West123

I was pretty young when Jako pulled the pin but from memory it was a surprise and very quick and was him handing it over to Glass & Hunter.

I think Coxy needs to do the same. I'd love to see him make 300 as much as anyone but I think his times up. Let Sinclair & Lycett in there. Move into your coaching role.

Cox has been one of the greats to ever ruck, but our seasons finished and so is he.

I was pretty young when Jako pulled the pin but from memory it was a surprise and very quick and was him handing it over to Glass & Hunter.

I think Coxy needs to do the same. I'd love to see him make 300 as much as anyone but I think his times up. Let Sinclair & Lycett in there. Move into your coaching role.

Cox has been one of the greats to ever ruck, but our seasons finished and so is he.

I was very intrigued to see how quickly he has fallen off the pace this year. His greatest strength, to opposition supporters eyes, was his rare ability to get around the ground like a midfielder and impact up forward. That really looks to be lacking.

He is a veteran, why not rest for a couple of weeks and give one of the up and comers a real crack and decent ground time?

Cox hasn't had any major injuries that would be putting him through pain, something Jako probably dealt with after his knee reco.

Jako played forward in his final few years - to pretty good effect and then bowed out.

Cox is playing forward more, but he's still needed in the ruck, we've had NN on one leg for half a season so far and while getting time into Lycett and Sinclair is great, Cox still offers us something, both on and off the field.

It probably would be worth resting him for the trip to Tassie.

Hawthorn don't have the strongest rucks especially with Hale out so it could be a good opportunity for Naitnaui and Lycett

Anything you do enjoy?
I listed positives from the game last night in other threads; Cripps, Le Cras, Yeo, Naitanui etc...I also enjoy a nice cold beer and medium rare steaks.

Lycett & Sinclair both seem to be having a fair game in the WAFL today, stat wise anyway.

Lycett has kicked three goals as well, just for good measure...

Why did they appoint him as ruck coach???? Stupidist move of all time.
How can a player coach another whos competing for a spot in the 22 ??
It does'nt make sense , Coxy please give it up or else Lycett will say bye bye.

I guess now we need to have one eye on the future. We've put some time into Lycett so maybe its time to play him over Cox.

If Cox plays every game from here on end he'll be on 294 at season's end. If he does that he must get to 300, if they are going to pull the pin on him they have to do it soon. However I don't think he's playing that bad. He's not at the 2012 level anymore and he never will be again but he's still a decent Ruckman.

Problem is that he won't make it through next season, but even if he does, Lycett could be a flight risk if he's not going to get regular games for another year and a half. We can't really afford to lose him. Even if we did intend to trade him we'd get suckered at the trading table if he's not played for most of the year, is out of contract and is eager to leave. Both Adelaide clubs are circling like sharks (just like us over the GCS kids).

Yeah sadly I agree, he needs to go. His ruckwork is non existant these days, never jumps, hardly ever actually wins a ruck contest, and spends more time waving his arms around than thrying to win the ball.

I heard him on the radio this morning saying he will assess at the end of the season, but he did mention that sometimes at the end of your career things can change really quickly, and all of a sudden you can realise it's time and the hunger & desire is gone. Not to say that is what has happened, but it seemed strange for him to add that little bit in, might be a little insight into how he is feeling.

The thing is Coxy should take it well. He is already our ruck coach so it's not like his footy career is over. It's just he won't be playing anymore...

jako was similar to coxy in his last few year insofar as he had fallen well off the pace.I would actually say that cox seems more capable of playing on than jako did

Didn't enjoy watching he (and Darling, for that matter) flop around at various stages last night making milking free kicks their priority.

Has been a pet hate of mine all season. If he can't get in a good enough position to ruck, he'll flail his arms around or turn to face the ump. No second effort whatsoever.

This whole 300 games thing is selfish IMO, especially considering the strong form of our backups in the WAFL

Yeah sadly I agree, he needs to go. His ruckwork is non existant these days, never jumps, hardly ever actually wins a ruck contest, and spends more time waving his arms around than thrying to win the ball.

I heard him on the radio this morning saying he will assess at the end of the season, but he did mention that sometimes at the end of your career things can change really quickly, and all of a sudden you can realise it's time and the hunger & desire is gone. Not to say that is what has happened, but it seemed strange for him to add that little bit in, might be a little insight into how he is feeling.
i reckon if the Eagles finish in the bottom 6 on the ladder this year with no finals chances for 2015 it will factor into Cox retiring.

I think we are all struggling

If the team is struggling cox struggles

We can't expect a veteran to carry us ..of we are winning the ball cox spends more time forward and he looks good

If we are struggling he's chasing tail and chasing free kicks

Should he go on?

Hmm wait till season finishes then get a full picture is my advice

Cox was going to seek a trade to the saints because he couldn't break into the team over Gardner . Then Gardner got injured and cox got his shot and became our greatest ruck . It's time for him to give lycett his shot he has done his time no point losing lycett for a personal milestone