Clubbies 2010

good to see the passion still high in this thread after i havent been present for a while.

down to this weekends games.

ormond over caulfield - ormond to get up with the threat of missing finals too much for them

mazenod over hampton - will win easily and smash hampton to finish 3rd

richmond over geelong - richmond to do the job over a stuggling geelong who will sadly miss

the final 4 to finish

caulfield
richmond
mazenod
ormond

good to see the passion still high in this thread after i havent been present for a while.

down to this weekends games.

ormond over caulfield - ormond to get up with the threat of missing finals too much for them

mazenod over hampton - will win easily and smash hampton to finish 3rd

richmond over geelong - richmond to do the job over a stuggling geelong who will sadly miss

the final 4 to finish

caulfield
richmond
mazenod
ormond

Got to agree with Chaz051 in all tips this weekend and thus the composition of the four. Whilst I would love for the OGs to cause an upset and sneak in, I am a realist and it won't happen.

Come week one of the finals, I see Caulfield being too strong for Richmond, whilst the other game will be a ring-a-ding-ding battle. Bring on finals football and a premiership to a worthy side in 2010.

Here is a message for the over confident flogs from Richmond Central.

The team that you put out against Old Geelong was a joke. Do you think that you are good enough to flirt with form?

The huge dark horse in the finals is Ormond, & hopefully they can make it past next week to meet you in a prelimiary final after Caulfield smash you next Friday night.

I enjoyed watching the 2 Richmond Central flogs play against Old Geelong. Frase & Hummer would struggle to gert a kick in a street fight.

F%*k the lot of you. Go Cardinals!!!!

How does the Nod v HR game get a result on the VAFA website when HR forfeited???

Not that it matters in the end, just curious.

How does the Nod v HR game get a result on the VAFA website when HR forfeited???

Not that it matters in the end, just curious.
Very Interesting Power20. We had heard about the forfeit & then saw the scores. In reality it didnt change anything. Did you kick any goals in the game that didnt happen?

I kicked 9 of the 5. Wonder what's happened there? Were the Nodders trying to fudge a score to ensure OG didn't pass them in the battle for 4th? I'm not inferring they were, but it's hard to understand why they've entered scores. There is no team listed for HR which would suggest that Mazenod have entered these dummy scores. Logic would tell us that they deserved their spot in the 4 if they were there already and had a forfeit result.

Protest & have the points taken off them!

Could open a massive can of worms & hand OG a semi final!

After Richmond centrals abysmal performance nearly handed OG a finals spot Ormond stepped up to beat Caulfield for a second time and cemented their spot as the Smokey for the 2010 flag.

Being a Richmond Central player, I can't comment on how the game on Friday night will go however, I'm sure most of us can guess.

The game on Sunday will be a belter, however my tip lies with Mazenod to meet Richmond Central in the preliminary final the next week.

In terms of the score, the league gets the average winners score and the average losing score and pits them against each other. If you go back over the results you will see what I'm talking about.

Happy Finals!

Hope there was a good excuse why Hampton didn't show for the last game of the season? Nothing worse than rocking up to play on a Saturday and being told there is no game, let alone it what potentially could have been our last game of the year.

Someone as learned as you Uncle Mick should surely know how the scores are calculated for a forfeit. If we were going to enter fake scores, then we would have made the margin more realistic.

Would have been very disappointing to have missed finals on percentage because the last game of the season didn't occur.

I'm obviously not quite as learned as you've been led to believe, Raz. Having never been involved in a forfeit result it hadn't occured to me what the rules where. Evidently, my good friend Richie cleared it up in his recent post and it has since become quite clear why those scores are apparent.

I think you might struggle to find that good excuse you're looking for. Only 9 players were available come Saturday morning and that included the coach who is well & truly on the wrong side of 50.
The side was formed last year and we pretty much advertised it as a recreational team for guys who aren't serious about their footy, but would like to have a kick. This year we've tried to change that perception because there was always those who were serious about their footy in the 3rds, but it's been a work in progress and we're confident that next year will see a marked improvement.
As disappointing as it is that your lads missed out on a game, I'd be looking at the positives and a week off coming up against a side who had a solid hit out against the top side, might be just what the doctor ordered.

Hope there was a good excuse why Hampton didn't show for the last game of the season? Nothing worse than rocking up to play on a Saturday and being told there is no game, let alone it what potentially could have been our last game of the year.

It was unfortunate, however every effort was made to field a team. We could have pulled the pin on Thursday night, however the team manager and several players tried to round up a team but unfortunately injuries and unavailabilities have hit the club hard, and the decision was made at... just looking at my phone now... at 9:04am. A few minutes after that the Mazenod president was notified. How that was communicated to the players i'm not sure. While it was a disappointing way to end the season for us, from a Hampton Rovers point of view, the whole clubbies/thirds concept for us has been a success, it was only a few years ago we were struggling to field a ressies team late in the season. We'll be back better and stronger in 2011 - more than likely in the Premier B Thirds compeitition.

Best of luck to the four teams in the finals.

CV

Very Interesting Power20. We had heard about the forfeit & then saw the scores. In reality it didnt change anything. Did you kick any goals in the game that didnt happen?

Well Beamsy, in the magical fantasy land of forfeit scores that I've just found out about, I actually kicked the whole score for the Nodders. Uncle Mick wasn't happy about my team switch for the day...but that's life in magical fantasy land of forfeit scores :D

In reality I was playing elsewhere and being reminded by not only the opposition supporters, but my ex team mates (who were smart enough to retire at the right time) that I was too old and would struggle to get a kick in a stampede.

Well Beamsy, in the magical fantasy land of forfeit scores that I've just found out about, I actually kicked the whole score for the Nodders. Uncle Mick wasn't happy about my team switch for the day...but that's life in magical fantasy land of forfeit scores :D

In reality I was playing elsewhere and being reminded by not only the opposition supporters, but my ex team mates (who were smart enough to retire at the right time) that I was too old and would struggle to get a kick in a stampede.
I think you're being a bit hard on yourself!
We could find a spot for both yourself & Uncle Mick down at Ormond. I dont know about too many others though from your Clubbies side

Thanks Beamsy, I'll keep it in mind.

I do like your jumpers :D

According to our mate Richie Hummer an old git like myself who's past it should be giving it away instead of considering jumping on board a good thing....

Good luck for the finals series though. Your boys making the big dance should make it an interesting finals series.

Thanks Beamsy, I'll keep it in mind.

I do like your jumpers :D
Gee Power you would be 1 of the only people that like the Ormond jumper!
I love it but i"m bias.
Depending on what Hampton decide with regards to fielding a Clubbies side next year, if things dont work out at your end, you would be very welcome at Ormond. We put a lot of importance on having a clubbies side for a multitude of reasons. Enjoy the summer & bear in mind the Brown & the Blue for season 2011!

According to our mate Richie Hummer an old git like myself who's past it should be giving it away instead of considering jumping on board a good thing....

Good luck for the finals series though. Your boys making the big dance should make it an interesting finals series.
Thanks for your kind words Uncle Mick.
I would suggest that Hummer sdhould have a good look in the mirror before he makes a judgement call on who should hang up the boots. If things dont pan out at Hampton next year you would be very welcome down at Ormond.
With regards to this week against mazenod, it will be a tough game, but we belive that we are good enough considering our current form. You have to be in it to win it & through a lot of hard work over the past 7 weeks we have given ourselves the opportunity

It will be a very tough game for you blokes, a mere formality if you will. We just ask you inflict as many injuries on Mazenod players as possible, rendering them useless for our game against them the following week.

You'd be welcome at RC Uncle Mick. You might find yourself running the gauntlet a few times during pre-season but after that I'm sure you'd be right.

Out of curiosity Beamsy, the defender that doesn't stop yelling the entire game. Does he have a voice box left? I was chatting with one of your team mates and he told me it's much the same during training. Any truth?

It will be a very tough game for you blokes, a mere formality if you will. We just ask you inflict as many injuries on Mazenod players as possible, rendering them useless for our game against them the following week.

You'd be welcome at RC Uncle Mick. You might find yourself running the gauntlet a few times during pre-season but after that I'm sure you'd be right.

Out of curiosity Beamsy, the defender that doesn't stop yelling the entire game. Does he have a voice box left? I was chatting with one of your team mates and he told me it's much the same during training. Any truth?
I'm surprised Hummer that you see this weeks games as formalities. More surprisingly that you at RC have seemed to have conceeded that you cant beat Caulfield. Mazenod will be a very tough game this week but we are extremely confident of getting over the line. They have defeated us twice this year by 2 points, so a mere formality, I dont think so. I would be surprised if Uncle Mick even considered a move to RC considering the bagging you have given him all season. Ormond is in close proximity for Uncle Mick & he knows quite a few of the Ormond lads.
With regards to our vocal defender "Pisto" is a very uniquer character. His voice on the field & at training is constant. This is somewhat surprising considering he is 1 of the quietest & shy blokes off the field

He certainly makes it tough for a lazy forward pocket. When the balls up the other end and all I want to do is nonchalantly lean on the behind post for a few minutes and relax.

I want to know more about why you guys seem to have put the cue in the rack for this weeks game against Caulfield?