Coach Craig McRae

I like the sentiment. My only query would be the value in saying it publicly straight after the game. Might have been one to have behind closed doors (which I'm sure also occurred).
I agree and I really don't like this winners and losers mentality, sound too Americanised for me.

The players would feel guttered, and would only give them more hunger for the next game.

Let the emotions play out and work on that during the week.

Personally, I thought he took the "act like winners/ don't act like losers" mantra a bit too far, when he criticised the players for laying on the ground.
I get the gist of it, but thought it was inappropriate, unwarranted and ill advised after the players had driven themselves to their absolute limit.
Mantras can be overdone and lose their effect if not used astutely IMHO.
I think it's easy for people to of interpreted this way, especially people who read the HS headline for the story about his comments.

My perception of 'act like winners' is a mantra McRae wanted to instil in the group as way of developing self-belief (as pure words the term act like winners could sound like an arrogant approach/old school no wuss mindset, which is not what McRae is preaching)

I'd say he wants our players to be able to:

- Be proud of their effort everytime they leave the field, you can put in the maximum effort but have an offgame, which everyone has from time to time.

- Not drop their heads because of one loss, sure a prelim placed us closer to a grand final, but this result should maintain or even enhance the players belief on how far was can go this year.

- Rally around each other after the game, give each other a pat on the back, especially any players that had off days.

- Dropping to the ground is isolating, but keeping on their feet, chins up and getting around each other should mean they can walk off the field and ofcourse be shattered, but feeling confident and motivated about being able to bounce back next week at the same time.

I think it's easy for people to of interpreted this way, especially people who read the HS headline for the story about his comments.

My perception of 'act like winners' is a mantra McRae wanted to instil in the group as way of developing self-belief (as pure words the term act like winners could sound like an arrogant approach/old school no wuss mindset, which is not what McRae is preaching)

- Be proud of their effort everytime they leave the field, you can put in the maximum effort but have an offgame, which everyone has from time to time.

- Not drop their heads because of one loss, sure a prelim placed us closer to a grand final, but this result should maintain or even enhance the players belief on how far was can go this year.

- Rally around each other after the game, give each other a pat on the back, especially any players that had off days.

- Dropping to the ground is isolating, but keeping on their feet, chins up and getting around each other should mean they can walk off the field and ofcourse be shattered, but feeling confident and motivated about being able to bounce back next week at the same time.

I find it amusing everyone is taking the other angle of interpretation when his views this year have all been about positivity, thats essentially what he wanted yesterday. Walk off proud , you can still be shattered.

To me that comment from Fly was the perfect embodiment of his first AFL coach, Lethal. That kind of hard edged ruthlessness.

Given our leaders were also out there echoing it, I have no issue. First final for a lot of our blokes, but the season isn't over (except for Tay :( ) - onto the next one.

I agree and I really don't like this winners and losers mentality, sound too Americanised for me.

The players would feel guttered, and would only give them more hunger for the next game.

Lol well sorry to tell you mate you either win or lose in a game of footy there's no other result that can happen. That is the brutality of footy not saying that is in every aspect of everything you do in life but in a footy game that's all that can happen win or lose and we lost yesterday. Fly was just getting prepped as we are lucky enough to have a second chance as he said that wasn't our grand final yesterday we still got more to do.

To me that comment from Fly was the perfect embodiment of his first AFL coach, Lethal. That kind of hard edged ruthlessness.

Given our leaders were also out there echoing it, I have no issue. First final for a lot of our blokes, but the season isn't over (except for Tay :( ) - onto the next one.
It's interesting how as varied individuals interpret what constitutes positivity differently.
I reckon the players could be the same?
Some might see it in a positive light (especially if it were further elaborated on behind closed doors in a more compassionate manner) .
Others might be a bit pissed off and shocked after giving everything they had only for the coach to be rebuking them in a very public setting.

As for Leigh Matthrews' coaching style - that worked extraordinarly well back in his era. It's a very different generation of footballers now.

It's no surprise that success has followed McRae around throughout his footy career. His persona is relaxed and calm, but underneath it there's a calculated ruthlessness and a killer instinct.

I thought he adopted the right tone for his press conference and made some astute comments. He also pointed out the disparity in the manner that both sides were officiated in a way that didn't come across as sour grapes, but clearly flagged his (and a lot of others') displeasure to the AFL.

It may also be an element of normalising the occasion, so that the moment doesn’t get too big. This would fit with things like celebrating Cameron’s 40th game.

I have no issue with the winners losers mentality. infact whilst different wording and scenario the premise is still the same to when Mick Malthouse in 2010 after the drawn GF told the players to stand up. that it's not game over it's only half time and play the game like we just made a GF. the end result speaks for itself.

It's interesting how as varied individuals interpret what constitutes positivity differently.
I reckon the players could be the same?
Some might see it in a positive light (especially if it were further elaborated on behind closed doors in a more compassionate manner) .
Others might be a bit pissed off and shocked after giving everything they had only for the coach to be rebuking them in a very public setting.

As for Leigh Matthrews' coaching style - that worked extraordinarly well back in his era. It's a very different generation of footballers now.
Absolutely it's a different era - hence the vast differences between how Lethal and Fly operate. Fly is much more positive, focusing on the good constantly, yet there is still the obvious influence.

It's no surprise that success has followed McRae around throughout his footy career. His persona is relaxed and calm, but underneath it there's a calculated ruthlessness and a killer instinct.

I thought he adopted the right tone for his press conference and made some astute comments. He also pointed out the disparity in the manner that both sides were officiated in a way that didn't come across as sour grapes, but clearly flagged his (and a lot of others') displeasure to the AFL.

It was PERFECT wasn't it. Cold blooded killer!
If that doesn't straighten the lads up for another serious tilt next weekend then nothing will.
Slapped the "gallant losers", slapped the Umps/AFL (at the same time if you don't mind) AND gave his boys a real focus for the future.
Brilliant, concise language.

Well done coach.

I've been mulling this over today, while I take stock of my father's day gifts of mini pens, keychain lights and fidget toys.

Putting aside the fact that he said this at his press conference for every bellend opposition supporter to take aim at, I've come to understand what he's doing.

The way people speak about Fly indicates that all his talk of love and care and respect is real... Clearly he's a compassionate man who wants everyone at the club to feel welcomed and safe. I watched him on Yoyaki and the affection between him, Krak and Gilbert was 100% genuine.

But he's a disciple of Leigh Matthews. Which means that there are certain non-negotiables that you do not f*** with. From the very first training sessions we got to see, there was a very clear message: keep your feet and keep your head up, no matter what.

What he's putting in place may or may not lead to a flag this year. But he's playing the long game here. His words will ring in the ears of kids like Ginnivan, McCreery and Naicos and the plan is for it to bear fruit over the next 5 years.

It's easy to laud attitudes and adherence to system when you win. But it takes a strong leader to hold your men to that standard when they fall short.

We've got a ripper.

I've been mulling this over today, while I take stock of my father's day gifts of mini pens, keychain lights and fidget toys.

Putting aside the fact that he said this at his press conference for every bellend opposition supporter to take aim at, I've come to understand what he's doing.

The way people speak about Fly indicates that all his talk of love and care and respect is real... Clearly he's a compassionate man who wants everyone at the club to feel welcomed and safe. I watched him on Yoyaki and the affection between him, Krak and Gilbert was 100% genuine.

But he's a disciple of Leigh Matthews. Which means that there are certain non-negotiables that you do not f*** with. From the very first training sessions we got to see, there was a very clear message: keep your feet and keep your head up, no matter what.

What he's putting in place may or may not lead to a flag this year. But he's playing the long game here. His words will ring in the ears of kids like Ginnivan, McCreery and Naicos and the plan is for it to beat fruit over the next 5 years.

It's easy to laud attitudes and adherence to system when you win. But it takes a strong leader to hold your men to that standard when they fall short.

We've got a ripper.
Absolutely. I know its been said before but we have a iron fist behind that velvert glove.

I love McCrae. Seeing that iron edge underneath the warm, friendly persona (which is very genuine) helps me understand that for all his positivity and all embracing attitude he has a very strong resolve and standards he expects and if you fall short, he will let you know about it. If he looked at me with that dead pan glare, I'd feel chastened despite his diminutive size!

Care, respect and standards. Can't bend on any of these and he clearly doesn't.

There will be tribulations but it's exciting times ahead, domus.

I don't think we should underestimate the psychology of the comments on a number of levels. Yes, as others have said, he was reinforcing the winner's ethos, an important philosophy long term. By saying what he said, he is publicly setting standards and demonstrating that he is more than just the loveable 'touchy-feely' guy that heads up this team. In saying what he did, he absolutely directed the focus from a scoreboard loss to what will happen this week - for both players and media. It was a brilliant move that directs focus to what we want and away from what we don't want. His stocks soared, for mine, after Saturday night!

His instruction to some players followed by the explanation of this in his comments were fantastic and were perfectly in line with his messaging around us adopting a winners mentality at the club.

The move of Moore forward for the last few minutes when we were still in front and not setting Maynard the task on Cameron for the game are a sore point for me.

His instruction to some players followed by the explanation of this in his comments were fantastic and were perfectly in line with his messaging around us adopting a winners mentality at the club.

The move of Moore forward for the last few minutes when we were still in front and not setting Maynard the task on Cameron for the game are a sore point for me.
Coaches can learn as much as players from a narrow loss - 100% confident Fly is open to learning

Yeah same, I felt like that cost us a bit in the end. Should of just left him down back.

However I expect a response from him and the boys this week and hope the loss drives some more passion and anger to get the job done moving forward

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah same, I felt like that cost us a bit in the end. Should of just left him down back.
Me too. I thought it was a strange move. Surely the coaching team is aware of the attempts in 2021 to reinforce the forward line by shifting Darcy into it? The move didn't work then, so why did they think it would work in 2022? Impossible to say of course in hindsight, but I reckon that because much of the last two minutes was played in Geelong's forward half (which was almost devoid of Collingwood players), Darcy would've been influential in organizing himself and the other defenders to prevent Geelong scoring. Meanwhile, Coxy could've been brought on to act as a target in our forward line.
Who knows, but I really hope they don't try the same questionable (dumb? stupid?) move this week.

I liked it. I think it's just an extension of his mantra of resilience and always looking to improve. Something he wants to be so instilled that players take it with them always. Basically, dust yourself off - or the windscreen wiper analogy that he uses - and get going with the next challenge rather than moping about near misses, disappointments or lost opportunity.

I actually didn’t notice the move late in the game, to move Moore forward. I was so caught up in the tenseness of the final minutes. I’d had a lot of beers as well. In hindsight, it didn’t work, but if it had we’d be praising him.
Moore was tried as a forward in his earlier years, and it just didn’t really work. He’s a straight ahead player.