Colts 2011

Cardiff City FC
How strong will this competition be? Who will struggle? Who will dominate? Will this make the Rookie Colts (18's) competition a worse standard than SFL 18's?

Will have to be better than the u/18s last year. That was a poor standard. Don't know how this is going to improve the standard of our senior comp though.

I thought it was good personally. Clarence, North Hobart, Launceston and Nth Launnie all had very good sides.

I think Clarence will win the premiership. Their overage players will be so much better than every other side it ain't funny.

How are things shaping up in the colts we reckon? Obviously Clarence and glenorchy will kick it off on Saturday arvo, I reckon the roos will win by half an hour on last years form, and glenorchy's game against north hobart on saturday. Understand Clarence went 1-1 between launy and north launy, who should be the two strongest northern teams. Rumours around about a player revolt against the coach down at the swamp, so who knows how that will turn out, but lauderdale should still be alright.
North hobart have snuck under the radar a bit, think they beat hutchins and comfortably got glenorchy on the weekend.
My top 5 would be launceston, north launceston, north hobart, Clarence and burnie in no particular order.

How are things shaping up in the colts we reckon? Obviously Clarence and glenorchy will kick it off on Saturday arvo, I reckon the roos will win by half an hour on last years form, and glenorchy's game against north hobart on saturday. Understand Clarence went 1-1 between launy and north launy, who should be the two strongest northern teams. Rumours around about a player revolt against the coach down at the swamp, so who knows how that will turn out, but lauderdale should still be alright.
North hobart have snuck under the radar a bit, think they beat hutchins and comfortably got glenorchy on the weekend.
My top 5 would be launceston, north launceston, north hobart, Clarence and burnie in no particular order.

:confused:

Your pretty new here Cal. Do tell.

Lauderdale have lost most of their spine by the sounds of it. Lathey, Kelly, Taylor-Evans have gone to other clubs and I think Dudgeon is playing rookie colts.

Taylor Evans? where is he? Like i said, lauderdale rookie colts will be strong, Lewis, Dudgeon, Pullen on ball and giffard in the forward line.

He's been training with Dodges all pre-season I think. Lewis and Dudgeon are both too good to play rookie colts. Giffard would dominate in that comp as well.

Also i think you can add haliday too that mix, other young players have had have had big pre seasons i've heard and are ready to push up.

I attended my first colts game of the year, Burnie vs clarence at west park,, it looked like a great standard and was a pleasent game to watch there were some standous Jenkins # 41 was outstanding in the first half and should have him playing seniors before long... and for burnie Fox was really good would of had 30 plus but overall a really good game and both will go deep into finals..

Was down south so i attended the Clarence vs Hobart game...
Obviously Hobart played alot of kids but it was ridicouls 237-13 point win... there we some standouts Tom Balcombe this kid has great foot skills and will have him playing senior football although a ankle injury may put it back a bit... williamson obviously kicked 12 and was good. Jenkins was outstanding would of had 30 plus and for a small bloke tooka round 5 contested marks that made just siot back and go Wow this kid has that much class its not funny. should be playing seniors and will be one of the 3 that will get drafted from tassie. Ling was outstanding as well with tremendous foot speed just made hobart look slow. After losing to burnie last week a great turnaround.

Agree with you on Jenkins, have seen this bloke play and has some serious talent, dunno what budgie geappen has against playing him in the ones.

Should've been at north hobart oval though, I attended the launceston-north hobart game and saw an incredibly high standard of football, these teams should both go far into the finals. And a wildcard for the draft is one julian dobosz, kicked 10.4 and has unreal natural talent. Expect a late call up for the mariners for this bloke.

Julian Dobosz Has that much talent is not funny wouldnt surprise me if he went in the rookie draft.

Dobosz has only been playing footy for 1 year, kicked 50 or so goals last season. He has kicked 16 odd in 2 games so far, would be very close to a seniors game! Jenkins is a good player, but 3 games in to the season is a bit to early to say if he is going to get drafted or not. Surely.

He didnt kick that many. I follow NH and Bryant kicked the most goals for their colts last season with about 35 or so. good player though.

Agree with you on the draft calls