Cleanout Time

Considering we are crying out for more depth at key position forward this is a worry. You would think we would give them that position and try to develop them in it. I think we have really screwed up our use of Gault in particular who was showing good things up forward before being thrown into defense and the wing and whatever other roles he was being used in.

Yep, its a trend that we've had for years now. Luke Rounds was our best small forward in the VFL a few years back. When he returned from injury, he played off a half back line before making his AFL debut as a tagger. Pretty sure he also cleaned boots before he got delisted as well.

Point is we should be looking at a one out, one in system from our VFL side.. having replacements in all key positions that can swap in when we have an injury.

Current KP stocks

Defenders: Brown, Keeffe, Frost, Hartley
Forwards: Cloke, Reid, Lynch, Paine
Rucks: Grundy, Witts, Jolly, Hudson

Misc: Gault, Richmond

Jolly, Huddo, Gault, Richmond and Hartley all have question marks over them for next year.

I think we need to target a quick, creative, crumbing small forward. I don't know why that means they have to be indigenous. That's neither here nor there.

In theory, its Mooney.. just lacks the footy smarts

Not sure why everyone is asking for Jolly or Hudson to be delisted. At least retain one of them, purely for depth. I won't be happy to think our only ruck stocks for 2014 are Grundy and Witts....

In theory, its Mooney.. just lacks the footy smarts

And that is something that I don't think can be taught.

The small crumbing position is probably the position that requires the most natural of football talent. I don't see Mooney being able to "acquire" it, no matter how many years in the system.

I think moving him in the backline would be a good idea.

Surely you are not serious? Did you forget the relevant smilie?

Sadly I am!:(

If the Scum beat the tigers today our draft choices on all levels (national, preseason and rookie selections) are prior to those of the entire final 8. It also benefits us greatly when negotiating for a player if we have a higher choice prior to the opposition.

It hurts but our season is over and it's now all about the future.

If the Scum beat the tigers today our draft choices on all levels (national, preseason and rookie selections) are prior to those of the entire final 8. It also benefits us greatly when negotiating for a player if we have a higher choice prior to the opposition.

Actually, if we get a better draft pick, I am half in agreement. The other half of me revolts at the thought of Carlton finishing ahead of us. Buckley would probably be none too happy at Malthouse's shit team finishing ahead on the ladder.

Toughen up sunshine, it's time to take one for the team.;)

If Carlscum wins simply place head in bowl and barf away. There's no shame as the ladder will still read us on 56 points at years end and the scum on 44.

Besides think of it this way.

Imagine if the Scum had pick 17 last year and chose Grundy one choice prior to us.:eek:

Hope this helps.:)

I'd sooner be afflicted by plague than watch Carlton be successful.

He would also require serious support from a mentor, preferably someone who is Aboriginal who can also relate to his everyday situation.

Obviously race is sensitive ground to start walking on, but I'm somewhat of the mind that Garlett's "everyday situation" doesn't have a whole lot to do with him being Aboriginal, but moreso simply being a young bloke that doesn't want to work hard and just wants to piss on with his mates at every opportunity. Common thing among guys his age these days, regardless of race.

I agree be brave and make the hard calls but Brennan is not the answer.

Would prefer we looked at White before Brennan even then if we that desperate for a 2nd ruck come fwd.

Doesn't have to be Brennan just as long as we look at trading out Shaw and Harry and these types.

One win will be false hope and hardly successful T.

Besides think of the satisfaction of watching them sink back into the mire?;):)

I dunno KJ.. kinda loved the early 00's where they were irrelevant

Obviously race is sensitive ground to start walking on, but I'm somewhat of the mind that Garlett's "everyday situation" doesn't have a whole lot to do with him being Aboriginal, but moreso simply being a young bloke that doesn't want to work hard and just wants to piss on with his mates at every opportunity. Common thing among guys his age these days, regardless of race.

no disrespect intended however it may be sensitive for you but not for me.

I grew up in the Kimberly's and the majority of my mates and many of my best mates I'm proud to say were Aboriginal.

Unfortunately a lot struggle to find jobs get bored and then take up habits as a result and the piss is not the only or biggest problem.

From all reports he has worked hard for the entire year and whilst I agree that a large majority of young men get caught up in drinking you will not last long on an AFL list if found out.

I reiterate it is important that he has an appropriate mentor regardless off where he ends up.

I am surprised there is so much hate for Heater and HarryO. I thought Harry had a very good season when reinvented as a wingman, and Heater is actually a very good one on one defender who, when free, can rebound as well. His brain fades last night were the first in a long time that I can remember. Also dont understand the hate for Sidebottom. The guy is classy and is constantly in the right place at the right time. Seedsman will be an absolute gun, his decision making will improve and I tip him for a breakout year next year. Same was said about Marley Williams, I thought he was a 2nd rate spud last year, but has come on leaps and bounds and is in our best 22.

One thing that amazes me here is people talking of foot skills and then talking up Ben Kennedy. Dont get me wrong, the guy has huge potential, but his disposal quality and decision making is disgraceful. I haven't seen specific stats, but I always watch him closely and if his disposal efficiency is over 60% I would be amazed.

As for duds, recruiting Clinton Young had fail written all over it. Note any team interested in the likes of Sandilands or Waite (should they ever be available). A guy who is made of glass is made of glass regardless of the team he plays for. QLynch was just an epic fail, as was Russell. Russell should be gone, the guy is a hack.

As for ditching Jolly, I would only support this if Bucks was confident in getting 22 games from Witts, otherwise he should be backup for Grundy. If this isn't the case then I see Grundy becoming another Josh Fraser; arrives at the club with the reputation of a stallion, so we flog him like a pack horse then all sook when he breaks down with injuries later in his career.

Maxwell gone, Pendles has to be captain whether Maxwell is at the club or not. He can get a fulltime gig with channel 7. Ben Reid back to defence, bring on another option as second tall, such as resting ruckman and then play more smalls.

Personnel wise, I honestly dont think we need to change much. Most of the problems we have sit in the coaches box. Sick of hearing Bucks say "we did some things we didn't like and we have spoken about it," well clearly he doesn't have the ability to rectify it.

no disrespect intended however it may be sensitive for you but not for me.

I grew up in the Kimberly's and the majority of my mates and many of my best mates I'm proud to say were Aboriginal.

Unfortunately a lot struggle to find jobs get bored and then take up habits as a result and the piss is not the only or biggest problem.

From all reports he has worked hard for the entire year and whilst I agree that a large majority of young men get caught up in drinking you will not last long on an AFL list if found out.

I reiterate it is important that he has an appropriate mentor regardless off where he ends up.

Steele was out doing what every one is saying not to recruit Garlett over last night, FFS it's no big deal, he's just a young teen he will grow out of it in time anyway.