News Cringeworthy or hilarious?

• Thread starter Thread starter Hardas

Cringeworthy.

I despised him while at Carlton but now that he's not there I sort of feel sorry for him.

Do we tell the Emperor that he's wearing no clothes?

emperor-has-no-clothes.png

I was sitting in a coffee shop yesterday, and in walked Peter Sidwell (Mick's manager) and Mark Ricciuto (Adelaide board) and they sat down next to me. I overheard their conversation ...

PS: "Good to meet up Mark, how are things going at Adelaide?"

MR: "Oh, look mate, everybody's doing it tough as you can imagine. This is going to take us some time to get over it, although you probably never truly get over something like that."

PS: "Yes indeed, it must be difficult for the whole footy club. Look, I've got some great news for you ... Mick Malthouse is very very sympathetic about what's happened there at the Crows, and he's agreed to come on as your next coach for a heavily discounted rate, ya know, $700K to $800K. Do you want him to start now, or would you prefer to wait until the end of the season?"

<Mark coughs violently, spluttering his cappuccino all over the table>

MR: "Oh" <cough> "pardon me" <cough, cough> "sorry, I really swallowed the wrong way then" <cough cough cough> Tears are streaming down his face "Look Peter, thank Mick for his very very generous offer, but we don't want to impose on him. He's worked very hard for many years, the bloke deserves a break ..."

PS: "Oh, look, no worries, I understand entirely. You folks are struggling with that Adelaide Oval deal, that's probably a lot of coin, what do you say about $300k? It's a bargain."

MR: "No, I don't want to offend but ..."

PS: "$100k?"

MR: "No mate"

PS: "Free, he'll do it for free!" He looks up to the ceiling, he spreads his arms expansively, and says whistfully "I can see the headline in the Herald Sun now ... 'The good Samaritan rides into town to rescue The Crows' "

MR: "It's 'The Advertiser' where we are mate ..."

PS: "Oh, yeah, but that's in Adelaide, Mick doesn't care about what the Adelaide papers say, they're a bit irrelevant don't you think? "

MR: "Well it matters to crows supporters! Look, thank Mick for his very generous offer, but we're not interested."

PS: "Look, Mick has made a lot of money out of this coaching caper over the years, because, as you know, he's a very very good football coach. Perhaps he could make a generous donation? "

MR: "No"

PS: "Just think about it as if you would be taking money off Carlton, Collingwood and West Coast ..."

MR: "Look, I'm trying to be polite here Peter ..."

PR: "Yeah, yeah, I get it, things aren't like they used to be. These days you want to do your fancy new age 'processes' of interviews and due diligence ... So when would you be wanting to interview Mick? He's available next Thursday in the morning, or, let me check his diary .... 21st August"

MR: "Nah mate, look ..."

PR: "He'll even fly to Adelaide for the interview ..."

PR: "Economy class"

PR: "Hel'll pay for the ticket himself!"

PR: "Oh, I get it, you young new age folk are environmentally conscious. You want to do it over a video conference ... look, you just can't get the whole Mick Malthouse experience over a video conference. Besides, he'd prefer to drive all the way to Adelaide than have to deal with technology..."

MR: "Nah, look, we're not interested in interviewing Mick at all."

PS: "At all? You're not interested in interviewing a 700+ AFL game coach, 4 Premierships ..."

MR: "Look mate, he's worked hard, it's time he enjoyed his retirement"

Peter starts crying ...

PS: "Please, Mark, please, have a heart <sob, sob> give the bloke an interview, give him a chance"

MR: "Sorry, I can't do that"

PS: "OK, don't give him a chance, just give him an interview, just go through the motions like"

Mark shakes his head

PS: "Will you just have a coffee and a chat with him?"

MR: "Look, if I have coffee with him, you know and I know that we'll get sucked into the Malthouse web, it'll get leaked and spun in the media that we're interviewing him for the coaching job, and before we know it, we'll have 25% of the membership cancel, the club will get inundated with hate mail, and we'll have a merry mess to clean up .... Hang on, is that bloke out the front taking a photo of us :confused: :mad: :mad: :mad: ..."

PS: "Gotta go now, thanks Mark, bye!"

If I had not seen the article I would think it was a joke. Beyond belief that Mick would not just knock the suggestion on the head. Sad.

I was sitting in a coffee shop yesterday, and in walked Peter Sidwell (Mick's manager) and Mark
Ricciuto (Adelaide board) and they sat down next to me. I overheard their conversation ...

PS: "Good to meet up Mark, how are things going at Adelaide?"

PS: "Gotta go now, thanks Mark, bye ..."

:D:thumbsu::D:thumbsu:

Great work 76

Like someone said on Nicks re Mick

"Stick a fork in him he is done!!!

Somewhere in an office of a marriage guidance counsellor in a backstreet of Melbourne.

"But I thought that I wanted him to stop coaching and spend time with me"

"Listen Nanette, when two people live separate lives, one of them can build up romantic visions of how things might be if they can be with the other person. Sometimes reality bites"

"So what can I do?"

"Call Adelaide and ask them to offer Mick a job"

i just listened to the 5aa interview. Mick was questioned about Worsfold having to make up his mind. Mick's response was typical Mick. He slyly started talking about how you would have to talk to the Eagles to find out about the circumstances of Worsfold leaving the beagles. He had me confused for a second and then it became apparent that he was doing a gentle undermining of Worsfold's credentials.

Nanette is gonna start crying if Mick misses out on the job.

Or so says Mick.

Wont someone think of the Nanette.

Not sure if we should send MM to Adelaide to do a demolition job on them. Do we really hate them that much?

Well FFS! He said once he left Carlton, that it is the end of his coaching career and he is looking forward to the next chapter of his life.

Does this man ever stop lying!??

Stuff him, I have had enough of Mick. I defended him even while he was at Carlton but if he coaches again now, there will be no respect for him.