contract negotiations

Guess who has been listening the the Kerr/Gumby trade talk :D

It always depends on so many things as to when a contract is done.

But in the situation of a young player, still making his way, as long as he wants to stay and the club wants him to stay they usually sign them up mid year.

We will be working on signing up many of our players already but when they will actually sign, if they do, is dependent on too many things.

I wouldn't be too worried about Gumby as he is very happy at Essendon from what i have heard.

Guess who has been listening the the Kerr/Gumby trade talk :D

It always depends on so many things as to when a contract is done.

But in the situation of a young player, still making his way, as long as he wants to stay and the club wants him to stay they usually sign them up mid year.

We will be working on signing up many of our players already but when they will actually sign, if they do, is dependent on too many things.

I wouldn't be too worried about Gumby as he is very happy at Essendon from what i have heard.

yeh mate :D I have an enormous amount of Gumby love and I want him sewn up!

Thanks Merv, I hope you're right :)

One thing to note re contract negotiations.

The club has to keep a forward eye on this 17 th licence. If they push ahead with it, the kind of free agency it will effect will not only give that licence broad access to the draft but also uncontracted players will be very attractive at that time. Big fat salary caps and promises to lure rara.

Sure, have to sign up players now but be careful if they coming out of contract october 2010. That would a two year deal this year and we have a lot in this category.

Makes it tricky though offering one or three years to some of these guys. You have to just lay down the two years deals and see what eventuates. But for Gumbleton do you take the punt. If his put his game and hamstrings together he would be the ideal target for such a licence.

I can understand why people are concerned.

I have seen players like Wanganeen and Anderson ( he told me to my face he was staying :mad: ) go home but in actual fact how many players actually leave clubs to go home?

Considering how many interstate players are on the lists of every club, it is actually pretty rare.

Footy clubs might have different gyms, coaches, culture etc etc etc but the one thing they have in common is they are filled with top people.

Young kids come over not knowing what to expect, then get treated like friends from staff and make mates with existing and new players.

Next thing you know they start to feel at home, find a girlfriend have heaps of mates and fun and are as happy as a pig in you know what.

Dapto makes a good point about the new clubs, but everyone will be in that boat and Essendon will handle it professionally, like they do with ALMOST everything else.

Have faith guys :thumbsu:

I can understand why people are concerned.

I have seen players like Wanganeen and Anderson ( he told me to my face he was staying :mad: ) go home but in actual fact how many players actually leave clubs to go home?

Considering how many interstate players are on the lists of every club, it is actually pretty rare.

Footy clubs might have different gyms, coaches, culture etc etc etc but the one thing they have in common is they are filled with top people.

Young kids come over not knowing what to expect, then get treated like friends from staff and make mates with existing and new players.

Next thing you know they start to feel at home, find a girlfriend have heaps of mates and fun and are as happy as a pig in you know what.

Dapto makes a good point about the new clubs, but everyone will be in that boat and Essendon will handle it professionally, like they do with ALMOST everything else.

Have faith guys :thumbsu:

Bookmarked! :p

contract negotiations