Roast Commit to the darn outcome..

• Thread starter Thread starter velona

velona

I'm really starting to get tired of listening to post game interviews with Richmond players/coaches/administrators who say things like how disappointed they are, how frustrated they are, how they just need to "keep working" to try and "turn things around", "get their game up and going", gradually improve. How the mood at the club is positive and how they are training really well.

If you listen to chris scott after the port loss you will see a massive difference. He says they made errors firstly the coaching staff but also the players. He says they will rectify it by next week. He doesn't say they will analyse it, or work hard or do their best to try to rectify it just that they will.

Massive difference in attitude and commitment. Geelong commit to making a change.. We commit to "working hard" to try to make a change. They take ownership of creating the outcome they want. We seem to think that as long as we work hard, things will magically come good.

I want to hear how gutted they are to lose, how embarrassed they are in the way they played, how guilty they feel letting their teammates coaches and they supporters down and I don't want to hear that they are working hard to turn things around. I want to hear that they will turn things around.

Commit to the outcome not the process!

"We need to figure out what went wrong"
"Need to get better"
"Frustrated at the way we are playing"
"Need to get our game plan going"
"Last years finals will spur us on"
*Proceed to serve up crap, now 6 weeks in a row"

Yeah... Mate, it's been going like this for 30 years. Don't think it's turning around any time soon. As much as Dimma would lead you to believe.

yeh the coaches/players/adminstrators should come out and start potting the club...that'll fix everything o_O

Yeh that's what the OP said. :drunk:

People are just fed up with the spin as you can see by the posts above and nearly every other thread. Admit we've made some mistakes. None of this we are better than last year, we are a 6/10. Most supporters can see that's bullshit. You can see the membership tally dwindling show people aren't buying the crap. Just admit we stuffed some things up. Don't piss on us and tell us it's raining.

Great thread :thumbsu:

Problem is though, no one thinks we are that bad within the club. They keep telling us it's just a few things that need work! It's been 6 weeks now:thumbsdown:

People are just fed up with the spin as you can see by the posts above and nearly every other thread. Admit we've made some mistakes. None of this we are better than last year, we are a 6/10. Most supporters can see that's bullshit. You can see the membership tally dwindling show people aren't buying the crap. Just admit we stuffed some things up. Don't piss on us and tell us it's raining.

he has to be measured in the media, it's the nature of the beast. look at the furore when he named ellis and conca.
there has to be a balance, he's not going to flog them week in week out or he'll lose them completely.

i agree that this season is a train wreck, but slamming the players, saying the season is over or constant hard line negativety will adversely affect the club, players and disenfranchise fans.

internal communication would be a different story.

he has to be measured in the media, it's the nature of the beast. look at the furore when he named ellis and conca.
there has to be a balance, he's not going to flog them week in week out or he'll lose them completely.

i agree that this season is a train wreck, but slamming the players, saying the season is over or constant hard line negativety will adversely affect the club, players and disenfranchise fans.

internal communication would be a different story.
I don't think anyone's arguing for him to slam players. I thought it was poor form to take it out on those 2 in particular. They are still just kids who we all (and it seems the coaches as well) expect to just play consistently top footy, when at other clubs they'd be role players finding their feet. I just want to hear them admit we overrated the list and where we were at. Or hell just say you know what we played shit. We will work hard to improve for next week. None of this play shit and call it a 6/10. While he's at it, cut the injury excuses. Yeah we have injuries but so do other teams. Back the 22 out there that they are actually good enough to win.

i just find the overrated our list argument funny. that list, minus white and mcguane, won 15 games last year and got us into the finals, we were 5th, 2 points off top 4. but i guess that's for another thread.

ok, fair enough that's what you want, but do you expect that to actually happen? it's like expecting the dissection videos to open up the vault to the inner workings you cant pay for.

i just find the overrated our list argument funny. that list, minus white and mcguane, won 15 games last year and got us into the finals, we were 5th, 2 points off top 4. but i guess that's for another thread.

ok, fair enough that's what you want, but do you expect that to actually happen? it's like expecting the dissection videos to open up the vault to the inner workings you cant pay for.
Yeah fair enough about where we came but we really relied on way too few. For some of us that's hindsight but surely the "experts" at the club should have been able to see that we relied on too few. I hate Robbo's dribbling on 360 but he was talking about whether we should have gone the slow burn towards finals and built through youth and taken a couple more really top notch youngsters. But as you said another thread another time.

As said in the OP it's good enough for Geelong to admit they make mistakes etc. I think it would be ok for us to do the same. Just make it a we thing, not a he let us down etc.

Yeah fair enough about where we came but we really relied on way too few. For some of us that's hindsight but surely the "experts" at the club should have been able to see that we relied on too few. I hate Robbo's dribbling on 360 but he was talking about whether we should have gone the slow burn towards finals and built through youth and taken a couple more really top notch youngsters. But as you said another thread another time.

As said in the OP it's good enough for Geelong to admit they make mistakes etc. I think it would be ok for us to do the same. Just make it a we thing, not a he let us down etc.
He has said this for the last few weeks.

I'm really starting to get tired of listening to post game interviews with Richmond players/coaches/administrators who say things like how disappointed they are, how frustrated they are, how they just need to "keep working" to try and "turn things around", "get their game up and going", gradually improve. How the mood at the club is positive and how they are training really well.

If you listen to chris scott after the port loss you will see a massive difference. He says they made errors firstly the coaching staff but also the players. He says they will rectify it by next week. He doesn't say they will analyse it, or work hard or do their best to try to rectify it just that they will.

Massive difference in attitude and commitment. Geelong commit to making a change.. We commit to "working hard" to try to make a change. They take ownership of creating the outcome they want. We seem to think that as long as we work hard, things will magically come good.

I want to hear how gutted they are to lose, how embarrassed they are in the way they played, how guilty they feel letting their teammates coaches and they supporters down and I don't want to hear that they are working hard to turn things around. I want to hear that they will turn things around.

Commit to the outcome not the process!

What a crock of horse shit, sorry mate but it is. Dimma has said the same thing when we were locked in the eight and had a down match. It is easy to be self critical when your team is going along swimmingly. Now i am pissed at our performance too but lets not throw the baby out with the bath water. Dimma time and time again has admitted to making mistakes. People on here after 6 rounds are trying to make out that Dimma spins bullshit like Wallace.

I challenge anyone to say we have not changed in the last 4 years to the better. it is amazing what little back bone some have on here that bend with the media wind because we have had 6 poor games. People are now throwing away all the hard work made in over 4 years based on 28 days worth of results. Now personally Dimma and Benny Gale have earnt the right for me to judge this season at the end of the season. They have earnt the right to come to me and communicate what went right and wrong this season at the right time, round 6 is not the right time to say " ya guys we are screwed but dont worry well do a b and c next year".

What a crock of horse shit, sorry mate but it is. Dimma has said the same thing when we were locked in the eight and had a down match. It is easy to be self critical when your team is going along swimmingly. Now i am pissed at our performance too but lets not throw the baby out with the bath water. Dimma time and time again has admitted to making mistakes. People on here after 6 rounds are trying to make out that Dimma spins bullshit like Wallace.

I respect your opinion as you should respect mine.

My post was not an attack on dimma, I am frustrated that they seem to fall back on process as an excuse, as per my post this applies to administrators coaches and players. This is a cultural problem.

work hard x do the right things x be positive = good results

This generally works but sometimes this isn't enough and you need to pull your finger out and say. We were crap at x y and z. Next week we will not be crap at those things. Commit to that and make it happen.

On dimma I don't know whether he is spinning per se, but either that or he doesn't know what is going wrong. Not sure what is worse.

For the record and at the risk of derailing the thread I think he has been great for our club but it's obvious this season that he has some shortcomings. I don't think we should sack him as everyone else on here is calling for, but as geelong did with Mark Thompson after geelong had a bad year before their premiership run we need a football review. Identify the weaknesses and put additional capability or process in place to address them. This should not be up to Hardwick but imposed upon him by the director of football.

Heard that presser too.

He also said we will back in our kids. They'll make mistakes but the coaching staff will help them to learn from them.

When?

"We need to figure out what went wrong"
"Need to get better"
"Frustrated at the way we are playing"
"Need to get our game plan going"
"Last years finals will spur us on"
*Proceed to serve up crap, now 6 weeks in a row"

Yeah... Mate, it's been going like this for 30 years. Don't think it's turning around any time soon. As much as Dimma would lead you to believe.

should be flicken politicians

I respect your opinion as you should respect mine.

My post was not an attack on dimma, I am frustrated that they seem to fall back on process as an excuse, as per my post this applies to administrators coaches and players. This is a cultural problem.

work hard x do the right things x be positive = good results

This generally works but sometimes this isn't enough and you need to pull your finger out and say. We were crap at x y and z. Next week we will not be crap at those things. Commit to that and make it happen.

On dimma I don't know whether he is spinning per se, but either that or he doesn't know what is going wrong. Not sure what is worse.

For the record and at the risk of derailing the thread I think he has been great for our club but it's obvious this season that he has some shortcomings. I don't think we should sack him as everyone else on here is calling for, but as geelong did with Mark Thompson after geelong had a bad year before their premiership run we need a football review. Identify the weaknesses and put additional capability or process in place to address them. This should not be up to Hardwick but imposed upon him by the director of football.

Oh mate, dont take my feedback on your post as disrespect, that was not my intention. We all have differing opinions, which this forums all about. I really was responding in part in regards to your post then the rest of my reply was more directed at the feeling that Hardwick is spinning shit, when in fact he is the opposite of that.

So sorry mate, if I offended, had not meant to. We are all tigers after all :) lol

"Credit to (insert opposition team here)"
"We're at about 6/10"
"Our second tier players just aren't delivering, (insert 2nd / 3rd season players here, ignore 25+ yo passengers)

That isn't what I'm suggesting at all, go back and read my post properly.

I'm saying as a collective they need to accept that they have been crap at x, y, z and commit to changing those things rather than constantly trotting out the "we are doing our best, trying, working hard" line.
I've got no doubt they are trying hard, but that gives me little confidence if they are working hard on the wrong things..! At the end of the day every club is working hard, it doesn't even need saying.

Where did I suggest that they start potting each other.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

No that's not what I said and no I wasn't drunk..

You lot seem to be able to read OK but have some major issues with comprehension!

No that's not what I said and no I wasn't drunk..

You lot seem to be able to read OK but have some major issues with comprehension!

My comprehension is fine. Not sure about yours though? I was sticking up for you. :p

If Madonna gets dropped for the Geelong game, then there needs to be some hard questions asked of the club. Teaching them is not dropping them. I've singled out Madonna because Lids and Rance are coming back, and the passengers need to go and not the kids.

The gameplan is too defensive. No use in preventing the opposition from scoring if our mindset is not TO score. I'd like the mindset against Geelong to simply take every scoring opportunity and make it happen. No chip sideways crap until it is needed. They get a run on, then chip sideways and deny the ball. But the mindset must be to attack, take risks and back each other. If this instruction is not followed, drop players. i don't want to hear excuses at the press conferences. The message is always the same.

I don't care if other teams have "worked out" how we play. We simply need to focus on our strengths, and start to worry sides like we did last year.