWK said:
I find it funny that blues and hawks supporters have been going hammer and tongs at each other all week about trade week and none of us really know whats going on there. Can't wait until tomorrow and all this b.s. will be over with and both clubs can move on to next year.
Exactly. Both teams are just playing hardball to maximise the return on their investment, I don't see the problem in either case.

Come 2.45pm tomorrow, we'll hopefully see resolution in both the Everitt and Thornton trades, everyone knows nothing ever gets done until Friday arvo.

Hawk0373 said:
11th is bottom 6.
Tas deal is for 5 years...oh and $15mill..Thanks to Jeff.
Clarko is on the right track.

compare this with

Bottom 1.
Smorgon
Pagan

next...

Mate the Tas deal is the best strategic move the Tassie govt has made, and will ensure they get there way and have an AFL team located in Tasmania.

Yes the current XX million dollar deal is for 5 years, but what happens at the end of the 5 years? The Tassie govt demands increase otherwise they threaten to pull out of further deals, the Hawks in the meantime become dependant upon the Cash flow, the supporter base in Tassie grows and therefore if the Hawks decide not to relent to the increased demands of the Tassie govt the membership is at risk of significant decrease. Loss of Tas govt sponsorship money and reduced membership = No Choice!

Lets face it buddy your already half way across the Tasman! See ya.

Blue Thunder said:
Mate the Tas deal is the best strategic move the Tassie govt has made, and will ensure they get there way and have an AFL team located in Tasmania.

Yes the current XX million dollar deal is for 5 years, but what happens at the end of the 5 years? The Tassie govt demands increase otherwise they threaten to pull out of further deals, the Hawks in the meantime become dependant upon the Cash flow, the supporter base in Tassie grows and therefore if the Hawks decide not to relent to the increased demands of the Tassie govt the membership is at risk of significant decrease. Loss of Tas govt sponsorship money and reduced membership = No Choice!

As a Tasmanian I would like you to cease and desist with these allegations... you're blowing our cover

Blue Thunder said:
As much as I'd laugh if they relocated to New Zealand, I think you mean Bass Strait.

Hawk0373 said:
swans said pick 33 is on the table for us to take.

pelchen will either refuse it or take it.

personally I think we should just take it, but I'll understand why we haven't.

Wow, you really know your stuff....seems to have all bases covered there.

Hey, he could also........wait....nope......I think they are the only two options........:D

Blue Thunder said:
The Tassie govt demands increase otherwise they threaten to pull out of further deals
Why should that concern us?

Blue Thunder said:
the Hawks in the meantime become dependant upon the Cash flow
You obviously have no awareness about basic economic policy. For starters, the fact that we are the 3rd richest club in the AFL in regards to asset worth suggest that we wont become 'dependant upon the cash flow'.

Blue Thunder said:
the supporter base in Tassie grows and therefore if the Hawks decide not to relent to the increased demands of the Tassie govt the membership is at risk of significant decrease.

Geez, where do I start. The Hawthorn Board have outlined how they intend to recruit 4-5 thousand members from Tasmania in addition to the 30 'odd' thousand in Victoria. You really think that, timed with the Hawks move up the ladder, the membership numbers in Tasmania will outrank the ones in Melbourne? :rolleyes:

Obviously you're entitled to your own opinion, but start speaking some sense.

"You obviously have no awareness about basic economic policy. For starters, the fact that we are the 3rd richest club in the AFL in regards to asset worth suggest that we wont become 'dependant upon the cash flow'."

PhilHawk, you are talking to a Blues supporter. What would they know about cash flow, or for that matter finances ....lol :D

Bluebear said:
Wow, you really know your stuff....seems to have all bases covered there.

Hey, he could also........wait....nope......I think they are the only two options........:D

point was its our decision now, not theirs.

obviously too difficult for some.