Confirmed Cameron Cloke is a blue

Guess I'll move my rant into this thread then. :cool:

This bothers me on so many levels.
A) Hes a Cloke
B) He hasn't been training with us which means we have only had at most a couple of looks at him to see whether he is still up to it or if he gets along with his teammates
C) We have drafted another recycled dud
D) We have replaced 1 mediocre ruckmen with an even worse mediocre ruckman who probably won't even play in the ruck.

Somebody please tell me that he has only been offered a one year deal, because if we have given him two years then I'll be furious that we took him over Bryan.

Not Happy. :thumbsdown:
E) Our bogan content just went up to a dangerously high level.

I'll embrace anyone that our staff selects. So welcome Cam Cloke, he may not have had the best beginning to his career at Collingwood but hopefully he can turn it around. :thumbsu:

Lets not bag him yet, lets just see how he goes guys.

Does anyone else recall the footage of him in one of his first games for Collingwood licking his lips before going up in the ruck?? Says it all, I hate the prick.

I'm not sure if I'll be able to support him this coming year. If he plays a good game I'll think that I'll probably be cursing that he's inched himself further away from a quick and proper delisting. :(

AND

whippersnipper
E) Our bogan content just went up to a dangerously high level.

hoo ahh!

I can see lance taking a kick in from full back next season and deliberately kicking into the man on the mark rather than the only other option cloke,..........its a self respect thing.

He gets all the support he deserves once hes proven himself. Till then hes a collingwood turncoat who, as Borat would say, is a shape-shifting, child-eating, untrustworthy freak who should be kept in a box full of half eaten weavels.

But best of luck mate !

This is going to take a bit of geting used to. But Carlton jumpers make anyone look better. Away from the infamous Pies toxic deskilling environment who knows what might happen. I suspect Tarrant regrets he didn't make the move 3-4 years ago. :)

0,1658,5331915,00.jpg

I don't think he'll be a lazy dud, I reckon he'll give his all.

Remember he was given a wake up call by being first delisted by the Pies, having no club for a couple of months now, then watching his brother's career end. He'll know this is make or break. Add to that he's been restricted by injuries too. If he can stay fit, I reckon he'll gve us everything. Only 21 too.

Don't go jumping out of windows yet - You need to remember that the MAIN reason everyone thinks he's a totally useless dud is that he played for Collingwood.

Isn't that enough?

like most cameron & Jason weren't happy with the Way Collingwood treated em
i bet my bottom dollar if i did bet he will prove Collingwood Wrong make em regret it ;)

Acklands our new no1 Ruckman backup Cameron cloke takes alot of pressure of heath Scotland. And future ruckman rookies.

And again I ask.... how does he take pressure off Heath Scotland??

C.Cloke V Bryan.
Well done to the club on this one.
Cloke has more potential, presuming we got him on a one year deal and we knocked back Byran's two year wish, we have had two wins.
Also very rare to get someone from over that way with a full set of teeth. Another bonus.

i've been a fan on pagan, but this is a really disappointing move. ackland's admission isnt the worst thing in the world, could fill a position while others develop - but cam is a shocker. too many multiple club players, or mature age recruits! a list of the past few years

Teague
Johnson
Clarke
Bannister
McGrath
Martyn
Bryan
Deluca
McKernan
Kenna
Cranage
Harford
Eccles
Gallagher
Mott
Morrell
Plunkett
Smith
McClaren
Longmuir
Angwin
saddinton
McKenzie
cameron cloke
cain ackland
chambers
bowyer
french*
scotland*
stevens*

i've been a fan on pagan, but this is a really disappointing move. ackland's admission isnt the worst thing in the world, could fill a position while others develop - but cam is a shocker. too many multiple club players, or mature age recruits! a list of the past few years

that there is a starting 18+12more (30) of mature players or multiple club players we have gotten through the club since 2001 - only 3 of those fellas (*) would be considered success or worth while players for more than one year -appaling strike rate. ackland and cloke can still prove them selves sure enough, but SURELY after this terrible strike rate in past attempts, the club WOULD NOT go for Cameron Cloke! don't they atleast care about their personal professional reputations?? I mean, eddie betts was a success story of trying a young player - why not try that again?
Hope im wrong, but statistics usually dont lie, not damning ones like these
more (30) of mature players or multiple club players we have gotten through the club since 2001 - only 3 of those fellas (*) would be considered success or worth while players for more than one year -appaling strike rate. ackland and cloke can still prove them selves sure enough, but SURELY after this terrible strike rate in past attempts, the club WOULD NOT go for Cameron Cloke! don't they atleast care about their personal professional reputations?? I mean, eddie betts was a success story of trying a young player - why not try that again?
Hope im wrong, but statistics usually dont lie, not damning ones like these

McKernan, Cranage, Eccles, Gallagher, Plunkett and Smith were all at the club before Pagan arrived and he got rid of them because they were Sh it house. The only one that left on his ownwas McKernan because he didn't get anlong with Pagan. Plunkett was pretty good through he shouldv'e stuck around.

Does anyone else recall the footage of him in one of his first games for Collingwood licking his lips before going up in the ruck?? Says it all, I hate the prick.

I'm not sure if I'll be able to support him this coming year. If he plays a good game I'll think that I'll probably be cursing that he's inched himself further away from a quick and proper delisting. :(

U HATE someone becuase he licked his lips? We will embrace this kid, because he plays for Carlton.

Wasn't too happy about the decision... but the comments he has made after being drafted as well as reports that his shoulders are fine make be a little happier about it all. If his mind is willing and body able, at least we know we will get the best out of him...and he's only 21.

Still a bit confused about the Zantuck situation. They could have taken him as well as Cloke given we have 5 rookies. If Pagan wanted him as well as the leading players, why wouldn't they take him for a single year????

The Board overturned their decision.

don;t bag ya own club let opposition supporters do that ya meant to bag other clubs not ya own real Supperts don't bag their own club half are ones who havn;t got a membership

McKernan, Cranage, Eccles, Gallagher, Plunkett and Smith were all at the club before Pagan arrived and he got rid of them because they were Sh it house. The only one that left on his ownwas McKernan because he didn't get anlong with Pagan. Plunkett was pretty good through he shouldv'e stuck around.

Smith got sacked twice by Pagan- the year before when he was at North & as soon as he came to Carlton!!!

Look guys

Enough with the Cam Cloke and stuff sledging.
Despite his dad's eccentric behaviour, I'm willing to give him a shot, perhaps being delisted by the Pies is the wakeup call that he needed, and he can give us good service, cause the talent is there, and yeah he's got a big frame, so that's a help.
Also he does appear a bit cocky and arrogant, so what ?
Only the strong survive in this dog eat dog kind of world, and the most successful people in life, esp in sports, are always the ones that have that arrogant or 'cocky' streak in them.
So to Cam Cloke I say welcome aboard :)

Wasn't too happy about the decision... but the comments he has made after being drafted as well as reports that his shoulders are fine make be a little happier about it all. If his mind is willing and body able, at least we know we will get the best out of him...and he's only 21.

Of course he's going to say that av. He's not going to hold a press conference saying that his shoulders are stuffed just after a club has drafted him. However, I am willing to give him a chance, as I would have if Zantuck had been drafted by the club.

From what I have heard in the press, Pagan wanted Zantuck and the Board didn't. Why would you draft Zantuck in the RD? You'd only take him if he was going to play senior footy next year.

Look guys

Enough with the Cam Cloke and stuff sledging.
Despite his dad's eccentric behaviour, I'm willing to give him a shot, perhaps being delisted by the Pies is the wakeup call that he needed, and he can give us good service, cause the talent is there, and yeah he's got a big frame, so that's a help.
Also he does appear a bit cocky and arrogant, so what ?
Only the strong survive in this dog eat dog kind of world, and the most successful people in life, esp in sports, are always the ones that have that arrogant or 'cocky' streak in them.
So to Cam Cloke I say welcome aboard :)

Well said, CP. We have probably all had a turn at Cloke bashing at some stage (I'm old enough to have done it to Damir Cloke in his playing days as well), but let's give the kid the benefit of the doubt for no other reason than the fact he will be pulling on our beloved navy blue & white guernsey. We know if he doesn't do the hard yards in the next 12 months he will be out the door, so we should wait & see what 2007 produces before we pass judgement. As CP said, being delisted by Collingwood should hopefully wake him up to the reality that success in AFL revolves around working hard, not what your surname is. Certainly the Cloke name carries no weight at Carlton.

And yeah there is so much anti-Carlton crap (as Parrot pointed out) being fed out in the media, so yeah we may as well embrace the positive and yeah it's odd but I felt sorta old fashioned navy blue pride when I saw Cam Cloke in a Carlton Jumper yesterday in the paper.

And yeah people can bag the Clokes and stuff, but yeah I've got bit of a temper and esp when my family gets upset, that upsets me too, but yeah though Cam does appear to be proud for a 2nd chance at AFL level so yeah it's best all supporters make him feel welcome and positive, and go down to pre-season training and say g'day to him and the new kids on the list is a great thing to life their spirits and confidence IMHO.

Of course he's going to say that av. He's not going to hold a press conference saying that his shoulders are stuffed just after a club has drafted him. However, I am willing to give him a chance, as I would have if Zantuck had been drafted by the club.

From what I have heard in the press, Pagan wanted Zantuck and the Board didn't. Why would you draft Zantuck in the RD? You'd only take him if he was going to play senior footy next year.

Lets hope he wasn't fibbing...

I wasn't suggesting picking Zantuck in the RD but with 3rd pick in PSD. With five rookies, its my understanding we could move Kouta offlist and take another pick. Zantuck sounded worth a short for one year for instant depth...I couldn't see much going wrong...if he played up, we sack him and we would be in the exact same situation we are now with five rookies (albeit one not nominated).
But that brings up another question I wanted to ask: if not Zantuck, why not pick up someone else for one year on minimum contract? Skipworth, Jesse Smith, even Cory McGrath...would love to have an extra midfielder who is physcially ready...the only reason I can see is to save money as it would have no impact on next years drafting decision (that I can see).

Confirmed Cameron Cloke is a blue