D2 Ammos

Lions Den said:
The season of coach Hazell will very much determine where Salesian finish this year. I think they will only get better as the year goes on and will very challenge come September.

Thoughts?

very good comment lions den, he is one of the best players in this competition and didnt play all of last year, well respected by people in the higher grades of amateur footy. They will get better as the season goes on like you said, they have 9 teenangers in the senior side due to the 19s salesian side folding due to a lack of numbers. what are your thoughts on some of there kids? no anything about the ones playing ones or that have steped up from playing under 19s last year? More senior experience will surely be better for the kids as they gain more senior footy experience. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:

Salesian does have 4 young kids that are on the Casey Scorpions VFL list that will be handy additions if they can qualify for finals and a couple of there young boys that are good enough to be in the D2 team of the year. Combined with the likes of Hazell,Oldfield,Nannes etc they mite be competitve come finals if they stay healthy. Timothy Madder from peninsula old collegians football club is also a kid i have a bit of time for. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:[/QUOTE]

Don't think I have seen Madder play, what position does he play and number?

As for Salesians as I said, the kids will only get better but they will rely heavily on the names you have mentioned along with Bonnici (best tackler in D2) and number 1 (not sure of his name) when they came up against the top sides.

Do you know much about the 2 side which have come up streetball?

Lions Den said:

As for Salesians as I said, the kids will only get better but they will rely heavily on the names you have mentioned along with Bonnici (best tackler in D2) and number 1 (not sure of his name) when they came up against the top sides.

Not sure of timmy's number but was said to have spent the early stages of pre season with a vfl club. Will find out for you and let you know. He's one of there only good young kids as a lot have left i heard. Think Aaron Stevens according to the amateur footballer is number 1, very fit and hard running player from what i recall, has had some bad injuries though.

Im sorry lions den, don't really know much about the sides that come up, will keep you posted though if anything comes to mind. by the way what is your affiliation with the D2 Section ?

Lions Den said:
Just a keen follower of ammo footy, but I do have a soft spot for the Hoes.

Good work mate:thumbsu: . .The hoes played Salesian last week so maybe if you have a couple of mates there or something they mite be able to give you an idea of some of the younger players at salesian from the w/e along with the efforts of oldfield, nannes,bonnici and stevens and the likes of dunne, morsello, singh, phillips and norman who bring youth and enthausiasm. Looked at last years amo footballers and they did do pretty decent for themselves. Also i asked a close mate of mine at the pirates, Tim Madder is number 31 and runs around on the ball, swaps on the hff/hbf.

The interleague squads are announced shortly arent they for the game against Southern Footy League ? Any players from D2 have a sniff ? Be hard im guessing. Thoughts ? :thumbsu:

Tough to see many D2 players in the squad streetball. Suspect the side would be mainly made up of C grade players although there are some handy types running around in D1.

Chances could be:

Payze
Wheeler
Hazell

Lions Den said:
Tough to see many D2 players in the squad streetball. Suspect the side would be mainly made up of C grade players although there are some handy types running around in D1.

Chances could be:

Payze
Wheeler
Hazell

What about all the blokes in your Team of the Year?

Lions Den said:

Is Bonnici any relation to the little terrier from DeLa? One tough nugget

Only 3 names mentioned from D2 in the rep squad.

AQUINAS D.DENBRABER
AQUINAS M.GLASSBORROW
OAKLEIGH T.BROMLEY

I doubt many more were even nominated, they gave the clubs 4 days after round 1 to submit nomination selections?

Possibly Lions Den, they may have even been promised selection when they took the jobs or something? Who knows?

Anyone have any selection news that may alter this weeks predictions?

Oakleigh over Aquinas
Willi to open their account
Likewise Hoes
Trobbers to get over the line against GE
Match of the round - Pirates V Chaddy - out on the hill overlooking the freeway, Chaddy just

The Amateur Footballer has picked:
Aquinas by 22
Willy by 19
St Johns by 8
La Trobe by 35
Salesian by 11

My Tips for Saturday would be:
Aquinas, Willy, Hoes, La Trobe & Salesian all the home teams!

No selection news that I know off?

Tough to pick winners in D2 Ammo's this season, 3 from 5 wasn't too bad seeing the Record and HotShoeShuffle only got the 2. Some more tough games again this week. Salesian Vs St Johns will a be the toughest to pick? Do we think the Salesian boys can bounce back Vs St Johns away from home this week?

Coach Hollywood said:
Tough to pick winners in D2 Ammo's this season, 3 from 5 wasn't too bad seeing the Record and HotShoeShuffle only got the 2. Some more tough games again this week. Salesian Vs St Johns will a be the toughest to pick? Do we think the Salesian boys can bounce back Vs St Johns away from home this week?

This competition is very even and if sides aren't switched on then any side can be knocked of. For example St John's lost to Ivanhoe Assumption and a week earlier Salesian won comfortably against St Johns. This week's clash between St Johns and Salesian would be the match of the round, could go either way, St Johns would probably start favourites though with Salesian having a few injuries.

Any standout performers from the weekends games?

From reading the match reports on the Aquinas web site. It appears the ground is already chopped up pretty badly. It will be tough for sides travelling there to get the points there. It will be interesting to see how sides bounce back after the trip to Ringwood ?

rightfoot_sloth said:
From reading the match reports on the Aquinas web site. It appears the ground is already chopped up pretty badly. It will be tough for sides travelling there to get the points there. It will be interesting to see how sides bounce back after the trip to Ringwood ?

My mate said the ground is ordinary at best. Indeed RFS...it is probably the toughest road trip in football ;) (d2 section that is)

I would have thought Salesian would be favourites to beat St Johns not the other way around, who are the injuries that aren't helping Salesian's cause streetball? I'd also expect Peninsula to be the toughest road trip not Aqunias but I also have never played at Aqunias so you could be right boys?

Yeah Coach it will be a tough trip down the Nepean Highway to Mt.Eliza. But physically the conditions at Aquinas might test the fitness of your boys. Good to see you got on the board. D2 looks the most even of all the different sections at this stage.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Yeah Coach it will be a tough trip down the Nepean Highway to Mt.Eliza. But physically the conditions at Aquinas might test the fitness of your boys. Good to see you got on the board. D2 looks the most even of all the different sections at this stage.

Have you looked at c grade!!!

I reckon the Aquinas road trip is harder. Most years they beat the flag favourite at their ground towards the end of the year when it chops up badly. At least going to Peninsula you get a good ground and the clubrooms are awesome.

Coach Hollywood said:
I would have thought Salesian would be favourites to beat St Johns not the other way around, who are the injuries that aren't helping Salesian's cause streetball? I'd also expect Peninsula to be the toughest road trip not Aqunias but I also have never played at Aqunias so you could be right boys?

Nannes was out last week, Davey, Stevens, Cant, Barry, Wilson (Casey VFL), Crowley (Casey VFL), Wishmann,Kelly,Sing (Casey VFL) mite all be out although more than likely one would play this week at St Johns. A mate of mine from uni said they have 15 guys out, not all 1's players though, he thinks maybe 7-8 players will come back into that 1's side in the next month or so, thats probably why i suggested St Johns would be favourites on there on turf in the glorious surroundings of doveton meddows. :p

Also a mate of mine who players for doveton in Casey Cardinia league or something said that this St Johns side in Doveton is pretty young and pretty tough at it. It will be another interesting week in D2 footy :thumbsu:

As For C section OldTimer, they have an undefeated team sitting on top just like the rest of the grades so far, D2 doesn't have any undefeated teams and that was the point I was trying to make. As for the Salesian Vs St Johns match, that list does seem quite long Streetball and wouldn't help there cause for the big match this week. Why weren't there that many out 2 weeks ago against the Hoers. Surely having the Under 19 boys available would help fill these positions?What are your tips for this week boys? HotShoeShuffle are you backing the Hoers again?