Coughlan

Patrick Bateman

I'm hearing disturbing reports that Coughlan is homesick and wants out at season's end.

Apparently he's asked to be traded home to W.A.:mad:

If this is to be the case, what can the club do?

If a trade with say the West Coast is to be negotiated, who would we want ..? Maybe the younger Gas but one deficient kicker out of the backline is more than enough, I would've thought.

Regards
'
PB

We could tell him to grow up and act his age! :eek: Not sure this would help though!

:mad: :mad: :mad:

This can't be true! Or at least I hope not ... this kid is what we need. A tough midfielder that can lift the side and do some great things. Bloody hell, if West Coast get him I WILL NOT BE HAPPY.

I'm not surprised at all and I am infact expecting it. Still can't get over the shattered look on his face the day he was drafted by Richmond. I'd take Judd in a heartbeat but I can't see it happening.

We'll probably get someone like Braun. :(

I heard this rumour at the end of last season, so inclined to believe there is something to it.
One thing is sure, and that is if the boy wants a regular senior game in the midfield Richmond is where he is going to find it easiest to get one.
Gasper wanted to go home to WA last year.
Ben Holland wanted to go home to SA last year.
Ottens was considering going home to SA last year.
We end up paying them a premium to stay........
Now Coughlan wants to go home.......
If TASSIE gets a side will Richo want to go home........not likely!

STOP DRAFTING INTERSTATE KIDS WHO WILL HOLD THE CLUB OVER A BARREL AND F*** US UP THE A*** FOR BIG DOLLARS IF WE DON'T LET THEM GO HOME!

Pity Daffy never wanted to go home!
Coughlan for 2 developing years versus Clokes x 3 for their entire careers.
Do recruiters even consider the lure of home when they draft kids?
Great forsight that one. What the hell is going on down there.

Originally posted by nut

STOP DRAFTING INTERSTATE KIDS WHO WILL HOLD THE CLUB OVER A BARREL AND F*** US UP THE A*** FOR BIG DOLLARS IF WE DON'T LET THEM GO HOME!

No , and nor should they that much..The recruiters should draft the best availible talent regardless of where they come from..Stick to victorian kids and we would never be successfull...

At the end of the day there will be always the odd kid who will go home but every club has to deal with that...

Allow me to elaborate on my thoughts a little more...

Coughlan is still only 20. A kid. Other interstate kids have wanted to go home at some point early on in there careers. Jeff White and Anthony Rocca are two notables that have done so.

Chris Johnson, Simon Black and Des Headland are a few notables that haven't. They were homesick early on but Brisbane stuck with them and are the better for it.

This is the hard line attitude we should take with Coughlan.

Tell him that he is a required player here and he won't be traded anywhere. He can leave if he chooses (since he's out of contract) but most likely would be picked up by another Melbourne club which won't help his situation any.

So his only real choices are stay or step out of football for a year and hope that he scares all the non-Perth clubs into not picking him allowing Freo and/or West Coast to collect him.

We should do all we can to help him get over his home-sickness. Allow him long periods at hom in the off season. Maybe all of October, November and December (plus of course September :mad: ). Enable him to do his fitness work there, maybe with a WAFL club.

During the season, allow him to go home every couple of weeks for a few days. When we play in Perth, allow him to have a whole week (or even longer) there.

This kid is worth keeping and we should fight to do so.

Originally posted by CJH
Oh, and tell him to stop being such a sook!

Judging by his appearance on "young Guns ' today, I've decided :

a/...his demeanour is just in his character ...strong silent type, man of few words, doesn't crack jokes all day, dry sense of humour. He kept it up through the whole show. He wasn't born to be on telly...tell you that much.

b/...he said that on draft day...he knew he wasn't going to stay in Perth...he was hoping for melbourne...he got it.

Reckon he'll stay.

Geez ... if we avoided drafting kids from interstate, we'd be without Otto, Gas, Dutchy, Richo, Fiora, Cogs, Rogo = fair old chunk out of the spine ...

The league is also filled with many young blokes who have made their name interstate ... and stayed there i.e Bradley, Buckley, Camporeale, Bewick, Voss etc... We must persist with getting the BEST kids, and making it so they want to be with us ...

That said, if Cogs does insist on the Eagles or Dockers, nothing less than Wirrpunda or Leigh Brown would suffice in return. Brauny's carrying too many injuries as is Chad Morrison. Haynes and Munro might be okay though ....

Originally posted by nut

Pity Daffy never wanted to go home!
Coughlan for 2 developing years versus Clokes x 3 for their entire careers.
Great forsight that one. What the hell is going on down there.

You are narrowing your clubs options if that would be the case. Did you think it might be your club that is the problem and not the kids. Port Adelaide hasnt had one interstate kid get 'homesick' yet, so either its your club, or you are drafting emotinally unstable kids.

Originally posted by Macca19

You are narrowing your clubs options if that would be the case. Did you think it might be your club that is the problem and not the kids. Port Adelaide hasnt had one interstate kid get 'homesick' yet, so either its your club, or you are drafting emotinally unstable kids.

Actually Macca, we've not lost a player to homesickness since Wayne Hernamen!!! That was actually no great loss and was so long ago, you're probably too young to remember him.

Great news from my inside contact:

"Mark COUGHLAN has just re-signed for two years so is not likely to be going anywhere and will be part of the club's development.
He RODAN, FIORA, ZANTUCK and NEWMAN were all good at various stages of the game on Friday and these kids are the furture and will get better with exposure. We as supporters, members and staff have to be patient".

This makes me very, very happy!!!:cool:

Originally posted by oh_my_hat

"Mark COUGHLAN has just re-signed for two years

Great news ! And we're near cert's to get 2 of the first 4 young guns in the draft now that Sydney and St.Kilda will not qualify for assistace.

"Mark COUGHLAN has just re-signed for two years so is not likely to be going anywhere and will be part of the club's development.
He RODAN, FIORA, ZANTUCK and NEWMAN were all good at various stages of the game on Friday and these kids are the furture and will get better with exposure. We as supporters, members and staff have to be patient".

Yippee! Yippee! :D :D

I hope that your inside source is more accurate and reliable then the tigers kicking, if so it would be excellent news.:)