Toast Clark & Coffield sign on until the end of 2021

Serious Question - maybe someone can set me straight.

We have extended the initial contracts of our first round draft picks for a further two years. Is there any reason why we could not have signed them for three or four right at the start?

I appreciate the good news message etc however I cant see any real benefit in not doing this when they are initially drafted. We have secured selections seven and eight. Sure they could turn out to be crap, I get that that.

I am reasonably sure that first years have to be signed for a minimum initial period of two years however -is there an upper limit?

We have extended the initial contracts of our first round draft picks for a further two years. Is there any reason why we could not have signed them for three or four right at the start?

I appreciate the good news message etc however I cant see any real benefit in not doing this when they are initially drafted. We have secured selections seven and eight. Sure they could turn out to be crap, I get that that.

I am reasonably sure that first years have to be signed for a minimum initial period of two years however -is there an upper limit?
I might be wrong, but I think draftees come with a standard 2 year contract at an afl nominated set wage. As to why it wasn't extended earlier? No reason for it I suppose. They ain't going anywhere..

Or to give a bunch of sad f***ed off supporters something to smile about...

I think there are a few reasons including the Club badly needing some good PR etc.... but I think subtly the club is trying to reduce/reset expectations.

If you read the article in the Age it really paints them as just 2 young kids, which they are of course. There is a real emphasis on how young the list is and how the team wants to grow and improve together and how we have a lot of good young players. There is also a lot of talk about a bright future.

These aren’t adjectives used to describe a flag or even finals contender. Clever way of slowly changing the fans mindset maybe and trying to calm everyone the **** down and give some hope.

Or maybe I’m reading too much into it because I’m an absolute twat.

OMG seriously!!! promised finals.... FFS let me guess you are suprised when you buy a Coke and your not suddenly windsurfing laughing and having a great time with bikini models ...
the club said they were ready for finals that finals was the target and that they felt finals was a achieveable ... promissed finals .... pffft

****, so I'm not the only one that coke isn't working for. Now I'm angry that the Saints did something to our Coke, I bet it was Richo swimming in the vats late at night to remove his freckles. Now none of us have windsurfers, %$#@. He could have borrow Bleach's bleach.

I think there are a few reasons including the Club badly needing some good PR etc.... but I think subtly the club is trying to reduce/reset expectations.

If you read the article in the Age it really paints them as just 2 young kids, which they are of course. There is a real emphasis on how young the list is and how the team wants to grow and improve together and how we have a lot of good young players. There is also a lot of talk about a bright future.

These aren’t adjectives used to describe a flag or even finals contender. Clever way of slowly changing the fans mindset maybe and trying to calm everyone the **** down and give some hope.

You lost me at adjectives.

I can't remember which game it was, perhaps Adelaide because no one was there but Joey got up and spoke ( they had him drive around the stadium in the back of the Toyota ute as a send off) and he basically said something like he urged Saints fans to stick with the club, we aren't much now but if you stick with them eventually things will turn around. At the time I thought it's not really the message they were sending as a club but perhaps internally they aren't as **** sure.

I think a lot of Big footy hype was from people like Moorabbin Ghost talking up our list and chances.

But seriously. Your reading too much in. Extending contracts for top picks is by the bye nowdays so nothing to see here I reckon. Good timing is all. Personally I think both these kids are bloody rippers so givem 10 years while we're at it!!

I reckon your spot on there Indie....if that's the case.....your right....a clever,subtle way of toning things done a little.

Interesting that the club also posted the video of them together.....the one George posted last night.

Given what you quoted....you can't help but wonder if the "dial" has been turned down a couple of notches....no...make that several notches.

Extending contracts for top picks is by the bye nowdays so nothing to see here I reckon. Good timing is all. Personally I think both thes
I think ScrappyDo...Indie was just referring to what the guys said in the interview....all very "low key" stuff.

I reckon your spot on there Indie....if that's the case.....your right....a clever,subtle way of toning things done a little.

Interesting that the club also posted the video of them together.....the one George posted last night.

Given what you quoted....you can't help but wonder if the "dial" has been turned down a couple of notches....no...make that several notches.

InsecureFondCoyote-size_restricted.gif

I think ScrappyDo...Indie was just referring to what the guys said in the interview....all very "low key" stuff.
I was waaay past that level of subtle interpretations last night. But yeah, I'd agree that the messaging out of the club has changed to conservatism and development now, but they had little choice as finals talk would not be copped by anyone at this point. But how much part does our own psychology play here? Is the messaging same as what it was, but we perceive it differently now that our expectations have altered? Are we looking for conspiracy in the tea leaves, or is it really there? The rabbit hole goes deep once you start.
Shoe.jpg

But how much part does our own psychology play here? Is the messaging same as what it was, but we perceive it differently now that our expectations have altered? Are we looking for conspiracy in the tea leaves, or is it really there? The rabbit hole goes deep once you start.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n/news-story/916aa25422826730be8c560c77531b59

If it is pay walled, here is the first paragraph:

27 Feb. 2018 · ALAN Richardson says St Kilda can win this years premiership, adamant the Saints game plan and established core of talent can take them deep into September.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n/news-story/916aa25422826730be8c560c77531b59

If it is pay walled, here is the first paragraph:

27 Feb. 2018 · ALAN Richardson says St Kilda can win this years premiership, adamant the Saints game plan and established core of talent can take them deep into September.
Case in point. Was Richo drinking his bath water or was he right. I'd say, based on what our players are "capable" of, its a reasonable statement. Unfortunately most of the team seems way out of form and confused about game plan and structure. We don't know what the plans or structures are as yet so drawing judgment on it is futile. But if our players were all in form, and played to a system (any system) we'd be a solid team. We just haven't seen it yet. Absence of proof is not proof of absence.

Arh yes.....remember that one....and remember cringing when I read it.

Mick Malthouse and Tony Abbott both flashed thru my mind straight after.

Case in point. Was Richo drinking his bath water or was he right. I'd say, based on what our players are "capable" of, its a reasonable statement. Unfortunately most of the team seems way out of form and confused about game plan and structure. We don't know what the plans or structures are as yet so drawing judgment on it is futile. But if our players were all in form, and played to a system (any system) we'd be a solid team. We just haven't seen it yet. Absence of proof is not proof of absence.
I'm not really sure what we expected Richo to say before the season starts 'nah not capable of winning the flag this season, list isn't ready yet' like people shouldn't hold it against him for saying he believes we can win the flag, if he came and said in a nice way we aren't that good, the fans would have him for saying that too.

I get there is angst among everyone about Richo at the moment but you can go to the majority sports team at the pro level, head coach, players, owner and if they are asked pre-season if they believe their team is good enough to go all the way they will say yes.. it gives the fans and members hope. If they come out and say the opposite we are ripping the walls down before the season has even started.

Aaron Francis.

I'm not really sure what we expected Richo to say before the season starts 'nah not capable of winning the flag this season, list isn't ready yet' like people shouldn't hold it against him for saying he believes we can win the flag, if he came and said in a nice way we aren't that good, the fans would have him for saying that too.

I get there is angst among everyone about Richo at the moment but you can go to the majority sports team at the pro level, head coach, players, owner and if they are asked pre-season if they believe their team is good enough to go all the way they will say yes.. it gives the fans and members hope. If they come out and say the opposite we are ripping the walls down before the season has even started.
I agree with what your saying there tim_saints and of course everyone needs to be positive pre season....it's crucial.

I just wish Richo's statement in the above post was just a little bit more measured.

When he first said that pre season....I thought "Richo....you could be setting yourself up for a mighty big fall"

Naturally....I hoped what he said may come true but my pre season reality check had us somewhere between 9th and 12th.

The only "big call" that I can recall recently that actually happened was with Hardwick post 2016 season.

After he "survived" being executed....he said they'd make finals in 2017....he nailed that one.

Twat away, you’re probably right.

Toast Clark & Coffield sign on until the end of 2021