Roast Cousins' Last Game

I may be proven to be widely incorrect, but if we had lost that game we would have got a priority pick. So pick 1 and 2. Would have taken Scully and Martin.

Not wildly incorrect, but incorrect. At the time, you had to finish with fewer than 5 wins in consecutive seasons. We were yo-yoing from 9th to the bottom every two years, so while we would have finished with fewer than 5 wins, it wouldn't have been the 2nd straight year. For Melbourne it was, so they got the first 2 picks. If we'd lost that game, we'd have had pick 1, the Demons pick 2 (but not pick 3).

It;s the same PP rule that gave the Blues pick 1 when we finished last two years earlier. They reached their 4 wins early in the year, then tanked the rest of the way, robbing the Demons and us in their quest to get the picks they needed for a Judd trade.

Not wildly incorrect, but incorrect. At the time, you had to finish with fewer than 5 wins in consecutive seasons. We were yo-yoing from 9th to the bottom every two years, so while we would have finished with fewer than 5 wins, it wouldn't have been the 2nd straight year. For Melbourne it was, so they got the first 2 picks. If we'd lost that game, we'd have had pick 1, the Demons pick 2 (but not pick 3).

It;s the same PP rule that gave the Blues pick 1 when we finished last two years earlier. They reached their 4 wins early in the year, then tanked the rest of the way, robbing the Demons and us in their quest to get the picks they needed for a Judd trade.

Thanking you sir

I wonder who we would have taken if we had pick 1?

Scully was the popular choice at number 1 from memory. All the talk that year was Scully vs Butcher, but Butcher fell out of favour late due to his kicking. Plus, Scully was a Richmond supporter growing up so there's a very real possibility that he had a Deledio poster on his wall.

In fact, there were quite a few Richmond supporters taken at the very pointy end of the draft for a few years there. Scully (09), Gaff (10), Tyson (11), O'Rourke (12).

Was at the game, sound was immense, never heard Ethihad be as loud as the MCG.

Also when was the last time we really came back from a bad situation and won? Seems if we're not winning by a bit at half time we don't win at all :p

Sydney game last year. But it was more of a slow grinding comeback.

Had a bunch last year, before that it was quite a while.

If we hadn't won Melbourne would have just tanked a couple of weeks later against Freo, a game they won by 70 odd points. I wonder how many other "bottom of the ladder" teams have won games by 70+

We also would have got an end of first PP, so probably picks 18 & 19. I'd love to know who we would have take apart from Griff? I think we liked tapscott but we were clearly looking at KPP talent so I wonder if we would have taken Carlisle, Black or Gawn?

We would have grabbed Trengove.

Imagine the melts if we missed Dusty for Trengove :D

If we hadn't won Melbourne would have just tanked a couple of weeks later against Freo, a game they won by 70 odd points. I wonder how many other "bottom of the ladder" teams have won games by 70+

True. So they would have had pick 1 as a priority pick, we'd have pick 2 and they'd get pick 3. Same situation as with Carlton in the Kruezer draft. So the Dees tanking saved us from being wooden spooners without the top pick twice in 3 years. It would all be pretty outrageous if we hadn't ended up with the best player from each draft anyway.

Not a big crowd that match, a poor season, a shitty stadium and everyone seemed to accept early in that match that we had lost (9 goals down at 1/2 time...)

I remember Matt White's ripper of a goal went through (they're roaring now the tigers....roaaaar) and the stand was shaking.

When Troy Taylor kicked that goal I thought the stand was going to collapse, the concrete under my feet was moving so much it made my legs hurt to stand up and I couldn't hear anything, just a white noise of roaring. Nobody knew it was a free kick against for about 10 seconds so everyone kept celebrating, but the cheers slowly turned to boos and angry yelling. When the replay of the incident come up on the screen I thought there was going to be a riot, people kicking things, swearing and throwing whatever they could. I remember a bunch of guys on level 1 running down the steps in a KFC boy fashion so they could give a bit of shit to the umps, one of them was basically standing on the fence and I thought he was going to run on.

Some of the most intense atmosphere I've experienced at a footy game despite the fact that it was only the very start of our climb out of the ditch.

True. So they would have had pick 1 as a priority pick, we'd have pick 2 and they'd get pick 3. Same situation as with Carlton in the Kruezer draft. So the Dees tanking saved us from being wooden spooners without the top pick twice in 3 years. It would all be pretty outrageous if we hadn't ended up with the best player from each draft anyway.

Just quietly, I think Fyfe may have Martin covered. But that was pure luck - Freo even chose him with their second pick. (And, yes I know the rest of the story, but it's just too depressing............................).

I was there and naturally gutted, but the noise in the last qtr and "shakin of the stand" was something i have never experienced anywhere.

Two things that stood out.

The Irish rookie? was KO'd and carried off........... It was right in front of me and i thought he was dead.

Second, we lost (not awesome) but we drowned out Port's silly club song with such pasion. Still gives me goosebumps

Went with my dad, couldn't even hear him in the last half it was so loud. Mitch Morton's two goals from 45 out to bring us back to within a goal legitimately shook the stand.
The crowd was nuts.

Was there, it was a ripper. Remember the incident clearly, it was a shocker.
Poor old cuz in his last game, had about 25 touches but only 4 kicks cos his hammies were cooked

I remember the week before he had 20 possies at 3/4 time before sitting around the rest of the match.

He still had it, the Cuz man, his legs just refused to let him keep going.

I reckon his dodgey hammies were a result of the crazy training he used to do by himself, absolutely thrashed his body. Chris Judd did the same thing.

One of the greatest 40 minutes or so of football you could ever witness. It really did feel like the stadium was shaking every time we got a goal in that last quarter. And yes, we were robbed! ROAAAAAAAR!!
Every kick in Port had, the Richmond cheer squad behind them hammered on the fence and made as much noise as possible to distract them.
Was marvelous.
Crowd wasn't even that big, but so much noise.