Craig Bradley - Assistant Coach 2007

• Thread starter Thread starter BlueBelle

Ok, one more time for the kids.

Pagan, has had absolute junk to work with. The team he has had to work with has been absolutely pathetic. He has had virtually no chance and people around here are licking their chops a the prospect of turfing him. I cant really say much more than "idiots". The short sightedness of people is just amazing. The same old arguments are dragged up week in week out without any consideration of the circumstances. When it suits these people its all pagans fault, at other times its all the boards fault, then wayne, you get the feeling that if they didnt like the bloke who drew the white lines on royal parade it'd be all his fault. Get a grip. Get some friggin perspective.

This year is his first year to coach a team that acutally has some decent AFL standard players in it. Lets see how he goes beyond that. If he is total failure then see ya Denis. If he does all right then I hope you all have the deceny to admit you were wrong.

As far as Braddles coming on board the reasons for this were spelled out in the Article. Read it if you have forgotten. Its pretty clear. He is HIGHLY respected with a capital R. This is reason enough. For anyone who knows braddles, has dealt with him or knows his history you would understand why any club would be chomping at the bit for him. Beyond that this bloke was able to stay in the game for so long as he was an athletic freak. His commitment to training (and general seriousness about life (motley)) was considered staggering. He would turn up to preseason in better shape than most blokes were by the end of the season proper. He will instill this commitment and his sense of maturity and provide some valuable leadership around the club and sespecially to the mids who are VERY young. He is a part time assistant and his overall coaching abilities at this stage mean squat.

The relevance to Braddley and Rattens appointment to the tenure of Pagan is thoroughly non-existant, thylacine shmegma. Only the most deperate dark hearted individuals would drag up the post that have been going on here.

Welcome Braddles, cant wait to see these boys running all day, then running a couple of laps of honour, then running home.

One more thing, anyone who thinks that Brown will do ANYTHING good for this club need to get some perspective. If there was someone else then lets hear it, but absolutely get off Brown.

I am absolutely fascinated by the handful of supporters talking down the appointment of Braddles & to a lesser extent Rats as an assistant coach. A month ago, the argument in favour of Fraser Brown running a ticket against Graham Smorgon was that he was guaranteeing to bring the likes of Rats, Braddles, Diesel & who knows who else, back as coaches. Pagan was to be replaced by Mitchell and we would all live happily ever after. Rats is back, Braddles is back and now it is being portrayed as a political move. Wasn't that what Brown's whole story was, a bit of politics? A couple of you are really showing your hand as Fraser Brown stooges or just plain anti-Pagan, anti-Smorgon.

With respect to the argument that Braddles has no coaching experience. Neither did Ron Barassi when George Harris took a punt on him. Nor did Jezza, once again when Harris took a punt on him. John Worsfold had no coaching experience when we appointed him as an assistant coach. Now he is a AFL premiership coach. You know why all of these coaches succeeded? Respect. I don't think there would be too many players on the Carlton list that wouldn't be aware of Braddles' achievements in the game. Any message he gives to the players is going to be taken on board and absorbed as gospel. I'm not saying he will ever be a senior coach, but I reckon he has a message worth listening to.

audas said:

Pagan, has had absolute junk to work with.

And half of that junk was bought in by Pagan.
Its pointless treating other posters like kids when you struggle with the basics yourself.

navier-stokes equation said:
So anyone that criticises the club is somehow not worthy of being a Carlton supporter? Sort of like Bush's "you're either with us or against us"
those are your words.

Q1 Where does this leave Libba - With Bradley looking over his shoulder shouldn't it be one or the other ???

Q2 Do you think Bradley who I acknowledge as a fantastic player owe us though ???
He reportedly wasn't overly quiet about the money he received outside the salary cap and money that was still owed to him ???

And I'm blue blooded as any.
And am mindful not to be negative when the club is heading forward.

shagger said:
And half of that junk was bought in by Pagan.
Its pointless treating other posters like kids when you struggle with the basics yourself.

How did Pagan do that son, just took over the whole board, selection committee and everything else did he ? Yep, Shagger your really on the ball, Pagan was secretly over-ruling carlton player selection decisions prior to him even getting there. Sorry to condescend but when your dealing with kids....

The blues had an absolute plethora of recruiting problems arising well before Pagan arrived. There a posts all over this board indicating the failures of recruiters well before Pagan. The blues had huge retirement issues and no new blood coming through all due to mismanagement prior to pagan. The blues also had no draft picks also not due to Pagan. In fact it pretty much had nothing to do with pagan,...son.

audas said:

Pagan, has had absolute junk to work with. The team he has had to work with has been absolutely pathetic. He has had virtually no chance and people around here are licking their chops a the prospect of turfing him. I cant really say much more than "idiots". The short sightedness of people is just amazing. The same old arguments are dragged up week in week out without any consideration of the circumstances. When it suits these people its all pagans fault, at other times its all the boards fault, then wayne, you get the feeling that if they didnt like the bloke who drew the white lines on royal parade it'd be all his fault. Get a grip. Get some friggin perspective.

This year is his first year to coach a team that acutally has some decent AFL standard players in it. Lets see how he goes beyond that. If he is total failure then see ya Denis. If he does all right then I hope you all have the deceny to admit you were wrong.

As far as Braddles coming on board the reasons for this were spelled out in the Article. Read it if you have forgotten. Its pretty clear. He is HIGHLY respected with a capital R. This is reason enough. For anyone who knows braddles, has dealt with him or knows his history you would understand why any club would be chomping at the bit for him. Beyond that this bloke was able to stay in the game for so long as he was an athletic freak. His commitment to training (and general seriousness about life (motley)) was considered staggering. He would turn up to preseason in better shape than most blokes were by the end of the season proper. He will instill this commitment and his sense of maturity and provide some valuable leadership around the club and sespecially to the mids who are VERY young. He is a part time assistant and his overall coaching abilities at this stage mean squat.

The relevance to Braddley and Rattens appointment to the tenure of Pagan is thoroughly non-existant, thylacine shmegma. Only the most deperate dark hearted individuals would drag up the post that have been going on here.

Welcome Braddles, cant wait to see these boys running all day, then running a couple of laps of honour, then running home.

One more thing, anyone who thinks that Brown will do ANYTHING good for this club need to get some perspective. If there was someone else then lets hear it, but absolutely get off Brown.
Great post !!!! You reflect a balanced and well thought out view, well done.

audas said:

The word on the street is Walker might be in the same run all day mould of Braddles. Maybe Bradley can cement him a spot in the middle in 2007 - would love to see that - though with Simpson and if we get Gibbs and with Murph back it could be getting tougher to get a run in the middle. Maybe off HB - or wing. Either way I reckon Braddles and Walker with have a lot of respect for each other from the get-go!

Look guys i'm sorry for stating my opinion. It seems that because i don't follow the trend that i should be shot down. So be it. I have said that Bradley is great for the PR of the club, im just not sold on his abilitites (which i think is fair considering he has never coached before). I will wait and see not praise him until he proves he can actually coach. Is this not fair?

Bluebear, don't pay any attention to these puff pieces in the paper about Thornton and Russell. Russell in particular does not like Pagan. Do you know some of the things that have been said to him? I will give credit where its due that the club, PR wise, has handled itself well lately but time will tell. Only a week ago there was another piece of crap in the HUN with Smorgon, Malouf, Pagan and Sticks. This was at the very same time that they were meant to be in a bord meeting sacking Malouf. Go figure :rolleyes:

Chips said:
Look guys i'm sorry for stating my opinion. It seems that because i don't follow the trend that i should be shot down. So be it. I have said that Bradley is great for the PR of the club, im just not sold on his abilitites (which i think is fair considering he has never coached before). I will wait and see not praise him until he proves he can actually coach. Is this not fair?
appologies for my part in it, just sick of the constant negativity when I think we are really going somewhere. Didn't mean it to be personal though.

Bluebear, don't pay any attention to these puff pieces in the paper about Thornton and Russell. Russell in particular does not like Pagan. Do you know some of the things that have been said to him? I will give credit where its due that the club, PR wise, has handled itself well lately but time will tell. Only a week ago there was another piece of crap in the HUN with Smorgon, Malouf, Pagan and Sticks. This was at the very same time that they were meant to be in a bord meeting sacking Malouf. Go figure :rolleyes:
Spill the beans mate, what has been said to Russell? I know I'd have a few choice words for him with some of the efforts he put in during his 9 (is that right?) games.

as0l0 said:
appologies for my part in it, just sick of the constant negativity when I think we are really going somewhere. Didn't mean it to be personal though.

No worries :thumbsu:

as0l0 said:
Spill the beans mate, what has been said to Russell? I know I'd have a few choice words for him with some of the efforts he put in during his 9 (is that right?) games.

Read your PMs ;)

My point about Russell is they didn't really have a choice.
Its possible they threatened to take him in the PSD when Thornton re-signed, but I don't buy the "he stayed because Pagan will be out on his arse" story for a second..........it makes no sense for an allegedly homesick guy to hang around because of what may happen to the coach. What if they win the first 5 games..........unlikely, but then what? Still gonna sack him. Maybe its still gonna happen in December?

What does make sense to me about Russell is this.
He was made on offer by Port (poached), and thought, gee it would be nice to go home, and its slightly better than the offer I've got here.
Port showed Russell that they thought he was worth a third rounder at trade week. Russell (with Williams in his ear) saw this as a bad thing.........."where does that put me on their list?"
Carlton matched the offer, reminded him that Lappin will retire in 12 months and that he has a spot marked out on the HBF for the next 5-6 years. He signs.

I don't doubt the rumours about spilling the board and the coach are still around, as some people have made up their minds and won't let it lie. If it happens I will vote against it, but support the new board to the hilt........I'm a member and supporter, thats what I do.
I just get sick of people not giving credit where its due and using ridiculous conspiracy theories to try and cast a negative hue over an otherwise positive week.
We have very little to cheer about most times.........let us have this.:thumbsu: