Commentators barracking

I'm a fan of commentators barracking, as long as it's a reasonably even split - I love the tribal aspect of our game, and if the commentators show some love, all the better!

Yeh, Baz has actually toned the Freo love down a lot since the early days of his morning radio stint on 92.9. Last night was nothing compared to what that used to be like.
What a load of rubbish

CAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSBBBOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUULLLLTTTTT

Carrrrrrrraaaaazzzzzzzoooooooo

Kkkkkrrrrseeeuuuuzzzzzzzeeeerrrrr

Eddie was a disgrace today. I didn't hear basil but I suspect he was trying to weasel his way into the Freo bigwigs blow parties and trying to keep PPP tuned in, saying they can still comeback.

Jump back to the ABC? What's the weather like in 1987 where you are?

It adds to the game if you're watching Carlton TV. No problem with it if it's targetted at Blues fans (or any other fans who are getting barracked from the comm box).

But it's supposed to be a professional call on national television.

I pointed out how I also enjoy it when it's against us, as it adds an 'us vs them' theme to the telecast

It is professional and it is on national television, maybe your perception of what's professional and expected these days is a little old fashioned

More concerning that Eddie didn't know the names of players, all of our indigenous players are called Betts, and one of our players passed to himself at one stage. Even called a player from the wrong team once

Roo is harder on the Crows than the opposition - he's so conscious about not showing favouritism, plenty on our board have sooked about it.

I'm an Eddie fan, but he was shithouse today, to the detriment of the game.
I don't disagree, but wouldn't it just be easier for him NOT to call Crows games? Fox have a plethora of ex-players working for them. Get someone else to do it.

Today was unbearable with Dunstall. He clearly dislikes Sydney and from the first ball up he was arguing clear frees to the swans while appealing as to why the Suns weren't getting any. Happens every week he gets our game.

It's interesting there was such a fuss about last night though, considering the same thing happened in the Hawks vs Swans game a coupe of weeks ago. Constant barracking and over the top gushing for Rioli followed by disappointed congratulations when Sydney got up.

Yep understand that we get the same with Dermie, he hate's WCE.
He has hardly tipped us all year.

It's ok mate, you'll get an hour from Robbo on AFL 360.

Didn't hear the call because I was at the game last night, but it is as rare as hen's teeth to hear any barracking for Freo.

Basil is an unabashed Freo hater and a massive campaigner, would prefer him not to bother to be honest.

The underlined is crap, he is a Freo fan and member, and admitted as much on radio.

Ha it really is funny. Freo supporters hate him and say he's an Eagle; Eagles fans hate him and say he's a Docker. I remember reading somewhere that he loves Richmond!

Admitted on 6pr he is a Freo fan.
His wife and daughter go to all Freo games.

Clanceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Peeeearrrrrrrrrrce.

:$

Eddie is the worst barracker, hates non-Vic teams with a passion and jumps on the bandwagon of the Vic side to the point where he sounds like a random flog shouting shit from the cheersquad.

I think most people are beginning to realise we are at the lowest ebb ever for commentary, the channel seven team is a disgrace and fox has their fair share of morons too led by Derwayne (who also loves to barrack)

It's getting worse and worse and it ruins games.

But i have never seen a worse example of barracking than that of brisbane vs west coast a couple of years ago. The commentators were jizzing over every Brisbane possesion, and even went completely silent when Nic Nat took a specky. Not a single sound from the commentators box. It was repugnant.

I know some people love the tribalism of afl footy, but i believe it's the main reason why the game cannot expand. It's extremely off-putting for those who are not in the inner circle and for new potential fans, and it alienates current fans.

I've heard biased commentating in basketball and soccer, but never to the point where i thought it was unprofessional. A little bit of home town bias is ok, but barracking in those sports is unheard of. In afl it is the norm. It's now getting embarrassing and our standards are slipping really quickly.

Anthony Hudson's call of the 2008 GF was a masterclass in objective calling. Despite his side getting beaten he remained balanced and offered the same excitement for every Hawthorn highlight as he did with the Geelong highlights.

I think it's ******* sad that this issue has only come to attention because Fremantle had their dicks sucked by Ling, Darcy et al. This shit happens every week against non-vic teams, every week!

Yep. This. The world must be doomed if pro Freo bias is such a massive issue.

The zombie apocalypse must be any day now.

Commentators barracking