Crows appointments

Still Crowing said:
Now thats funny!

Overall, from a laymans perspective, I have a feeling that the AFC are moving in the right direction. Hopefully the PAP's winning the flag will give our club the kick in the pants it so desperately needs. (Not that we should have to rely on P*rk for inspiration *humph*)

AHHH but we already have...Power enter the comp ..what year? 1997 and that inspired the Crows to further heights

But yes been proactive is better than reactive

Still Crowing said:
Now thats funny!

Overall, from a laymans perspective, I have a feeling that the AFC are moving in the right direction. Hopefully the PAP's winning the flag will give our club the kick in the pants it so desperately needs. (Not that we should have to rely on P*rk for inspiration *humph*)

Isn’t it an indictment on the AFC if we need them to inspire us?

Still Crowing said:
Hopefully the PAP's winning the flag will give our club the kick in the pants it so desperately needs. (Not that we should have to rely on P*rk for inspiration *humph*)

Here's inspiration

PA Power enter the competiontion in 1997, beating the Crows in Showdown I. Crows go on to win the '97 premiership, the inspiration continues and carries us to back to back premierships in '98.

I have always kind of tied these two events together.

Maybe the Power winning their first can spur us on to another on next year, the circumstances are very similar after the season we had in 1996.

PerthCrow said:
AHHH but we already have...Power enter the comp ..what year? 1997 and that inspired the Crows to further heights

But yes been proactive is better than reactive

Damn, I didn't see this one.

Stiffy_18 said:
dyertribe, I would be interested in your opinion on these appointments.

Let it rip:p:D

Absolutely rapt about Stewart - most forward-thinking appointment since the return of Blight. ;)

Decidedly underwhelmed about the other names joining and staying though.

Fred Phillis said:
the following are official, announced today:
assistant coaches; David Noble, Paul Hamilton, one other yet to be decided.
development manager: Alan Stewart
football manager: Graeme Dunstan (g/m of Sturt.) Reid stays as g/m of football operations. Dunstan to be primarily involved in team logistics
recruitment in melb: have contracted John Turnbull. Fantasia stays.
list management/development: Ray McLean
Stewart - is the big coup, particularly just before trade/draft time, as brings together 2 sets of club intelligence for what will be a very important time for us.

Dunstan - from what I have heard is a good operator & gives us someone in training to take over from Reid.

Noble & Hamilton - both appear solid appointments. Does anyone know what players Hamilton looked after at the Roos? Still concerned at to who will be looking after the rucks & forward line.

Stiffy_18 said:
Pretty happy with those.
Now this is a MAJOR coup :D
This was always going to happen. John Reid was always going to get an assistant. Don't know much about Greame Dunstan but the actual creation of this position is a positive
Along with Stewart, John Turnbull is a bit of a coup as well. Highly rated in rectuiting circles and has left Hawks as a recruiting manager because of time demands. Out recruiting from Melbourne hasn't been great and I see this appointment as a BIG plus.

Pretty good get as well.

Overall I am happy with that. Well done AFC.[/QUOTE

Sounds pretty bloody good to me too mate. Damon Whites next hey Stiff????

Fred Phillis said:
anyone wanna chuckle...read port board responses to stewart leaving, hee heeeee :D

Who cares what the PAPS think, i'm just happy for the AFC, good news for a change. Now bring on Thompson, Monfries, Eckermann and fingers crossed, D White.

SpringChoke said:
Who cares what the PAPS think, i'm just happy for the AFC, good news for a change. Now bring on Thompson, Monfries, Eckermann and fingers crossed, D White.

In spite of my own comment, I ventured over to the PAFC board for a quick peek. By the sounds of it, Stewart can expect to be tarred and feathered by the end of the week. Bloody hell how quick do they turn on their own. No wonder big Jack Cahill has kept his distance from Alberton. Imagine what they will be calling lil Joshy if he leaves.

SpringChoke said:

Monfires AND Eckerman! Boy oh Boy, how are we gonna' pull that one off?

mymansyd said:
Monfires AND Eckerman! Boy oh Boy, how are we gonna' pull that one off?
We must be getting a good pick for Stinger. ;)

I reckon it will be a case of OR rather than AND.

dyertribe said:
Absolutely rapt about Stewart - most forward-thinking appointment since the return of Blight. ;)

John Turnball is a serious appointment, quality guy.

hey guys, im obviously bit of a newb so ill try not to ruffle to many feathers early on but i thought i just chuck my 2 cents in.
Personally im pretty darn happy with these appointments, definitely points the positive new direction the club is taking. I must say as a Bays man im a bit dissapointed david noble wont be there, but definitely a positive for the crows to get him. Ive got to say aswell i dont really buy into any of this stuff about these guys not coming from a winning culture, and how that somehow has an effect on how well they will do their jobs as assistants. If all it took to be a succesful coach was to come from a winning culture then there wouldnt be a reason to get rid of a 3 time premiership player in Jarman. Could go into it more but i think ill keep it short for my first post hehe. cheers.

Fudd said:
hey guys, im obviously bit of a newb so ill try not to ruffle to many feathers early on but i thought i just chuck my 2 cents in.
Personally im pretty darn happy with these appointments, definitely points the positive new direction the club is taking. I must say as a Bays man im a bit dissapointed david noble wont be there, but definitely a positive for the crows to get him. Ive got to say aswell i dont really buy into any of this stuff about these guys not coming from a winning culture, and how that somehow has an effect on how well they will do their jobs as assistants. If all it took to be a succesful coach was to come from a winning culture then there wouldnt be a reason to get rid of a 3 time premiership player in Jarman. Could go into it more but i think ill keep it short for my first post hehe. cheers.

Welcome Fudd....I'm the same mate, mixed emotions, stoked for the Crows but the mighty bays take a backward step AGAIN..

Kane McGoodwin said:
Stewart - is the big coup, particularly just before trade/draft time, as brings together 2 sets of club intelligence for what will be a very important time for us.

Dunstan - from what I have heard is a good operator & gives us someone in training to take over from Reid.

Noble & Hamilton - both appear solid appointments. Does anyone know what players Hamilton looked after at the Roos? Still concerned at to who will be looking after the rucks & forward line.
My understanding is that Paul Hamilton was responsible for forward line AND midfield at the Kangaroos and has worked closely with the likes of Motlop, Petrie, Harris, Jones etc...

SpringChoke said:
Damon Whites next hey Stiff????
I bloody hope so mate. There are strong rumours doing the rounds that he will quit Port in search of a club that will offer him more opportunities. With the likely return of Primus to the forward line next year, there will be even less opportunities for White.

I don't think we will do much trading BUT if we can get White and Thompson from this trade period I would be stoked.

Stiffy_18 said:
I bloody hope so mate. There are strong rumours doing the rounds that he will quit Port in search of a club that will offer him more opportunities. With the likely return of Primus to the forward line next year, there will be even less opportunities for White.

I don't think we will do much trading BUT if we can get White and Thompson from this trade period I would be stoked.

It's about time we started putting up a few offers that they can't refuse, Toni Soprano style.

dyertribe said:

Same here. I'm very happy we have Stewie! As for the rest...it could have been worse. Unfortunatley JR is still there. As for the remaning coaching spot...I'd like to see a former KPP player get it. Someone with experience playing in a key position would be good. Is Peter Caven still coaching in the U16's - even if he is I'm sure we could poach him too? Would he be a chance?

Good selection of people IMO, plenty of footy experience of the ground there as well ; should be good for us, but time will tell.

I have been critical of the appointments of the assistants in other threads. I do not like it when my club accepts what I perseve to be 2nd best. Coaching is one of the few areas where a financialy strong club can have an advantage.

I am impressed by our poaching of Alan Stewart.

My initial thought when hearing about Graeme Dunstan's appointment was that he will be a scape goat for John Reid if things go pear shaped again.

However, having heard Steven "the spin king" Trigg on radio & tv last night, I am now more optimistic. Mind you I was optimistic prior to R2 against Brisbane this year after hearing him talk about the club "standing up and being counted" in a prematch speach in the Premiership Club.

Certainly the club has looked at itself & made sweeping changes, and change was certainly required. I hope they have changed things for the better & the new appointments all turn out to be diamonds.

Go you Crow's

drakeyv2 said:
I have been critical of the appointments of the assistants in other threads. I do not like it when my club accepts what I perseve to be 2nd best. Coaching is one of the few areas where a financialy strong club can have an advantage.

I am impressed by our poaching of Alan Stewart.

My initial thought when hearing about Graeme Dunstan's appointment was that he will be a scape goat for John Reid if things go pear shaped again.

However, having heard Steven "the spin king" Trigg on radio & tv last night, I am now more optimistic. Mind you I was optimistic prior to R2 against Brisbane this year after hearing him talk about the club "standing up and being counted" in a prematch speach in the Premiership Club.

Certainly the club has looked at itself & made sweeping changes, and change was certainly required. I hope they have changed things for the better & the new appointments all turn out to be diamonds.

Go you Crow's
A couple of thoughts:
1. Allan Stewart would not have been that difficult to poach as his role was being wound back at Port due to his illness and the role we offered was a much better fit.

2. In some ways the "second choices" that we have ended up with are IMHO better than some of the first choices. All of the assistants are proven at their craft and have had a positive impact in the clubs they have come from.

3. I and many others were not happy with the appt. of Craig, but we all have to move on and hop[e that it gels together. This is one instance where I am praying that I am wrong and I will be the first to admit it, if Craig does a great job.

4. Steven Trigg as CEO is and has copped some unfair criticisms for his roles in the coaching affair. As a CEO reporting to a board, it is not unusual to get rolled on your suggestions and you still have to face up to the media and staff and accept the outcome. This is a part of the role as much as any other task and he has been strong in a very difficult year for the club.

Can't wait for 2005.

Stiffy_18 said:
My understanding is that Paul Hamilton was responsible for forward line AND midfield at the Kangaroos and has worked closely with the likes of Motlop, Petrie, Harris, Jones etc...
Cheers Stiffy.

So basically we need to find a ruck coach.