Cleanout Time

Hawks do it the best with Rough, Franklin and Hale.

They key is to have all 3 as mobile talls so if the ball hits the deck none are liabilities.

Franklin has the mobility of a half forward flanker. That's how they manage it so it is a bit different than Sydney who play three real talls. Roughead and Hale are no more mobile than any other good key forwards.

Roughy is. He has played a genuine centre square midfielder this season. If you see some of his crumbing ability for a big man, he is just a complete package.

Hale's strength is that he is more mobile than most ruckmen in the comp.

Do you think it was good coaching giving Keeffe 2nd ruck/forward role?

No I don't. I expanded on why earlier in this thread.

Do you generally think Bucks made good decisions before and during the most important game for us so far this year?

I think we would have won it had it not been for Heaters complete brain fade and the teams collective inability to hit a target. Bucks wasn't responsible for that. But I think questions need to be asked about why our forward structure completely failed. Keeffe was an element of it and didn't help but it has been an issue all season. I also wasn't a fan of the extra player at the contest tactic, that player should have been in defense for the whole game.

Roughead is more mobile then most KPF and Hale is more mobile then most other rucks who go forward.

But Sydney do it best of the bulky forwards Pike/Mumford, White, Tippett.

Definitely spot on with Hale, but Roughead is ridiculously mobile. He is so good at ground level for a big man it's crazy. I'd kill to get him at the Pies; he'd be in my top 3 players in the league that I want at Collingwood.

think we saw the new setup sat night Keefe 2nd ruck fwd all we need now is a fwd coach against Swans prelim fnl last yr loved their Fwds blocking holding back their opponents so a teammate can mark making space for players to run into more or less doing everything we dont

Have heard before that Keeffe has been learning ruck work and I think for a mobile player of his height it's a good option as a back up. From what I saw on Sat night he's still got a long way to go in ruck. Should stick to defence rather than forward though. Think he was only there as Lynch not fit and Port don't have lots of tall, big key forwards. We can't have Reid & Keeffe in the forward line going forward against most other teams.

Can we stop talking about players to target, de-list etc. You can have the best list in the comp, but if your gameplan is no good, then the list will ultimately fail. IMO we have a talented enough list right now to win a flag, but we aren't playing to its strengths.

New players would be nice, but they won't help us win finals unless the gameplan is good enough to give us a chance.

Perhaps if you wish to get discussion on gameplan happening than making a few suggestions yourself would be good. Personally I don't think some of Buckley's decisions were great but he didn't have his first choice structure on the park due to injuries eg Lynch. Worth trying some different things to see if they work but sticking with them if they don't is surprising. At end of the day Pies were in the match most of the night but poor disposal let them down. If we can't kick accurately then few gameplans will overcome that.

Harvey is Matt Rendells nephew. Sneaking suspicion we may get him. Uncle Matt will bring him to us.

http://www.scpaige.com.au/dratees-in-focus-mitch-harvey/#more-5227

Assume the McCarthy referred to by Jonno94 is Cameron? Both he and Mitch Harvey sound promising (thanks JohnCitizen for the potential draftee site link!) but I don't think either have played senior footy which was a focus in last year's draft (Grundy, Kennedy, Broomhead). Guess though that's why they aren't talked about as top 20 probable. I'd be keener on Harvey than McCarthy due to the ruck back up option. Bear in mind though that as well as Richmond as key position project we've got Haggerty (NSW scholarship) and Moore (father son) as likely in not too distant future.

Have heard before that Keeffe has been learning ruck work and I think for a mobile player of his height it's a good option as a back up. From what I saw on Sat night he's still got a long way to go in ruck. Should stick to defence rather than forward though. Think he was only there as Lynch not fit and Port don't have lots of tall, big key forwards. We can't have Reid & Keeffe in the forward line going forward against most other teams.

Keeffe lacks the physicality to ever be a ruck or even fill in ruck.

So whats the deal with him in terms of his standing with our list? Can we play him next year?

I believe he turned 18 this year and is eligible to be drafted at end of this year (costing us very little due to NSW scholarship). He could thus play next year if he's good enough.

Assume the McCarthy referred to by Jonno94 is Cameron? Both he and Mitch Harvey sound promising (thanks JohnCitizen for the potential draftee site link!) but I don't think either have played senior footy which was a focus in last year's draft (Grundy, Kennedy, Broomhead). Guess though that's why they aren't talked about as top 20 probable. I'd be keener on Harvey than McCarthy due to the ruck back up option. Bear in mind though that as well as Richmond as key position project we've got Haggerty (NSW scholarship) and Moore (father son) as likely in not too distant future.

McCarthy from what I have heard has more upside and is a mobile forward more in Cameron then Cloke mould, will take time to develop but I for one would like to see us get him.

It's official (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2013-09-10/collingwood-makes-six-list-changes)
Out: Jolly, Didak, Krakouer & Russell from senior list plus Richmond & Hartley from rookie.

Sorry to see Jolly, Didak, Krak go as they've given the club heaps but not much left to give so not surprised. Sorry to see Richmond and Hartley go as was hopeful they'd have promise. Suspect Hartley is too injury prone.

There is an article into today's AGE newspaper titled 'Pies years from title now: Shaw' in which Tony Shaw suggests a clean out of up to 10 players, possibly including Shaw and even Ball, to change the culture of the club. He also says Buckley was out-coached by Hinkley.
has credence coming from an ex coach who couldn't coach a pig to be dirty

But I think questions need to be asked about why our forward structure completely failed. Keeffe was an element of it and didn't help but it has been an issue all season. I also wasn't a fan of the extra player at the contest tactic, that player should have been in defense for the whole game.

IMO our backline was shot. Specifically Maxwell was terrible and Harry did not know where to run. Look at the replay

Roughy is. He has played a genuine centre square midfielder this season. If you see some of his crumbing ability for a big man, he is just a complete package.

Hale's strength is that he is more mobile than most ruckmen in the comp.
Do you think Grundy could play on the ball as a genuine ruck rover and someone else rucks much the same way Roughead is used? I wonder if Buckley has the smarts to do something like this? It would make our midfield larger. I think we lack a "big midfield" and with Swan retiring it's hard to see someone replacing him.

Grundy is very graceful in his movement, very smooth and athletic the way he moves through traffic. Even as a ruck he remains in the action after the tap. His flips and knocks to our mids are often exquisite gems, the best of ruck artistry. If he can develop a tank and remain fit, there is no reason he could not ruck rove. I suspect he is most useful playing as 1st ruck then becoming a mid just through his sheer level of involvement in general play.

On behalf of opposition supporters who watch football, let me be the first to let you guys know that Heath Shaw's trade value is exceptionally low

eat ur words mate! shaping up to maybe even be worth first round. the fact u even said that means ur opinion on football is now and forever moot

Not even close.

He isn't even one of the more mobile rucks, let alone being able to play as a ruck rover... Lynch would be more of a chance to do this than Grundy.