Certified Legendary Thread Covid, Life, UFOs, Food, & Wordle :(

Coronavirus is interesting because people seem to default to either panic mode or denial. It’s either, “The world is ending!” or “What’s the big deal?”

The truth is, as usual, somewhere in the middle. Individually, most of us are not at much risk as it would seem that the death rate is low and it is mostly the elderly or people with compromised immune systems that are affected. As a society we are at risk of overloading the health system (we only have so many hospital beds) and commerce grinding to a halt. We need to be altruistic and to make every effort not to spread it so quickly. That's all. No panic, just common sense.

Stay safe. Stay clean. If you don't feel 100% and if you're starting to experience cold/flu like symptoms, stay at home. We’ll make it through this, we always do.

I think that 'altruism' these days is as much a dirty word as 'ego' used to be...

I have a handful of loved ones who seem to be especially vulnerable to this virus. Some are elderly, some have already been battling the shitstorm that is cancer, and none of them deserve to be knocked over by the coronavirus. I'm worried for them.

But how f****** hard is it to look beyond ourselves for a moment and then look a bit further to see the risk to thousands of other people, and to recognise that the risk is real and that we should all --ungrudgingly-- take whatever steps we can to help contain it? This doesn't mean swiping all the s**t paper from the supermarket, it means taking a few simple measures and then maybe being willing to disturb the rhythm of your life by not going to work if you're a bit sick or happily watching the footy on TV if/when such public gatherings are banned.

Over time, immunity will develop, but this entails people actually getting and surviving the virus. The choice facing the medical managers is to let it rip, take the casualties and chaos in their systems and cope, or react as they have, trying to manage the number of cases at any given time so that facilities are not overwhelmed until a vaccine is available in about a year. The casualties are not likely to be very different with either choice.

This is not necessarily true, there is a case where a woman has supposedly contracted it twice in the space of a month. This could suggest any immunity you do build up is very short lasting which is quite possible.

The hysteria is crazy but if we do have a major outbreak in Aus our lives will change significantly for the short term.

This is not necessarily true, there is a case where a woman has supposedly contracted it twice in the space of a month. This could suggest any immunity you do build up is very short lasting which is quite possible.

The hysteria is crazy but if we do have a major outbreak in Aus our lives will change significantly for the short term.

I'm not too sure that outside the media coverage and dunnyrollgate that there has been too much hysteria. The messaging from the experts has been consistent and the actions of governments proportional and appropriate.

I don’t know whether the media catastrophized Spanish Flu, it was around 1918 or similar, no?
They media certainly did not. Primarily because the WWI protagonists were still under wartime censorship and were instructed not to report on it to avoid panic. The Spanish media was not under such restrictions, so for their honest reporting of a flu epidemic which wasn't being reported elsewhere, they copped the label!

So just doing some research il share this..

According to global research out of 107,500 cases of covid-19, 61,000 people have recovered, which means by numbers we are recovering faster than we are getting sick.

On average 40 people are dieing per day around the world from the corona virus, most of those numbers coming from people in China.

1900 people per day die from mosquito bites

378 people per day die from snake bites

1300 people get murdered

Some terrible things are happening with the economy and people losing jobs and what not but media is partly to blame for blowing this up in my opinion. They are always focusing on the negatives and never mention some of these stats that are provided here. Like how many people have recovered.

It's not good don't get me wrong, but over the top panic and raiding supermarkets is not the answer. If everyone just stays on top of day to day hygiene and are smart about it (call in sick from work if you have a cough and a fever) then we will be fine

According to global research out of 107,500 cases of covid-19, 61,000 people have recovered, which means by numbers we are recovering faster than we are getting sick.

On average 40 people are dieing per day around the world from the corona virus, most of those numbers coming from people in China.

1300 people get murdered

Some terrible things are happening with the economy and people losing jobs and what not but media is partly to blame for blowing this up in my opinion. They are always focusing on the negatives and never mention some of these stats that are provided here. Like how many people have recovered.

It's not good don't get me wrong, but over the top panic and raiding supermarkets is not the answer. If everyone just stays on top of day to day hygiene and are smart about it (call in sick from work if you have a cough and a fever) then we will be fine

Difference being that the numbers of deaths per day for mozzy bites, snake bites, and via misadventure et al are unlikely to change dramatically going forward. If the spread of Covid-19 isn't contained then that number could very swiftly escalate. It only seems a few short weeks ago that the virus was largely contained to China. We now see evidence of it in over 100 countries. I certainly don't think it's time to panic, but neither is there any room for complacency or downplaying the potential of this virus.

Media is seriously over-reacting and causing people to panic. Fighting over toilet paper at the supermarket is one of the most embarrassing things I’ve seen

They are a Big Reason why people are Paniking Buying

+ there are 2 strains ... poor lady might have gotten both ...

... or maybe there was a fault with her tests - these things don’t have 100% sensitivity and 100% specificity

They media certainly did not. Primarily because the WWI protagonists were still under wartime censorship and were instructed not to report on it to avoid panic. The Spanish media was not under such restrictions, so for their honest reporting of a flu epidemic which wasn't being reported elsewhere, they copped the label!
I think it originated in the US right?

+ there are 2 strains ... poor lady might have gotten both ...

... or maybe there was a fault with her tests - these things don’t have 100% sensitivity and 100% specificity

That got debunked.

One cannot catch a virus twice within such a short time - maybe years after the initial infection as immunity wears down but not within weeks.

I know you are not downplaying the disease, but 273 died yesterday from coronavirus, of which 168 died in Italy alone. That makes 4298 deaths in approx 40-45 days? May have been average of 40 per day early on, but that average has risen dramatically, and will continue to rise as the disease spreads throughout the world and the community.

That got debunked.

One cannot catch a virus twice within such a short time - maybe years after the initial infection as immunity wears down but not within weeks.

Thats normally true, but not necessarily in all cases. We know very little about immunity to this virus. It is possible that this woman made a poor immune response the first time, genetically, she may be a poor responder. Maybe the virus has some sophisticated strategies that evade the immune system? We just dont know yet...

UK Virus ALERT

The English are feeling the pinch in relation to recent virus threat and have therefore raised their threat level from “Miffed” to “Peeved.” Soon, though, level may be raised yet again to “Irritated” or even “A Bit Cross.”

The English have not been “A Bit Cross” since the blitz in 1940 when tea supplies nearly ran out.

The virus has been re-categorized from “Tiresome” to “A Bloody Nuisance.” The last time the British issued a “Bloody Nuisance” warning level was in 1588, when threatened by the Spanish Armada.

The Scots have raised their threat level from “Pissed Off” to “Let's Get the Bastard.” They don't have any other levels. This is the reason they have been used on the front line of the British army for the last 300 years.

The French government announced yesterday that it has raised its alert level from “Run” to “Hide.” The only two higher levels in France are “Collaborate” and “Surrender.” The rise was precipitated by a recent fire that destroyed France's white flag factory, effectively paralyzing the country's military capability.

Italy has increased the alert level from “Shout Loudly and Excitedly” to “Elaborate Military Posturing.” Two more levels remain: “Ineffective Combat Operations” and “Change Sides.”

The Germans have increased their alert state from “Disdainful Arrogance” to “Dress in Uniform and Sing Marching Songs.” They also have two higher levels: “Invade a Neighbour” and “Lose.”

Belgians, on the other hand, are all on holiday as usual; the only threat they are worried about is NATO pulling out of Brussels.

The Spanish are all excited to see their new submarines ready to deploy. These beautifully designed subs have glass bottoms so the new Spanish navy can get a really good look at the old Spanish navy.

Australia, meanwhile, has raised its alert level from “No worries” to “She'll be alright, Mate.” Two more escalation levels remain: “Crikey! I think we'll need to cancel the barbie this weekend!” and “The barbie is cancelled.” So far, no situation has ever warranted use of the final escalation level.

The Russians have said “Its not us”

1300 people get murdered

You are missing the point. Nobody is arguing that on 11 March 2020, that Coronavirus is killing more people than those other matters. Its what might be happening on 11 June or 11 November that is the issue. Yes the media are getting quite hysterical, yes there is lots we still dont know about the virus and immunity to it, so nobody has a crystal ball, but that doesn't mean that this isn't a potentially serious problem.

The choice facing the medical managers is to let it rip, take the casualties and chaos in their systems and cope, or react as they have, trying to manage the number of cases at any given time so that facilities are not overwhelmed until a vaccine is available in about a year. The casualties are not likely to be very different with either choice.

Medical folks take a hippocratic oath, so the former isn’t really an option for them.