Crunch Game

astro_toby

This MUST be our "crunch game" for the year. a important away match to see if we are any chance of making a run for the finals.

But i think this is a crunch game in many more ways.

this week is the week we find out Wallaces fate. He has elected to keep Hyde in the side - It has taken him 12 weeks to bring in the "kids" - and if we lose by over 5 goals this week - he must surely be out the door.

This is the type of game which tells you a lot about a team - and this week we find out about our coach. If hyde tags cornes, burgoyne, pearce or Salopek - and gets flogged - this is surely the end for wallace and hyde.

Firstly, Wallace is safe till the end of 09, get that through your heads.

Secondly, I believe this is a very winnable game, but our crunch game is Vs Carlton.

if Wallace is safe till 2009 - then i could turn up to work tomorrow with a strap on dildo on my head and my job will still be safe

if a professional coach can turn over the pitiful results this bloke has over four years and his job still be "safe" - then this club has lower expectations than ever

if Wallace is safe till 2009 - then i could turn up to work tomorrow with a strap on dildo on my head and my job will still be safe

if a professional coach can turn over the pitiful results this bloke has over four years and his job still be "safe" - then this club has lower expectations than ever

Now that would be a sight to see:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

This is where you've misread the current situation.

The Tiger board is now prepared to invest in a quality coach for the long term. The days of sacking coaches are behind us - it's now all about the planning for long term success.

Well done to TW and the Richmond board for sticking together and working towards a common goal :thumbsu:

This is where you've misread the current situation.

The Tiger board is now prepared to invest in a quality coach for the long term. The days of sacking coaches are behind us - it's now all about the planning for long term success.

Well done to TW and the Richmond board for sticking together and working towards a common goal :thumbsu:

shut up Greg - ____ you have a lot of spare time on your hands since you retired from the board

Why is this game any different from the past?
The game against Collingwood early on in the year should have been a CRUNCH game as well.
When the RFC plays 22 CRUNCH games during the season, then we'll have a half decent team!

this week is the week we find out Wallaces fate. He has elected to keep Hyde in the side - It has taken him 12 weeks to bring in the "kids" - and if we lose by over 5 goals this week - he must surely be out the door.

Stupid logic!!!

A loss of 5 goals = sacking? Just because Hyde is in the team?

Get real. Why don't you spend a bit more time thinking about the issue at hand, and then spend a bit of time justifying your pov instead of just using the term 'surely'?

Your reasoning skills are terrible. Sorry.

Mate, we need to win 7 or 8 games to make the finals. There are 10 games to go. I wouldn't be hanging my hat on "one" crunch game, there will be plenty of those until it is mathematically ridiculous to "spin" that our season is alive.

i don't think we are a snow flakes chance of making finals - bi dont think it is a crunch game in that respect.
I mean it in respect to how the team responds this week - the last month we have played some very very ordinary football - and we have been lucky that we have played two ordinary teams in that time.

this week we are playing a very good team that is very low in confidence. we are above them in the standings - and in theory, it should be a very close game, that we should win.

if we get flogged - i think it suggest that wallace is a long way off with the group

Stupid logic!!!

A loss of 5 goals = sacking? Just because Hyde is in the team?

Get real. Why don't you spend a bit more time thinking about the issue at hand, and then spend a bit of time justifying your pov instead of just using the term 'surely'?

Your reasoning skills are terrible. Sorry.

didn't mean sack him this week - just that his fate would be sealed. if we get flogged this week, and end up finishing 12 or below - i think wallace has done enough to show he should be replaced. this rubbish we should hold onto him till contracts end is rubbish - he has had 4 years to mould this team into the team he wants - and a poor match this week (and ultimately to end this season ) would mean we are wasting our time with him

if you reckon my reasoning skills are terrible - consider wallace's - playing hyde this week:thumbsd:

How much more hot / cold footy do we need to see from this bloke - he is either a low possesion tagger (only capable of tagging out B Grade midfielders ) - or a mild possession getter with poor defensive skills

if we get flogged - i think it suggest that wallace is a long way off with the group

And if we win - with Hyde in the team - will it suggest that you were wrong?

not 100% obviously. We have played so much poor football over the past 2 years - it would be impossible to forgive that because of one win - bu it will certainly ease the pressure and the growing doubt of the supporters - who have seen this team plateau and develop at a snails pace.

Hyde should be over - pretty much 95% of all posters on this forum agreed we had seen the end of hyde (along with Tiva ) - but he is back again this week.

SURELY someone like connors and collins have earned the opportunity to have a crack at this blokes spot in the team by now - this bloke has been a fringe player for his entire career FFS

i don't think we are a snow flakes chance of making finals - bi dont think it is a crunch game in that respect.
I mean it in respect to how the team responds this week - the last month we have played some very very ordinary football - and we have been lucky that we have played two ordinary teams in that time.

this week we are playing a very good team that is very low in confidence. we are above them in the standings - and in theory, it should be a very close game, that we should win.

Fair enough but I reckon if we beat Port and then get our arse spanked by the Blues the following week, it just dilutes the Port win.

A bit like the respectable month of footy before we produced that arse liquid performance against the Swans....

Even I would not flick a coach after an interstate 5 goal loss.

If we get rolled over there, I could wear 30 point loss to Port.
Anything under would leave me non-plussed, and hard to evaluate. Like, "where to we stand from this game?"

A win would be positive over there. It still is an effort to beat someone interstate on their own patch.

I just don't want another 'nothing' game like the Melbourne game.
Either we beat Port well and we look at the areas of success....and leave it in place and build around it. (Not throw the kids back to the Burgers!)
Or we get seriously smashed and put the weakenesses under a microscope.
(Whether it's the coach, the players or the boot-studder....we look at the problem areas, and work to fixing them)

I'm not such a negative pr!ck after all......I'm just sick of wasting time on slow air filled processes, that give weak individuals time in a job they are not earning.

Fair enough but I reckon if we beat Port and then get our arse spanked by the Blues the following week, it just dilutes the Port win.

A bit like the respectable month of footy before we produced that arse liquid performance against the Swans....

thats a fair call - i think people thought i meant we should sack him immediately - not what i meant.

i believe that if we go well against port - we shouldn't be afraid of being spanked by carlton - as i doubt it will happen. We may not beat carlton - but if we beat port, i strongly doubt we will be flogged by the blues

Even I would not flick a coach after an interstate 5 goal loss.

If we get rolled over there, I could wear 30 point loss to Port.
Anything under would leave me non-plussed, and hard to evaluate. Like, "where to we stand from this game?"

A win would be positive over there. It still is an effort to beat someone interstate on their own patch.

I just don't want another 'nothing' game like the Melbourne game.
Either we beat Port well and we look at the areas of success....and leave it in place and build around it. (Not throw the kids back to the Burgers!)
Or we get seriously smashed and put the weakenesses under a microscope.
(Whether it's the coach, the players or the boot-studder....we look at the problem areas, and work to fixing them)

I'm not such a negative pr!ck after all......I'm just sick of wasting time on slow air filled processes, that give weak individuals time in a job they are not earning.

Sounds a bit like you're doing this Delibs... :D

fence4.jpg

All in all the teams gotta win this week fellas. To hell with Wallace and Hyde and all that noise, the Tiges have gotta win to keep pushing for 8th sport, with some winable games ahead.

This MUST be our "crunch game" for the year. a important away match to see if we are any chance of making a run for the finals.

But i think this is a crunch game in many more ways.

This is the type of game which tells you a lot about a team - and this week we find out about our coach. If hyde tags cornes, burgoyne, pearce or Salopek - and gets flogged - this is surely the end for wallace and hyde.
According to this board, the Freo game was 'the one'.

I find it interesting that quite a few people want the kids bought in to get games under their belts, but when Terry does this, and we loose, it's somehow all his fault. Let alone the fact apart from Richo and Brown, we're a team of 23yo and under with an average of probably 40 games or less.

Play the kids Terry, but don't loose, as we'll go you big time.