Cox Plate Quiz

Tried to keep these recent and on the easy side as a bit of fun to see how many you can get without doing a search so be honest - no glory in finding the info and claiming to know it all

1. Which horse ran 2nd to both Northerly in 2002 and Fields Of Omagh in 2003

2. Which Bart Cummings trained horse is the longest priced winner ever of the Cox Plate

3. Who was the last 4 year old to win the Cox Plate

4. True or False: Fields Of Omagh ran in the first 3 placings in 4 consecutive years from 2003-2006 inclusive

5. Who rode Savabeel to win in 2004

6. Name the 3 jockeys who were successful on Kingston Town in the Cox Plate

7. Who is the last horse to win the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year

8. Which 2 horses share the biggest winning margin of 7 lengths

9. We all remember Might And Power winning in 1998 but who ran 2nd to him

10. Since the inception of the Golden Slipper in 1957 how many Slipper winners have won a Cox Plate as well

Don't think they are overly challenging but will post all the answers later but if you want the answers before then send me a PM. Feel free to post your answers below and see if we can get all 10 without having to revert to books or online search engines

I'll have a go without help....

2.Dane Ripper
5.C Munce
6.P Cook,M Johnson & ?
7.MD
8.Dulcify (see left).....1st to do it
9.Northern Drake

seth

1. Which horse ran 2nd to both Northerly in 2002 and Fields Of Omagh in 2003 Defier

2. Which Bart Cummings trained horse is the longest priced winner ever of the Cox Plate Dane Ripper - 40-1

3. Who was the last 4 year old to win the Cox Plate - Sunline in 1999

4. True or False: Fields Of Omagh ran in the first 3 placings in 4 consecutive years from 2003-2006 inclusive True

5. Who rode Savabeel to win in 2004 - Chrissy Munce

6. Name the 3 jockeys who were successful on Kingston Town in the Cox Plate - Johnstone, Cook & Quinton

7. Who is the last horse to win the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year - Rising Fast (Also won the Caulfield Cup that same year)

Dulcify & Sunline

9. We all remember Might And Power winning in 1998 but who ran 2nd to him Northern Drake

10. Since the inception of the Golden Slipper in 1957 how many Slipper winners have won a Cox Plate as well - None (The closest was Octy who ran 2nd in the & won the Cox Plate

Don't think they are overly challenging but will post all the answers later but if you want the answers before then send me a PM. Feel free to post your answers below and see if we can get all 10 without having to revert to books or online search engines[/quote]

1. Which horse ran 2nd to both Northerly in 2002 and Fields Of Omagh in 2003 Defier

2. Which Bart Cummings trained horse is the longest priced winner ever of the Cox Plate Dane Ripper - 40-1

3. Who was the last 4 year old to win the Cox Plate - Sunline in 1999

4. True or False: Fields Of Omagh ran in the first 3 placings in 4 consecutive years from 2003-2006 inclusive True

5. Who rode Savabeel to win in 2004 - Chrissy Munce

6. Name the 3 jockeys who were successful on Kingston Town in the Cox Plate - Johnstone, Cook & Quinton

7. Who is the last horse to win the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year - Rising Fast (Also won the Caulfield Cup that same year)

Dulcify & Sunline

9. We all remember Might And Power winning in 1998 but who ran 2nd to him Northern Drake

10. Since the inception of the Golden Slipper in 1957 how many Slipper winners have won a Cox Plate as well - None (The closest was Octy who ran 2nd in the & won the Cox Plate

Don't think they are overly challenging but will post all the answers later but if you want the answers before then send me a PM. Feel free to post your answers below and see if we can get all 10 without having to revert to books or online search engines
[/quote]

All correct TF except for #7 - Makybe Diva in 2005

Find it amazing that not one Slipper winner has won the Cox Plate. Canny Lad ran a place in the Cox Plate and as you said Ocky did the opposite

Find it amazing that not one Slipper winner has won the Cox Plate. Canny Lad ran a place in the Cox Plate and as you said Ocky did the opposite[/quote]

slipped my mind that one

Find it amazing that not one Slipper winner has won the Cox Plate. Canny Lad ran a place in the Cox Plate and as you said Ocky did the opposite

Not really, The Sliiper is a rubbish race thats ran over 1200m with most slipper winners not going on to even win after it. While the Cox Plate is australia's best race, a true test of class and ran over 2000m.

Remember that Slipper winners are "cooked" by the slipper.

Not really, The Sliiper is a rubbish race thats ran over 1200m with most slipper winners not going on to even win after it. While the Cox Plate is australia's best race, a true test of class and ran over 2000m.

Agree with that, just thought that over 50 years that one horse would have done it.

Not many Slipper winners race past the age of 3 nowadays either - bar Miss Finland most of them have done bugger all lately at 3 as you said

Octagonal should have won the Slipper so there's the horse that should have done it.

Would be a feather in the cap of Miss Finland if she can do it tomorrow.

Octagonal should have won the Slipper so there's the horse that should have done it.

Its amazing how statistics like these hold up though so if she wins she deserves all the accolades she will get

Still reckon that Strategic should have won the 1995 Slipper by panels. Pity the poor jockey who murdered him that day and had to come back and face John Hawkes with one of his famous jockey sprays.

Tried to keep these recent and on the easy side as a bit of fun to see how many you can get without doing a search so be honest - no glory in finding the info and claiming to know it all

2. Which Bart Cummings trained horse is the longest priced winner ever of the Cox Plate

4. True or False: Fields Of Omagh ran in the first 3 placings in 4 consecutive years from 2003-2006 inclusive

7. Who is the last horse to win the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup in the same year

10. Since the inception of the Golden Slipper in 1957 how many Slipper winners have won a Cox Plate as well

Without looking at any other responses in this thread,

1. Defier
2. Dane Ripper
3. Sunline
4. False
5. Chris Munce
6. Dunno, before my time.
7. Makybe Diva
8. Master Orielly and ... bleh, i forgot, i used to know :) ... oh wait, i thought you meant Melbourne Cup... Sunline and Dulcify :)
9. Doreimus .... wrong race again, thinking Melbourne Cup.... Northern Drake obviously but now i'm aftertiming :)
10. No idea

:)

Defier

Dane Ripper

-

true?

Munce

-

Saintly

Sunline, ?

Mahogany?

-

and the derby, shane scriven ballsed up if i remember rightly

Saintly in 96 must of slipped ya mind too

slipped my mind that one[/quote] Saintly in 96 must of slipped ya mind too