D4 D4 2008

Craig Horne from Kew will go alright, has the abillity to kick big bags.

I've seen both Horne and Whiting in action (Whiting only the one game last year, but he kicked a fair few and could have had more) and would think the Fish is a much better chance at taking out the goalkicking.

Pom - are the Benjamin brothers still down at West? One of them used to be captain right... is he still?

Both gone and John Haysey is now skipper.
We have recruited a young gun, L Stewart who kicked a few goals last year and should be dangerous.

Nah Waz, the wheels have fallen off, Fish has been caught, and its all looking crap down at KB. (Give the scribes nothing mate!!)

Time to skuttle the boat and re-build again. Poor ol' snakes.
(Give the scribes nothing mate!!)

Onto Sth Morn, if they improve with numbers from last year and their seniors only have to play 1 game, (As a few had to play both) I'll tip them for the flag!

I hear you might have found some new wheels for your self this year lakey? What happened to that 7 foot tall mate of yours that was going to cmoe down to training :)

The rumour mill is suggesting that RC have been extracting a few from a certain Northern League club that are good footballers. If thats the case RC must be pushing closer to finals action, and possibly pushing the best teams in this comp.

Any truth in it?

The rumour mill is suggesting that RC have been extracting a few from a certain Northern League club that are good footballers. If thats the case RC must be pushing closer to finals action, and possibly pushing the best teams in this comp.

Any truth in it?

No truth in it as far as I know.

Marcus Goonan is my source from within RC ranks, and he is as pure as the driven snow. He couldn't lie straight in bed.

Any truth in it?

All were seconds players at Diamond Creek, however, a couple played seniors from time to time.

I'd agree with Waz on Whiting. Not overly big, not overly fast or a high flyer.
Just knows how to play footy. Gets it regularly and seldom misses. Will kick plenty of goals and is Richmonds best player.

I agree Fish would be my tip for the Goal Kicking.

is this the bloke that played at old westbourne. if it is why did he leave OW. was it as simple as just living in or around richmond.

who do people think will win the D4 B & F.

the bloke from West Brunswick would have to be a chance. i think his name is irving. went close or maybe won the D3 B & F last year i think.. i may be mistaken.

but anyways he is a good footballer. is he playing for WB again this year??

is this the bloke that played at old westbourne. if it is why did he leave OW. was it as simple as just living in or around richmond.

the bloke from West Brunswick would have to be a chance. i think his name is irving. went close or maybe won the D3 B & F last year i think.. i may be mistaken.

Albert Park
Player to Watch: N. Dallas

North Brunswick
Player to Watch: G. Holdstock

Richmond Central
Player to Watch: T. Whiting

Sth Mornington
Player to Watch: R. Sissons

Syndal
Player to Watch: F. George

Buleen
Player to Watch: Tim Conn

Eley park
Player to Watch: M. Viloa

Mt Liyldale
Player to Watch: M. Rhodes

SFX
Player to Watch: ? J. Lenders ?

Kew
Player to Watch: G. Williams

West Brunswick
Player to Watch: B. Irving

Bulleen

Conny will have a good year for the Cobras (as he always does) & Cookson as everyone knows is a player to be reckoned with in D4. There are a few other blokes that are much better conditioned this year than last & may shake things up a bit.

The Cobras will be a much more even outfit this year. Not so sure that there's anyone there to rip the competition a new one, but the 22nd player in Bulleen's senior team will be a much better player than the same position last year.

The overall depth at the club will be much better too....

By the sounds of everyone else though, the competition may have improved by a fair bit. It's certainly a great advertisement for the VAFA that D4 has improved so much over the last few years.

Brig it on!!!!

One and the same. OW poached him from Wyndamvale (WRFL) to play in our U/19's where he played for about 3-4 years. He lives near the bloke who was coaching W'vale and was playing cricket there also so they managed to convince him to go back there at the start of 07. Fortunately for RC's, W'vale are a rabble so Fish made a wise decision and left half way through last year. He ended up at RC's through the senior coach there who used to coach him in juniors at W'vale.

Is a quality player who loves kicking a goal. Although I reckon he would be an even more damaging player if he got some fitness and had a run in the midfield more often.

Buleen
Player to Watch: Damian Truslove

Unless he goes walkabout before the end of the season he will be right up there in the comp b&f votes.

Played three games for OW and was BOG each time in 05. One of those games was against Kew at their ground, some of those boys may remember him.

Can report we (SFX) had a solid 6 quarter hitout against South Mornington, it was basically 3 quarters of reserves and 3 quarters of seniors with plenty of overlapping due to limited numbers.

There was one end of the ground with a huge Benny Gale blowing so the teams that had it in the first and third quarters had an obvious advantage.

First 3 quarters saw SFX victors by about 50 points but had the wind advantage.

Next three quarters saw South Mornington victors by 4 goals (this time they had the wind advantage) but would still say they outplayed us. Unsure of how many they had out but we were missing about 10 from our first 22 due to cricket etc.

Ordinary day for football with the wind,heat and hard ground but good for blokes to blow out some cobwebs. Must be said South Mornington were a ripper bunch of blokes who all stayed back for a well deserved beer. Their seniors definitely look like they'll be a handy outfit, very slick and hard at it and gave us a good idea of what to expect.

Thought their number 2 (think they were referring to him as "Rich") was probably BOG. must be noted that the "Taskmaster" also took a few very good contested grabs and looks at home in the SFX forward line!

Looking forward to a hitout with Syndal in a couple of weekends.

Ohhh your to kind Roo. It was a good hit out, very bl..dy hot though!!! It was a bit of a struggle with 10 of our best out. I am feeling very at home at SFX, its a great club, great blokes and cannot wait til our next hit out against my old mob, Syndal. A few have told me that they are going to Line me up, belt me etc..................so bring it on!!!!

I agree we will finish bottom, wooden spoon for sure!!! Let the rest of em talk themselves up in pre season, it will all be sorted out by round 5!!!

And Sth Mornington will be a good side. Im not sure why everyone is saying they will be ave. Just remeber you people that played D4 last season that Sth were just out of finals contention half way through last season. Until they had a falling out with there senior coach. So go ahead take them and us (SFX) for that matter, lightly and we may just surprise you!!!

Eley park

SFX
Player to Watch: ? J. Lenders ? S. Van Dam!!!!:)

You might find that M. Viola has retired. Very good player though!!! Tough as nails.

Albert Park

North Brunswick

Richmond Central

Sth Mornington

Syndal

Buleen

Eley park

Mt Liyldale

SFX

Kew

West Brunswick

Gone to Bulleen Temp during the week!!

West Brunny have Steve Smythe at full forward. Sits in the square and not many blokes will be able to move him. Needs to stay fit tho.

J Sudholz, kicks a long ball and should be a chance.

Excuse the WB bias :)

Jeez way to live up to the whinging pom tag!

What about the tall blond haired English guy you had running around down there last year. Word has it he had fairly bit tickets on himself as a power forward.

Is the new ruckman Sticks?

Eley park

SFX
Player to Watch: ? J. Lenders ? S. Van Dam!!!!:)

You might find that M. Viola has retired. Very good player though!!! Tough as nails.

Taskmaster, i think you are thinking of D "Pigga' Payne, and yes he has retired. Micky Viola, will be right up there, after a solid pre season for the Sharks..

it will all be sorted out by round 5!!!

And Sth Mornington will be a good side... Sth were just out of finals contention half way through last season. Until they had a falling out with there senior coach...

Contradiction of the week.

If it's all sorted out by round 5, the wheels shouldn't have fallen off Sth Mornington??

Albert Park

North Brunswick

Richmond Central

Sth Mornington

Syndal

Buleen

Eley park

Mt Liyldale

SFX

Kew

West Brunswick

Doesn't play for us anymore. Unfortunately is playing closer to home - for Therry.

Ohhh your to kind Roo. It was a good hit out, very bl..dy hot though!!! It was a bit of a struggle with 10 of our best out. I am feeling very at home at SFX, its a great club, great blokes and cannot wait til our next hit out against my old mob, Syndal. A few have told me that they are going to Line me up, belt me etc..................so bring it on!!!!

I agree we will finish bottom, wooden spoon for sure!!! Let the rest of em talk themselves up in pre season, it will all be sorted out by round 5!!!

And Sth Mornington will be a good side. Im not sure why everyone is saying they will be ave. Just remeber you people that played D4 last season that Sth were just out of finals contention half way through last season. Until they had a falling out with there senior coach. So go ahead take them and us (SFX) for that matter, lightly and we may just surprise you!!!

Don't know what you're on about... most people on this board have sfx making the finals. I think its going to be a lot more open than last year though.

It does seem likely to be very close. Most years in D4 it's the clubs that drop a few games early that struggle to catch up. Very important to win your first couple.......

Cobras have a tough start. Kew first up will be a very good barometer one would think....