D4 D4 2008

There are many D4 clubs that would LOVE to have a school affiliation. Unfortunately there isn't much in the way of (boys) private schools in Richmond. Plenty within eyesight across the river though!

Try playing in a suburb surounded by Private schools. Very hard to keep a hold of your high quality juniors. We rely heavily on Uni students moving into the area as a way of recruiting.

Kew......

Ground - Appears bigger than what it actually is when you're playing it, nice surface and will be a picture with a bit of rain (shins pulled up sh1thouse). Similar to our ground in that the wings are nice and fat and would benefit the running teams.7/10

Rooms - Can't really complain about the old scout hall, roomy and the water was hot, only complaint would be the small courtesy bus fee to get to the oval from the rooms;)8/10

Canteen - Didn't get to see it at peak time and collected the last bit of hot food for the day, seemed pretty standard. 7/10

Bar - Probably be a hard bar to match, tap beer, good feel and walls littered with a bit of history. 10/10

Attitude-21 quality blokes on and off the field.can't bring myself to include one opponent who murmered to himself in excess of 300 times "fu*k these c*nts" whatever gets you fired up though I suppose. Coach is a good bloke who knows his footy. 9/10

Does anyone know if it is possible to obtain a copy of the weekly record on the vafa website?? I am sure I have found it in past however I cant seem to locate one now. Cheers

West Brunswick

Ground - Long ground but skinny, no where for half fowards and wingers to run if they like to go wide. Good Condition. 8/10

Rooms - Pretty small, there are 2 sections and it is hard to put all players in one section. Toilets are in the changerooms (with door) but not in an area away from the changerooms. Can be hard if someone has had Thai or Indian the night before. :(4/10

Canteen - Didn't put the hot food on until quarter time in 2's. Pies are good, however, hot dogs are ordinary. 5/10

Bar - Good Bar with history on the walls, only down side is can't watch the game from there. 7/10

Attitude-Good Blokes (most country boys) who love a beer, great both on and off the field. 9/10

Kew......

Ground - Appears bigger than what it actually is when you're playing it, nice surface and will be a picture with a bit of rain (shins pulled up sh1thouse). Similar to our ground in that the wings are nice and fat and would benefit the running teams.7/10

Rooms - Can't really complain about the old scout hall, roomy and the water was hot, only complaint would be the small courtesy bus fee to get to the oval from the rooms;)8/10

Canteen - Didn't get to see it at peak time and collected the last bit of hot food for the day, seemed pretty standard. 7/10

Bar - Probably be a hard bar to match, tap beer, good feel and walls littered with a bit of history. 10/10

Attitude-21 quality blokes on and off the field.can't bring myself to include one opponent who murmered to himself in excess of 300 times "fu*k these c*nts" whatever gets you fired up though I suppose. Coach is a good bloke who knows his footy. 9/10

Can't wait to play at Kew then! 7-8-7-10-9...

Kew......

We had made a big effort to improve the bar standard. Pure blondes and imported beers have been successful. The syndal boys however were just interested in the stock standard green cans, no fancy shit for them.:D

Can't wait to play at Kew then! 7-8-7-10-9...

I only know Kew's ground from playing cricket there...and it is a really great venue for local sport. Fond memories of winning a semi final there (some time back now).

Perhaps I'll give the wrap on Richmond Centrals then....

Ground: Good size, fairly wide - not overly long, ground condition is usually pretty good too. 8/10

Rooms - Plenty of room with the gym area being useful - little being broken up by it being essentially two rooms - bit of a distance from the ground but all in all - 7/10.

Canteen - soild. standard food you'd expect, friendly service. 7/10

Bar- Couple of the boys were surprise at the absence of any spirits, i'm a beer drinker so I couldn't care less! Always a good prize for the away best on's. Nice one. 7/10.

Attitude - Always hoped for the best for RC when they were struggling. Admired how they went about it then. Still good blokes now that they're a good team. A few genuine lunatics on the field, but everyone gets the white line fever at times. Good club, with good leading people. 8.5/10

West Brunswick

Ground - Long ground but skinny, no where for half fowards and wingers to run if they like to go wide. Good Condition. 8/10

Rooms - Pretty small, there are 2 sections and it is hard to put all players in one section. Toilets are in the changerooms (with door) but not in an area away from the changerooms. Can be hard if someone has had Thai or Indian the night before. :(4/10

Canteen - Didn't put the hot food on until quarter time in 2's. Pies are good, however, hot dogs are ordinary. 5/10

Bar - Good Bar with history on the walls, only down side is can't watch the game from there. 7/10

Attitude-Good Blokes (most country boys) who love a beer, great both on and off the field. 9/10

In Fine Form will be dirrty on this, he loves his hotdogs, been known to do a couple before a game followed by a few more after the game.

Surely no one can beat the Roast Beef rolls at the cobradome. Add a bit of cheese, and bit of mustard - all with the gravy - too bloody good. The NB boys do a very good job on the canteen too. great bunch of blokes, but there ground is in really poor condition. Is normally pretty good though - I know they had a very rough trot with the council seeding the ground.

Full Report?

The NB canteens gourmet Focacchia's & made to order toasted sangas are hard to beat when you get there early.

A rough trot with the council indeed. They struggle as an organisation.

By popular demand!

Ground - Pretty small, has some deep pockets, but generally small - poor Condition, which would be better if not for the council as I said earlier. 3/10

Rooms - Pretty small again, No Toilets in the rooms, have to go around the back and then share a shower with the home team. 4/10

Canteen - One of my favourite venues - great rolls with the roasted mediteranian vegies and salami a favourite - but also look out for the spinach & ricotta rolls. 9/10

Bar - Good Bar with history on the walls, down side is can't watch the game from there. 7/10

Attitude-Good Blokes who we share a great tradition with. Good selection of stuff in the fridge. They love a beer, great people both on and off the field. 8/10

South Mornington

Ground - grass covered maybe 10% of the ground. Decent size but surface was dreadful and hopefully improved by now. 1/10 for having goal posts

S44ML833.JPG

Rooms - smelly would be the first term that comes to mind. No-one I know has been brave enough to use the showers. Away rooms' floors were covered in wet mud the day we played despite the ground being bone dry. Toilets may harbour organisms not yet classified by taxonomists- I was too scared to look. 1/10 for having a roof

Canteen - Had the basic footy food groups (hot dogs, pies etc). Extra points for the talent that was hanging around there. 6/10

Bar - Has a fire, polished wood bar and heaps of space. 9.5/10 (half point off for not being next to the ground)

Attitude - I played in the twos and the players I was on were good blokes from my end. 8/10

South Mornington

Ground - grass covered maybe 10% of the ground. Decent size but surface was dreadful and hopefully improved by now. 1/10 for having goal posts

S44ML833.JPG

Rooms - smelly would be the first term that comes to mind. No-one I know has been brave enough to use the showers. Away rooms' floors were covered in wet mud the day we played despite the ground being bone dry. Toilets may harbour organisms not yet classified by taxonomists- I was too scared to look. 1/10 for having a roof

Canteen - Had the basic footy food groups (hot dogs, pies etc). Extra points for the talent that was hanging around there. 6/10

Bar - Has a fire, polished wood bar and heaps of space. 9.5/10 (half point off for not being next to the ground)

Attitude - I played in the twos and the players I was on were good blokes from my end. 8/10
Bulleen:

Ground: Excellent condition. Pity it has to be shared with a C grade club, but that's the council for you. Wide, long and very green. Centre square a bit hard, will soften up as the season goes on. One of the best, if not the best ground in D4. 10/10 (Very biased of course)

Rooms: Ok. Can't complain. Never used the showers. Too scared to bend over and pick up the soap. 7/10

Canteen: As one plugger28 mentioned earlier, the PAPPAS roast beef roll is hard to beat. Must give credit where credit is due though, NB's foccacias are awesome. A variety of soft drinks to choose from. The usual hot dogs and pies as well. 7/10

Bar: Doesn't have of those foreign beers but good stock anyway. Very FRIENDLY service. Pity the looks don't match the service though. Clubrooms kept neat and tidy too. 8/10 (The high score is for the bartender).

Attitude: Awesome bunch of blokes. Lots of new faces gelling very well with the old. 8/10

Bulleen's rolls are superb, unparallelled in D grade footy as far as I have been able to tell. I look forward to the fachcachiahs at NB if they are within a bull's roar, they must be good.

As someone who has been to both Kew's and WB's home grounds over the years, I don't know how the 2 or 3 year old tiled showers of WB don't rank it above the 75 year old Asbestos sheeting at Kew. Size and layout at Brunswick needs work, agreed, but 4 new, functioning showers surely outrank two punctured holes in a copper/lead alloy pipe.

I have heard the bar at South Mornington is sensational but I am wondering maybe it's got something lot to do with the contrast from the changerooms and oval?!

Bulleen:

Ground: Excellent condition. Pity it has to be shared with a C grade club, but that's the council for you. Wide, long and very green. Centre square a bit hard, will soften up as the season goes on. One of the best, if not the best ground in D4. 10/10 (Very biased of course)

Rooms: Ok. Can't complain. Never used the showers. Too scared to bend over and pick up the soap. 7/10

Canteen: As one plugger28 mentioned earlier, the PAPPAS roast beef roll is hard to beat. Must give credit where credit is due though, NB's foccacias are awesome. A variety of soft drinks to choose from. The usual hot dogs and pies as well. 7/10

Bar: Doesn't have of those foreign beers but good stock anyway. Very FRIENDLY service. Pity the looks don't match the service though. Clubrooms kept neat and tidy too. 8/10 (The high score is for the bartender).

Attitude: Awesome bunch of blokes. Lots of new faces gelling very well with the old. 8/10

You can't review your own club 65!!!!! BOOO HISSSS!!!!! This post should be stricken from the records.... and you only gave your team mates 8-10 for attitude...

South Mornington

S44ML833.JPG

I hope someone from the vafa takes a look at that photo... What a disgrace. I hope it's improved by round 15!

Agree that you can't review your own club, what a load a of nonsense!

Love that photo, you can just see the next in the series, the tackled Cobra gets up only able to open one eye and a kilo of dirt flys out of his mouth when he tries to cough it up.

I have heard the bar at South Mornington is sensational but I am wondering maybe it's got something lot to do with the contrast from the changerooms and oval?!

Even if the ground was like the MCG I'd still rate the bar very highly. Feels like you're in a country pub.

This weeks 2's clash of:

West Brunswick vs Bulleen Cobras should provide the biggest winning margin of the year.

Even hail won't save the Cobras

A tad harsh rooster.

One thing you will learn about the cobra's, (1s or 2's) they dont roll over part their cheecks and clench their teeth for anyone. The buggers will fight like hell and if Wests take it even slightly easy, they will be in for a shock. I rekon it will be much closer in both grades than people think. Perhaps not upset of the year stuff, but they will give them a scare......

15 degrees and Hail.... Lovely.... No ones had much training in the wet I'm guessing, so it will level the playing field across the board... expect some upsets I reckon.

This weeks 2's clash of:

West Brunswick vs Bulleen Cobras should provide the biggest winning margin of the year.

Even hail won't save the Cobras

The Cobras 2's are significantly improved on last year, even if we are 0-5. I'm not about to suggest an upset, but I've got no intention of using a mirror to see the smile on WB's faces.

We'll put up a good fight, whatever the state of the scoreboard. As for the largest winnning margin of the year, I'd be pi$$ed, as well as shocked if that happened.