News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Been floated for a few weeks that this is likely to provide a viable treatment. Zinc stops replication and the "insert very long name" allows the access through the cell membrane.

Bigger question is how you use the treatment. Reduce, not eliminate the restrictions to encourgae economic activity while increasing the curve or try and starve the virus completely, something I am told is difficult as it can be dormant in some people anyway.

Did her dad come home drunk and kill her cat or something?
Richmond win the 1973 and 74 flags, her dad Ian Wilson takes over as President in 74 but they then lose to us in 75. Bartlett comes second and third in the Brownlow to Greig in 73 and 74 respectively.

Caroline Wilson, becomes a teenager in 73, her club wins two flag and she sits at the pointy end of a Richmond family who believe they're entitled to it and the Brownlows they missed out on. But our win in 75 spells the end and yes, Ian Wilson can't hack the new world order.

While the first 45 we bought or the first gig we attended leave indelible impressions on most of our young, forming, teenage brains, Caroline's pathways are dominated by the entitled Wilson family's perceived injustices culminating in our premiership in 75 and the need to blame some club for her dad's failure to keep the Richmond success he inherited going.

It can't be underestimated how irrationally bitter she has been and will continue to be towards our football club.

I am dreading watching our game. The lack of atmosphere without the Crowd from these first two games has seen me turn over. Probably be fine when it starts but as a neutral fan it’s been a chore

I think it’s that they’ve been blow out games as much as anything that’s made then boring.

Given the score differential, I’d have tuned out anyway, even if there was a crowd there.

Thanks mate. All good here. It’s amazing how much a negative test can put the pep back in your step.

I’ve spent the week working from home and trimming/mowing outside with the sun beating down while the inside of the house has resembled an ER ward.

Missus Toes is much better. She, the little bloke and I all still have the cough but far less so than a couple of days ago.

The little miss is 100% now she’s almost done with her full course of antibiotics. The little bloke’s a couple of days into his.

The coughing we have seems worse at night when sleeping and fine by day.

Taking the Steve Liebmann “be alert not alarmed” advice, sterilising the place daily and maintaining our distance. All good!

For me, like you, catching it at all is the major risk due to the pre-existing stuff, so I’m doing my best Clint Eastwood “stay off my lawn” impression.

Take care Grogg! [emoji106]
Glad to hear mate, take care of you and yours.

I haven't got kids but it must be pretty scary at times like these.

I been getting ready for the apocalypse myself too just quietly.

Might need a bit more practice though.

Been floated for a few weeks that this is likely to provide a viable treatment. Zinc stops replication and the "insert very long name" allows the access through the cell membrane.

Bigger question is how you use the treatment. Reduce, not eliminate the restrictions to encourgae economic activity while increasing the curve or try and starve the virus completely, something I am told is difficult as it can be dormant in some people anyway.

Okay, my take is that by slowing down the replication cycle it can slow up the innate immune responses (IL-1, IL-6, TNF-a chemotaxis --> hypotaxis/neutrophil recruitement-->degranulation damage) that ultimately leads to significant hospitalization and mortality, and allow extra time for the adaptive immune system to switch in to gear (antibodies) and wipe out the virus.

It basically puts a brake on a runaway car.

I think it’s that they’ve been blow out games as much as anything that’s made then boring.

Given the score differential, I’d have tuned out anyway, even if there was a crowd there.
I hated the first game, but I watched a bit of last night on my tablet with the sound muted and actually enjoyed it.

Maybe if was the fact that Footscray were getting their arses handed to them.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Totally agree mate, pretty much by 1/4 time the games were over

No crowds isn’t half as bad as that

AFL
AFL player contract freeze: Manager Colin Young says situation could open door to rival clubs
Mark DuffieldThe West Australian
Friday, 20 March 2020 7:13PM
Mark Duffield
Leading player manager Colin Young has warned that an AFL contract freeze put in place to try to stabilise the industry could have the opposite effect as clubs “get the jump” on players whose contract extensions can’t be finalised.
As the coronavirus crisis engulfing the world and AFL football escalates, the league has put a freeze on clubs rubber stamping contract extensions and variations, unsure of what the full financial impact of COVID-19 could be and how that might force changes to club salary caps.
There are fears the situation could give rival clubs a greater window to make their case for a player to take up an offer in free agency or push for a trade.

Players due to come out of contract this year include the likes of Collingwood emerging stars Jordan de Goey and Darcy Moore, Greater Western Sydney’s Coleman medallist Jeremy Cameron and Adelaide ball-winner Brad Crouch.
Managers contacted by The Weekend West yesterday held mixed views on the freeze and on the ways this year’s crisis could affect clubs next year.
Some believe the industry will take a major hit and players, who have been asked to take a 20 per cent cut this year, were likely to face a smaller salary cap next year as well.
Coaches are already understood to have agreed to a 20 per cent pay cut in line with the reduction in the AFL season from 22 home-and-away rounds to 17.
AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan has conceded that fans could be locked out of games for the entire season and that interruption to the fixture because of a coronavirus infection to a player or players was all but inevitable.
Mark Readings and Ryan Daniels preview the season openers for West Coast and Fremantle as footy returns.
Clubs have been asked to find cost cuts of between $3 million and $5 million each this year.
The league is reportedly seeking an interest-free loan from the Victorian Government of as much as $250 million in a bid to secure the futures of some of its more financially vulnerable clubs.
One manager described the current situation as a “holding pattern” but added: “At least it is a holding pattern, not a going-nowhere-fast pattern or a looking-for-new-jobs pattern.
“My take is that until we know how this plays out we can’t make educated decisions.”
But Young warned that discussions were constantly taking place between managers and clubs on trade and contract possibilities and those discussions were unlikely to stop.
“Such is the level of uncertainty we now have a freeze on lodging both contract extensions and variations until further notice by the AFL,” he said. “Andrew McDougall (his fellow Corporate Sports Australia player manager) and I have been in discussions on player trade and the 2020 draft with clubs all week.
“So I would be surprised if these discussions ceased.
“Actually, I would even imagine that some clubs may take a stronger look at this as an opportunity to get the jump on other clubs regarding player trade.
“It seems or feels like the goal posts are changing by the hour so who knows what we will be dealing with next week or even tomorrow.”

Could of put this in the Media thread but worth a discussion

Why politics is a level above science 101.

It SHOULDN'T be, the funding of science should be a bipartisan affair.

I mean the people who’ve hoarded more then they need.

I don’t care what they eat. Just have a bit of hygiene.

Remember the BSE and horse meat scandals in the UK and Europe.

Thank goodness. Normal Saturday shop where l am. Besides obvious lack of dunny paper and rice, plenty on the shelves.

Hope all you buggers the same.

Local Aldi's had decent amount of meat and pasta, hopefully everyone's focusing on hygiene now.

I can't recommend this video highly enough.

Forget all the woo woo bullshit you see in the media, this is a proper immunologist explanation of this virus.

If you are confused by some of the terminology, pause the video, ask a question, or look it up. Then when you come to terms with the concepts of the terminology, watch the thing all over again. It's the best clip on Covid19 that I have seen on the internet.

Great vid. Lot of the granular science as been lost on me though. If I wasnt studying and working full time, would read up a lot more on this.

Probably way off, but right in thinking this should be compared more with pneumonia than the flu?

Local Aldi's had decent amount of meat and pasta, hopefully everyone's focusing on hygiene now.

Great vid. Lot of the granular science as been lost on me though. If I wasnt studying and working full time, would read up a lot more on this.

Probably way off, but right in thinking this should be compared more with pneumonia than the flu?

Okay, yes, pneumonia is an initial complication of the infection, and can lead to other runaway effects.

The pneumonia in this instance is a result of the immune system attacking the virus via:

1) The initial ingestion of viral particles in the lungs by white blood cells (WBC) known as macrophages.

2) Upon ingesting these viral proteins (phagocytosis), macrophages then respond by producing recruitment enzymes classed as chemotaxis (IL-1, IL-6, TNF-a) in order to bring other WBC's to the area to kill the intruders.

3) Chemotaxis do two important things, a) they lead to the dilation of the surrounding vessel system (increase permeability) to speed up the immune recruitment response, and b) they signal to other WBC's known as "neutrophils" via the creation of a chemical gradient (think of an increasing bread crumb trail).

4) Now, with regard to a very strong chemotaxis response in the close proximity to lung tissue (alveoli: which facilitate lung gas exchange, i.e. breathing) with regard to point 3a (dilation), the side effect of this is that it creates greater fluid leakage in the tissues (interstitial tissues) surrounding the alveoli.

5) This leads to a higher than usual amount of fluid in the alveoli, and is also commonly known as "pneumonia". Once this gets high enough, the pressure gradient gets to a point where assistance is required to breath (ventilators).

From there a whole series of events can unwind and escalate the viral illness. Basically, it's your immune response to this virus that can kill you.

Like last Sunday there was no cauliflower, broccoli or carrots left at 10am. So we had a week to get through and I bought a few different types of bags.
Went there last night, none of the above and no frozen or eggs. Plenty of bananas and apples.
Gaso, forget the supermarket and find a green grocer.
My local grocer up here in Syria has everything they've always had. Including the deli still full of lovely salamis and olives etc
Made myself hungry again

Gaso, forget the supermarket and find a green grocer.
My local grocer up here in Syria has everything they've always had. Including the deli still full of lovely salamis and olives etc
Made myself hungry again

You should try and stay away from uncooked & uncanned foods for a while mate.