Mr Magoo

May 18, 2005
West Lakes
Port Adelaide
All you Collingwood supporters here, congratulations on the fine win tonight fellas. Also best of luck for the rest of the season as well. Your mob were far too good for us tonight and are very well coached as proven by tonight's result. I could offer a ton of excuses why we lost tonight, but i won't on your board. So enjoy the win and hopefully you do well against the Lions next week.

Cheers

Mr magoo

cheers Mr Magoo

was an ugly match, and as rychenroller said, it was there for the taking and the Pies wanted it more in the end, and the Power seemed to well not take it easy but underestimate the Pies in the first half and we were able to strangle the game a bit

Yeah definately congratulations Pies.

Port were a shamble tonight and you deserved the win.

Good Luck for the remainder of the year, hopefully you can build on the win tonight.

rychenroller said:
Thanks...

We were better, but Port really did not play well at all tonight. The win was there for the taking tonight if we wanted it....

We did :)

Agreed. The win was definitely there for the taking, and it was good to sing that famous black & white song again at the end of the game.

Go Pies! :)

Mr Magoo said:
All you Collingwood supporters here, congratulations on the fine win tonight fellas. Also best of luck for the rest of the season as well. Your mob were far too good for us tonight and are very well coached as proven by tonight's result. I could offer a ton of excuses why we lost tonight, but i won't on your board. So enjoy the win and hopefully you do well against the Lions next week.

Cheers

Mr magoo

Cheers Magoo.

I would like your take on Port tonight though. There form had been good the last month or so and they had the 14 day break.

What are your expectations for the rest of the year? I think you guys can sneak into the finals, but I'm not sure how you will progress from there.

Well my take is that Collingwood are not a pretty side but tonight they were prepared to do the hard things and our guys ran around thinking skill would get them over the line. In the end we discovered that if you don't pressure your opponents the pressure comes back on you and you f*ck up.

Poor effort by our coaching staff too leaving Tredrea one out up forward as the only big guy there for long spells. Primus caused you problems early. Why move him? :confused:

I'm wondering what you guys think of Pickett after tonight. As I said on our board he got hit front on with his head over the ball and just patted your bloke on the head to say don't worry. (I'd say the hit was unintentional btw).

Toots Hibbert said:
Well my take is that Collingwood are not a pretty side but tonight they were prepared to do the hard things and our guys ran around thinking skill would get them over the line. In the end we discovered that if you don't pressure your opponents the pressure comes back on you and you f*ck up.

Poor effort by our coaching staff too leaving Tredrea one out up forward as the only big guy there for long spells. Primus caused you problems early. Why move him? :confused:

I'm wondering what you guys think of Pickett after tonight. As I said on our board he got hit front on with his head over the ball and just patted your bloke on the head to say don't worry. (I'd say the hit was unintentional btw).

Nice play the "No worries" pat (he knew it was unintentional). Excellent pressure saw us through.

May I just indulge for a moment...

YYYYYYAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! :)

Thanks.

I did see a bit of "BlAming of the Umpires" at the power board...seriously tho even if the free kicks were even, Collingwood were still giving it to you. Fact is, the free kicks were there and both teams benfitted in front of goal. We just played better footy outside of that.

No, you guys played the more desperate and team-oriented game tonight, and the umpires as tough as they were on us did not influence the fact that you deserved the win.

What impressed me about your side, was that in recent weeks you seem to have let go of alot of deadwood and brought in some youngsters, and it has translated into competitive matches and a side that I bet as supporters you actually enjoy watching again.

Williams, Davis, Lokan, Woewodin all would have got games under Mark Williams tonight.
Instead you played 7 youngsters who didn't necessarily dominate but they all provided something positive and seemed to bring out enthusiasm and motivation in your more senior players.

As a supporter of a side that refuses to let go of its older, underperforming Premiership players, I honestly envy other teams that have been competitive this year while giving their supporters a look-in to the future by playing kids.

Fortune favours the brave.

All this love and mutual admiration between Pies and Power supporters ....what is the world coming to ? :D

PS, I'm quite partial to the Power but don't tell anyone !

PJ Power said:
No, you guys played the more desperate and team-oriented game tonight, and the umpires as tough as they were on us did not influence the fact that you deserved the win.

What impressed me about your side, was that in recent weeks you seem to have let go of alot of deadwood and brought in some youngsters, and it has translated into competitive matches and a side that I bet as supporters you actually enjoy watching again.

Williams, Davis, Lokan, Woewodin all would have got games under Mark Williams tonight.
Instead you played 7 youngsters who didn't necessarily dominate but they all provided something positive and seemed to bring out enthusiasm and motivation in your more senior players.

As a supporter of a side that refuses to let go of its older, underperforming Premiership players, I honestly envy other teams that have been competitive this year while giving their supporters a look-in to the future by playing kids.

Fortune favours the brave.
Who are those underperforming premiership players?

jabso said:
Who are those underperforming premiership players?

Bishop is one and Monty at the moment. Wanga's didnt do anything. Collingwood were just so much more commmitted, they tackled harder, chased harder and kicked straight. Its always a good contest between port and collingwood, but unfortunatley for us Friday night we didnt put up a contest at all.

Apart from the cornes boys, I really couldnt have picked anyone who played well for us.

GoPies said:
Nice play the "No worries" pat (he knew it was unintentional). Excellent pressure saw us through.

May I just indulge for a moment...

YYYYYYAAAAAAAYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!! :)

Thanks.

Choppy loves the physical side of the game. He dishe's it out, so will take it! Pity so many call him a dog, sniper ect. As he is none of them, just a hard at it player, which is sadly a part of our great game that is being destroyed!!

Not that it should matter to you Jabso, but we have a number of players this year who have been inconsistent and pretty mediocre in terms of their output.

Most of us would not have Bishop in the side still, and Montgomery definitely gets a gold pass from Williams. He was good for a half on Friday night, but has often gone missing with teammates when the going has been tough this year. Wanganeen is yet to play a blinder after 14 rounds.

Others have struggled partially because of disruptions to their seasons, like Wilson, James, Pickett, but you have to question the wisdom of bringing them straight into the side when there are so many in a similar boat.

We have carried a number of players playing below their best this year. Most sides can deal with one or two, but if you add in the effects of playing Primus and Francou who have taken time to reestablish themselves, we are playing with too few contributors.

In no way is that to detract from what was a good performance from Collingwood on Friday night. Your side has known how to play well against us for a few years now, such that even when we do beat you, you make us scrap hard for it.

Sheeds said:
Yeah definately congratulations Pies.

Port were a shamble tonight and you deserved the win.

Good Luck for the remainder of the year, hopefully you can build on the win tonight.
thank you mate :)

Collingwood beat Port tonight congratulations guys