lenny_27

Rookie
As i posted in another thread a few weeks back, when most people on here were saying we need a big clean out and asking for the head of ross lyon. I stated that we were not far off and that we already had certain players on fire such as Ball, Hayes etc. Now all we need for us to start winning games is for Reiwoldt and Dal Santo to start lifting there game to the standards we all know they can reach. And over the last few weeks this has been the case, especially reiwoldt..
Thankfully the one eyed, emotional, and overreacting st.kilda supporter isn't in charge of the saints.

That's fine Lenny (or is it Blakey with No. 27?), but any coincedence that when we play the "keep the ball moving" style of play rather than the "keepings off" we play better?

This is what people have been asking for for months. Funnily enough when we didn't care too much in the pre-season and played attacking footy we won the thing. So just becuase the coaching staff seem to finally be realising this, does not mean people who have been critical need to slink off into the shadows.

Sam Newman (for his many faults) wanted Geelong to play attacking footy, and critisied them for years when they didn't. Funny how times change.

There's also the issue of certain players (who were getting games they didn't deserve) now playing with Casey.

yes it is quite interesting to note that i havnt seen any posts from nexus helen since wev won 4 in a row.....:p

I just knew someone was gonna write something like this thread... "Thankfully the one eyed, emotional, and overreacting st.kilda supporter isn't in charge of the saints." Lenny_27. Your a real hero mate. Calling us all one-eyed and over emotional. and by the way if winning against Hawks equals a successful season then I dont think the saints are going any where. The teams still got a lot to prove numnuts.

Way too many people judged the Saints on half a season. The past four weeks have proved how stupid that was. I mean, really, really stupid. I'm not saying you had to worship Lyon and the boys four weeks ago, but there were far too many people on here calling for sackings with 10, 12 games still to play.

Too many people running round with... Squiz. Am I allowed?

besides [insert top 4 side Brisbane have beaten... oh wait] who have Brisbane beaten?
Brown and Black are way to over rated
You raise some very good points

On topic, it's not just Riewoldt and Dal. Gram, Goddard and Montagna have all lifted their game recently. I've always thought we probably had the cattle to perform better than we were earlier this season.

As for Lyon, I remember earlier in the year people were pleading for him to change something, anything because we were seeing the same shit every week. Since then he's dropped Dal and Milne, brought in several new players, given Gram, Goddard, Fisher and even Milne stints in the midfield, played Blake in the ruck, Schneider in the back pocket etc. etc. and most importantly shifted focus away from defending in numbers to ball carrying through the midfield.

Not everything's worked, but he needed to do something and he did and since then everything's clicked and we appear to be heading up another gear (too early to say for sure though)

Too many people running round with... Squiz. Am I allowed?

I'm having visions of Fehring doing the John Cleese underpants dance in "A Fish called Wanda" :D

Its the way the players try to execute a game plan. Ross Lyon never wanted them to play defensive slow football. But the fact is its taking time for the players to adjust to the style of play he wants them to play. Its getting the right balance of offence and defense. They players themselves weren't working hard enough offensively. Its very much the same down at melbourne at the moment. Neale Daniher wasn't a tactical coach, he was a very good motivater. Bailey has come in and completely changed the stlye of play at the demons and it will take time for them to play consistent football because of this.

Don't get me wrong, im not saying that Lyon has done a great job, that will be determined come the end of next year in my opinion, all im saying is that too many people wanted to give him the flick and trade half our list. Success takes time and there have been some big changes down at moorabin the last 2 years. People on here overreacted simple as that. The season is far from over but we are only 6 points off the top 4 at the moment, so things are starting to turn in the right direction.

And the point of this thread was to just highlight how important Dal and Roo are to this side, and how they are the key players who we need to fire for us to win games of football. Which is what i stated weeks back.

Riewoldt has been in great form and is playing like the champion we all know him to be. his only issue is goal kicking but that was no problem on saturday night. I reckon Roo would have polled pretty well in the brownlow of recent and could come charging home. His last 4 games at least he would be every chance to score a vote in.

hang on where are st kilda on the ladder?
oh yeh wel wear is ur face on da ladder? nowere!!!!111 lolol roflmao served :rolleyes:

Seriously get out of it mate, we've got no time for your childish attempts at insults so unless you want to legitimately discuss the topic at hand I suggest you piss off.

Here 'tis:

1 Rubber Necks 16 15-0-1 60
2 Bogs 16 13-1-2 54
3 Dorks 16 13-0-3 52
4 Swines 16 10-1-5 42
5 Filth 16 9-0-7 36
6 Bane of the AFL 16-9-7 36
7 Saints 16 9-0-7 36
8 Boners 16 8-1-7 34

9 Fruit Loops 16 8-0-8 32
10 Toothless 16 7-1-8 30
11 Blue Beggers 16 7-0-9 28