Coburg Yesterday

Man U, Storm, Victory
This is what i thought of JON and Cass yesterday. I didnt see Thursfield so maybe he played for the Ressies?

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls
Jon played most of the game on Robert Murphy. Murphy kicked one maybe two goals (1 was from a freekick up the ground) for the game and didnt get much of the ball in the 50. He mainly got the footy up the ground when Jon wasnt on him. Jon had from my count 5 kicks, 2 handballs and took 2 marks. He gave away 2 free kicks and got one himself. He had 1 set shot for goal from about 50 but it was a pretty windy day and it drifted way left and nearly went out on the full but didnt make the distance. His disposal was pretty good maybe hit the target 4 out of the 5 kicks. He took one great run through the middle but called for running too far. He is still very small and in my opinion he isnt ready for senior AFL footy just yet. He doesnt give you great confidents in a contest because he is beaten pretty easy (mainly because he is easy to push out of the way) and he doesnt tackle or put pressure on the forwards. He was 1 metre away from a Werribee player and just runned passed him and didnt even attempt a tackle. Maybe he was instructed just to stick to his man at all costs? but alot of the time he was 10 metres away from his opponent. He doesnt have the best hands and nearly dropped a sitter on the wing. He played mainly on the last line of defence and pushed up the ground maybe once or twice. He played every minute from what i saw which is pleasing.

Travis Casserly
What can i say. I love the way he plays the game. Tackles hard and puts lots of presure on forwards. He played only half a game today and sat out the second half. He played on the half back flank and took the occasional stroll up the ground to try and lend a hand to the forwards. But he ran strait back to his position after a score or a turnover. Ryan Griffen was dominating in the middle of the ground and got plenty of the ball. But when he had a rest in the forward line Cass always went to him and i didnt see Griffen get a touch when he was on him. Cass had 4 Kicks, 3 Handballs and 1 mark in the half he was on. He took 1 kickin but i dont know if that is counted as a stat to him so i didnt add it. He layed acouple of brilliant tackles and just didnt give up while he was on. His disposal is pretty good and i would expect to see him play a few senior games for the Tiges in 2007. Can spoil well and puts pressure on the forwards. Defently one for the future.

This is what i thought of JON and Cass yesterday. I didnt see Thursfield so maybe he played for the Ressies?

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls
Jon played most of the game on Robert Murphy. Murphy kicked one maybe two goals (1 was from a freekick up the ground) for the game and didnt get much of the ball in the 50. He mainly got the footy up the ground when Jon wasnt on him. Jon had from my count 5 kicks, 2 handballs and took 2 marks. He gave away 2 free kicks and got one himself. He had 1 set shot for goal from about 50 but it was a pretty windy day and it drifted way left and nearly went out on the full but didnt make the distance. His disposal was pretty good maybe hit the target 4 out of the 5 kicks. He took one great run through the middle but called for running too far. He is still very small and in my opinion he isnt ready for senior AFL footy just yet. He doesnt give you great confidents in a contest because he is beaten pretty easy (mainly because he is easy to push out of the way) and he doesnt tackle or put pressure on the forwards. He was 1 metre away from a Werribee player and just runned passed him and didnt even attempt a tackle. Maybe he was instructed just to stick to his man at all costs? but alot of the time he was 10 metres away from his opponent. He doesnt have the best hands and nearly dropped a sitter on the wing. He played mainly on the last line of defence and pushed up the ground maybe once or twice. He played every minute from what i saw which is pleasing.

Travis Casserly
What can i say. I love the way he plays the game. Tackles hard and puts lots of presure on forwards. He played only half a game today and sat out the second half. He played on the half back flank and took the occasional stroll up the ground to try and lend a hand to the forwards. But he ran strait back to his position after a score or a turnover. Ryan Griffen was dominating in the middle of the ground and got plenty of the ball. But when he had a rest in the forward line Cass always went to him and i didnt see Griffen get a touch when he was on him. Cass had 4 Kicks, 3 Handballs and 1 mark in the half he was on. He took 1 kickin but i dont know if that is counted as a stat to him so i didnt add it. He layed acouple of brilliant tackles and just didnt give up while he was on. His disposal is pretty good and i would expect to see him play a few senior games for the Tiges in 2007. Can spoil well and puts pressure on the forwards. Defently one for the future.

strange report about jon
i have friends who went to the game and saw every minute of it and said jon was clearly our best and looked real sharp .
i will believe their report over urs anyday
esp because they saw the entire match
so 6pl i know who went say jon was fantastic, and u say the :confused: opposite

strange report about jon
i have friends who went to the game and saw every minute of it and said jon was clearly our best and looked real sharp .
i will believe their report over urs anyday
esp because they saw the entire match
so 6pl i know who went say jon was fantastic, and u say the :confused: opposite

This was my opinion on the game. I watched mainly JON and Cass because thats who i was mainly interested in. JON got beaten in leads many times and looked at sea alot. But thats my opinion and you dont have to agree with it.

thats fair enough and im not agreeing with it
thats the point im making, all reports i have read and everyone who i have spoken to who was at the game saw it differently to you.

thats fair enough and im not agreeing with it
thats the point im making, all reports i have read and everyone who i have spoken to who was at the game saw it differently to you.

Yeps that cool and i dont expect everyone to agree with how i see it. I saw at least 90mins of the game and from JON in that time i saw him have 7 disposals, conseed around 4 goals to his direct opponent, give away 2 or 3 freekicks and not put as much presure on the forwards as i would have liked. But thats my opinion.

not suprised, needs major gametime this year to learn a few things like when to bounce the ball :rolleyes:

i want to see casserly because he has had a few setbacks so we need to see what he's all about

Casserley will have to debut sometime this year, surely.

Depends how his body is - so far he has struggled to string together more than 3 games in a row, and rarely played a full one. We might have to think long-term and try to go easy on him this year.

If he can put together a few, I reckon Terry will play him for the heck of it...

Your theory is probably the right thing to do however.

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls

Travis Casserly

cheers wes, no reason not to take your word for it mate. Nothing like a little appreciation around these parts!;) Looking forward to seeing both in action, hopefully JON with a few extra kg's as the season goes on.

yeh and his first kicked looked like he had never seen a sherrin before

he certainly did look awkward that night....hope it was nerves! looked pretty skillful in bennys highlights reel though, i was wondering if it was the same bloke, maybe he's a bit of a samson and should of kept that discraceful looking undercut!