Tassie27

Hi, was at the game last night and couldn't help thinking that the two teams jumpers could be confused in the heat and speed of battle. And no, I am not using this as an excuse for Richmond's inexcusable kicking last night.

I was up the fourth tier at the MCG and I can say the similar amounts of yellow of both teams could be confusing at times.

Eagles supporters had a go at us last year about our clash jumper, I think their clash jumper needs to be redesigned with more white to really stand out from our home jumper.

Anybody else had any thoughts on this during the day or are my near 50 year old eyes failing me?

I did think it may of been an issue in those split second moments when players were rushing there possessions, more so when they were in and under in a pack.

no issues imo

these can work:
Richmond-2011.gif
West-Coast-Away-2014.gif

Richmond-2011.gif
West-Coast-Clash-2014.gif

Eagles home games:
West-Coast-1997.gif

Richmond-Clash-2015.gif

West-Coast-Away-2014.gif

Richmond-Clash-2015.gif

Hi, was at the game last night and couldn't help thinking that the two teams jumpers could be confused in the heat and speed of battle. And no, I am not using this as an excuse for Richmond's inexcusable kicking last night.

I was up the fourth tier at the MCG and I can say the similar amounts of yellow of both teams could be confusing at times.

Eagles supporters had a go at us last year about our clash jumper, I think their clash jumper needs to be redesigned with more white to really stand out from our home jumper.

Anybody else had any thoughts on this during the day or are my near 50 year old eyes failing me?

I agree. I hate the AFL's jumper policy. Too many times, the colours/designs are too similar. In my opinion, they should do as they do in soccer: Have one team in a dark shirt/shorts and the other team in a light shirt/shorts.

No clash for mine, but I can see where you are coming from... Same with us an Carlton. I think we would have been better off in full royal. Can you knock up the reverse for us next to your home? The yellow guernsey with royal wings? That would look amazing against your YELLOW AND BLACK (sorry emphasis on that due to club song).

I think there was a bit of a clash. Not a massive one but made it more difficult than it needed to be. Not the reason we invented clash jumpers but they have one, and the game would have been a bettter spectacle if they wore it. So why not make them wear it

Was commented on by many around us last night, hard to tell around the packs.

I think there was a bit of a clash. Not a massive one but made it more difficult than it needed to be. Not the reason we invented clash jumpers but they have one, and the game would have been a bettter spectacle if they wore it. So why not make them wear it
From a selfish perspective, god no.. hate the white jumper.. AFL shouldn't have white.. but agree about light v dark. More reason we need the yellow wings... its our next push after we hopefully #returnthewings as our home jumper :thumbsu:

I reckon in split second moments, our jumper is one of the hardest to immediately distinguish in the AFL.

It's black, but your eyes search for flashes of yellow.

West Coast's jumper had flashes of yellow too. So we had to find flashes of yellow and then work out if it's surrounded by the colour black or dark blue.

Decision making might have been easier if WE wore our own awesome clash jumper. Now that's an easy-to-recognise jumper in the moment. But I'm in the minority as I'm not sure why clubs get offended about not wearing their traditional strips now and then. I like our clash jumper more!

I made this comment to my Eagles supporter mate during the game (from Level 2) and he agreed. I have perfect eyesight and I thought we clashed more last night than we did with a lot of other teams where the clash strip has been required. Eagles should have been made to wear their white jumper.

There was one period of play and I can't remember the player, but a Richmond player gained possession and then went to kick to what he (and I) thought was two Tiger players on the wing, but in fact it was one Tiger and one Eagle. He quickly realised it.
I thought there was a small clash between the two jumpers.

West Coast should've worn their white jumper plain and simple.

We still would have lost though cos we were absolutely pathetic from the first bounce. Can't believe we were in front at half time

Still don't even know why clash jumpers are even required. If we stick to good old black with yellow sash, there's nothing to f**king clash with.
Exactly.
How many years did the AFL/VFL play without the need for clash jumpers?