News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era

• Thread starter Thread starter exile

I think I get what you mean by that but this is an excerpt from an article with comments by Longmire on Dew which suggests the contrary

"So those relationships naturally evolve in your experience as a coach, particularly when you go from an assistant to a senior coach, but he's smart, he understands people and he's got a good ability to relate to different people."

Longmire said it was hard as an outsider to know the challenges Dew was set to face at the Suns, but was confident his experiences at the Swans would hold him in good stead.

A lesser-known Dew quality could be his trump card.

"He understands football, and understands in great detail, but he's also got a great feel for when to lighten things up as well," Longmire said.
that's really promising. I hope the horse isn't porkying.

I reckon the players will relate a lot more easily and better to dew than Rodney.

They would have grown up watching him play, know that he has a impressive resume, got a hot missus etc

Rocket was just a bald headed, boring bloke from Melbourne, not really anyone to jump in the trenches with.
what is the insinuation if he didn't? would you feel differently about him if he had an ugly mister? would you bring that up?

he seems incredibly unintelligent. when I'm hiring I always look for smarts and motivation, so this concerns me.

however - for some reason that I can't put my finger on - he's just so so so likeable.

I think he's a worse coach than rocket. however, history shows lots of unintelligent people coach teams to flags. if dew galvanises and inspires us to success then I suppose ultimately he'll be a better coach than rocket.

gee - how important does a true football expert assistant become? I don't think we're have one at the club currently.

anyway - time to get on board.
vehemently disagree

Your not immune either mate. Plenty of posts from you on the Ablett thread taunting Geelong folk with your hot Mrs.

Ha ha that's true
Back when I was saying in response to the headlights on for Gaz campaign that we were having the take your beach babe wife to the beach weekend for Gaz campaign in response.

Very very good Sunner. 10/10 for memory and paying attention.

he seems incredibly unintelligent. when I'm hiring I always look for smarts and motivation, so this concerns me.

however - for some reason that I can't put my finger on - he's just so so so likeable.

I think he's a worse coach than rocket. however, history shows lots of unintelligent people coach teams to flags. if dew galvanises and inspires us to success then I suppose ultimately he'll be a better coach than rocket.

gee - how important does a true football expert assistant become? I don't think we're have one at the club currently.

anyway - time to get on board.
Rocket isn't that good a coach. Fairly certain he is currently the longest serving coach in AFL history without a premiership.

that means nothing, and I doubt you'll be able to show in any other way than "proof is in the pudding' type arguments that he isn't as good a coach as, say, a Clarkson. so probably best to agree to disagree.

Your argument seems to be around that he seems unintelligent. The glowing endorsement form Longmire and other Swans coaches proves to me he's smart person. Longmire himself seems like a innovative and cleaver coach and player back in the day. Also Evans seemed to get to know him very well during the level 4 coaching course, Dew said this himself so Evans would have appointed him knowing personally what's capable of.

oh no, I don't have an argument. just musings. I'm happy that we appointed dew. just listening to his introduction I was surprised by his lack of... eloquence?
the rocket argument I've done to death so happy not to start that up again and, as Elsa says, let it go.

oh no, I don't have an argument. just musings. I'm happy that we appointed dew. just listening to his introduction I was surprised by his lack of... eloquence?
the rocket argument I've done to death so happy not to start that up again and, as Elsa says, let it go.
Fair enough, i think we'll know pretty early in the season if we have a winner.

he is and was a VERY smart football player winning two premierships in two clubs
his 5 minute cameo, see youtube, winning almost singlehandedly the 2008 GF against raging favourites Geelong shows you how smart his FOOTY brain is, he was overweight and unfit and still had the ball on a string when the game was in the balance, he read the footy tea leaves and took the game away from Geelong, I was there on the day and I will never forget it
He is one of the sweetest kicks to ever have played AFL, boy do we need help in that area
He is lauded by his peers far and wide for for his ability to connect and develop young players to their potential
he is also lauded for his ability to unite and gel a team and the off field staff
he has excellent EI credentials
he has excelled in coaching at academy development level, defence line coach, stoppages coach and senior assistant coach at a top four and premiership club
his oratory skills are not necessarily up there with Paul Keating or John Howard and his attention to sartorial elegance particularly with mastering the Windsor knot on his tie lacks a bit HOWEVER we are wanting him to relate to AFL elite footballers between the ages of 18 and 33 so I am not sure he will be required to deliver the Magna Carta or be tutoring them in passing the bar exam..................
therefore I think what we have is a very, very, savvy, cunning and experienced footy tactician and developer of young AFL footballers who at the age of 38 will nurture and connect with our young talent in a collaborative way that Rodney and Bluey never could
I genuinely think he will unlock as yet unseen potential in our existing list and lead them to believe in playing together as a team that can compete and win

..........and if thats not enough for those of you who haven't seen it or forgotten, meet our new coach

Tell me this guy isn't a competitive beast and knows how to win

still give me chills to watch

How many footy coaches are 'eloquent'? Most are just fluffed up bogans that know how the game is played.

Extremely happy with his appointment after Eade shat on us after he left. Hope he's a long, long term coach for us.

he is and was a VERY smart football player winning two premierships in two clubs
his 5 minute cameo, see youtube, winning almost singlehandedly the 2008 GF against raging favourites Geelong shows you how smart his FOOTY brain is, he was overweight and unfit and still had the ball on a string when the game was in the balance, he read the footy tea leaves and took the game away from Geelong, I was there on the day and I will never forget it
He is one of the sweetest kicks to ever have played AFL, boy do we need help in that area
He is lauded by his peers far and wide for for his ability to connect and develop young players to their potential
he is also lauded for his ability to unite and gel a team and the off field staff
he has excelled in coaching at academy development level, defence line coach, stoppages coach and senior assistant coach at a top four and premiership club
his oratory skills are not necessarily up there with Paul Keating or John Howard and his attention to sartorial elegance particularly with mastering the Windsor knot on his tie lacks a bit HOWEVER we are wanting him to relate to AFL elite footballers between the ages of 18 and 33 so I am not sure he will be required to deliver the Magna Carta or be tutoring them in passing the bar exam..................
therefore I think what we have is a very, very, savvy, cunning and experienced footy tactician and developer of young AFL footballers who at the age of 38 will nurture and connect with our young talent in a collaborative way that Rodney and Bluey never could
I genuinely think he will unlock as yet unseen potential in our existing list and lead them to believe in playing together as a team that can compete and win

I can't like this post enough....

This makes me sad
I was really hoping he could deliver the Magna Carta:(