Commentators barracking

Jason Dunstall commentating Collingwood is a disgrace. Its like plucking some anti Collingwood bogan from the pub to do it.

He's nowhere near as bad as Tim Lane used to be on Ten a few years ago. Would all but barrack for the Pies to lose. You could hear the bitterness in his voice whenever Collingwood were on top during a game. Was even worse when he had fellow 'Team Carlton' man Robert Walls by his side. And Lane had the hide at one point to publicly claim that Ed is a biased commentator!

Clinton Gybras was the most unbiased and best overcall caller I'd seen. Use emotion with the tide of the game in the right manner without any silly wowed, other calling gimmicks or barracking

I actually couldn't believe it when he said he was a diehard Collingwood supporter after listening to his calls of those Grand Finals against Brisbane.

Why is it whenever they "barrack", they always seem to go for the same team. It would be more fun if they went for opposite sides and started arguing with each other :)

It's a cheap tactic, but they're instructed to orgasm over a chosen one and over-support the losing team in hopes of convincing viewers to keep watching. It fails because it's contrived, manufactured, and patronising when the commentary is out of touch with the reality of the game.

Their bosses clearly instruct them to call the game like this, as they all follow the same predictable formula.

I agree, they need to change this rigid, shallow formula for something more natural and authentic. Having a range of views would be a great start, instead of everyone following a script.

Commentators should REACT to the actual game, not SCRIPT it.
Yes. One of the things that annoys me most is that they're always making stupid predictions about what might happen.

'I reckon he'll kick this one Bristle'... 'Oh look at that he's kicked it on the full I put the mozzy on him'. It's all just nonsense.

Richie Benaud was the greatest commentator I ever heard.

Today was unbearable with Dunstall. He clearly dislikes Sydney and from the first ball up he was arguing clear frees to the swans while appealing as to why the Suns weren't getting any. Happens every week he gets our game.

It's interesting there was such a fuss about last night though, considering the same thing happened in the Hawks vs Swans game a coupe of weeks ago. Constant barracking and over the top gushing for Rioli followed by disappointed congratulations when Sydney got up.
Dunstall and Brereton just can't help themselves.
As soon as they see a team as a threat to Hawthorn they start over analysing that team every chance they get.
They have done it so often for so long that it has become predictable, boring and old.
Brereton even more so than Dunstall.

I would love to see Brereton's commentary of say Wingard and Rioli doing similar stuff side by side. One full of flying sperm and the other full of nothing but backhanded compliments.

Basil's a freo supporter. But believe what you want.
His random mention of Nic Nat during last years QF verse Sydney suggests otherwise.

The nature of how he talks about Freo, is as if it took him to become a commentator and sports news reporter to realise that Freo *might* be good. Plus he's a bit a **** to Ross Lyon on Channel 7 weeknight interviews.

Sure he says we're good as we're a WA team and it's his job, but once it's the Eagles he's frothing at the mouth.

It was embarrassing last night. Richmond play one of the more stunning games of the year and the commentators just wanna jizz over Fyfe and Fremantle. We saw one of the biggest upsets of the year. We saw the undefeated ladder leaders get humiliated on their home deck by a team that has been criticised as going nowhere or treading water. We saw one of the most remarkable quarters of the year last night, yet they didn't want a bar of it. They were too obsessed with their scripted narrative of last night being a celebration of all things Fyfe.

Today's game wasn't much better. I thought I was watching a Carlton premiership celebration. It was over the top right from the word go. It was so bad I almost forgot the Crows were playing, yet they won. The lack of emotion when Jenkins kicked that late goal was telling. It was actually really patronizing towards Carlton. MARC MURPHY THE ABSOLUTE SUPERSTAR!!!!!!. CAAAASSSSSSSSSBAAAAAAAUUUUUUULTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!! KRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEUUUUUUUUUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRR!!!!!! Eddie was screaming like it was the dying minutes of a tight grand final when they went 12-0 up early in the game. It was like the Crows weren't even playing.

The commentators seriously need to pull their heads in. It's one thing to try to liven up a dull game, even to hope for a comeback, but when you openly barrack for the losing team it's extremely disrespectful to the the winner. They have became obsessed with the possibility of the comeback. "They're only 6 goals down now wowee that could be the firestarter" type commentary has become all too common this year. They have become so obsessed with close games and comebacks they have forgotten that sometimes there are bigger stories unfolding in a game.
BELL!!BELL!!BELL!!BELL!!

Even though the commentary was silly, I thought it fitted the game well.

That's why everyone loved Tony Greig and Bill Lawry.
Totally. I think it would be good to have 3 guys calling the match. 1 to do actual commentary - like say what's happening. 1 guy to do mad editorial barracking for one side, and the other guy for the second side.

Anyone who refers to Buddy in a non- Sydney game or Ablett (in any game while injured) goes home. And we can vote people out

Talking up the underdog is fine
No, it's not. It's really boring. The whole game is 'commentated' through a prism of what they want to see rather than just calling the action. We get to listen to them sigh and groan at every near miss. And then they start beseeching the umpire for every free kick just like the cheer squad ferals sitting behind the goals.

It's shabby and unprofessional and it does the game a disservice.

The OP is dead right. It's gotten way out of hand. I for one am f**king tired of their shit.

Why can't commentators just call the game, be impartial and let us at home do the barracking?

Is that too much to ask?

As soon as they see a team as a threat to Hawthorn they start over analysing that team every chance they get.
They have done it so often for so long that it has become predictable, boring and old.

I would love to see Brereton's commentary of say Wingard and Rioli doing similar stuff side by side. One full of flying sperm and the other full of nothing but backhanded compliments.

No offence, but I live in Adelaide. If there's two sides whose supporters shouldn't complain about biased commentary, it's Adelaide and Port.

My one big pet hate is commentators/analysts who don't watch every game.

Nothing shits me more than someone in the media saying "I didn't watch their game last week". It's your job to discuss the game. What? Too ****ing busy Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday to watch replays?

My one big pet hate is commentators/analysts who don't watch every game.

Nothing shits me more than someone in the media saying "I didn't watch their game last week". It's your job to discuss the game. What? Too ******* busy Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday to watch replays?
Agree totally. Especially when it is such a dream job - I mean I drink beers and watch **** knows how much AFL, then crap on about what I saw for free!

Basil is a Freo member so it's not surprising from him. The stations seems to have gone away from avoiding conflicts of interest to actively encouraging them- bomber is on Geelong games, Ling as well, Maxwell for the Pies, Richo for the Tigers.
Ricoh is only a special comments man and I don't think he portrays Richmond bias when he speaks. Ling was awful, he's talking up fyfe on Friday like a common sycophant was sickening.

Dunstall did it yesterday, kept trying to put the Swans down at any chance he had. He kept running with the call"imagine if you took the best 9 players out of the Swans team then see how they go". What sort of idiot commentary is that? And then every time a GC player hit a target, "OHHHH WELL DONE" in the most patronising fashion, its just BS. I have no idea why he continually commentates Swans games when he clearly hates them, which is fine but go and hate them somewhere else and dont ruin the coverage of the game.

The idea of commentary is quite strange when you think about it, kinda like a laugh track in a sitcom.

If there was someone sitting next to you at the actual game literally describing every moment of the game, you'd tell them to shut up. Yet somehow we have just come to expect that on TV that there has to be someone nattering the whole time.

Fox Footy had a "crowd noise only" option 10 years ago... Why we don't have that now with the technological options available to us us quite strange.

Commentators barracking