Cry Babies

• Thread starter Thread starter Longjohn

Originally posted by Longjohn:
Have a look at the forum on www.lions.com.au, they are still complaining about the umpires, channel 7 bias, Black falling on his eye, having to play a semi-final against the team that finished 2nd on the MCG on a Friday night, players being undisciplined and getting reported during the finals. They are the biggest pack of whingers I have ever heard.

I love it when the Kangaroos beat Brisbane, I think it's Noel Gordon, even though he has gone, he will never be forgotten. "Who is smiling now, Noel."

This was the message that started it all, 100 replies, we should celebrate the ton.

But no Cry babies allowed

Anyone got anything else to say? I'm thinking of closing this thread - nothing really new is being posted.

If anyone has any violent opposition to the closing of this thread, let me know through this forum or by e-mail - bluey at bigfooty dot com

This thhread has talked about alot of stuff other than the cry-baby lions

But is too long and disjointed now Bluey

all good things must come to an end
smile.gif

Look they are still crying, following text copied from lions bb. Bluey I tried to let the thread die but they cry to much.

----------------------------------------
Brisbane Lions: Footy Forum: Footy Talk: Time for Matthews to write a 'Please explain' letter to the umpires!

By Susan Nelson (Suze) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 11:10 am:

I might be sounding like a one-eyed Lions supporter but I lost it more than a couple of times with the 'men in white', when they did not 'SEE' when a Lions player was, 'pushed in the back', 'laid a fair tackle and pinged the oposition for holding', 'being held without the ball' etc., etc., etc.

The free kick stats read, Melbourne - 21 / Brisbane - 13.

Brisbane were in front of the ball most of the night, we got most of the ball and it wasn't like Melbourne were playing the better football.

It's like they didn't see the Lions jersey, they only saw the Melbourne jersey and I think it is about time the AFL look into this as this is not the only time it has happened.

(The killer is, when it happens, the unfairness of it all, the players start to get frustrated and their game can go off, and that just hurts the game.)

----------------------------------------

By hatman co-op (Hatman) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 12:45 pm:

if the coach cant criticise and the players cant criticise the umpires,the fans just get ignored or accused of being one eyed when they do.so who can criticise them and get listened to.i would like the comentators to bring it up but they seem as bent as the whole AFL structure. may be the club chairman can jump up and down a bit and get noticed

--------------------------------------------

By Steve Dalzell (Stevedalzell) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 01:21 pm:

Suze,
The figures for the Fremantle game were very similar. It's not only having free possessions but where they are awarded as well.

When I lived in Bristown and went along to the 'Gabba, I sat next to two terrific people, Micheal and Vicki Dark (ex Footscray). Micheal would always supply the real hard to get gossip and Vicki's job was the game stats. Nothing to go into half time 3 - 9 down frees for and against. We theorised about the colours, personell, even kept a dossier on particular umpires (who paid what where that sort of thing) and two umps who figured most were McLaren and Carey (retired). MaLaren because he most often umpired losing Brisbane teams and Carey because of his unpredictable nature. The game would be physical and tight and Carey would pick something out of the blue and obscure.

For example, I remember a game in '96 we played at home to Carlton. Half time and it was very close, the third quarter the same until about the twenty minute mark. A bounce at CHB for us. 'Doc' does his work against no-one for them because Madden is bludging in the centre of the ground and has left it to Kernahan. Kernahan realises too late to contest but continues to go late. He runs clean into the back of Nigel Lappin, an obvious "push in the back" but NO!!!!!!! Carey blows his whistle and awards Kernahan the free for "obstructing the ruckman." "Sticks" kicks a game breaker and Carlton get a run on.

Everyone at the ground could see the simplicity of it but Carey. To him it was much more complicated than a simple push.

Suze, its a simple game with simple rules. I wish it were as simple as that to an umpire.

Salvage 2000

-------------------------------------------

By Susan Nelson (Suze) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 01:34 pm:

Do you think they have something against Brisbane or is this accross the board and everyone has their
day?

By Bob R (Richo1) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 02:16 pm:

Susan as I have stated elsewhere Lions will never get a fair go from the likes of Scott (mudguard - shiney on top •••• underneath) Mclaren this guy goes out of his way to make it hard for the lions.
Then again with the •••• poor media coverage of the Lions in Brisbane the umpiring is never bought to the the attention of the masses, imagine if it was rugby league (Bill Harrigan costing QLD the state of origan)is one example.Also the coaches being gagged from talking about the umpires does not help.
No u are not one eyed u are seeing the same games as the majority of us,it's to bad the the three blind mice seem to be watching another game.But as I stated earlier these clowns did not cost us the game the Lions skills (or lack of them) cost us the game
Keep watching through two eyes one day we will come out ahead in the frees for

By Maverick (Scpn) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 05:55 pm:

Steve,

That Carey was an absolute clown.

It was Carey who paid the free kick against Jim Wynd (Fitzroy) a number of years ago against Adelaide. Wynd tackled Jamieson around the legs, and Carey gave a free for too high. Jameson then kicked a goal on the siren and they won. I picked up the TV and threw it out the window.

By dm4oh (Dm4oh) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 06:02 pm:

Hey Bob - that push in the back that Lappin copped last night, went unpunished, mark was given and goal scored by Melbourne - I nearly went bizerk!!!! For a change the commentators agreed with us.
Though their knowledge of Brisbane telecast times left a bit to be desired. "And the tv repair men will be busy in Brisbane this week as 43,000 people just picked up a brick and threw it thru the screen" hmmmmm wonder if there are 43,000 optusvision subscribers up here!

By D I Burnside (Frank) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 07:21 pm:

Maverick, at the risk of being a pedant, I must correct you regarding your recollections of that Adelaide
debacle.

That Jimmy Wynd tackle was on David Marshall and his goal brought the Crows back to within 3 points.

With the ball back in the centre, the Roys cleared it from the ball-up, Adelaide were rewarded with an iffy free at half back to Mark Mickan, followed by a very dubious free to Andrew Jarman at half forward, and finally THAT free on the siren to Jameson, when Lynchy was pinged, sudden-death for "dragging the ball in". BTW, two seconds before that incident, Roosy was scragged when he was nowhere near the ball - no free.

I just sat motionless on the couch for half an hour, staring at the blank TV screen.

By lion lover (Neverbaglions) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 08:00 pm:

Last nights umpiring was scary. The umpires didnt kick all those points I know but they made really basic mistakes. If I had, had a brick I would have smashed the television though. Home crowd advantage is a big thing isnt it.

By Louise Curtis (Stevenlawrence) on Tuesday, May 16, 2000 - 08:59 pm:

I hate umpires. Well not all umpires. Just the clowns that got PAID to display exactly how much skill they actually possess (or not) on Monday night. Oh dear.......well good luck Brisbane for next Sunday.

By sonya chindamo (Cheekyblonde) on Wednesday, May 17, 2000 - 02:08 am:

one word springs to mind PATHETIC ONE SIDED UNFAIR well maybe not one word but i think the decisions were atrocious..i think that gieschen would want to take a good hard look at this and wonder why the lions lost to the dees..

THEY JUST CANT HEP THEMSELVES, PACK OF CRY BABIES.

Longjohn. You have a problem. An unhealthy dislike for another team. So much time on your hands that you go on their forum and
transpose things on her. Most other clubs have forums on their site. Ghee whiz, the suporters of each club have opinions.But to be so outraged by one particular supporter group is bizzare.Get a life mate.

I have to agree with Greg here LongJohn

Just looking through those cut and pastes from the Lions bb that you have put here - I can't see any problem. Its just the usual banter you get in Club bbs - any club bb for that matter

Whats your problem with the Lions ?

Still sore about not getting to pick over the bones of Fitzroy in '96 ?

Had a look at Norths forum to balance the argument but ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
Bit like your matches NO ONE cares Face it doesn't matter how sucessful you are NO ONE cares except the few (and I mean few) supporters. A highly sucessful 90's by most standards and STIL NO ONE cares (you can't even get bandwagon supporters...Bit sad really

How is this different to any other club's forum anyway? Read any AFL supporters forum and the supporters are always complaining about the umpires, opposition players, the state of the ground etc. etc. I reckon Blood-stained Angel's right! LongJohn is still a tad annoyed about North's FAILURE to 'merge' or should I say 'takeover' Fitzroy in 1996 and that the Bears (as they were then) offered a much better deal to Fitzroy's administrator than North did. Nice to see anyway LongJohn that your obsession with the Lions has driven you to read the Lions' forum so often. May you continue to do so. Seeing you take such an interest, let me know if you want to take out a Brisbane Lions membership for 2001.

Even Brisbane have got sick of all the crybabies and made it a members only board, about time.

Now let's get this right before tonight's game, the Lions coach has come out and said that this is the best side he has put up against the Kangaroos. So there can be no excuses.
I am so sick of regularly beating Brisbane and then having to put up with:
1. we had key players suspended
2. players got injuried during the game
3. we played at the MCG
4. we played in the dew of night (thankyou for the roof)
5. biassed channel 7 commentators
6. biassed umpires
7. everybody hates us
8. Libba was in the crowd

So have we got it right no sooking come 11.00 pm tonight.

Longjohn.
What is your problem.
I watched the game tonight on tv.
Myself and the commentators must be whingers. The Roos lost that match, got the 4 points. But the umpiring was woeful. Lawrence should have gotten a free in the last few seconds, he was ridden into the turf by King. No free.
The goal that Bell tapped into play from behind the point line.
You guys were very very lucky.
Not a good Roos performance.Essendon and Carlton are still the yardstick this year.
The Lions did well to get back into the game being 48 points down,I thought it would be a 100 point drubbing.

Stephen

Just a little rules education. The ball has to be COMPLETELY over the line for it to be a score, any part of it on the line is still in play.
You must have seen a different game to me, but I'm biased! Let's leave it to an objective observer, my wife, a Carlton supporter! She said the channel 7 commentary was like listening to three ignorant Lions supporters in the outer and they even tried to put a Lionesque spin on Chandler nearly having his head pulled off but not getting a free. SHE said both the umpiring AND the commentary was disgraceful and anti-north and I believe her because she never lies!!!

Groucho.
I am a footy coach.
I taped this game as I do a couple every weekend, for coaching purposes. Have just rewatched it.
lets talk umpiring.
1st 1/4 was ok.
2nd 1/4. Umpire Mc Kenzie should hold his head in shame. His mistakes reulted in 20 points for North. SOme of these included.Motlops free and goal, it was in the side not the back.High tackleon Johnson, not paid, Bell goal. Clayton slipped over on the beach, paid as push in back.
3rd 1/4.Another 20 points from bad umpiring decisions.Including, Shaun Hart tackled by the ankles, no free.Sholls, absolutley soft free x 2. The last one what a joke.Both resulted in goals.PLayers held no frees, holding the balls not paid.Simpson running into the square, making an extra unallowed player at the bounce, no free.
Last 1/4.Again a mirrad of mistakes. Frees that were paid to north in the 2nd and 3rd in front of goals, not paid to brisbane. Including. Dropping the balls, held decsions, the push in the back,Lawrence should have been paid that one. I teach my kids you can not do that.
This is a great teaching tape, on what you can not do.
Nup you guys were handed a get out of Jail free card last night. Lucky, Lucky lucky.
By the way I barrack for Carlton, and I can tell you I would not be happy if that was a Carlton match where Carlton won in those circumstances.You accept the 4 points.It is not good for the players, teaches them bad habits. can affect their play next week.Also when it comes down tot he wire, at the start of the last 1/4 the Lions were down by 40 points, North needed to kick along, not lose the last 1/4 by so many. Until a team can put together 4 equal 1/4s, they have a problem.

Stephen "The Coach"-I don't think I'd boast about that as your lack of understanding of the rules is damning! "Dropping the balls"-what the hells that? No such rule! I take it you've accepted my teaching of the ball having to be completely over the line for a score to have occurred? You learn something new every day eh "coach". It's amazing that you've detailed a myriad of crimes supposedly purpetrated against the Lions but I take it your in depth research found no such crimes committed against the Roos-amazing isn't it. Well I've looked at the replay now and whaddayano coach I saw plenty of holding ons, in the backs and even some dropping the balls (whatever that is coach!) NOT paid to North as well ,so your analysis seems to lack credibility. I accepts that there were bad decisions given against both teams, why can't you? Was Carey's bump on Scott really high- maybe, maybe not. Did McCartney really interfere with Leppitsch in a marking duel-well not according to other decisions made through the night. Should Martyn have been paid a mark or a free kick for interference prior to Akermanis kicking the final goal-yes. Chandler,clear round the neck no question at a crucial time in the last quarter-not paid. Motlop clearly held when going for the ball in the last quarter-not paid. Carey clearly held on several occasions but you don't expect them to be paid! You better have a look at both teams next time.
By the way when you show this video to the kids you coach and the part comes up where Scott pushes Sholl in the face and he gets the "double goal", are you going to tell them that that's perfectly acceptable behaviour? I thought it was soft too but if an umpire sees it well he's bound to pay it.

Groucho,
Are you another alias for longjohn.
I would suggest that you get a rule book.You appear to be the only person who thinks that North were badly done by.
I do know the rules, and the interpretations of the individual rules.
Mate, just give up.
As for the Sholl incident. Sholl was lucky ,if your interpretation is correct, he laid the first slap, he should have had a free against him.
I have played footy, I coach, and I teach as well.
Also Groucho, are you saying that all the commentators are wrong. 3lo included.thats 6 experts, as well as me.
Give up.
I wonder if you will be as lucky next week.
As for your comments elsewhere about Carey. You are a disgrace to think that thats ok.

Alright Stephen, you've conceded the Bell tap-on and the Sholl "double-goal" so now we're getting somewhere! Now if you would just admit that there were also some bad decisions made against North on the night, the round the neck against Chandler in the forward line for instance, then we'll be making good progress with your education. Contact me if you need more help .

Good to see you David/ Groucho. Bragging on the Kangaroos forum about the fools at BigFooty.
If I was you I would grow up.
That Stephen guy is right. The standard of umpiring on the night was pathetic. he said that. But looking at it logically the Lions had more bad decisions made against them.
Both teams had bad decisions, its just that one team was blatantly more that th eother. You are picking isolated incidents out.
As for attacking that guys credentials, thats low.
He seems to know what hes talking about.You are the one blowing hot air.
Go back to your Kanagroos forum, and puff up you chest on there, leave this forum be.

What did I say, CRY CRY CRY.

This is why they have not beaten us for so long that I can hardly remember the last time.

I LOVE BEATING BRISBANE, AND THAT IS ALL THAT MATTERS.

it's a pity we only play the cry babies once this year.

Longjohn,
You are a pathetic, moronic supporter.
Are you sure you are still not bitter and twisted about the failed takeover of Fitzroy.If your board had not been so greedy the other 14 AFL clubs may have just given it the seal of approval. Then you may actually be financially solvent. Instead of up shit creek without a paddle.
Most of the people on this forum aren't Brisbane that you are bagging.
So what you enjoy beating Brisbane, I enjoy beating Essendon. Who bloody well care. At least I don't carry on liike a 2 year old forever about it.
You are a tosser.

Jack, What I think LongJohn is saying is..

"I don't have a life other than looking for a needle in a proverbial [not that he would use such a BIG WORD] haystack... My entire life is spent having my whinge about someone else's perceived whinge. AGAIN, I HAVE NO LIFE. I cannot see the forest for the trees. I am in my own little bubble whom no one can burst.....et al..."

That's just IMHO.....

LongJohn's obsession with the Lions continues! It's good to see that Brisbane are at last drawing the hatred of the opposition. It's much better than being felt sorry for as Fitzroy or the early Bears were. It's also a sign that the club is at last having some success and that other teams and their supporters know that to beat us is a worthy achievement. Longjohn's obvious satisfaction at beating us means that he knows that the Lions are worthy opposition to North and he's going to rub in North's current ascendancy while he has the chance. If he didn't fear us, he wouldn't be crowing as much. After all he doesn't get so worked up when North beats Fremantle or Port Adelaide now does he? Bit hard I suppose when you don't respect the opposition.

Having attended the sandpit..um sorry Colonial on Friday, I'd have to conclude the umpiring was pretty ordinary for BOTH sides. From where I was (and confirmed correct later on the replay) it looked as if Bell's tap back was in and North's resultant goal was correct. No problem there. However Sholl's double goal was a disgrace. I clearly saw at the time Sholl "push", "tap" (whatever you want to call it) in the face of Chris Scott, before Chris Scott retaliated in exactly the same manner and was penalised. Again it was confirmed on the replay. In the end it was the difference.

However the Lions had their chances. Bradshaw missed a couple of easy set shots in the third quarter. Leppitsch and Voss made bad mistakes that resulted in North goals. The Lions second quarter was one to forget, where we were killed in the middle, just as North's fadeout in the last quarter is one that you wouldn't write home about. Overall I think they are fairly evenly matched teams....all things being equal. The last three encounters have been two points, 45 points (a blowout in the last quarter after Brisbane lost quite a few players, before and after the match, including Voss, Scott, McRae, Black, Keating and Hart) and four points on Friday night.

I'm looking forward to the next North vs Brisbane match, perhaps in the finals later this season.

Looking forward also to Longjohn's next rivetting post. Let's hope he can come up with something a little more original and adult than "crybabies". That's what my three kids (all under 10) say to each other when they argue. Geez I hope we're not all responding to a 10 year old!

Jenny,

Bragging? Moi? I don't think so. Just calling in reinforcements, I would have thought that was quite reasonable. It's true I did question the sanity of the Lions and the "I don't follow the Lions.." people but in the nicest sort of way. I now accept that the postings of you all is not so much insane as inane. Regarding my friend "The Coach" well all I've ever wanted from him is something YOU already did and that is a concession that North got some bum decisions too, unfortunately he's backed himself into a corner and can't get out without losing face.