D3 D3 2009

Veg

He paid 5 frees for the game - all to the house - What did you think of Boyceys overule on the headhigh in front of the pavilion [free to House even blind Freddy could have seen but your bloke who was in control didn't] & 3rd quarter Holding the man to House in front of goal [paid by Boyce & applauded by playing coach on the field]??

Nikko awaiting?

Nikko, love the way you stretch the truth to protect your own. Anyway, I wouldn't expect anything different - I would try to deflect attention from our umpire too if I had to.

Veg,

I don't have to protect him at all. Pity you don't have the courage to answer the hard questions but those 2 decisions + the last decision of the game v Hawthorn show he pays them as he sees it - That decision may keep us out of 4th spot?

Anyway nice "talking" Veg - hope you umpire us one day - shows us how a higher level ump does it!!

Nikko Out.

I am still dumfounded by the scoreline at Ross Gregory. Would someone explain to me how neither team scored a goal in a half of football in fine (if somewhat blustery) conditions?

Was the ground underwater?
Did the hundred year storm pass over the ground?
Did the two teams play Soccer for the first half?
Did both coaches insist on playing 16 men behind the ball?
Or did the Auskick kids play the first half?

Explain please Nikko...

I am amazed how much time and energy has been wasted discussing one umpire on here. I actually think the umpiring in the 2's this year in general has been excellent. The bloke from St Johns on the weekend was terrific and has been both games we had him. We should be pumping up the blokes who do a great job rather than consistently knocking blokes. We had 2 really good games between sides in the top 4 on the weekend, have 9th only 2 games out of 4th, 3 teams still in the hunt for the double chance, 1st vs 2nd and 3rd vs 4th coming up and 6 teams still a chance of being relegated and we have people taking shots at a bloke who volunteers every Saturday to help out his club. D3 would have to be the most even comp I have been involved in this year. Lets put the focus back on the players and the footy I think

Well done to UHS Ressies. Hard physical game.
Umpiring didn't come into it.

A little tip for those whinging about umpires - the wise words of a UHS hard nut - eat cement and tough it up. The less attention you pay to Boycey the better he umpires.

Thought discipline of "no back chatting to the umpires" was very good by both teams

Not sure about those decisions you spoke of Nikko. A decision already made is just that - already made and (although the rules allow it) will most likely never change. The next contest is then the focus.

Good luck for the rest of the year

Veg,

I don't have to protect him at all. Pity you don't have the courage to answer the hard questions but those 2 decisions + the last decision of the game v Hawthorn show he pays them as he sees it - That decision may keep us out of 4th spot?

Anyway nice "talking" Veg - hope you umpire us one day - shows us how a higher level ump does it!!

Nikko Out.

Nicco u have officially lost your edge.

Fact is grown men are not school kids nicco, tell him as much. He rubs out a young kid for saying "what a fking joke" after a decision then proceeds to fax a statement to the vafa and not show on the tuesday. His dictatorship should be questioned as it seems to be the bane of 9 other clubs. Seems we have a real D3 pest on our hands.

Would love some feedback nicco as u are clearly his public face. Whats the wage? 6 frees a week i spose.

Keep chopping arms mate and getting away with it...

Pete09

I am amazed how much time and energy has been wasted discussing one umpire on here. I actually think the umpiring in the 2's this year in general has been excellent. The bloke from St Johns on the weekend was terrific and has been both games we had him. We should be pumping up the blokes who do a great job rather than consistently knocking blokes. We had 2 really good games between sides in the top 4 on the weekend, have 9th only 2 games out of 4th, 3 teams still in the hunt for the double chance, 1st vs 2nd and 3rd vs 4th coming up and 6 teams still a chance of being relegated and we have people taking shots at a bloke who volunteers every Saturday to help out his club. D3 would have to be the most even comp I have been involved in this year. Lets put the focus back on the players and the footy I think

"Spider" I think his name is. He was also great when we had him both games. Hardly knew he was there, when scuffles broke out he just balled the ball straight up, didn't look for frees. Good twos umpire!!

Speaking of 2's umpiring, funny sight in the last quarter between Monash & the Hawks on the weekend. A scuffle broke out at a ball up and the umpire did the right thing and tried to get on with the game. Unfortunately, his ball up landed on top of the melee....needless to say it didn't have the desired effect....

Once again not quite sure how the Hawks managed to lose the game. Their first half was probably the best I have seen in the two years I have been watching them. Their inaccuracy in the second quarter kept Monash in the game and then Monash proceeded to kick 6 or 7 against the wind in the last when the Hawks ran out of puff...

Not saying the umpiring had a result on the game but that old blonde guy was absolutly terrible...

Fact is grown men are not school kids nicco, tell him as much. He rubs out a young kid for saying "what a fking joke" after a decision then proceeds to fax a statement to the vafa and not show on the tuesday. His dictatorship should be questioned as it seems to be the bane of 9 other clubs. Seems we have a real D3 pest on our hands.

Would love some feedback nicco as u are clearly his public face. Whats the wage? 6 frees a week i spose.

Pete09

I didnt play 1 minute in the backline this week, so there were no "chopping arms" buddy.

Fact is, swearing is not acceptable in the Vafa. And they made the rule, not Boyce. If bloke are stupid enough to swear at him, after all this poo that goes on here on big footy week after week, they deserve to be put down. Seriously, if you cant keep your mouth shut, especially when you know that it will be picked up by the ump and you will probably get done for it, why would you look at him and swear? How can you be a productive member of society? Have these guys all been labotomised or something? Did they have their squishy heads slammed in a car door when they were babies?

As for the frees, i cant remember many being given all day, Its all video taped so if you really want why dont you ask the house for a copy?

anyway nikko, aside from boyce matters...uni high 2's have to be a finals chance now....its going to be a ringadingdinga end to the season in ones and twos...
in the ones the jocs figured they needed to win one of their games against the top 3 teams to hold their spot...theyve lost 2 at home and now need to travel to the school to try and seal a finals birth
the amazing thing is everyone from 4 to 10 can make finals and be relegated....a couple of weeks ago the gryphs looked d4 starters for '10, but now itd be a fairly close race...
the house have run out of puff in the ones, with some major outs that would cause any side some issues..im sure the bentleigh boys are relieved they probably wont be there come september...hey snipe?
matches of the year in ones and twos this week, looks like fabulous ferndale will be the place to be come saturday, how exciting then for me that ill be at the auskick venue to watch the hawks and the house...loser relegated?

Pete09

Dear Pete [fellow hot puffer]

You know he wasn't reported for that?? Everyone heard it. Tribunal would throw that out! Reason he didn't show was b/c he was off work all week - a special variety of flu which confined him - get it?
Last free kick he gave me was in an intraclub practice match in 2006 & that was a down field job!
:p

Special prize Krusty - first to bite!
:rolleyes:

anyway nikko, aside from boyce matters...uni high 2's have to be a finals chance now....its going to be a ringadingdinga end to the season in ones and twos...
in the ones the jocs figured they needed to win one of their games against the top 3 teams to hold their spot...theyve lost 2 at home and now need to travel to the school to try and seal a finals birth
the amazing thing is everyone from 4 to 10 can make finals and be relegated....a couple of weeks ago the gryphs looked d4 starters for '10, but now itd be a fairly close race...
the house have run out of puff in the ones, with some major outs that would cause any side some issues..im sure the bentleigh boys are relieved they probably wont be there come september...hey snipe?
matches of the year in ones and twos this week, looks like fabulous ferndale will be the place to be come saturday, how exciting then for me that ill be at the auskick venue to watch the hawks and the house...loser relegated?

If true it would be disappointing for them, might explain the 1.9 on Saturday. Such a proud sporting club. Their twos are sitting third at the moment & my guess is they'll hang on to make it. We don't play them until Round 18 so they may get a few back by then. Still be a force to be reckoned with IMO.

Having a look at the draw over the next 4 weeks, I cant see Powerhouse or Uni winning another game.

THe House have -
Hawthorn (A)
SMS (H)
St Johns (A)
Bent (H)

Zero wins and % heading South.

Uni have
Elst (A)
STFX (H)
WB (A)
SMS (H)

Maybe some hope at WB.

But all this looks good for Monash, Hawthorn and WB.

Having a look at the draw over the next 4 weeks, I cant see Powerhouse or Uni winning another game.

THe House have -
Hawthorn (A)
SMS (H)
St Johns (A)
Bent (H)

Uni have
Elst (A)
STFX (H)
WB (A)
SMS (H)

Maybe some hope at WB.

It baffles me that Hawthorn are even spoken of in the relegation battle. Can anyone from the Hawks explain what went wrong this season?? You have the sides to be in the top four and should be genuine flag contenders. the outfit we played against a couple of weeks ago is the strongest side we've played this season. The home ground no doubt helps but you also played a good brand out at beacy in the early rounds. Good effort to be able to hang on to a player who could demand some serious coin in the country leagues also, Tower is the best player in D3 by a long stretch.

Good league to be a part of at the moment anyway, I genuinely think 5/5 tips is harder then an 8 in the AFL. Should be a cracking finals series. I also reckon D4 will have their hands full with whoever is relegated next season.

It baffles me that Hawthorn are even spoken of in the relegation battle. Can anyone from the Hawks explain what went wrong this season?? You have the sides to be in the top four and should be genuine flag contenders. the outfit we played against a couple of weeks ago is the strongest side we've played this season. The home ground no doubt helps but you also played a good brand out at beacy in the early rounds. Good effort to be able to hang on to a player who could demand some serious coin in the country leagues also, Tower is the best player in D3 by a long stretch.

Good league to be a part of at the moment anyway, I genuinely think 5/5 tips is harder then an 8 in the AFL. Should be a cracking finals series. I also reckon D4 will have their hands full with whoever is relegated next season.

Mate, this my observation of the Hawks from what I have seen and what the coach has given up. I think that the club is going through alot of changes and it has struggled, at times, with a more disciplined approach and most certainly with a new brand of football. I must take my hat off too the coach as not once has he lost faith in the club or the players. He has been bagged constantly on this forum and all he does is laugh about saying he would rather it was him and not the club. I have given the team a good old fashioned bake to him but he never deviates - always stating that things will turn and when they do to watch out. I thought he was friggin crazy and told him he should get out of there as quick as humanly possible. But, having said that I have seen some real signs in the last couple of weeks that show me he is not as crazy as I thought. The game against SFX and the first half against Monash was some of best style of game I have seen in D3. I now think the Hawks are on the right track. Good luck to them, I hope they stay up.

Looks like Quasi has taken the week off, but never fear, trusty old krusty is on hand to give out his all important tips for Round 15:

St Marys Salesian over Bentleigh by eight points - SMS may have lost their FF for the rest of the season, but I think they can get over the line in this possible grand final preview.

West Brunswick over Monash Gryphons by 22 points - Magpies at home can keep their slim finals chances alive and push the Gryphs closer to D4 action in 2010.

Elsternwick over Uni High by 33 points - Looks like Leigh Murphy might be given a run in the ones to see if he can help the Wicks sneak into the finals and get thumped in the first week.

Hawthorn over Powerhouse by 18 points - Hawks are playing some good footy and, at home, should be too strong for a struggling Powerhouse side.

St Francis Xavier over St Marys by two points - big local derby here with the Jocs having the more to play for. When was the last time the Jocs travelled East for a game of VAFA footy?

Quasi never has a week off but I will be brief, hence no Review.

Winners will be

Bentleigh by 16pts
Westies by 11 Pts
Wicks by 41 Pts
Hawks by 41 Pts
SFX by 25 Pts

Good luck to all

Quasi

THe House have -
Hawthorn (A)
SMS (H)
St Johns (A)
Bent (H)

Uni have
Elst (A)
STFX (H)
WB (A)
SMS (H)

Maybe some hope at WB.

Think you are on Ice ......... Berg???

The boys despite numerous injuries have pulled out 2 big away performances which has just about got us clear. Plenty of goals to be kicked in the next few weeks.

4TH spot looks to be very interesting and gettable for about 7 clubs?
:confused:

Looks like Quasi has taken the week off, but never fear, trusty old krusty is on hand to give out his all important tips for Round 15:

St Marys Salesian over Bentleigh by eight points - SMS may have lost their FF for the rest of the season, but I think they can get over the line in this possible grand final preview.

West Brunswick over Monash Gryphons by 22 points - Magpies at home can keep their slim finals chances alive and push the Gryphs closer to D4 action in 2010.

Elsternwick over Uni High by 33 points - Looks like Leigh Murphy might be given a run in the ones to see if he can help the Wicks sneak into the finals and get thumped in the first week.

Hawthorn over Powerhouse by 18 points - Hawks are playing some good footy and, at home, should be too strong for a struggling Powerhouse side.

St Francis Xavier over St Marys by two points - big local derby here with the Jocs having the more to play for. When was the last time the Jocs travelled East for a game of VAFA footy?

Krustation, ummm very important tips

2 more reports C.I.S.

after yesterday it seems there are no challengers to bentleigh. st marys-salesian are the biggest threat but bentleigh didn't have to dig too deep to get their 5 goal win. sms threatened all day but never seriously looked like winning. I would suggest the bentleigh boys may sneak a few peaks at the D1 ladder over these last 3 rounds of the season as old foe south melb are in a 3 way relegation battle. time for redemption against their worst enemy if they face off in D2 next year? or would bentleigh not want to face them at all after the history they've had? this D3 flag is bentleigh's to lose. sms have to find some new tricks if they are to have a serious chance on grandfinal day. need to work out how to stop sharp and robertson although sharp did an injury late yesterday. hammy?

considering sfx beat sms a couple of weeks ago by 4 goals and where right with bentleigh until the last 10mins.i think you might be getting ahead of yourself. from what i have seen bentleigh are the ones to beat for sure. but in what has been a fairly even comp all year i dont think you can engrave anyones name on the cup just yet. look forward to a cracker end to the year

... but in what has been a fairly even comp all year i dont think you can engrave anyones name on the cup just yet. look forward to a cracker end to the year

What an understatement!

Every team outside the four has a chance, albeit slim in some cases. Relegation is not yet decided either. Bruce McAveny would be salivating!

The Ammos must make some make some editorial from these prospects.

Gosh, what a season. Form, lack of form, upsets, boilovers etc...who would have picked it? Not me for sure.
Sentimental favourites for the flag are Bentleigh. If for only the sake that they have been bridesmaids to the SMD's too many times. They have recruited some big bodies this season and that's served them well.

StMarys Salesian would be my pick for brides attendants this season and D2 in'10. Stiff I believe.

SFX have done well in D3 and will be a threat for seasons to come.

Fourth place is up for grabs and is perhaps only a consolation for the last finalist.
Bring on the footy trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RELEGATION.
Ohh, that word, for some means humtliation, for others, salvation (if they can pluck a flag from the ashes.)
Who can it be now....?

considering sfx beat sms a couple of weeks ago by 4 goals and where right with bentleigh until the last 10mins.i think you might be getting ahead of yourself. from what i have seen bentleigh are the ones to beat for sure. but in what has been a fairly even comp all year i dont think you can engrave anyones name on the cup just yet. look forward to a cracker end to the year
Good call. After seeing them both over the past 2 weeks I think StFX are better than SMS despite being a game behind on the ladder.
1- they defeated SMS by 24 points in round 12
2- they should've beaten us (Bentleigh) last week but couldn't land the killer blow, credit to our boys!!
Both games yesterday at Ferndale lived up to the expectations with the later game probably still up for grabs with 10 minutes to go and the early game ending with only 2 points the difference.
Can't wait for the finals series.. it's been a while. Also amazed at how close it currently is from 4th-10th!! One of St Johns, Elsternwick, WB or UHSVU will make the finals while two of Elsternwick, WB, UHSVU, Hawthorn, Powerhouse and Monash must be relegated (unless D3 is a 12-team comp in 2010). Plenty to play for!!