Cleve Hughes

brock sylvia

Would we go after this guy? Can take a grab and is only 22 and could solve some issues in our forward line and also wouldnt be worth a whole heap on the trade table so could be a bargain.

I reckon TW hasnt helped his development but geez he looks a likely type on athletic build alone. Would like to hear anyones thoughts and dont dismiss the idea completely because i do think it is a genuine option

No. Can't break into Coburg 1's, let alone Richmond. I've seen him as a key forward option if only the Tigers would give him an extended run. Would he work at the Dees? Nah. Give me Juice any day of the week.

Is apparently struggling after the polak incident but a new club could seriously refresh his career. I saw him kick 6 goals against port which was really impressive and it won them that game, i dont think newton and to another extent miller has ever done that in their career playing AFL

Newton kicked 12 in a reserves game a couple of years back i recall...perhaps the final round of 2006...not sure

Sorry mate, i meant playing at AFL level not VFL, where newton is is very good at vfl level and IMO capable of playing AFL at a decent standard, Hughes is a far better prospect than him because KPF's do take a while to develop and kicking 6 goals at the age of 21 is no mean feat

No i got what you meant my point was that anyone can have a one off game , and for whatever reason Cleve is on the down big time...Even Craig Smoker kicked 4 in a game ...see Brisbane 1998

Why would we draft someone that can't even get a gamer for the tigers?

Because we are in need of key forwards and he would come cheap and IMO has a fair bit of potential that hasnt been realised yet and a change of club could bring that out of him

And sure people can have great one-off games, however there is a strong difference between having that off game in the VFL or VFL reserves compared to the AFL with an average midfield kicking the ball to you

16 games, 23 goals.

Any reason he hasn't played this year? Injured?

Apparently he's been having issues after witnessing the Polak incident. Some on the Tigers board are suggesting he has depresion issues, but i'm pretty sure that's just rumour.

He gets a bad run on our board for not having the work ethic and being a "one trick pony". His one trick, marking and kicking for goal, he does quite well. He'd be one of the best set shots for goal in the league IMO. He has huge potential and I'd be spewin if we let him go only to reach it at another club.

He's a big risk but he'd have more potential than most tall forwards in this years draft (Butcher aside).

the only player id take from richmond is jack dyer. but he wouldnt fit in with our youth policy.

Side-splitting comedy, but id take a lot fo richmonds youngsters they arent as bad as people perceive them to be. And completely agree with Rosstickle about Hughes' set shot and marking ability.

Sure he needs to add another few strings to his bow but jeez he would certainly be worth a punt and he wouldnt be a massive risk IMO because the tigers would not ask for a great deal maybe a 3rd rounder?

Side-splitting comedy, but id take a lot fo richmonds youngsters they arent as bad as people perceive them to be. And completely agree with Rosstickle about Hughes' set shot and marking ability.

Sure he needs to add another few strings to his bow but jeez he would certainly be worth a punt and he wouldnt be a massive risk IMO because the tigers would not ask for a great deal maybe a 3rd rounder?

thank you sir.

All brilliant jokes aside Cleve Hughes is not worth taking a punt on IMHO. I don't think he'll ever transfer his VFL form into consistent AFL form. His 6 goals against Port were impressive but he wont be the first 'flash in the pan' to kick a bag and never be heard from again. Newton is better (and thats not saying much). Of the Richmond youngsters that would actually be possible to get (Cotchin is very good but not anywhere near available!) there's none that would be worth going for.

Any player worth taking from Richmond will stay there, and any that would be allowed to go are either not up to it and too old (McMahon, Bowden etc).

I'll paint the picture

Very talented CHF and can take a VERY good contested grab, he reminds me of Riewoldt with his Reach, seems to put his arms up and nobody but him touches it, could be in the class of blokes like Waite, Hunter Era 2004-2006 and John Anthony,

But these blokes are prepared to work hard at training and bust a gut on the field, Cleve is prepared to turn up to training and do the minimal work on/off field for an AFL career. He always seemed lazy, or never really clicked into gear for a constant period

Why would we trade in another key forward prospect when we have one key forward spot being rotated between Robbo, Miller and Newton with Jurruh, Watts and possibly Zomer later in the season playing in the other.

Seriously, Cleve Hughes?

Would there be much difference between him and Newton?

I'm all for it. Lets get Juice Newton #2 and we can just bore the opposition's backline into submission...

Maybe we could package up Hughes and Jay Schulz for Valenti and a packet of twisties...

Somebody alert Barry Prendergast to this new development!!

Why would we trade in another key forward prospect when we have one key forward spot being rotated between Robbo, Miller and Newton with Jurruh, Watts and possibly Zomer later in the season playing in the other.

Seriously, Cleve Hughes?

Seriously Cleve Hughes' potential is light years ahead of Zomer's you can not possibly mention them together and like i have said before Hughes also has way more potential than newton as his marking and set shot ability is very impressive i mean the guy represened Australia at junior level he has heaps of talent just not reached.