D4 D4 2008

Geez I'd hate to be betting with you Rooster. As the market of teams to make the finals is absolutely OUTRAGEOUS. Two teams at 50 to one on! And three others shorter than evens! There's no final 8 digs!

But anyways, I'll hold back from knit-picking too much. Its a good topic to get everyone talking though.

You are on drugs, you are stating that the Prahan Club 18 team would give Prahan seniors a good run!!
Really? For many years Prahran clubbies have had a dozeon blokes who would walk into their seniors and on odd occasions they have been a stronger unit than their ones. They are virtually a separate club with little movement between prahran ones/ ressies and the clubbies.

Starting Prices for 2008 D4
Syndal Tally Ho will continue to finish mid table unless they can get some of their stars back or find some new talent. Not much seems to be happening down at Mt Waverley lately.

I was talking to a friend down at Syndal Tally Ho, despite the numbers at training slowly increasing, i hear that they might of picked up some new talent? Any ne know if there is truth to these rumors?

Really? For many years Prahran clubbies have had a dozeon blokes who would walk into their seniors and on odd occasions they have been a stronger unit than their ones. They are virtually a separate club with little movement between prahran ones/ ressies and the clubbies.

Seen em both, played against the seniors. Clubbies wouldn't get close. Sorry.

i agree rooster, 2 many roosters......i always have heard it first on roostertalk....this is confusing

i propose a cockfight to sort this out

sfx equal outright odds? generous faith in a side that didnt make club 18's granny....ok side on paper....maybe a bit early to see...writing will be on the wall after 6 rounds.

SFX SNAPSHOT: the sfx saints play at the legendary de jong oval, an oval with considerable girth situated at the foothills of the cardinia catchment resevoir. this picturesque oval offers a snapshot of semi-rural life with a hint of eucalypt flavour.
the humble stat man can be distracted by a bit of bird watching, the goal umpire works overtime with some of the shortest goal posts this side of melbourne....a visit postmatch to the colleges recently renovated hospitality centre, along with a tour (check tour guide times locally) of some modern catholic inspired 'russo' artwork and sculptures, a visit to sfx makes for a pleasant, well rounded experience.

SFX SNAPSHOT: the sfx saints play at the legendary de jong oval, an oval with considerable girth situated at the foothills of the cardinia catchment resevoir. this picturesque oval offers a snapshot of semi-rural life with a hint of eucalypt flavour.
the humble stat man can be distracted by a bit of bird watching, the goal umpire works overtime with some of the shortest goal posts this side of melbourne....a visit postmatch to the colleges recently renovated hospitality centre, along with a tour (check tour guide times locally) of some modern catholic inspired 'russo' artwork and sculptures, a visit to sfx makes for a pleasant, well rounded experience.

Disappointing there's no mention of stunners in the canteen.........

Eley Park seem to be the best providers there......

hey guys my first post in here.

i was just wondering what the quality of football is like in D4?

thinking of coming down and having a run this year.

where does D4 siit against say D2 of the YVMDFL or what division of the EFL is close to D4?

thanks in advance for the replies, look forward to keeping in touch with and watching a few games this year. good luck to everyones pre-seasons too!!!

where does D4 siit against say D2 of the YVMDFL or what division of the EFL is close to D4?

thanks in advance for the replies, look forward to keeping in touch with and watching a few games this year. good luck to everyones pre-seasons too!!!

The blokes who play in D4 Wanna are heaps better than the divisions you mention,just ask em and they will tell you,the umps are better too:)
don't sit on the fence put your location up and you will have coaches breaking your door down.

Geez I'd hate to be betting with you Rooster. As the market of teams to make the finals is absolutely OUTRAGEOUS. Two teams at 50 to one on! And three others shorter than evens! There's no final 8 digs!

But anyways, I'll hold back from knit-picking too much. Its a good topic to get everyone talking though.

5 teams need to be shorther than evens as 5 teams win the bet. ie 5 win and 7 lose so it's not much worse than a 50/50 bet. Margin on each field is about 130% (Bet $130 to win $100 across the field) which is standard on this type of betting.

the humble stat man can be distracted by a bit of bird watching, the goal umpire works overtime with some of the shortest goal posts this side of melbourne....a visit postmatch to the colleges recently renovated hospitality centre, along with a tour (check tour guide times locally) of some modern catholic inspired 'russo' artwork and sculptures, a visit to sfx makes for a pleasant, well rounded experience.[/quote]

I like it D-Rod.....I reckon its a good place to be around too. It will be good for all you city folk to get some good quality fresh air into your lungs, you will be better off for the experience......

And IFF, I have never seen any glammers in the Eley Park Canteen?? I always get Heip Ly (Bloody good bloke) but not much on the eye (toungue in cheek Heip). Must be getting the wrong Eley Park.

The closest club to the yarra valley footy league would be SFX. Might want to come down and check it out WANNA. Great Blokes, Great Environment. Which YVMFL club you from Wanna??? Belgrave, Sth Belgrave, Emerald???

D4 is about the same standard as EFL 3rd Div (which is the lowest I believe). Most teams in D4 would win a few games. The top sides would push for finals.

The EFL has a 4th Division as well.

And IFF, I have never seen any glammers in the Eley Park Canteen?? I always get Heip Ly (Bloody good bloke) but not much on the eye (toungue in cheek Heip). Must be getting the wrong Eley Park.

It may have been a one-off. A few of the blokes weren't that hungry, but still managed to fit in a 2nd or maybe even a 3rd pie!

Having played in D1 in the YVMDFL I would say with the exception off maybe Silvan with their AFL experienced players that VAFA D4 is not far off from being on par when the top teams are involved. however I must say in terms of matesmanship and fair play and the general club enviroments the VAFA is by far the superior league.:thumbsu:

Where are you coming from D4 wanna?

Mt Lilydale is situated in the heart of the Yarra Valley and we pride ourselves on being a welcoming club and are always looking for good blokes to join the club regardless of there experience or skills.

D3 EFL is far superior to that of D4 Amos, would possibly push some D4 EFL teams though. There are many ex D3 EFL players running around in D4 Amos and those guys are standouts.

I'm led to believe that Mt Lilydale have practice matches planned against D3 & D4 EFL clubs. May prove to be a good indicator of our thoughts to who may be stronger/better etc etc.

Having played in D1 in the YVMDFL I would say with the exception off maybe Silvan with their AFL experienced players that VAFA D4 is not far off from being on par when the top teams are involved. Whowever I must say in terms of matesmanship and fair play and the general club enviroments the VAFA is by far the superior league.:thumbsu:

Where are you coming from D4 wanna?

Mt Lilydale is situated in the heart of the Yarra Valley and we pride ourselves on being a welcoming club and are always looking for good blokes to join the club regardless of there experience or skills.

Hey guys i live in sth east melbourne but was considering pulling on the boots to play with a few mates who are looking at playing for Mt Lilydale.
all new players.

might come down for and see how training goes in a couple of weeks if i get really keen.
the way you describe the VAFA sounds like just the environment we are looking for.

can i ask how competitive Mt Lilydale was last year?
in both seniors and reserves?

Hey guys i live in sth east melbourne but was considering pulling on the boots to play with a few mates who are looking at playing for Mt Lilydale.
all new players.

might come down for and see how training goes in a couple of weeks if i get really keen.
the way you describe the VAFA sounds like just the environment we are looking for.

can i ask how competitive Mt Lilydale was last year?
in both seniors and reserves?

Seniors were good at times, made finals but were smashed by st mary's. If they pick up a few new player this year dont see why they wouldnt make finals again. There ressies where yuk, both times we played them it was 110 point wins also there ressies umpire is there worst i have ever seen kicked a goal and he disallowed it because i swore after kicking it

Why the ***** would you swear after kicking a goal???????????
Were you being a hero and mouthing off to an opposition player?

[/b]

Why the ***** would you swear after kicking a goal???????????
Were you being a hero and mouthing off to an opposition player?

i played that game, he actually didnt swear, another player from our team did, i think he said "f** pass it" or something like that, cos he wanted a goal, but the ump heard it and stripped him of the goal.. The ump also heard someone swear, dont know if it was one of uni high or not, right after lilly kicked a goal, so he counted the goal, then gave em a free on the goalline and gave em another.. lucky we were up by 15goals at the time so it didnt matter or it really woulda been annoying.