Collingwood vs Melbourne

liverpool-soccer
Ok guys after the debarcle that was round one and the game we should have won and didn't,i wonder what's in store for us this week against the DEES?
They were up about last week and gave North Melbourne a bit of a scare.
So the young Dees will be lively ,and we must take this game seriously.
We must go out and bury them,to redeem our first win and hopefully get some much needed percentage.Becuase we face the CATS only five days later.
Take no prisoners Pies,we don't want to drop another game,especially against last years wooden spooners.

This week would be the perfect time to unleash Rocca,simply because i can't think who Melbourne have got to go up against him and should help him run into a little form,plus rotating our three talls (Cloke,Anthony and ROCCA ) we should account for the dees quite easily.

So outs for this week i reckon.....Toovey,Johnson,Bryan,Reid

Ins- Wood,beams,Rocca,Heath Shaw or Sidebottom

Your thoughts !

Could be a Danger Game because we are have lost 2 in a row and Our Confidence will be a bit Down. While the DEES this will be like a GF for them where they can put everything into there game. Plus they have some good Youngsters and you see what happend with the Crows.

Should still win but I don't think it will be a Blow Out - We will win around the 20pts mark.

MY CHANGES:

In: Wood Beams Sidebottom Shaw Rocca?

Out:Bryan Toovey Johnson Goldsack Reid?

dtm i think you mean to put sidebottom and beams in IN. And toovey and johnson in OUT.

Yeah That what I meant put them in the Wrong Place:o

I'm new to all this but i think depending on our mental state it could become a danger game for us. we've done it in the past but i have hope that our new breed of magpies are able to fight off the "easy game" mentality and actually turn up ready to play on saturday and ready for a fight for the points.

If we turn up thinking it's going to happen we may be in for a shock.

I know 5 changes are alot but it's what i'd do.

Changes i'd make are:
Out: Johnson, Reid, Prestigiacomo, Goldsack and Toovey
In: Sidebottom, Beams, Stanley, Shaw and Rocca

Outs: Johnson - Just turns it over and decision making is poor, needs to get some run in his legs aswell as seems to have stagnated abit since injuries last year, unfortunately looks like the kids and the game in general may be about to go past Benny and there's nothing he can do about it. I could be wrong, but he looks stuck in a rut. The game has gotten to the point that we need precise, pin point kicks and benny isn't one of those.

Toovey - Much the same as Johnson in terms of the skills. The fact that he can be used by MM as a run-with player could keep him in, but the question remains do we run with the demons or blow them away with our own runners? If we choose the latter then Toovey is out.

Reid - Needs gametime and needs to find out whether he's a forward, a mid or a back. I suggest we let him figure that out in the two's for the time being at least. Then when he can show to coaching staff that he can fit in at AFL level then he should be in. I agree with other posters that he needs gametime, but with Rocca back in I suggest Reid is out.

Prestigiacomo - I love Presti and i'm already fearing some backlash here, but hear me out on this one. Look at Melbourne's forward setup and there doesn't appear to be a matchup for him. With Geelong the following week and given Presti's age and fragile body (reg:2008) i say we give him a week off.

Goldsack - He tries hard, but no other reason other than Heath Shaw is back and can't fit him in.

Ins: Rocca - 6 goals that he kicked was against a bunch of nobody's lets face it. But i was at the game and I was only interested to see how he was moving. He looks as good as Rocca always looks, if that makes sense. Sure he was blowing hard and gasping, but thats how we now he's working hard. The fact that after blowing hard he was still on the ground was the good sign. Get him in to really prove a handful for a young, small Melbourne defence. He's also what Travis needs around him right now. It'll be interesting to see if Anthony-Cloke-Rocca works, no better way to test it than against Melbourne in my opinion, sorry Dees!:)

Beams - the kid can play, we've seen him do it at NAB Cup level, let's let him loose on an equally young side in Melbourne. Throw him in the mix and give him a taste. He'll only improve our midfield rotations and will also let us keep Leon and Didak closer to goal for longer which we lacked on Saturday because they were required in their midfield rotaions.

Sidebottom - same as Beams, word for word.

Stanley - Was a toss up between him and McCarthy, but i've rewarded Stanley for good two's form. Also McCarthy might still be carrying something minor. In terms of midfield rotations same reasons as Beams and Sidebottom. But we want to find out what this kid can do. Test him against Melbourne. It's better than waiting till later in the year when it's more cut throat then bringing him in against a higher quality opposition and then saying "he's not upto it" lets actually see him in the middle.

Shaw - no brainer, he's fit.

So the lineup is:

Cox N.Brown O'Brien
Shaw Maxwell Clarke
Thomas Swan Lockyer
Didak Cloke Davis
Medhurst Rocca Anthony
Fraser Pendlebury Stanley

Beams, Bryan, Sidebottom and O'Bree

Eme: Wood, McCarthy, L.Brown

Major move - Maxwell to CHB, we saw him back, middle and forward last start, without Presti he needs to play on a man and beat him. He's the skipper now and we need that leadership from the back. With Rocca up forward he'll look after that part of the ground. We need Maxy to do what he does best voice, passion and hardness, make the Melbourne forwards fear getting a loose ball around him.

Need - Fraser to really stand up against Melbourne's rucks. Needs to get us off to a good start and also get fired up. Where's the passion and fire Josh, we want to see it. Start to really bully the young big blokes of the competition.

cheers guys and go pies!

Prediction: Pies by 52 points.

Need - Fraser to really stand up against Melbourne's rucks. Needs to get us off to a good start and also get fired up. Where's the passion and fire Josh, we want to see it. Start to really bully the young big blokes of the competition.

You will shit on us but if you think Fraser is going to bully anyone you are wrong mate. The guy is a fairy.

I predict Pies by 72 points, Cloke to kick 6 and Didak 4.

It's not very often you season is on the line so early, but it is this weekend.

A loss to Melbourne would most likely give us an 0-3 start to begin the season, with a trip to Brisbane, and games against Nth Melbourne, Essendon and Carlton to follow.

Not for one moment do I actually believe we will lose this game, but I watched the whole Nth Melb vs Melb game, and Melbourne's pace and midfield may be a concern for us. Do not under estimate the Dees, they had a horrid run with injuries last year, and in my opinion will actually win 6-8 games if they can get their best side on the park later in the year.

Where we should win the game is off our half back and with our small forwards. Medhurst, Didak and Davis will perform better, and with Heath Shaw coming back our backline run will be the best it has ever been.

At this early stage, before selection, I tip us to win by 35 points, in a game that will frustrate a lot of supporters, but overall, we should be happy with a comfortable win this week.

Heater will be a bit rusty for a few weeks so don't expect a huge output from him, and Medhurst is still a month away from finding touch. Expect Cloke to lift and Dids to go nuts.

But still, it's all attitude with the Pies. As underdogs we bring the A game, as favourites it's something like C or D.

if rocca plays , then melbourne r gunna have a huge handful with our forward line, if rocca plays John Anthony will kick 8 goals straight, and cloke 5 , i got a good feeling we will pump melbourne to the tune of around 80 points.
GO PIES:thumbsu:

if rocca plays , then melbourne r gunna have a huge handful with our forward line, if rocca plays John Anthony will kick 8 goals straight, and cloke 5 , i got a good feeling we will pump melbourne to the tune of around 80 points.
GO PIES:thumbsu:

Actually our backline is more equipped to deal with the likes of Rocca, Cloke and Anthony.

Warnock goes to Rocca

Frawley goes to Anthony

Rivers goes to Cloke

There is also Garland if either of those 3 start to get away from us.

Medhurst, Thomas, Didak and Davis will be the ones that are considered a major worry for us after watching our game against North where it was Thomas and Campbell that caused us headaches. Bartram, Cheney, Garland and perhaps Petterd would be the candidates to get the jobs on those 4.

OK I've done it ..... if we lose I have made a commitment on a non footy board to attend the next training session wearing ..... well lets just say it could make the news!

Seriously we cannot LOSE to Melbourne!

OK I've done it ..... if we lose I have made a commitment on a non footy board to attend the next training session wearing ..... well lets just say it could make the news!

Now I am really in two minds......:D..................no I'm not...now we have to win if only for the children.
Think of the children!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why do you care so much? You hate Mick Malthouse so much.

Why do you watch training? why do you support the players he recruited? why do you watch the game plans and structures he put in place? Why do you watch the team that respects Malthouse, when you don't.

Why don't you go follow another sport? Seriously get off these boards and go away, you don't care about Collingwood, you want to see the coach sacked which indirectly means you want us to fail REALLY BAD so he gets sacked, what kind of real supporter are you?

I knew Adelaide would be roughly even with us, i just thought our pre-season and home advantage would get us home.

And I feel that we're around a 10 goal better side than Melbourne.

If we fail to dispose of them easily then i fear we won't have gained enough confidence to stick with Geelong early on next week. That's the only way we are going to be able to go along with Geelong, our boys need to have the balls to 'go for it' and play some risky footy.

I realy like the look of the dogs, they have no fear and trust in each other. Fremantle arn't a push over iether, they have a good list and the dogs kicked 150 odd :/

Why do you care so much? You hate Mick Malthouse so much.

Why do you watch training? why do you support the players he recruited? why do you watch the game plans and structures he put in place? Why do you watch the team that respects Malthouse, when you don't.

Why don't you go follow another sport? Seriously get off these boards and go away, you don't care about Collingwood, you want to see the coach sacked which indirectly means you want us to fail REALLY BAD so he gets sacked, what kind of real supporter are you?

I support The Collingwood Football Club not any individuals who are paid employees or currently in positions of power at the Club. I support the Entity that is our Club, much like we all support Australia even if we don't like Rudd or Howard before him ..... didn't make us any less Australian does it!

I along with everyone else can see your problem is with me, you have an issue with "someone like me" supporting the same Club you do. Deal with your own issues and DON'T use me as a target and try to legitimise your hate because you have the problem.