Crawf, Jacobs, Croad

• Thread starter Thread starter Philhawk

All injured for the game this weekend, with Croad set to miss a few more weeks. :(

I suppose you've got to look at things in perspective. I'm obviously unhappy with the fact that our BEST key defenders get injured in a match where we have to line up a player/players (:p) on J Brown, but it should see some good young talent come into the team.

IMO, expect to see alot of new players gunned now. I hope we've seen the last of Ries, but I expect,

OUT: Crawford, Croad, Jacobs
IN: Birchall, Boyle, Buddy

With Boyle/Buddy to take the CHF role and Birchall to add some much needed height in the defensive line. Still, who knows what will come about by our next game ... :thumbsu:

heard on channel ten that croad has a wrist injury and will miss a month :( whilst crawf has shin soreness and may miss a month too.

whats wrong with jacobs? how long out for?

this is bloody terrible news. the season has stalled, everything has gone suddenly wrong. injuries, a disappointing loss, now a trip to browns lions.

a win this week would be trully remarkable.

Honestly i don't think there is too much cause for panic at this stage, we have lost 2-3 of our better players but i still feel confident that the boys can go up there and get another win. The season is only young i think it is a little premature to say that the season has stalled.

I don't know that the Lions have the same intimidating presence that they used to have and also playing at Carrara as opposed to the Gabba may also present us with another opportunity to exploit the Lions IMO i believe this may nearly viewed as neutral ground....????

It is a neutral ground. It's a larger ground which should suit our run. Brisbane is a very slow running side, in contrast we are very quick.

Brisbane are a one pronged forward line, double team Brown and we go along way to winning the match!

Hawksforever! said:
Honestly i don't think there is too much cause for panic at this stage, we have lost 2-3 of our better players but i still feel confident that the boys can go up there and get another win. The season is only young i think it is a little premature to say that the season has stalled.

I don't know that the Lions have the same intimidating presence that they used to have and also playing at Carrara as opposed to the Gabba may also present us with another opportunity to exploit the Lions IMO i believe this may nearly viewed as neutral ground....????

didn't the lions play to pre-season matches there? so they would have an advantage

Yes the size of Carrara should definately suit our style of play, heard Dean Laidley say on the weekend that our plan to get numbers behind the ball eventually caught up with us and lead to us tiring i hope that if this was the case it doesn't happen again this week....

While all of the focus tends to go to J. Brown i am slightly concerned that Bradshaw may sneak under the radar and kick a handful as we have seen him do in the past.... may be stretched for size down back i think??

Mitchell Madness said:
didn't the lions play to pre-season matches there? so they would have an advantage

Yes i think they did, but i would rather be playing at Carrara where they have played only a handful of games than the Gabba where they have played and trained 100's of times and the players know every blade of grass.....

Would there be much size difference between Aurora Stadium in Launceston and Carrara? The hawks seem to play that bigger ground well (although we tend to get lost out wide occasionally..)

Yeah Aurora is quite an expanse, very very wide... That is great news re: Danny Jacobs he will certainly hold down a key defensive post on the weekend if he is fit, fingers crossed.

I am quietly confident of a good showing this weekend, i reckon Willo could turn the lions defense to custard... here's hoping anyway.

Hawkk said:
It is a neutral ground. It's a larger ground which should suit our run. Brisbane is a very slow running side, in contrast we are very quick.

Brisbane are a one pronged forward line, double team Brown and we go along way to winning the match!
You don't honestly believe that do you?
Bradshaw?
Brennan?
Akermanis?
They even had Mal Michael up forward last week.
They are much more potent than we are.

GALON said:
Bradshaw?
Brennan?
Akermanis?

Agree to a degree, but:
Brennan - inconsistent form
Bradshaw - maybe the darkhorse...
Akermanis - struggling big time!
Mal Michael - was only forward last week while his opponent had a spell.

Time will tell though, they have the capacity to be very potent up forward....

GALON said:
Bradshaw?
Brennan?
Akermanis?
Bradshaw: Down on form, we can match up on him quite easily
Brennan: Please, over rated
Akermanis: Down on form, but I am expecting a big game from him

I mean't, it's the only match up we will struggle with.

Do they have a match up for Williams and Buddy (if he plays)

Both are too quick for there backline.

Trust me, I watch the Lions alot...they will probably beat us, but mostly due to big games from Akermanis and Brown.

Just another point from the resident QLD'er. This year we have been caught out by fast running midfields who have fantastic delievery to 'power forwards,' so far this season Brisbane have been VERY VERY slow at delievering the ball into the forward line. This allows us to get numbers back and block Brown's space (Kingsley anyone?)

Therefore, Dawson probably won't be caught out against Brown in the same manner he did vs Rocca and Thompson.

I feel Sewell could carve up Aker who will be fired up.

Agree with Brisy being a slow team. Brennan pffftt most over rated player in the AFL.

We need to worry about Aker, Brown and Bradshaw - if we win these three battles we win the match I feel.

We need Buddy, Jacobs and Boyle to be fit and to play.

Ozzie is still a week away it says.

GALON said:
Fair points on Brennans inconsistency and Bradshaws form Hawkk but they are both potential matchwinners. Add them to Brown and we look in trouble.
Depends how the ball movement is from Brisbane. If it is decent we will probably get beaten...but going from what I have seen this season it is very poor, slow and indirect.

If Brisbane plays to form, we should have no worries backing back and blocking up their space. We are a very fit, quick side...we should exploit this!

I will miss crawford, razorblades mate - I don't think Crawf got those lips from sucking bananas?

Seeing as though Crawford will miss, will Birchall definately make the 22? If not what are his chances?

If Croad and Jacobs are both out Franklin, Boyle, Taylor these guys will be knocking on the door if fit.
Birchall is a fair chance to make the 22 alongside Ben Kane. Think Osborne will miss another week, we need him back.

can someone please tell me how far beau dowler is away from gettin a game id think hed be close wouldnt he? iv got him in dreamteam on reputation but dont really know much about him? someone please explain

He's playing his first game in the Box Hill seniors this week. I still think he will be a fair while away as he needs to get some match fitness, and show some form at the same time! The game is on ABC tomorrow so have a watch and you'll get to see him :)

He's played two matches in the box hill reserves since coming back from a broken pelvis but neither of them have been full games I don't think.

vanders said:
He's playing his first game in the Box Hill seniors this week. I still think he will be a fair while away as he needs to get some match fitness, and show some form at the same time! The game is on ABC tomorrow so have a watch and you'll get to see him :)

He's played two matches in the box hill reserves since coming back from a broken pelvis but neither of them have been full games I don't think.

thanks brother