D2 Ammos

HSS, I like the team. Good to see you've got Neilsy in there, he's been very good for us this year and a spot would be well rewarded. As for the rest I'd have to leave Madder & Pruscino out, they didn't do much against us. Whitehead questinable also, I think Tibb was better in the 2 games we played against Aquinas.

Coach Hollywood said:
HSS, I like the team. Good to see you've got Neilsy in there, he's been very good for us this year and a spot would be well rewarded. As for the rest I'd have to leave Madder & Pruscino out, they didn't do much against us. Whitehead questinable also, I think Tibb was better in the 2 games we played against Aquinas.

Im not sure about whitehead either, tibb is one of there better players.

Coach since you will be playing against a couple of the salesian boys that got named in the d2 half team of the year, you would be in a good position to tell us if you believe if they should have been included or not ? maybe we can edit the side as the season goes through before the final one is named.

Although i'd have my money on bobetic to stay in the side, not suree on the other kid from there side. :thumbsu:

streetball said:
Im not sure about whitehead either, tibb is one of there better players.

Coach since you will be playing against a couple of the salesian boys that got named in the d2 half team of the year, you would be in a good position to tell us if you believe if they should have been included or not ? maybe we can edit the side as the season goes through before the final one is named.

Although i'd have my money on bobetic to stay in the side, not suree on the other kid from there side. :thumbsu:

The other kid being their coach............

HotShoeShuffle said:
The other kid being their coach............

HSS, Streetball is talking about H.Singh who was in the scribes team, not yours. I don't think he should have been in it either, but I'll make a better judgement of him Saturday.

Coach Hollywood said:
HSS, Streetball is talking about H.Singh who was in the scribes team, not yours. I don't think he should have been in it either, but I'll make a better judgement of him Saturday.

sorry hot shoe shuffle, i meant in the actual team that was established, not the one that you put up. M.Hazell would be one of the first names i would put in if it was my side. I agree with coach on the young fella, he will see first hand though to make a better judgement for us. anyone have there tips for this week ? :thumbsu:

Tips for Round 12 guys are:

Aquinas to bounce back at home Vs St Johns.
Williamstown to also win at home Vs Glen Eira.
Ivanhoe to upset Salesian also at home.
Oakleigh the only team to win away at La Trobe.
Peninsula with a payback win for the away loss to werribee early in the season.

Any other tips??

tha man said:
yes joshie you are not the only team around with injuries...or kids running around for that matter. as for the 8 players to come back, would i be right in saying that the only two worth anything would be bongo and massis?

as for the african kids...they seem to have a freakish ability to be able to find each other. i think the two that played out of the middle at different times number's 6 and 12 were the stand outs amongst the group.

i mentioned previously the pairing of dyason and tsirogiannis out the of the middle killed us but i neglected to add no.4 diamond as well. he was in just about everything.

Tha Man, in this and previous posts you have reeled off a lot of players names down at GE. You seem to know a hell of a lot that's going on down their including a list of injured players. Would be interested to know if you played against them on Saturday......or maybe coached against them on Saturday.

Coach Hollywood said:
Tips for Round 12 guys are:

Aquinas to bounce back at home Vs St Johns.
Williamstown to also win at home Vs Glen Eira.
Ivanhoe to upset Salesian also at home.
Oakleigh the only team to win away at La Trobe.
Peninsula with a payback win for the away loss to werribee early in the season.

Any other tips??

Aquinas 6-7 goals.
Williamstown to win by 8 goals, really do think willi have been a bit stiff thise year, wheels and tails will be keen to have big ones.
Ivanhoe to sneak past salesian on there home turf, i do take back my comments regarding that young kid in the half team of the year, has been going very well over the last few weeks, played on luderman apparently 2 weeks back and naulty/tibb on the w/e. Ivanhoe on the back of there in form ruckman should get up by 2-3 goals, there form of late has been very promising.
Oakleigh to win but only just against the trobbers, ludermann will have to be on his games after being a little down the last two weeks. Knight for trobbers will have to be right on his game down back with the krushers boasting a potent foward set up.
Peninsula to win with timmy madder a chance to match up with the lively lee.
:thumbsu:

coach have finals venues been released, where do you think the finals mite be held for D2 section?

Highlight Reel said:
Tha Man, in this and previous posts you have reeled off a lot of players names down at GE. You seem to know a hell of a lot that's going on down their including a list of injured players. Would be interested to know if you played against them on Saturday......or maybe coached against them on Saturday.

well HR you obviously didn't read the other posts very well cos im sure i alluded somewhere in one or two of them as to the fact that i play for werribee.

only reason i knew a little bit about them is that the coach does do alot of homework so i'm very informed each week about who we're playing.

i'm tipping you played for GE on saturday last?

Hi all

The Pest is new to this thread and has enjoyed the read so far.

The Pests tips for this week:

Aquinas to get back on the winners list against the Bogans

Willi to begin their charge out of the relegation zone against Glen Eira despite the efforts of Joshieboy and right foot sloth. ( Be careful willi reserve players, Joshieboy is one crazy unit)

Salesian in a close out at Ivanhoe.

La Trobe to down Oakleigh for the 2nd time this year.

and finally Peninsula to get one back on the poo collectors despite their coaches homework.

Great Post Pest, welcome to the thread. What team do you follow?
I doubt it would be the Poo collectors or Bogans after that last post?

The Man, if you have so much info on the opposition teams in D2 why didn't you post a team of the half year like the rest of us?

Streetball, I've got no Idea where the finals will played, we'd need to win every game from now on to make it so the thought hasn't even crossed my mind.

tha man said:
well HR you obviously didn't read the other posts very well cos im sure i alluded somewhere in one or two of them as to the fact that i play for werribee.

only reason i knew a little bit about them is that the coach does do alot of homework so i'm very informed each week about who we're playing.

i'm tipping you played for GE on saturday last?

Tha Man, No, dont play footy.......and never seen a game in D2. Just enjoy reading the posts from time to time. Happened to notice that you knew a lot about your opposition. As you mentioned, the coach does a lot of homework.....and you amazingly take it all in! Just thought with all that inside knowledge that you may have been the coach. Shows you that I should have gone back over all the posts. Best of luck playing tomorrow!

Pest reckons finals will be played out at Mazenods ground and the big one will be between Salesian and Oakleigh after Peninsula go out in straight sets on the back of a 3 goal finals campaign from Payze. (He proved last year that he wont kick goals when his team needs him.)

Peter Hoare said:
Payze. (He proved last year that he wont kick goals when his team needs him.)

Alah last weekend at Hoe Park, didn't like it tough. For such a good player he would have to be one of the softest footballers I've ever seen. Maybe Joshieboy should get a call up that week to help his team with marking Payze???

Coach Hollywood said:
Alah last weekend at Hoe Park, didn't like it tough. For such a good player he would have to be one of the softest footballers I've ever seen. Maybe Joshieboy should get a call up that week to help his team with marking Payze???

Wrong bloke to be comenting on softness when was the last time you went in for the hard ball coach, the only hard balls you go for are your boyfriends.

Darren Black said:
Wrong bloke to be comenting on softness when was the last time you went in for the hard ball coach, the only hard balls you go for are your boyfriends.

I heard the coach goes quite hard towards the tuck shop after the game

Darren Black said:
That wouldn't suprise me
Coming from the athlete himself? The bloke they call fairy floss down at the Borough for his round shape and soft inside, not to mention runs like he has a stick shoved up his ass?

King_Cobra said:
I heard the coach goes quite hard towards the tuck shop after the game
I'll just settle for the bar at Hoe Park instead thanks mate, not a tuck shop fan but love my pizza's.

King_cobra said:
Coach Hollywood just wandering if young Tyson Powell is getting a kick?
Tyson has gone pretty well when he's been playing, but has missed a few games through some unlucky injuries including another corky during the match last week.

No tips from you HSS?? I'll put down for away teams this week then.

I've been going back over the thread to see how our tips are going compared to our scribe? Seeing that Myself, HSS, Steetball & RFS have been the only regulars I've put together an attempt at a table. I've however left Sloth out as he hasn't posted any tips at all. Keeping his cards close to his chest I'd bet? We can now keep a tally going compared to the scribe untill the end of the season. Seeing some of us have missed a week here and there, I have awarded away wins for those rounds.

Here are the tips for each round remembering missed posts count as away tips.

CH - 2,3,1,3,3,5,4,1,3,4,3 (33) missed 3 rounds
HSS - 2,3,1,2,3,4,5,2,5,3,4 (34) missed 4 rounds
SB - 2,3,1,1,2,3,2,1,2,3,3 (23) missed 9 rounds
Scribe - 5,2,1,2,4,3,4,3,4,2,4 (34)

All Tippers getting 3 this week.
Scribe 37, HSS, 37, CH 36, SB 26.

Glen Eira, 4th - 1 point match of the year i think? RFS how's the ticker going mate??

Yeah Coach. Another close one :D ! Spoke to the other members of the match committee we decided we might need a ambo on standby for all games for the rest of the season :D ! For Willi it made 7 games out of 12 it has lost by under 2 goals this season. They would have to be close to being the most unlucky side in VAFA presently. Looking forward to our clash with La Trobe this week to put more pressure on the sides in the four.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Yeah Coach. Another close one :D ! Spoke to the other members of the match committee we decided we might need a ambo on standby for all games for the rest of the season :D ! For Willi it made 7 games out of 12 it has lost by under 2 goals this season. They would have to be close to being the most unlucky side in VAFA presently. Looking forward to our clash with La Trobe this week to put more pressure on the sides in the four.

No real shocks from the w/ends results, although the Pirates dealt Werribee a shellacking. Must have super groundsmen down that way. Willi are super stiff. How were the conditions from the games ? The local game I saw yesterday was a flashback to the halcyon days of the 70's and 80's, where mudpies were the order of the day each week. Crunch game for you this week, Coach. Lose this one and you can just about plan your away trips next year in D3..........

HotShoeShuffle said:
No real shocks from the w/ends results, although the Pirates dealt Werribee a shellacking. Must have super groundsmen down that way. Willi are super stiff. How were the conditions from the games ? The local game I saw yesterday was a flashback to the halcyon days of the 70's and 80's, where mudpies were the order of the day each week. Crunch game for you this week, Coach. Lose this one and you can just about plan your away trips next year in D3..........

Well HSS i can tell you first hand that the groundsmen down mt eliza aren't 'super' at all. In fact the ground condition was probably similar to the condition of the the ground which u spectated at. The reason they gave us such a belting was simply because they were first in all day and pushed the ball forward at all costs. As a backman it was hell all day the amount of time the ball spent in my area

streetball said:
sorry hot shoe shuffle, i meant in the actual team that was established, not the one that you put up. M.Hazell would be one of the first names i would put in if it was my side. I agree with coach on the young fella, he will see first hand though to make a better judgement for us. anyone have there tips for this week ? :thumbsu:

Alright, as promised it's time for an assesment on the discussed Salesian players.
1. M.Hazell, definate inclusion for TOTY. classy skills that shone in the conditions, questionable on toughness, as he pulled out of contests and hung out the back alot.
2.I.Bobetic, good player who read the game well. We kept dragging him to the goal square out of the play so he couldn't damage us. Should make TOTY?
3.H.Singh, Definetly not TOTY material on saturday's efforts but conditions didn't really suit a young skillful bloke with pace, none of this which he could use on Saturday, but still tried hard playing out of weight divison.

Anyone I missed? Good team who could beat Peninsula come finals though, but I'd expect them to finish 3rd??