Tottenham Hotspurs, Melbourne Vixen
Been looking around at the different leagues and the perenial strong VAFA competition caught my eye.

VAFA rising star award Daniel Garside stood out for a few reasons. As the winner of the rising star award was certainly a good start. Garside was also nominated by his peers as the vice captain of his senior side, St.Bedes/Mentone.. at 19 years of age.

A profile of Garside suggests that he is a supremely gifted footballer who is a strong negating player who has done some key jobs on the oppositions best forwards.

Any VAFA watchers out there able to give me some more information on the kid as he sounds like he may be able to make the transition to AFL.

At 18 years of age and already a deputy vice captain of his club side, he is a leader of men and has displayed his ability to play against men this season, having been named in the best 6 in 8 of his 20 games this season (including 2 best on grounds).

So any info on the kid (or other VAFA young guns) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys :thumbsu:

HFF_07

How do they know its Dan Garside and not Tom. Jokes-

Cause there is two articles on young gun and VAFA rising star winner Daniel Garsode.

Anyone think I can get from Port Melbourne at 1pm to Sportscover Arena by 2pm?

Am going to watch the young guns game before the preliminary then watch the VAFA premier grand final where young Daniel will be playing

Has a twin brother, so i cant often tell the difference between them. was also the captain of the under 19 VAFA representative team. Athletically very good, shut down defender with a big tank. Probably a few centimetres short for my liking as a primary defender. Playing in the VAFA granny this w/e, should be an absolute cracker of a match. Collegians have there fair share of young guns running around too in A Croft and Ferguson ...they should get over the line.

As a kid playing against men this season he has had a superb season.

He is number 5 for St Bedes Mentone if anyone is going down to watch the Granny on Sunday. For what it's worth HFF_07, you'd get there with time to spare easily.

His highlights package is pretty damn impressive:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGiDKSWVvmM

Potential bolter this draft I reckon.

Tom Humphrey – Dan pipped him for the VAFA rising award star and while Dan is a ripper I reckon Tom Humphrey is even better. I may be slightly biased as he is from my club but his record stacks up just as well as Dan’s who I also rate very highly. Tom has played all season as a KP defender for De La Salle seniors in the VAFA Premier section and has been outstanding. In his second game as an 18-year he took the points against Carl Peterson who is straight out of the AFL system. By coincidence Tom and Dan were named as the VAFA best players in the U19 rep game against the VCFL. Tom has been picked in the ‘Young Guns’ game this week and hope he does well. Plenty of great young talent playing in the top sections of the VAFA but for mine the best young players (18/19 yo) in the VAFA are Tom Humphrey, Dan Garside, Brendan Goss (Xavs) and Alex Croft (Collegians). These kids are playing against men every week while TAC boys the same age are going up against 16, 17 and 18 year olds. You reckon they would be worth a punt as rookies at least.

If anything he is more of a lockdown defender. Although capable of hurting teams with his kicking skills and electric pace, he mainly has been playing on the opposition's most dangerous small/mid forward. As seen in the video highlights, his tackling and repeat efforts are superb. I haven't seen him lose many one-on-one contests this season. And it must be remembered he is playing on men, not boys.

Though he also takes the kick-ins, obvious confidence in his skills and decision making by his coaches. That combined with his sprinting background and solid physique make him an all-round defender/rebounder.

He was nominated for the young guns game apparently, but St Bedes Mentone won their Prelim and made it into the Grand Final.

Dempsey/rooster

Is he mote of a shut down player or a rebounding defender? So many of these kids are good rebounders but hardly play good one on one footy.. Daniel looks good from his high light package

Tom Humphrey is exceptional one on one and quick enough to hurt you going the other way. Would not know about highlights packages etc but I believe there has been some interest, which seems confirmed by his selection in this game on the weekend. Enormous upside/development still in this kid. De La senior coach Greg McLoughlin reckons Tom is the fiercest competitor he has seen. Is a pretty understated young bloke but followers of the VAFA Premier section and those who saw the VAFA v VCFL U19s would know about him.

Some very good young kids playing in the top grades of the VAFA who for whatever reason did not play TAC. I really like the kid from Xavs Brendan Goss also.

Garside was named in the A section Team of the Year for the VAFA also, named in the back pocket.

That achievement, and his best on ground performance in the Under 19's VAFA match earlier in the year must have him on a radar or two surely.

I'll be watching other footy on Sunday HFF 07, but if you make it down to the game, I'd be interested in your feedback.

Garside was named in the A section Team of the Year for the VAFA also, named in the back pocket.

That achievement, and his best on ground performance in the Under 19's VAFA match earlier in the year must have him on a radar or two surely.

I'll be watching other footy on Sunday HFF 07, but if you make it down to the game, I'd be interested in your feedback.

No worries, interesting to see the team if you had a link?

Will certainly let everyone know..

Essendon need this kid!!

Got a message from one of the regular posters on the VAFA board. Seems as if he has ties to St Bedes.

Can't find the team anywhere online, wouldn't mind seeing the rest of the side myself.

Watched the grand final and Daniel was good.. Didn't get much of it but rarely lost a contest.

Will do a write up later about his game

not sure we watched the same game!? number 12 right?
fair enough there was alot of ball being kicked into his backline but i counted at least 4 goals kicked on him, a couple of free kicks against and not many possessions.

Not to mention he stepped over the line in the kickout not only once, but twice! thats a cardinal sin. Copped it from the wesley supporters behind the goals thats for sure haha.

Hate to say it because he seems like a good kid, good attitude etc and theres big wraps on him...but in a big game youd like to think kids getting drafted step up, and if he was hoping to get picked up on the back of that game hes in a bit of trouble im afraid.

Reminds me a bit of seb tape from the gold coast who struggled in his first year of afl but who was a high draft pick so who knows.
(Doesnt help playing on the best vfl player ever in Nick Sautner and wesley legend Shura Taft)
Good luck to the kid

AJ

Number 12 was his twin brother Tom, Daniel was number 5 and was named 4th best for his efforts on Croft.

I wrote something up last night that mustn't of worked but will reattempt to do so when I get home from work tonight.

AJ

Number 12 was his twin brother Tom, Daniel was number 5 and was named 4th best for his efforts on Croft.

I wrote something up last night that mustn't of worked but will reattempt to do so when I get home from work tonight.

My mistake i apologise. Yeh he wasn't too bad actually, hit a few targets. Croft is a running machine so must have had a big tank. Always thought he was stiff not to get drafted himself playing awesome for vic metro and captaining VAFA 23's this year.

I thought Croft easily had the better of Garside during the match. elsternwick park you have to play up the ground and your chf is extremely important, the amount of time croft took marks and kicked quickly or gave off hands was fantastic and essential to Colls win. i didn't actually see garside get a kick. he is good on the one on ones but has absoulutely zero chance of being drafted. he simply does not get enough of it.

and his brother got an absoulute towelling by shura shhh taftttt, 5 goals on him, countless good plays by shura and he stepped out of the goal square twice....

not to mention their dad who sits behind the goals hurling abuse at whoever they're playing on. poor form

I thought Croft easily had the better of Garside during the match. elsternwick park you have to play up the ground and your chf is extremely important, the amount of time croft took marks and kicked quickly or gave off hands was fantastic and essential to Colls win. i didn't actually see garside get a kick. he is good on the one on ones but has absoulutely zero chance of being drafted. he simply does not get enough of it.

ronny

Not sure what game you watched but as a neutral observer, I thought Garside took the points.

A leading CHF who only took 5 marks (1 contested) that had 4 kicks and 2 handballs in a team that won convincingly is not really a serviceable effort really.

As for Daniel's game his stats (as I took them) read:

6 handballs (83%)
4 handballs (75%)
4 marks (2 contested)
6 tackles
5 spoils
3 handball recieves
and won 5 of the 7 contests he had with Croft, so not a bad effort (and yes I did take everyone of those stats as it happened and made sure it was Daniel and not Tom before I wrote it down :D)

As for his kicks, must of been getting a beer when Daniel kicked the ball in from the Golf Course end back pocket, hitting an open team mate up with a good 55m pass that travelled no more than 5 meters off the ground and again he was lucky enough to take a kick in and hit a team mate on the paint (of the boundary line and 50m line).

He read the play very well, leaving Croft to attack a loose high ball, running full steam at it, a wrong bounce undid his aggressive attack on the ball.

His desperate lung on the ball once it had hit the deck on the golf course end/stadium side flank was also very good.

I like the fact that he didnt get sucked into the pack, instead worrying about his man more than anything else and showed in a couple of ground balls that he is actually bery good below his knees (one running at close to full pace).

Garside did not get more than 5m away from Croft's side, and when opposed to Shurra Taft (for short instances) made sure he was shoulder - to - shoulder with him and did not lose a single contest (did get beat on the run by a short kick on the lead to him).

I do have queries on his attacking prowess though and his ability to get the ball. Like you mentioned, he did only get it 10 times, but when he did he makes something happen, would just love to see him get more of it and try and become more creative, too often did St.Bedes have the ball (rebounding from 50), instead of trying to become an option, Daniel was standing next to his opponent ensuring they did not get away from him.

He makes the right decisions and has very good awareness for someone so young, would be very interested to know why he was overlooked for the Sandringham Dragons(correct zoning??) in the TAC Cup.

He is a good height at 187 and 82kg, and was a former sprinting champion, add to that he is an exceptional small shut down defender and you genuinely have something to work with should someone need one (small shut down defender).

I spoke to Adrian Dodoro at the young guns match on Sunday morning and told him all about Daniel Garside, fingers crossed he may take a punt and look into him and perhaps pull shot gun so we can upgrade on Henry Slattery.

Seems that Adrian Dodoro may take a punt on young Garside, he has been training with the Bombers for a week now according to the VAFA website

2011 VAFA Club Warehouse Rising Star Dan Garside (also SBMT) starts with Essendon on Wednesday.

That was last Wednesday