Collingwood's Trade History

Although this makes for interesting reading, some parts of it are kind of unrealistic to look at. For example, I'll use the steinford trade where we gave Geelong pick 44 which they used for Josh Hunt, in hindsight yes we got ripped off. But who's to say, if we didn't make that trade and we used pick 44 we would of picked up Josh Hunt? We could of picked up another Josh Fraser who played 10 games for the club with pick 44 that year.

And another one, we gave Sydney pick 14 for Darren Jolly, Sydney has used that pick and got Lewis Jetta? Who wins that trade? Sydney are going to get alot more out of Lewis Jetta then we ever would with Jolly, and Jetta could turn out to be the premier midfield in the comp (hypothetical) but we won a flag because of it so how can you say who loss?

Josh fraser played 200 games for collingwood, played great in finals, his injury in all star game killed him when he was starting to play ripper footy and was a much better player than josh hunt who is the epitome of looks like tarzan, plays like jane. very poor choice of player to illustrate your point, considering all the draft busts we have had you no shortage of avenues.

Ed has of course cherry picked the worst ones and shortened the Malthouse era by 8 years to make him look as bas as possible.

No surprise there.

Not allowed to copypasta the whole article champ. Read the rules.

I also linked to the article. You can see the whole calamity for yourself.

to be honest, crap thread.

we know we had bad recruiting for many years. every club has at times. some found the problems easy to rectify and have had success as a result. some havent. as long as we have solved the issues, which seems to start in 2005 and only get better since then all is well.

now dont get me started on bernie quinlan. :mad:

And another one, we gave Sydney pick 14 for Darren Jolly, Sydney has used that pick and got Lewis Jetta? Who wins that trade? Sydney are going to get alot more out of Lewis Jetta then we ever would with Jolly, and Jetta could turn out to be the premier midfield in the comp (hypothetical) but we won a flag because of it so how can you say who loss?

That's called a win-win trade. If you break it down, Sydney are probably 'bigger' winners in that they will get many more years of service out of Jetta, but both players played an important role in a GF win and successful H&A season.

In saying that, I'd say Jolly, being our only decent ruckman, played a more pivotal part in our GF win than Jetta did for Sydney. Could Sydney have beaten Hawthorn without Jetta? Possibly. Could we have beaten St Kilda with Josh Fraser or Cam Wood as 1st ruck? I highly doubt it.

Not allowed to copypasta the whole article champ. Read the rules.

I also linked to the article. You can see the whole calamity for yourself.

Doesn't change the fact that you cherry picked a small window to suit your agenda.

The trading wasn't that bad, it was the drafting that was the problem

In fact, given what has been said by the club since - the Pick 7 downgrade for Pick 10 was a good one, because we still got the player we wanted.

The Pick 3 down to Pick 7 was a good one too, because they reckon they were taking Roach with Pick 3 anyway. So the trade was genius, the drafting was incredibly bad.

Doesn't change the fact that you cherry picked a small window to suit your agenda.

The trading wasn't that bad, it was the drafting that was the problem

In fact, given what has been said by the club since - the Pick 7 downgrade for Pick 10 was a good one, because we still got the player we wanted.

The Pick 3 down to Pick 7 was a good one too, because they reckon they were taking Roach with Pick 3 anyway. So the trade was genius, the drafting was incredibly bad.

Of course I cherry picked. I HATE Malthouse.

But the cherry picking is completely negated by the fact that the WHOLE ARTICLE IS RIGHT THERE.

Looking at the whole article doesn't paint a much better picture at all.

Yes, also, our drafting has also been terrible. Especially the first half of Malthouse's tenure. I have said this on many many occasions. My agenda isn't hidden dude. Everyone knows I hate Malthouse's guts and always have.

So bad drafting is Matlhouse's fault and good drafting is thanks to Judkins and Hine?

So any spuds we pickup now will be Buckley's fault and the superstars will be Hine's work?

Ok.... Two things....

1. Not sure why everyone is getting stuck into Ed. I didn't find it a "crap" thread. In fact, I found it quite informative and he didn't write it so give him a break.

2. The only issue I have with it is that the majority of trades were only made to look bad by the spuds we got in the draft.
If we'd picked up gems with them, then we'd be celebrating how good we'd traded.

I'm not an MM hater or an MM lover, although I am mighty pissed off with his behaviour in 2011.

It's not me that won't let go, its others. Some literally blame him for everything!

I'm quite pleased with Bucks thanks very much
Yeah but you know wot they say about feeding the trolls ;)

Ok.... Two things....

1. Not sure why everyone is getting stuck into Ed. I didn't find it a "crap" thread. In fact, I found it quite informative and he didn't write it so give him a break.

2. The only issue I have with it is that the majority of trades were only made to look bad by the spuds we got in the draft.
If we'd picked up gems with them, then we'd be celebrating how good we'd traded.

YES. The trade itself wasnt the problem. It was the player we were looking for.... If people say that Malthouse didnt have a say well....good luck to them.

I'm not an MM hater or an MM lover, although I am mighty pissed off with his behaviour in 2011.

It's not me that won't let go, its others. Some literally blame him for everything!

I'm quite pleased with Bucks thanks very much

Whos saying all that, haven't seen one comment like that in the thread. Getting a tad paranoid here.

The initial trades Ed linked to were neither really wins nor losses. Clement and Holland was a win, Scotland a loss. It's hardly a shit sheet. Your use of the term 'cherry pick' would suggest busting up the chronology of events, rather than what it actually is, which is an opening slab of information with a link to read the rest.

Even factoring in the inaccuracies of the list, it shows why clubs now have List Managers and more fully resourced recruitment departments. Prevents short sighted trades and ensures draft picks are spent more wisely.