jaykay48

Rookie
Eagles
I know it has been mentioned before - but ......... good ideas are worth re-hashing. I want to see our Cloak given the CHF bash-n-crash role that the team so desperately needs.

Cam has been terrific for us this year - in a role not suited to his skill-set. But his passion and determination has been great. He provides little more than nuisance value in the ruck - but that is what the team needs, so that is what he gives.

Someone mentioned Miller from the Dees as a possible CHF for us - but getting him is easier said than done. In Cam Cloak we already have a ready-made big body to contest and - at least - bring the ball to ground. His marking in a crowd is not to be dismissed lightly.....

Should Ratts give him a few games there to see what he can do?

I know it has been mentioned before - but ......... good ideas are worth re-hashing. I want to see our Cloak given the CHF bash-n-crash role that the team so desperately needs.

Cam has been terrific for us this year - in a role not suited to his skill-set. But his passion and determination has been great. He provides little more than nuisance value in the ruck - but that is what the team needs, so that is what he gives.

Someone mentioned Miller from the Dees as a possible CHF for us - but getting him is easier said than done. In Cam Cloak we already have a ready-made big body to contest and - at least - bring the ball to ground. His marking in a crowd is not to be dismissed lightly.....

Should Ratts give him a few games there to see what he can do?

Absoloutely, categorically NO - Cloke is not and never will be a decent AFL CHF... I agree he has been very wholehearted in all of his efforts this year.. But quite simpy he is just an average player who is unlikely to be around in 3-4 years time...

I am absoloutely mystifed how people continue to just pluck names such as Cloke out of thin air and thinkthey can play CHF.. It isn't that easy, and whilst Cam has a crack a CHF he is not... His best value is occasionally drifitng FWD an plucking the odd mark and jagging a goal - but a CHF he is not and never will be.....

I want to see our Cloak given the CHF bash-n-crash role

For mine Cloak is much more suited to the "slip under the radar" type role..........can be hard to spot at times.........incognito almost.

spy%20vs%20spy.jpg

Absoloutely, categorically NO - Cloke is not and never will be a decent AFL CHF... I agree he has been very wholehearted in all of his efforts this year.. But quite simpy he is just an average player who is unlikely to be around in 3-4 years time...

I am absoloutely mystifed how people continue to just pluck names such as Cloke out of thin air and thinkthey can play CHF.. It isn't that easy, and whilst Cam has a crack a CHF he is not... His best value is occasionally drifitng FWD an plucking the odd mark and jagging a goal - but a CHF he is not and never will be.....

Fair enough - your opinion is as valid as anyone elses. However, if Hartlett does not make the grade - and Austin is required in the backline - I don't know that we have too many other options. Waite demonstrated against the doggies that he is best suited to an attacking role from the backline. So who else is there....?

Edwards? Setanta?

Perhaps you can pluck one out of thin air... sure as hell I can't.

I just dont think that Cloke'y has enough tools i the shed to become a genuine CHF. I love the way he goes about his game, but you would have thought that he is at best a solid contributer/ pinch hitting f/p

cloak [klohk] - noun - a loose outer garment, as a cape or coat.

Cloke [klohk] - noun - Carlton footballer who could't hold down CHF in a million years.

Ouch......... sorry about that, got my Cloaks/Clokes mixed up.:):):o

Wiggins for CHF..:p

Just kidding of course, though I do think if we utilize him properly we should always get a nice couple of goals out of him.

As for CHF...not sure about Cloke to be honest. Has the body for it I guess but not sure about his consistency (and seemingly erratic kicking).

I don't think Cloke can get to enough contests at CHF. He's not quick, I haven't seen him on the lead at all.

He tries, but he's a bit of an in-betweener. He's not big enough to ruck at the AFL level and not agile/fit enough to play KPP.

I reckon we've look good with Eddie Betts at CHF. He hits up on leads all day. :p

Fair enough - your opinion is as valid as anyone elses. However, if Hartlett does not make the grade - and Austin is required in the backline - I don't know that we have too many other options. Waite demonstrated against the doggies that he is best suited to an attacking role from the backline. So who else is there....?

Edwards? Setanta?

Perhaps you can pluck one out of thin air... sure as hell I can't.

Edwards & Setanta - they are even more ludricous suggestions than Cloke !!!!!!

The fact of the matter is we don't have a ready made CHF at the moment - nor do plenty of other clubs - the likes Brown, Riewoldt, Pavlich etc don't fall of trees....

However in the absence of a genuine CHF - Wiggins has been serviceable as a lead up FWD along with Fisher.. So until we get lucky in the draft and jag a genuine CHF we will jsut have to make do, not ideal but that is our lot. Cloke at CHF would be exploited terribly going the other way, good CHB would run off him all day and exploit his lack of mobility...

There are plenty fo clubs with meduim sized CHF/lead up fwds that do very well i.e Robert Murphy, Ryan O'Keefe, Mitch Hahn, Corey Jones (2007 been struggling this year) - don't necessarily need a monster there - the game has gone past that just as important to be able to get up and down the ground...

I don't think Cloke can get to enough contests at CHF. He's not quick, I haven't seen him on the lead at all.

He tries, but he's a bit of an in-betweener. He's not big enough to ruck at the AFL level and not agile/fit enough to play KPP.

I reckon we've look good with Eddie Betts at CHF. He hits up on leads all day. :p

Spot on mate !!! Cloke is having a dig butis fightingout of his weight division will more than likely be kept on the list for a couple of yearsm while Kreuzer and Hampson develop and teh be set free. Is only just an AFL player although his efforts this year have been admirable..

Dagger to crumb...killer combo!

Nice Dad-Joke BlueYoss.

As has already been mentioned, Cloke does not have the speed, endurance, nous or even the strong hands to play CHF.

I am quite happy with the set-up of Wiggins, Russell, Fisher (although he does seem to push deep into the backline these days) and even Eddie playing as lead-up forwards. If we utilise these players more often instead of kicking to Fev every time, that more than compensates for the lack of a genuine CHF and makes us unpredictable going forward. This set-up worked really well against the Bulldogs and should be persisted with IMO.

Good points about Cloke's speed issue, I hadn't really thought about that.

We all know Kreuzer's speedy and is a great future prospect, but I must admit I don't know much about Hampson...he's supposed to be pretty quick for big man though, right?

I just dont think that Cloke'y has enough tools i the shed to become a genuine CHF. I love the way he goes about his game, but you would have thought that he is at best a solid contributer/ pinch hitting f/p
i think he does have most of what is required to be a good chf, the one thing he lacks is leg speed, he can mark, he is a good kick, he has a good tank ( is there a code word for tank i hate using the reel one ) and imo has footy smarts, an off season spent with a spints coach would make a big difference to Cloke.

Sounds like you're talking about Lance Whitnall. I don't see why Cloke can't make CHF his position, he's not going to be a star but if he can kick a goal or two a game, he'll be doing more than any other potential forward we have (excluding Waite)

Nice Dad-Joke BlueYoss.

As has already been mentioned, Cloke does not have the speed, endurance, nous or even the strong hands to play CHF.

I am quite happy with the set-up of Wiggins, Russell, Fisher (although he does seem to push deep into the backline these days) and even Eddie playing as lead-up forwards. If we utilise these players more often instead of kicking to Fev every time, that more than compensates for the lack of a genuine CHF and makes us unpredictable going forward. This set-up worked really well against the Bulldogs and should be persisted with IMO.

Apart from our victory over the dogs, had you suggested this last week or any week prior you would be howled out of BF big time. :D

I dont think this set up is going to work long term, we need a CHF if we want to be the best team, just because some other teams cope without a CHF doesnt mean we should take that as the best set up.

Apart from our victory over the dogs, had you suggested this last week or any week prior you would be howled out of BF big time. :D

I dont think this set up is going to work long term, we need a CHF if we want to be the best team, just because some other teams cope without a CHF doesnt mean we should take that as the best set up.

Fair points Lily. I've been O/S for the last 3 months and Sunday was the first game I've been to since the first Collingwood game, and only managed to catch a replay of a couple of our wins in that time I was away. In all of those cases, it was a similar set-up to Sunday night and it seems to work. I'm all for drafting a KPP but think we can be successful with a rotating set-up while that player develops.