D4 D4 2008

wouldnt call losing going well! is baker still playing? or is benett playing a lone hand? there only two players in my opinion? nth brunswick must be struggling to get pumped by bulleen... box hill once again pretenders? lack of depth and relying on too few too get the job done prob the key...

Baker has a broken arm.

wouldnt call losing going well! is baker still playing? or is benett playing a lone hand? there only two players in my opinion? nth brunswick must be struggling to get pumped by bulleen... box hill once again pretenders? lack of depth and relying on too few too get the job done prob the key...
Falcons still a solid effort against WB and still in finals mix, along with RC who took it up to SFX. Sharkers may have some confidence at the expense of SM who will begin their slide down the ladder. Yes, as predicted Box Hill again pretenders and the Mountainmen start to roll on.
Kew comprehensive over the Sinners and the NB BC match a rev up for the Cobras.

Falcons still a solid effort against WB and still in finals mix, along with RC who took it up to SFX. Sharkers may have some confidence at the expense of SM who will begin their slide down the ladder. Yes, as predicted Box Hill again pretenders and the Mountainmen start to roll on.
Kew comprehensive over the Sinners and the NB BC match a rev up for the Cobras.

definitely took it up to us in a tough game of footy. Think they'll be harder to beat at home on a smaller ground. looking like 5 spots available for 7 teams at this part of the season, The draw will obviously have a big impact on who makes it and who doesn't.

What did you make of the road trip Lakey?

definitely took it up to us in a tough game of footy. Think they'll be harder to beat at home on a smaller ground. looking like 5 spots available for 7 teams at this part of the season, The draw will obviously have a big impact on who makes it and who doesn't.

SFX a side who don't rely on individuals but seemed to have solid players all over the ground who seemed to all do there part? Great bunch of blokes! Watched the game and by the 4th quarter both sides could only laugh at the umpiring calls. Both sides did well to contain frustrations. Some of the worst umpiring I have ever seen, and i have watched and played a lot of football. :thumbsdown:

usually one to bat for the men in white.....but.... have to agree mate, some interesting interpretations. Got to the stage where it was beyond frustration and humorous. Quality opposition though and look forward to playing you blokes again.

The 2 gentlemen in white at SFX/Snakes game were the same 2 at the STHo/BH game last week.
I too am loath to overly criticise our umps. We need them more than any other official.
I am afraid Ron and Peter are in a league of their own when it comes to strange judgements.
They always umpire together, and this is compounding the problem.
They never change which end they are at (this would mean they would have to run). They will rarely call for a bounce (I assume this is because they don't like to run in and have to through it up). They will pluck the 3rd or 4th free if the pack won't release the ball, so as to not have to ball it up. Never pay playon to advantage. Rarely look behind the play. And their ball ups are very inconsistent and hard for ruckmen to time a run at.

It is with much sadness I say we in D4, would be better off if these 2 were not given control of a D4 fixture again.
They are much better suited to a clubbies game.
Sorry to all clubbies.

Going back to some earlier posts regarding ressie club umps, and the general concensus that the Nth Brunny guy was a diamond; maybe we as clubs in D4 could ease the umpire problem and guarantee quality umps for ourselves at the same time.
If enough clubs endorsed a certain ressies umpire, then Wiggy and VAFA could allocate that person to umpire his clubs senior games.
Mt Lilydale pay for a guy from the VAFA approved ranks to do both of their games. The spud they had last year was a worry but the guy that I saw yesterday was fair enough I thought.
It would mean the club umpires would have to want to do 2 games in a row. Also they would be subject to VAFAUA observers watching them as well. But it would be a chance for the umps in question to earn some good coin in one afternoon.

Who knows, maybe it may even encourage some extra umpires into the ranks if they know they can be at a regular gig and get double time payment for their efforts.

I know BH have many guys ratified by VAFA to umpire ressies. A couple of those are excellent. Some are serviceble. And a couple are a bit timid (miss a lot).
But even with about 10 registered to do the job we still occassionly have Saturdays where it is a struggle to get any of them to do the job. We pay pretty well for someone to do it. But if we were able to offer a ressies fee and a senior payment, maybe we could get someone who was good enough to do both games.

Just a thought.:rolleyes:

Nelly. I know you've gone into a vow of silence (makes a pair now to match that celibacy one your Mrs made you take:p) but I would appreciate your feedback on this, even if just a PM.

Another tough close loss for the Centrals against quality opposition. Number 9 for SFX is a pretty decent player... he carved us up in the last quarter after we took the lead.

I wouldn't say that KB was smaller than DeJong oval though. KB would be 20 meters longer and 10m skinnier...

Bring on South Mornington, a must win for the centrals to stay in the hunt.

The 2 gentlemen in white at SFX/Snakes game were the same 2 at the STHo/BH game last week.
I too am loath to overly criticise our umps. We need them more than any other official.
I am afraid Ron and Peter are in a league of their own when it comes to strange judgements.
They never change which end they are at (this would mean they would have to run). They will rarely call for a bounce (I assume this is because they don't like to run in and have to through it up). They will pluck the 3rd or 4th free if the pack won't release the ball, so as to not have to ball it up. Never pay playon to advantage. Rarely look behind the play. And their ball ups are very inconsistent and hard for ruckmen to time a run at.

It is with much sadness I say we in D4, would be better off if these 2 were not given control of a D4 fixture again.
Sorry to all clubbies.

Going back to some earlier posts regarding ressie club umps, and the general concensus that the Nth Brunny guy was a diamond; maybe we as clubs in D4 could ease the umpire problem and guarantee quality umps for ourselves at the same time.
If enough clubs endorsed a certain ressies umpire, then Wiggy and VAFA could allocate that person to umpire his clubs senior games.
Mt Lilydale pay for a guy from the VAFA approved ranks to do both of their games. The spud they had last year was a worry but the guy that I saw yesterday was fair enough I thought.
It would mean the club umpires would have to want to do 2 games in a row. Also they would be subject to VAFAUA observers watching them as well. But it would be a chance for the umps in question to earn some good coin in one afternoon.

Who knows, maybe it may even encourage some extra umpires into the ranks if they know they can be at a regular gig and get double time payment for their efforts.

I know BH have many guys ratified by VAFA to umpire ressies. A couple of those are excellent. Some are serviceble. And a couple are a bit timid (miss a lot).
But even with about 10 registered to do the job we still occassionly have Saturdays where it is a struggle to get any of them to do the job. We pay pretty well for someone to do it. But if we were able to offer a ressies fee and a senior payment, maybe we could get someone who was good enough to do both games.

Nelly. I know you've gone into a vow of silence (makes a pair now to match that celibacy one your Mrs made you take:p) but I would appreciate your feedback on this, even if just a PM.

Spot on eyespy.
Maybe thats why I didn't get a kick against Syndal? :)

Sorry to all clubbies.

My colleagues out on the Pro tour tell me that it is not only the 2 occasions mentioned on this forum that these Umpires have over officiated. The answer is simple - split them up and don't let them umpire together.

Congrats to the Cobras. Played them in round 1 and seem to be a good bunch of blokes. Seem to be on the right track and will win the fair share of games.

Also had Nelly umpire us on the weekend. Don't know what all the fuss is about. He makes the odd blue but I can guarantee that our players make more mistakes than he does. And one of the few umpires that comes in for a drink. Should be more of it. :thumbsu:

Sorry to all clubbies.

Mt Lilydale umpire was from the EFL, we have him for both 1's & 2's. I'm led to believe that he found the going very tough when umpiring on consecutive weeks with the person you mention above.

The best thing you guys/clubs can do when frustrated by a pair off or one ump is get the club president to speak with Brian Goodman. It's important that he gets constructive feedback even if you win or lose game, does work believe me:thumbsu:

Must have been a great effort by AP to run WB so close.....maybe there is some hope for other clubs after all, or is it that WB don't play well on the small ground and they can't run the ball as well??

Mt Lilydale umpire was from the EFL, we have him for both 1's & 2's. I'm led to believe that he found the going very tough when umpiring on consecutive weeks with the person you mention above.

The best thing you guys/clubs can do when frustrated by a pair off or one ump is get the club president to speak with Brian Goodman. It's important that he gets constructive feedback even if you win or lose game, does work believe me:thumbsu:

Must have been a great effort by AP to run WB so close.....maybe there is some hope for other clubs after all, or is it that WB don't play well on the small ground and they can't run the ball as well??

West had a few out by the looks of it. I notice that their 6'6 CHF Suddoltz didn't play.

My colleagues out on the Pro tour tell me that it is not only the 2 occasions mentioned on this forum that these Umpires have over officiated. The answer is simple - split them up and don't let them umpire together.

Normally I would say that would help.
But my mail is that on the rare occassion they have been split, the guy they pair up with for the week gets infuriated at their laziness and lack of protocol (like handing over who has control of the play and moving up to cover the mark etc) and feels they have been made to look bad as well. Best off send them down to clubbies or 19s and let someone, from VAFAUA, re educate them b4 getting back into D4 (with different partners for sure).

Hey Rooster, how are you?

Mate, loved the trip up the Hwy, very relaxing and quite scenic!

You guys have great facilities and a top ground. Good bunch of blokes and two very good - tight games! Pitty we lost but you blokes just wanted it more.....

hahaha nice 1 rooster, youve always had a soft spot for the men in white after been given the whistle way back in a high school intra club match....fair to say even ur best mates couldnt contain their frustrations!

that and ur junior days as poster boy for nwjfc has tainted ur viewpoint....seriously when have u seen an under 14 player do visits to vic kick clinics and community involvment functions....its just in ur nature roo...but dont be fooled 94.4% of umps looove the attention

p.s barcelona sun making for a wicked footy short tan...see in under a week knackers :)

Hey Rooster, how are you?

Mate, loved the trip up the Hwy, very relaxing and quite scenic!

You guys have great facilities and a top ground. Good bunch of blokes and two very good - tight games! Pitty we lost but you blokes just wanted it more.....

Lakey, we like to roll out the red carpet for our opposition, its more so that we can soften the blow wen we roll you.:D

Roo, Peter and Ron (The 2 umpires) always umpire together!!! You do wonder wat the hell they are thinking most times. Im sure you noticed that there combined age was about 150...........I reckon its time for them to umpire clubbies????

It will be good to have the D-Rod back. Just another potent midfielder to add to an already strong mid field. I may struggle to get back in the side after injury!!:(

Lakey, we like to roll out the red carpet for our opposition, its more so that we can soften the blow wen we roll you.:D

Roo, Peter and Ron (The 2 umpires) always umpire together!!! You do wonder wat the hell they are thinking most times. Im sure you noticed that there combined age was about 150...........I reckon its time for them to umpire clubbies????

It will be good to have the D-Rod back. Just another potent midfielder to add to an already strong mid field. I may struggle to get back in the side after injury!!:(

Someone should ring the boys at Kew and tell them not to bother showing up this week. The midfield juggernaught is coming to town.

Maybe you could do that for us?? No room for humour in this forum, to many humour nazi's in here!!!!

Oh ye did I mention that M.Voss is now the playing coach at SFX?? Ye, he knocked back the GC job to join SFX. Better facilities than carrara and a better list to work with................

Maybe you could do that for us?? No room for humour in this forum, to many humour nazi's in here!!!!

Oh ye did I mention that M.Voss is now the playing coach at SFX?? Ye, he knocked back the GC job to join SFX. Better facilities than carrara and a better list to work with................

Obviously you lost your sense of humour when reading Malachi's post!!!

On a side note well done to the Cobras and Eley Park on their first wins for the year and hope that Syndal and North Brunny (not this week) aren't far away!!

Where was the humour in your post? All you did was talk yourself up again. Weren't you meant to be getting off this forum?

He's obviously been reading about all the good things you guys have been saying about yourselves on here. :p

Rankings for clubs that talked themseleves up way to much before the seaon started are and have shown little: (From best to worst)
12. SM
11. WB
10. EP
9. BHN
8. AP
7. SFX
6.KEW
5. NB
4.RC
3. SYN
2. MTL
THE WINNER IS