Coaches' Box (new AFL game in development)

I was working on Salaries, National Draft and Pre-Season Draft over the weekend and it got me thinking about player potential and positions (as has macca69 response).

I was thinking about a system where a player has a experience rating for ruck,forward,centre and back. The more a player plays in this area, the more their rating will go up. Pre-Season training coud also be incorporated to improve their position rating. This will effect how a player performs playing in this area.

This might have to be a future development but if anyone else has any ideas on how potential should/could be conducted then share you thoughts.

CrackerJack
Fatigue hasn't been implimented yet, but will be when i get back to working on the match engine.

Coaches Box said:
I was working on Salaries, National Draft and Pre-Season Draft over the weekend and it got me thinking about player potential and positions (as has macca69 response).

I was thinking about a system where a player has a experience rating for ruck,forward,centre and back. The more a player plays in this area, the more their rating will go up. Pre-Season training coud also be incorporated to improve their position rating. This will effect how a player performs playing in this area.

This might have to be a future development but if anyone else has any ideas on how potential should/could be conducted then share you thoughts.

I like the way your thinking with having different ratings for different positions. I look forward to your next update! :)

Mate, if you can implement all of this into a game it will be a sure fire winner and i would even pay for it, which is saying something.
Any idea when a finished product will be released? As in... a rough estime?

I do realise that is possibly impossible right now!

As I complete functionality I will release a version so i can get feedback on what I have done. There is no point creating a game that the users wont like.

For a complete game (match engine completed, post season completed) I would be guessing late this year (hopefully before the grand final). Once that is completed I can concentrate on other areas we have discussed in this forum of extras people would like.

the fact that ppl are given the ability to view the players actually running around CM style is great. if you managed to get that as good as possible ppl would love ya for it n forget if it didnt have stuff like the off the field stuff which im sure can be brought in later in more depth.

excellend work mate, look forward 2 watchin dis game develope

Sounds, and looks great CB.

How's everything coming along? Any chance of having a VFL / SANFL / TAC Cup league to recruit from?

Great work. :)

Heard VFL / SANFL / TAC Cup league recruitment requested in other threads and would have to be a future development. Currently focused on Post season and some match tactics to make the game a little more interesting, just need to find spare time to finish it.

I'm currently after any recommendations for a system to improve a players abilities throughout their career? What are the best systems others have found with other games?

I'm currently under the belief that having ratings for a range of abilities but only one potential rating isn't consistent enough. What does the player actually have potential in?

Any thoughts would be great.

Not sure that this is really answering your question specifically, but I reckon it'd be good to be able to train players full-on in certain things ie. speed, kicking, marking etc. and have their rating go up - so you can say mould a ball winner with poor skills into a gun (what we couldnt do with McGough :( ).

Also, a tad off track, but the player numbers need to be correct. Also, is it possible to have the colours of the players on the ground different? Say black with white numbers and white with black numbers?

As I said, its coming along brilliantly - kudos to you.

I think the best potential/talent system I've ever seen used in a freeware game was for EHM. It uses a potential X talent / ceiling system, it's hard to describe but quite simple once you get it. A consistency rating also has a bearing on it. I'll tell you more if you like.

Hey everyone!

One thing I would love in a new footy sim is the elimination of unrealistic player transfers, that is one thing that bugged the hell out of me in FF. There should be something where a player has preferences to clubs, or states or his own club for his full career. Also most of the time when drafting rookies in FF, their stats were just way too low to even bother playing them or keep up with them, in todays current AFL draft there is always a few rough diamonds that turn into stars.

Also with the resigning of players, it got very hectic when signing players to new contracts and more often then not you couldnt sign them all or spend too much money and have none left for trading. Signing players should also be made available during the season.

Finally I would like to see which players would be selected to play for their states, just as a guide not so much to see them play although this option should be optional.

Cheers Coaches Box guy

P.S Give me your email so I can send you updated FF lists!!! :rolleyes:

sdb4884 said:
Hey everyone!

One thing I would love in a new footy sim is the elimination of unrealistic player transfers, that is one thing that bugged the hell out of me in FF. There should be something where a player has preferences to clubs, or states or his own club for his full career. Also most of the time when drafting rookies in FF, their stats were just way too low to even bother playing them or keep up with them, in todays current AFL draft there is always a few rough diamonds that turn into stars.

Also with the resigning of players, it got very hectic when signing players to new contracts and more often then not you couldnt sign them all or spend too much money and have none left for trading. Signing players should also be made available during the season.

Finally I would like to see which players would be selected to play for their states, just as a guide not so much to see them play although this option should be optional.

Cheers Coaches Box guy

do you have 2005 lists for footy fantatic?

I have been doing some reading on EHM (still havn't downloaded it yet). From my understanding

Each Player has potential (POT) and consistency (CON) ratings along with ceilings for each rating.

Player A
POT 90
CON 80
SPEED CEILING 100
KICKING CEILING 50

These player then should develop into a (RATING * (POT/100))
SPEED 100*.9 = 90
KICKING 100*.9 = 50

CON I'm not sure about but think it is used to determine how quickly the player will develop (other factors also can effect this).

This shouldn't be too hard to impliment and I might use this as the basis for my design. Might be a little inconsistent for existing players in the game.

seems very good so far mate nice work :)
definitely implement injuries, tribunal suspensions and trade, etc but it has to be realistic.
i think u should include detailed statistics...look at the way the official afl site does them, include everything they have.
and for the on field during game screen, maybe have the teams jumpers and player number for each position? make it look better?

how about a ranking system too like the herald sun has? champion data i think it is. also in statistics should include ground time, its a nice addition.

and yes definitely have some media/newspaper articles after the weekends match results.

keep up the good work
:)

Coaches Box said:
I have been doing some reading on EHM (still havn't downloaded it yet). From my understanding

Each Player has potential (POT) and consistency (CON) ratings along with ceilings for each rating.

Player A
POT 90
CON 80
SPEED CEILING 100
KICKING CEILING 50

These player then should develop into a (RATING * (POT/100))
SPEED 100*.9 = 90
KICKING 100*.9 = 50

CON I'm not sure about but think it is used to determine how quickly the player will develop (other factors also can effect this).

This shouldn't be too hard to impliment and I might use this as the basis for my design. Might be a little inconsistent for existing players in the game.

Well the CON affects the rate they improve only slightly. Players with low CON tend to slump and therefore not improve. Another way it affects the development is if a players has really low CON then their POT will most likely take a dive at the end of the year. On the flip side if they have high CON then their POT might increase.
This system is just fine for existing players. You just need to find a ballance in the POT and ceilings so they do or don't improve.
EHM also uses ceilings above 100. It also has rare superstars that may have 10-11 POT.
BTW I'd definatly download it to get used to the files it uses outside the game. Using notepad you can edit almost all the aspects of the game and see what ratings effect what.

sdb4884 said:
Hey everyone!

Cheers Coaches Box guy

i guess an obvious trading problem would be it incorperates so many possibilities. also another thing u must remember. you are judging wat you think is realistic based on reality. remember that in the game there is a different reality.

for example in real life, aaron hennamen could have turned into a superstar but he didnt. since these games are built on a random engine, things that may seem highly unrealistic are possible just like in real life

meh
Hopefully will have something soon. I'm still ironing out health, rookie player generation and potential increases.

v0.0.0.3 up now. Thoughts appreciated.

http://www.devimg.net/?View=543

Lots of new features added, still a lot of work to be done

General
Can create more than one game
Match Engine
Centre man was also running behind the ball, changed to run in front
Added Flood option
Computer coach selects flood under certain circumstances
Added health Column to match stats
Health effects performance
Post Season