colo-colo
im sick of this crap. Ppl have a go at eddie and make him look like the bad guy if this where any other team it would be okay and proof of this is that SYDNEY DONT HAVE ONE. most clash guernseys are crap have you seen melbuornes, brisbanes, hawthorns, geelongs, essendons and carltons? hey nobody had a go at carlton for ditching theirs.

collingwood and north melbourne I FAIL TO SEE A CLASH. i can take my glasses off and tell the difference. and worst north or collingwood and wear different coloured shorts.

AND IF NORTH MELBOURNE ARE SO PASSIONATE ABOUT THE GUENSEY WHY SIGN AN AGREEMENT THAT SAYS "IN EXCHANGE FOR EUGINE AROCCA SEVICES NORTH MELBOURNE WILL WEAR A CLASH FOR A NORTH MELBOURNE HOME GAME".

North have 3 options pay 100,000 dollar fine go to the afl ad beg to ditch the clash guernsey concept or take collingwood to court which would be stupid coz we are so rich.

Every team rolled out the welcome mat to the clash guernsey concept except for COLLINGWOOD. if all the other presidents cared so much about what they wear then why accept the concept in the 1st place?
you cant back out of a deal because it back fired.

Yeah i feel pretty strongly on this matter. The NMFC (Or is it the Kangaroos?) have on numerous occasions changed the jumper they wear on gameday, whether it be a home or away match. They have basically sold their jumper (Anyone remember the Orange one they wore against us at Colonial Stadium in 2000?), or worn numerous different versions since 1997. They therefore, have no right to complain about not wearing the home jumper against us when it has not mattered to them in the last 10 years.

The other thing that annoys me about clash jumpers, is the fact we have to wear the white strip with black stripes against Carlton and Richmond when it isnt our home game. However, the AFL does not make Carlton or Richmond wear their alternate strip when it is our home game. As i understand it, the clubs receive notification from the AFL on the Tuesday before the match to advise them on what jumper they are to wear, and failure to comply results in a $100,000 fine.

I have no worries wearing the white strip as we did so for 110 years, but not making Carlton and Richmond wear theirs when its our home game annoys me. There is no consistency. Finally, there is no clash with NM as long as we wear our Black jumper with white stripes and they wear their home jumper of White with blue stripes.

It's the usual thing. When collingwood haven't done anything "evil" for a while,
fall back on the old jumper clash for a whinge.

The whole thing is mind boggling to me.

I don't see where the clash is anyway. All NM had to do is wear their traditional jumper with white shorts against our black with white stripes jumper and black shorts.

Is the whinging really about what shorts they have to wear? We wear our white shorts in home games against Carlton and Richmond and dont whinge.

This is all plainly ridiculous.

Not worth mentioning really, there are no jumper clashes now we have two different jumpers. The only one left at all would be north, but its easy fixed by going to the extreme end on black shorts, black socks vs white shorts, white socks.

As long as Eddie is president, we will stick with the 2 jumpers we have at the moment.

Yeah i feel pretty strongly on this matter. The NMFC (Or is it the Kangaroos?) have on numerous occasions changed the jumper they wear on gameday, whether it be a home or away match. They have basically sold their jumper (Anyone remember the Orange one they wore against us at Colonial Stadium in 2000?), or worn numerous different versions since 1997. They therefore, have no right to complain about not wearing the home jumper against us when it has not mattered to them in the last 10 years.

The other thing that annoys me about clash jumpers, is the fact we have to wear the white strip with black stripes against Carlton and Richmond when it isnt our home game. However, the AFL does not make Carlton or Richmond wear their alternate strip when it is our home game. As i understand it, the clubs receive notification from the AFL on the Tuesday before the match to advise them on what jumper they are to wear, and failure to comply results in a $100,000 fine.

I have no worries wearing the white strip as we did so for 110 years, but not making Carlton and Richmond wear theirs when its our home game annoys me. There is no consistency. Finally, there is no clash with NM as long as we wear our Black jumper with white stripes and they wear their home jumper of White with blue stripes.

That is so true, NM went through a period of a few years from about 1997 to even the 2000's where an alternate jumper was worn for nearly all their home games, as they were rebranded the kangaroos in a bid to establish themselves with the NSW fans when they were [laying games in Canbera.
ie the jumper with stripes and the kangaroo underneath it was worn for nearly all their home games.

Its only this year they have gone back to their so called "tradition" because they trying to re establish themselves with their Victorian fans in order to save their club.

So as for our clash jumpers they are perfect and work with everyone except maybe NM. But the easiest solution is NM to wear their home jumper with white shorts and we wear our home jumper with black shorts, has been done in the past like this and does not clash, as one would be mostly black and the other mostly white.

For 150 years we have played without clash jumpers, and only now do we complain because the TV networks have a sook. What about the good old days of black and white TV featuring a Collingwood v North game.

I think part of the issue was that on wet and muddy days some jumpers were difficult to distinguish from Collingwood's. I remember some 'in the rooms' interviews' following Nth v Pies, Geelong v Pies, and Carlscum v Pies in the late 80's early 90's saying that they couldn't tell friend from foe on wet days.

But since it hasn't rained for 10 years I agree that if you can't distinguish your team mates in one colour from players you don't play with wearing different colours then the clash jumper probably is not your most pressing concern.

Clash strips are the biggest non-issue in footy.

As long as the competing clubs wear different coloured shorts and socks, I can't see how you can confuse one strip with another and therefore why a 'clash strip' is necessary.

Funny how this is an issue for North Melbourne now that they're actually called North Melbourne again.

AND IF NORTH MELBOURNE ARE SO PASSIONATE ABOUT THE GUENSEY WHY SIGN AN AGREEMENT THAT SAYS "IN EXCHANGE FOR EUGINE AROCCA SEVICES NORTH MELBOURNE WILL WEAR A CLASH FOR A NORTH MELBOURNE HOME GAME".

Dream on.

No agreement like that was ever made, what a load of crap.

Any chance you lot can get a grip. If it's good enough for Manchester United, it's good enough for Collingwood. Not that logic has worked too well over the years.

Where's your clash jumper nimrod?

Clash jumpers and the argument for them works like this nimrod. Avoid them if logic prevails. Again, logic is something you lot are very, very short of. err; and by the way nimrod, unless you didn't happen to notice, The Mighty Swans colours do not clash with any other club. Or, is that too logical for you to understand. Thanks nimrod.

Nice work with the word nimrod. Very subtle.

The AFL has stated that all clubs must have a clash jumper. Your club does not have one. We have one, and it doesn't clash with other clubs jumpers as long as the shorts issue is sorted. So what is the issue?

Btw, since when did Man U play in the AFL? Who cares what they do in a diffeerent league and sport on the other side of the world?

Give it a spell nimrod. I choked on my cornflakes the morning your Pres spruiked on radio about the sanctity and integrity of the famous black and white stripes. I was quite ill. And I don't remember Port Power jumping on their high horse about the integrity of their stripes when they joined the league!

Give it a spell nimrod, Collingwood will eventually have a clash jumper, the colour probably gold -- just like the nimrod who runs the cheer squad.

And by the way, Ed's a beauty; just in the unfortunate position of leading a pack of misguided nimrods like you.

Give it a spell nimrod. I choked on my cornflakes the morning your Pres spruiked on radio about the sanctity and integrity of the famous black and white stripes. I was quite ill. And I don't remember Port Power jumping on their high horse about the integrity of their stripes when they joined the league!

We have always worn black and white stripes. What Port Power do is their own problem and you are even more naive than you appear if you think that they don't seeth about not being able to wear their traditional jumper.

Give it a spell nimrod, Collingwood will eventually have a clash jumper, the colour probably gold -- just like the nimrod who runs the cheer squad.

We do have a clash jumper genius. :rolleyes:

And by the way, Ed's a beauty; just in the unfortunate position of leading a pack of misguided nimrods like you.

As that all you've got?

Run along back to Olive Oil before I have to school you some more.

Ease up Kirbs. Port have been around longer than Collingwood. One could argue they are justifiably entitled to wear their stripes by virtue of their earlier beginnings - but let's not go there. Here's an idea. Perhaps you and Ed could step down from the pulpet with your holier than thou football attitudes - this clash jumper argument is an exceedingly tired yarn. Oh; and another thing, Olive says you'd be lousy at it, so give it a spell.

Ease up Kirbs. Port have been around longer than Collingwood. One could argue they are justifiably entitled to wear their stripes by virtue of their earlier beginnings - but let's not go there.

One could argue that if they had used black and white stripes as long as Collingwood but they haven't. Port Adelaide is an older club but they only wore black and white stripes from 1903. Their original guernsey looked something like this:

Port-Heritage-2004.gif
http://www.bomberblitz.com/~rmered/images/Port-Heritage-2004.gif

Collingwood has continuously used black and white stripes for every VFL/AFL game since 1892. The only deviation from black and white stripes in any game at any level was an Escort Cup game against Swan Districts, who wear identical black and white stripes, and that was only because Collingwood lost a coin toss to see who would wear an alternate strip. As against Swan Districts Collingwood had the greater history of wearing black and white stripes.

Swans red clashes with Brisbane's maroon.

Swans red and white clashes with Saints red white and black.

Yeah good one; you are quite obviously coloured blind, goggled eyed and one eyed! Forget about it. BTW, our strip leaves your jail bird strip in it's wake.

Like our team always leaves you team in its wake.

If we are getting genuine, your club used to wear an all white jumper with a red yoke on the front, so maybe your jumoper has changed a little (lot).

Also why is it you are lecturing us on clash strips when your side doesnt even have a design for one? and please dont continue calling us nimrods

Just responding in kind Opti.

And in response to your challenge on colours, a marketing person will tell you colour plays a crucial role in brand association. You might find red is easily the most recognisable colour illustrating success and strength where as black is more commonly associated with negativity, doom and failure. Pity about that.
And another thing, as far as success is concerned, I think our participation and finals record this last eight seasons might just have good old Collingwood covered. But good try anyway.